Girls and Workout
Apr 8 2013, 05:05 PM, updated 13y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,215 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: 02:35 |
I've actively workout atleast 3x a week.
But I didn't see weight loss. How My 2013 resolution is To KEEP FIT So, I MUST! |
Apr 8 2013, 05:26 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
Apr 8 2013, 05:33 PM
58 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Apr 8 2013, 06:01 PM
587 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Apr 8 2013, 06:04 PM
102 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
Yup, what Economics Crisis said.
If you want to lose weight, you need to burn off more calories than you're taking in. Simply exercising won't work. In fact, it was proven that you can have an unhealthy diet, but so long as you're burning off more calories than you're taking in, you will still lose weight. Try using an app like MyFitnessPal to track your calorie intake. |
Apr 8 2013, 06:07 PM
63 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
keep it on, u will see the result very soon... never gv up, once u gv up because of u cant see the result for ur 3 weeks effort, u will never see any good result. all the best ^^
Apr 8 2013, 06:14 PM
well actually, I started since January....
How to increase metabolisme? I've cut junk food and soda. |
Apr 8 2013, 06:19 PM
377 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
eat less per meal
or if you're taking more meals than necessary, cut off an entire meal |
Apr 8 2013, 07:06 PM
1,186 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 8 2013, 05:05 PM) I've actively workout atleast 3x a week. With your statement it's quite vague, there are just too many variables to be able to give you correct advice.But I didn't see weight loss. How My 2013 resolution is To KEEP FIT So, I MUST! Burning of fats & building of muscle mass. Therefore you're still having the same weight. Could it be so? Do you notice yourself looking more toned than usual? That would be a good sign. Losing weight is the incorrect approach. You should strive to lose fats. Or it could be that you've been unknowingly more hungry and thus eating more due to the active workouts. Anyway, the key to losing fats is easy:"Less calories, and correct food type". Increase the healthy fats and protein levels, and decrease the refined carbs, while still maintaining a slight calorie deficit. Many questions from beginners have been posted here, and many myths and incorrect info have been debunked as well, do check it out: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2305051 |
Apr 8 2013, 07:07 PM
Read an article about having fitness journal.
it's about writing down your mood, distraction, workout and a few other things. Look at this : http://www.discovergoodnutrition.com/2013/...ary-guidelines/ |
Apr 8 2013, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 8 2013, 07:07 PM) Read an article about having fitness journal. Well if it works for you go for it. For many here, I'm sure we've grown to learn that simplicity is gold. Journal just to keep track of progress and the last poundages done so that you're able to review your own progress and tune your workouts, and be mentally disciplined enough to eat the right foods, and to lay off the computer or tv when it's rest time. It's that simple.it's about writing down your mood, distraction, workout and a few other things. Look at this : http://www.discovergoodnutrition.com/2013/...ary-guidelines/ |
Apr 8 2013, 07:48 PM
1,637 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Bolehland |
you need motivations, go like some facebook pages that constantly give you some motivation pictures/words.
Apr 9 2013, 01:41 PM
2,111 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Malaysia |
Apr 9 2013, 02:13 PM
Apr 9 2013, 02:18 PM
Apr 9 2013, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 9 2013, 03:18 PM) Processed food, junks and carbonated drinks are all part of the story. I did body composition check... so, my calories intake should be around 1500. I just started to read food label (of what I consumed) since last week. Caloric amounts? Carb amounts? Fat amounts? Intensity of your exercise is important as well I definitely feel a bit |
Apr 9 2013, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 9 2013, 02:28 PM) I did body composition check... so, my calories intake should be around 1500. I just started to read food label (of what I consumed) since last week. Daily caloric intake = part of it I definitely feel a bit Good start though. That being said, it's all experimental, 1500 is just a benchmark, you may need to deduct a little just to start losing. Not forgetting, your macros |
Apr 9 2013, 02:32 PM
365 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Workout... what type of workout?
Faster workout to burn off calorie is cardio - running or swimming. |
Apr 9 2013, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(shakku @ Apr 9 2013, 03:32 PM) I met with this fitness consultant, she suggested I start with weight training for lower body... which I normally go for glute exercise and whatever equipment at the leg section (i have no idea about equipment, still learning lol).Then after 30-45, I'd do cardio. however, I was recommended to go for spinning instead of treadmill. It's lower impact for my legs. fyi, I can only constantly run for 2 minutes with speed 5. After 3 minutes, must.walk..... I tried to love the treadmill but......... by walking lol. that's why go for spinning! LOL |
Apr 9 2013, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 9 2013, 03:31 PM) Daily caloric intake = part of it Fuh, issit necessary to take protein shake? Whenever I go to gym, men will busy with their drinks.Good start though. That being said, it's all experimental, 1500 is just a benchmark, you may need to deduct a little just to start losing. Not forgetting, your macros |
Apr 9 2013, 02:44 PM
Running takes time to get to certain distance, due to stamina.
Took me 3 months to get to 5km under 35mins and another 3 months to 10km under 90min at constant pace. Your lungs and heart will grew stronger every time you complete a run. Don't worry about knee injury. It's an urban myth. With the right shoes, injury can be prevented. And running on threadmill is not as effective as road, as you need energy to get yourself moving. Thread mill you can gently stride and you'll still move. Weight machine only do toning, stubborn fats at tummy and buttock is cardio already. It's best to do both on alternate days. *EDIT : Running in the park/outdoor BEATS threadmill run any time any day. Grab a running buddy if you can. This post has been edited by shakku: Apr 9 2013, 02:51 PM |
Apr 9 2013, 02:51 PM
824 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Office / Home |
Apr 9 2013, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(shakku @ Apr 9 2013, 03:44 PM) Running takes time to get to certain distance, due to stamina. most of my friend...been busy with work. T__T OK, will grab lil bro to run with me. Took me 3 months to get to 5km under 35mins and another 3 months to 10km under 90min at constant pace. Your lungs and heart will grew stronger every time you complete a run. Don't worry about knee injury. It's an urban myth. With the right shoes, injury can be prevented. And running on threadmill is not as effective as road, as you need energy to get yourself moving. Thread mill you can gently stride and you'll still move. Weight machine only do toning, stubborn fats at tummy and buttock is cardio already. It's best to do both on alternate days. *EDIT : Running in the park/outdoor BEATS threadmill run any time any day. Grab a running buddy if you can. I do sometimes jog at park, love it in the morning with fresh air. QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 9 2013, 03:51 PM) Men focus on upper body so, that's why they consume more protein? QUOTE(pkiensing @ Apr 9 2013, 03:51 PM) use the apps "MyFitnessPal" wow. that's a quick start. I'm not sure if that apps available for Nokia users?record your diet and your exercise as accurate as possible. I have lost 4KG within first 3 weeks. |
Apr 9 2013, 03:08 PM
Don't bother about those protein shakes or any supplements, get your workout sorted out, get used to the gym and be comfortable
Apr 9 2013, 03:08 PM
102 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
QUOTE(shakku @ Apr 9 2013, 02:44 PM) *EDIT : Running in the park/outdoor BEATS threadmill run any time any day. Grab a running buddy if you can. Give this Couch-to-5k training schedule a try: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml |
Apr 9 2013, 03:09 PM
824 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Office / Home |
QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 9 2013, 03:01 PM) most of my friend...been busy with work. T__T OK, will grab lil bro to run with me. not sure what phone you using but it is available for Android and IOS...I do sometimes jog at park, love it in the morning with fresh air. Men focus on upper body so, that's why they consume more protein? wow. that's a quick start. I'm not sure if that apps available for Nokia users? it is FREE! |
Apr 9 2013, 04:51 PM
I forgot... I start running with the help with Micoach Adidas. It has proper training plans and baby steps to give you distance coverage.
Apr 11 2013, 12:56 AM
419 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
please do squat!
squat do wonders to your body. |
Apr 11 2013, 01:34 AM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 9 2013, 02:51 PM) Not easy when you are busy, working, students or etc.Not everyone's that free to have 6 meals a day. Either way, as long as they meet their daily intake, I don't see a problem with how they manage it no? |
Apr 11 2013, 09:30 AM
577 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
If you wanna have a well toned solid body, not those alas soft tofu type, find out how to look into your macro intake and TRAIN & DO what the men do. Not about the weight the men lift but the routines
Apr 11 2013, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 11 2013, 01:34 AM) Not easy when you are busy, working, students or etc. I take only 2 meals a day, for 3000kcal but then again, that's me not you allNot everyone's that free to have 6 meals a day. Either way, as long as they meet their daily intake, I don't see a problem with how they manage it no? Whey = 1xx kcal Unless you are into mass gainers, then why bother fitting that into your daily caloric intake? I'm not against whey but I just don't see it as a MUST for gym enthusiasts. |
Apr 11 2013, 10:49 AM
6,160 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 11 2013, 01:34 AM) Not easy when you are busy, working, students or etc. LOl what is this? Not everyone's that free to have 6 meals a day. Either way, as long as they meet their daily intake, I don't see a problem with how they manage it no? Its only not easy when you defeat yourself even before you start. |
Apr 11 2013, 11:18 AM
142 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Do Leangains Intermittent Fasting, i had lost 13 kg of TOTAL FAT in 4 months
Apr 11 2013, 11:34 AM
228 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Last resort only cut your calories. Maintain your food intake now, but try to exercise more. "Burn calories is better than cut calories", just my opinion.
Apr 11 2013, 04:25 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Private |
What kind of exercise you do?
If you want to keep fit, jogging is the best exercise...and Im talking about at least 5KM joggin non-stop.... not jog 1 minute rest, then jog then rest and so on won't do any good. Take less oily food, eat healthy, dont get hungry ( dont try to get skinny by skipping meals )... This post has been edited by nodeffect: Apr 11 2013, 04:27 PM |
Apr 11 2013, 04:26 PM
80 posts Joined: May 2012 From: Ipoh |
Its not all about working out.
It is mainly about your diet |
Apr 11 2013, 05:20 PM
1,846 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 8 2013, 05:05 PM) I've actively workout atleast 3x a week. U know, if you posted more info, you'll get more info & feedback that could probably fix the problem. Your active may not be our active. Same with your diet. But I didn't see weight loss. How My 2013 resolution is To KEEP FIT So, I MUST! |
Apr 12 2013, 09:22 PM
30 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Take home made food and eat maximum quantity of vegetables and do exercises regularly.This really helps you.
Apr 13 2013, 01:14 PM
16 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(Arrio @ Apr 11 2013, 09:30 AM) If you wanna have a well toned solid body, not those alas soft tofu type, find out how to look into your macro intake and TRAIN & DO what the men do. Not about the weight the men lift but the routines 100% agree. women should learn to workout with weights and not just cardio all the time.lift heavy. |
Apr 19 2013, 11:34 AM
4,277 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 地獄だ |
QUOTE(shakku @ Apr 9 2013, 02:44 PM) Running takes time to get to certain distance, due to stamina. That's a good record. I find it hard on the treadmill. I can max 4min run on speed 8.5kmph, 3.5 gradient. On bad days (eg. when I don't have enough sleep, very tired), I can only do 2min per run then I'll need a break before I can resume running again. I usually alternate it with brisk walk.Took me 3 months to get to 5km under 35mins and another 3 months to 10km under 90min at constant pace. Your lungs and heart will grew stronger every time you complete a run. Don't worry about knee injury. It's an urban myth. With the right shoes, injury can be prevented. And running on threadmill is not as effective as road, as you need energy to get yourself moving. Thread mill you can gently stride and you'll still move. Weight machine only do toning, stubborn fats at tummy and buttock is cardio already. It's best to do both on alternate days. *EDIT : Running in the park/outdoor BEATS threadmill run any time any day. Grab a running buddy if you can. You've got it right, now I'm totally motivated to go running at the park! It's better with all the fresh air compared to running in an air-conditioned enclosed facility with sweaty people haha QUOTE(muahahaha @ Apr 13 2013, 01:14 PM) Yeah it's true but cardio is a lot more fun when attending GX (group exercise). It's important to have a balance of both - cardio and toning. |
Apr 23 2013, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 19 2013, 11:34 AM) That's a good record. I find it hard on the treadmill. I can max 4min run on speed 8.5kmph, 3.5 gradient. On bad days (eg. when I don't have enough sleep, very tired), I can only do 2min per run then I'll need a break before I can resume running again. I usually alternate it with brisk walk. Another tip, I used to run till I'm gasping for air. That's because the heart is over worked.You've got it right, now I'm totally motivated to go running at the park! It's better with all the fresh air compared to running in an air-conditioned enclosed facility with sweaty people haha Yeah it's true but cardio is a lot more fun when attending GX (group exercise). It's important to have a balance of both - cardio and toning. I bought a heart sensor, hence I adjust my pace according to my Heart Rate. It HELPS A LOT. And yes, certain days when you're tired, you'll notice the heart beats faster than usual. For starters, you could run 4mins, walk 1 min, then run 4mins again walk 1min. (4-1-4-1). To really burn fats, runs must be more than 20mins. The longer the better. For shoes, I advise to go minimalist (lesser sponge between feet and ground). This will let your feet flex and feel the road better to prevent injury. Don't forget weights as well if you're still having gym membership |
Apr 23 2013, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(shakku @ Apr 23 2013, 09:26 AM) Another tip, I used to run till I'm gasping for air. That's because the heart is over worked. Just wondering - what will happen if we continue to run (or force ourselves to run more) though heart is over worked? I bought a heart sensor, hence I adjust my pace according to my Heart Rate. It HELPS A LOT. And yes, certain days when you're tired, you'll notice the heart beats faster than usual. For starters, you could run 4mins, walk 1 min, then run 4mins again walk 1min. (4-1-4-1). To really burn fats, runs must be more than 20mins. The longer the better. For shoes, I advise to go minimalist (lesser sponge between feet and ground). This will let your feet flex and feel the road better to prevent injury. Don't forget weights as well if you're still having gym membership 1min not enough for me to catch my breath. I have to walk at about 5.5kmph pace for 2min or 2.5min then go on with my 2nd run. But by then my stamina had dropped and I can only run 2-2.5min and not 4min. You mean total run of 20min and above or minimum 20min run non-stop to burn fats? Haha yes I do my weights and core exercises. Also go for TRX classes 2-3 times a week for toning and core training |
Apr 23 2013, 12:19 PM
Well, running is always related to pace and heart. During the 4 mins, try not to run so fast till you're gasping for air. Adjust it to a comfortable pace where you can talk few words and run.
If you can't speak a word, then you're running too fast already. Minimum 20mins. Best results around 45mins. (4+1) x 4 sets for 20mins. The last 4 mins usually the hardest Depends on people, you can do 4 - 1, 4 - 1.5, 4 - 2, 4 - 2.5 and so on. As you get better, then you could do 5-1. Myself doing 10-3 right now. It's not about the speed/pace, but time and distance. It's pointless for you to run fast and died out in 5 mins. Aim for 30mins, 2-3 times a week. Gradually your body will get fitter and run faster by its own. Alternately, Zumba and swimming workout burn as much calorie as well. |
Apr 23 2013, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(shakku @ Apr 23 2013, 12:19 PM) Well, running is always related to pace and heart. During the 4 mins, try not to run so fast till you're gasping for air. Adjust it to a comfortable pace where you can talk few words and run. I always have the impression that running is similar to HIIT - high intensity (really push) for x minutes and then cool down a little and then push it up again - rather than time & distance. If you can't speak a word, then you're running too fast already. Minimum 20mins. Best results around 45mins. (4+1) x 4 sets for 20mins. The last 4 mins usually the hardest Depends on people, you can do 4 - 1, 4 - 1.5, 4 - 2, 4 - 2.5 and so on. As you get better, then you could do 5-1. Myself doing 10-3 right now. It's not about the speed/pace, but time and distance. It's pointless for you to run fast and died out in 5 mins. Aim for 30mins, 2-3 times a week. Gradually your body will get fitter and run faster by its own. Alternately, Zumba and swimming workout burn as much calorie as well. Thanks for the tips! Zumba is okay but at times not intense enough. Generally I enjoy workout like Body Attack (similar to HIIT) and Body Combat more |
Apr 23 2013, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 23 2013, 02:50 PM) I always have the impression that running is similar to HIIT - high intensity (really push) for x minutes and then cool down a little and then push it up again - rather than time & distance. For running HIIT only meant to expand your lung capacity and Heart Rate to 90% max (about close to 185-200BPM).Thanks for the tips! Zumba is okay but at times not intense enough. Generally I enjoy workout like Body Attack (similar to HIIT) and Body Combat more This will help you to improve stamina and aerobics. But doing it too often (daily) makes you burn out for the whole week |
May 14 2013, 09:03 PM
1,555 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Under your bed |
Normal days I do weights 3 x a week and 1 day HIIT.
Day 1 - Chest/Back Day 2 - Bicep/Tricep/Shoulder Day 3 - HIIT Day 4 - Lower body This with 100g carb (mostly in the morning-lunch) 110g Protein a day. My momentum always stop in 2 months. Record.. I lost 10% BF. On desperate days (ie. skipped gym for 2 months and need to lose some for weddings, beaches, etc) Day 1 - Chest/Back + HIIT Day 2 - Bicep/Tricep/Shoulder + HIIT Day 3 - HIIT Day 4 - Lower body This on below 50g carb + 120g protein. With this I'll down at least 5% BF in two weeks. HIIT - either sprint or RPM. 3 exercise each part with 12 reps x 3 + 20 reps x 1 at lesser weight. Cheat day once a week. Supplements - the usual multivites + fish oils + carnitine on HIIT days. I gauge my results by looking at mirror and fat caliper because my concern is to lower BF and get lean. |
May 17 2013, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 23 2013, 02:50 PM) I always have the impression that running is similar to HIIT - high intensity (really push) for x minutes and then cool down a little and then push it up again - rather than time & distance. HIIT running is interesting. My coach went and kept pressing the speed limit until it reach 8.5 kph at incline 3.0. Did it for 30 secs. Then hope off for 10 seconds. Then another 30 secs. I can do about 1 min for 30 secs and hoping off. Thighs and legs getting slimmer and longer.Thanks for the tips! Zumba is okay but at times not intense enough. Generally I enjoy workout like Body Attack (similar to HIIT) and Body Combat more With Group Classes, I have to have a heart rate monitor (HRM) else I wouldn't know whether I'm slacking or not. In a class of 16, about 4 of us wear it (including a pregnant lady). All of us are aiming to get 160-170 during the intense sessions and cooldown is down to 140 in 20-30 seconds. Unfortunately that is only for 2 people - my coach and another fit lady in the class. For the pregnant lady, she does low-impact versions, no jumping, no stepping when we're using the stepper and her heartrate is not allowed to go over 140. She's 5 months pregnant I think. Body Combat is one I find that is hardest to push once you have stamina. Reason I say that is because to get the technique and posture right is tough to master. The instructor has high levels of expectations i.e. same as in martial arts classes. Also, Body Combat is easiest cardio/strength class to cheat if you're not wearing a HRM. If you don't have a HRM, then another indication is whether you're sweating so much that the entire T-shirt is wet and you're dripping over the floor. Half wet T-shirt is not pushing hard enough. Panting is also not a good indication. It should be panting AND ability to still talk. The moment you can't talk while exercising, you are pushing hard. |
May 17 2013, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(myremi @ May 17 2013, 10:32 AM) HIIT running is interesting. My coach went and kept pressing the speed limit until it reach 8.5 kph at incline 3.0. Did it for 30 secs. Then hope off for 10 seconds. Then another 30 secs. I can do about 1 min for 30 secs and hoping off. Thighs and legs getting slimmer and longer. Really??? I usually run for 2-3min then brisk walk, followed up with a 1-1.5min rest (slow at 5.5kmph, incline 3.5) then brisk walk if I still find it difficult to run. QUOTE(myremi @ May 17 2013, 10:32 AM) With Group Classes, I have to have a heart rate monitor (HRM) else I wouldn't know whether I'm slacking or not. In a class of 16, about 4 of us wear it (including a pregnant lady). All of us are aiming to get 160-170 during the intense sessions and cooldown is down to 140 in 20-30 seconds. Unfortunately that is only for 2 people - my coach and another fit lady in the class. For the pregnant lady, she does low-impact versions, no jumping, no stepping when we're using the stepper and her heartrate is not allowed to go over 140. She's 5 months pregnant I think. I agree on the posture part for Body Combat because if you don't do it right, it's pointless. I love it too much to skip BC... so just have to get the posture right Body Combat is one I find that is hardest to push once you have stamina. Reason I say that is because to get the technique and posture right is tough to master. The instructor has high levels of expectations i.e. same as in martial arts classes. Also, Body Combat is easiest cardio/strength class to cheat if you're not wearing a HRM. If you don't have a HRM, then another indication is whether you're sweating so much that the entire T-shirt is wet and you're dripping over the floor. Half wet T-shirt is not pushing hard enough. BC is not as bad as Body Attack whereby the latter requires a lot of jumping jacks, lunges, running, burpees etc but it's good cardio QUOTE(myremi @ May 17 2013, 10:32 AM) Panting is also not a good indication. It should be panting AND ability to still talk. The moment you can't talk while exercising, you are pushing hard. I agree. Sometimes I notice I don't push hard enough. Endurance is key.This post has been edited by sweet_pez: May 17 2013, 11:32 AM |
May 17 2013, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 17 2013, 11:32 AM) Really??? I used to do that but ran slower - 7 kmph. Then my coach change my HIIT program to 1 min fast, 1 min slow, 1 min fast. I also choose different machines e.g. summit/stairmaster, cycling, crosstrainer, rowing machine. I combine it with jump rope, speed ball, etc. The HIIT stuff I do at the gym tends not to be a continuous cardio workout because I lose focus easily. So I couple it with various strength workouts or get onto equipment that will ramp up my heartrate (jump rope, coreboard). I do this on days I don't have gym classes.I usually run for 2-3min then brisk walk, followed up with a 1-1.5min rest (slow at 5.5kmph, incline 3.5) then brisk walk if I still find it difficult to run. On Saturdays, I have this class that is called INTENSE. In one hour, we do 10 cardio stations and 10 strength stations. Cardio stations - 3 min. 1 min brisk, 1 min fast speed or high incline, 1 min bricks. Cardio Stations are : Summit / Stairmaster Rowing Machine Crosstrainer (forward stride) Crosstrainer (backward stride) Treadmill (either incline or speed) Bicycle Coreboard Slideboard 1 Slideboard 2 (people facing each other, tossing a 3 kg medicine ball) Trampoline Strength stations - 2 min. Strength stations are : Pushups on TRX Split lunges with 2 kg weights Staircase : 2.5 kg weights up and down 3 flights. Going back up the stairs, it's bearcrawling. Pike using a wooden slider Kickbacks with 5 kg weights - legs are on a trampoline Hammer curls (15 lbs dumbbells) while keeping balance on a Fitter machine - for sliding Cable pull squats with 30 lbs for each side Assisted dips AB curls on ball while feet is on the wall and holding a 5 kg medicine ball Side plank flipped - alternating sides Plank with feet on an unstable surface - usually on a disc that wobbles a lot and it wobbles! I always feel like dying during this class. Yet it's my favourite because I see the results the next day. QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 17 2013, 11:32 AM) I agree on the posture part for Body Combat because if you don't do it right, it's pointless. I love it too much to skip BC... so just have to get the posture right The Body Combat class I goto is not a Les Mills class as she doesn't have the license. Only that she attended the course years ago. We do kickboxing moves in combination with other equipment e.g. Reebok Slide or Reebok Coreboard. So having to keep ones' balance is also interesting. The only gym class I don't go to is Zumba. Too much twisting gives my back a serious ache so I don't go. It's ironic because I can do everything else but Zumba. Some twisting, I can do. Too much, I can't. QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 17 2013, 11:32 AM) BC is not as bad as Body Attack whereby the latter requires a lot of jumping jacks, lunges, running, burpees etc but it's good cardio QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 17 2013, 11:32 AM) I agree. Sometimes I notice I don't push hard enough. Endurance is key. |
May 17 2013, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(myremi @ May 17 2013, 02:25 PM) I used to do that but ran slower - 7 kmph. Then my coach change my HIIT program to 1 min fast, 1 min slow, 1 min fast. I also choose different machines e.g. summit/stairmaster, cycling, crosstrainer, rowing machine. I combine it with jump rope, speed ball, etc. The HIIT stuff I do at the gym tends not to be a continuous cardio workout because I lose focus easily. So I couple it with various strength workouts or get onto equipment that will ramp up my heartrate (jump rope, coreboard). I do this on days I don't have gym classes. Which Fitness Centre are you with? This sounds really interesting. If only FF has it -.- ...but can always send suggestion/ comments for them to add in new classes/ programs.On Saturdays, I have this class that is called INTENSE. In one hour, we do 10 cardio stations and 10 strength stations. QUOTE(myremi @ May 17 2013, 02:25 PM) The Body Combat class I goto is not a Les Mills class as she doesn't have the license. Only that she attended the course years ago. We do kickboxing moves in combination with other equipment e.g. Reebok Slide or Reebok Coreboard. So having to keep ones' balance is also interesting. I see... if twisting is an issue, why not try yoga? Maybe it can help to improve your tolerance for twisting?The only gym class I don't go to is Zumba. Too much twisting gives my back a serious ache so I don't go. It's ironic because I can do everything else but Zumba. Some twisting, I can do. Too much, I can't. My classes aren't Les Mills classes, as mentioned. Just that my coach has been teaching gym classes for more than 20 years and she had gone for the Reebok and Les Mills course before. Get that HRM. Only when I got it, did I finally kick my bad habit of not pushing hard enough to even build endurance. How much does the HRM cost approximately? It's not a necessity for now but will consider getting one |
May 17 2013, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 17 2013, 06:13 PM) Which Fitness Centre are you with? This sounds really interesting. If only FF has it -.- ...but can always send suggestion/ comments for them to add in new classes/ programs. HRM would really come in handy I see... if twisting is an issue, why not try yoga? Maybe it can help to improve your tolerance for twisting? How much does the HRM cost approximately? It's not a necessity for now but will consider getting one |
May 17 2013, 11:10 PM
646 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(leah235 @ Apr 8 2013, 05:05 PM) I've actively workout atleast 3x a week. I did weight training + indoor cardio for around 5 months and can't see much weight loss.....got some muscle growth but that's it.....it all changed after I added long distance running to the menu.......my weight drops tremendously.......maybe you should try the same.But I didn't see weight loss. How My 2013 resolution is To KEEP FIT So, I MUST! |
May 18 2013, 05:47 PM
May 18 2013, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(pakdamek @ May 17 2013, 11:10 PM) I did weight training + indoor cardio for around 5 months and can't see much weight loss.....got some muscle growth but that's it.....it all changed after I added long distance running to the menu.......my weight drops tremendously.......maybe you should try the same. That 5 months period, did you change your diet plan? |
May 18 2013, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 18 2013, 05:47 PM) mine is pretty expensive cause I needed the extra functions but u can check out the polar series from Athlete's Circle, FF members got 10% rebate. Get a basic one, a few hundred.Best if you can get one that can be connected to a foot pod for running if you are into that that is. Next time u come gym, I let u know more, lazy wanna type This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: May 18 2013, 05:55 PM |
May 19 2013, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ May 18 2013, 05:54 PM) mine is pretty expensive cause I needed the extra functions but u can check out the polar series from Athlete's Circle, FF members got 10% rebate. Get a basic one, a few hundred. Best if you can get one that can be connected to a foot pod for running if you are into that that is. Next time u come gym, I let u know more, lazy wanna type |
May 20 2013, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 17 2013, 06:13 PM) Which Fitness Centre are you with? This sounds really interesting. If only FF has it -.- ...but can always send suggestion/ comments for them to add in new classes/ programs. The fitness center I go to is based in Kuching, Sarawak. Not in KL. Feel free to use the suggestion. Last Saturday, it was a slightly different session with new moves. The only thing is that the gym uses rehab equipment that is not commonly sold in Malaysia. Can be ordered in but you wouldn't see it at Fitness Stores unless they stock for Rehab Centers. I see... if twisting is an issue, why not try yoga? Maybe it can help to improve your tolerance for twisting? How much does the HRM cost approximately? It's not a necessity for now but will consider getting one SRF Board. For pikes. : http://www.fitter1.com/Catalog/Items/SRF.aspx Sitting Disc. Other brands are Duradisc or Sit-O'Disc (I have this one at work & I bring it when I travel) : http://www.fitter1.com/Catalog/Items/SIT.aspx Profitter. Tough when planking : http://www.fitter1.com/Catalog/Items/PF2.aspx Angled trampoling. To throw a 4kg or 5kg ball and catch it while sitting on a ball. http://prohealthcareproducts.com/medicine-...rampoline-p-159 I'm using the Polar FT40 RM600++ which turned out to be RM150+ more expensive from Fitness Concept than buying it from Athlete's Circle. The cheapest is around RM300-RM400. My coach recommends the FT70 because it can show you which zone you're working out in. FT40 doesn't show the zone but it does give the weekly summary. It's slightly cheaper than in the US(not sure if it's because Malaysia is tax-free for exercise equipment). And looking at my schedule, I couldn't cram yoga in because it would mean going to another center. I do something else known as Body Rolling that was developed by a US-based yoga teacher. Body Rolling is essentially to create space for healing and allow muscle growth/repair. I became a believer when I saw how quickly it shaped up my legs and hips from just a few sessions. I became a stronger believer when it gave me foot arches when I've been born with flat feet. Plus, my spine is still not strong enough to do some of the twisting yoga moves so I do more body rolling to increase flexibility. Then I'll try it out again probably another 6-12 months from now. |
May 20 2013, 03:23 PM
8 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
QUOTE(chastise @ May 14 2013, 09:03 PM) Normal days I do weights 3 x a week and 1 day HIIT. very good info...Day 1 - Chest/Back Day 2 - Bicep/Tricep/Shoulder Day 3 - HIIT Day 4 - Lower body This with 100g carb (mostly in the morning-lunch) 110g Protein a day. My momentum always stop in 2 months. Record.. I lost 10% BF. On desperate days (ie. skipped gym for 2 months and need to lose some for weddings, beaches, etc) Day 1 - Chest/Back + HIIT Day 2 - Bicep/Tricep/Shoulder + HIIT Day 3 - HIIT Day 4 - Lower body This on below 50g carb + 120g protein. With this I'll down at least 5% BF in two weeks. HIIT - either sprint or RPM. 3 exercise each part with 12 reps x 3 + 20 reps x 1 at lesser weight. Cheat day once a week. Supplements - the usual multivites + fish oils + carnitine on HIIT days. I gauge my results by looking at mirror and fat caliper because my concern is to lower BF and get lean. |
May 21 2013, 01:55 AM
You need to lift heavy and watch your macros to see results. Not how many times you go to the gym.
May 21 2013, 10:29 AM
May 21 2013, 10:34 AM
May 21 2013, 10:41 AM
May 21 2013, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(myremi @ May 20 2013, 10:18 AM) Cross Trainer and Trampolin :3 sounds really tough but interesting Thanks for the info on the HRM Body Rolling? First time hearing this but it sounds great if you can really see some result from it |
May 21 2013, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ May 21 2013, 10:41 AM) really? And get injured? Do some reading and research. Why will you get injured? If you have been training, you should know your limits. It depends on your goal, if you wanna get lean, you lift. If for overall health purposes, any will do.Train according to one's preference. Any concrete evidence that shows that lifting heavy beats light weights? |
May 21 2013, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(chastise @ May 21 2013, 10:59 AM) Do some reading and research. Why will you get injured? If you have been training, you should know your limits. It depends on your goal, if you wanna get lean, you lift. If for overall health purposes, any will do. I've done my fair share of research and I personally lift heavy as well. I wonder how you define lean. And yes, I know my limits but the following video also shows how people view their limits what for? Focus on the RIGHT form, lift the RIGHT weight NOT heavy And why not I give you something to watch rather than telling you to read and research Enjoy your workout, make it sustainable |
May 21 2013, 11:16 AM
Lol... seriously, you won't be thinking that i asked people to lift heavy without thinking about form?
May 21 2013, 11:17 AM
I'm not asking the girls here to bench press 100kg. Just not 2.5 kg.
May 21 2013, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(chastise @ May 21 2013, 11:17 AM) The interesting thing about lifting heavy was that I saw this Caucasian guy doing modified side plank by lifting weights over his head. The weight was 5 lbs dumbbells. Must have been pretty heavy because he was moaning and groaning pretty hard. There are many ways to get lean. Lifting heavy is one way. Many reps with smaller weights is another way. Just that the smaller weight has to be challenging enough to still give the person perfect form. I believe that chastise and lilredridinghood is both right. Just that there are different options to get there where one option is more fun than the other for different people. Following macros and checking calorie intake is a good starting point. But if the TS body is having inflammation from food, she may be having water retention. Only way to find a solution to all 3 scenarios is still keeping a food diary though. Keeps one accountable of what one puts in ones mouth although it's so hard to follow through all the time. The food diary helps to find out whether there are hidden calories. |
| Change to: | 0.0380sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:38 AM |