Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs
supafreak
Jun 27 2006, 11:25 AM

hey all... got my blackbook on fri... it's been pretty good... it runs a little hot esp on the left hand side of the keyboard... idles at abt 40+C... after an hr, it averages abt 50+... the highest i got was 70C... which is scary...
512MB ram is juz not enough man...
i've yet to install windows in it yet tho... wanna get used to OSX... the notepal coolermaster juz doesnt cut it la... got tat oso but the mac's like all closed at the bottom... so even if i left the cooler running, it doesnt reduce the temp by much... mayb 1C...
i installed a copy of microsoft office (my friend's a teacher and the student/teacher version allows for 3 installations)... and i had a little problem... everytime i launch an office app, a pop up will say it has unexpected error; can't reach microsoft framework... wat the heck does this mean?... i've to register the software to get rid of this thing?
Bahir, the cycom folks can handle ur software worries... tat's wat they told me...
Bahir.
Jun 27 2006, 03:07 PM

Thanks supafreak but apparently its not the Software problem..its the RAM..need to get a pair of RAM sticks.. so yeah...
anyway, what do you guys use to check for the temp..?
i got the iStat nano widget and it doesnt list my temp...its empty..so yeah...wanna get something to really check for my temps..any favourite suggestions...?
prasys
Jun 27 2006, 03:40 PM
Heros Never Die
Temperature Monitor , you could google for it...Its one of the best programs for the mac out there
razom
Jun 27 2006, 05:19 PM

does anybody know when will the MACBOOK low end specs reach malaysia ?
1zR4eL
Jun 27 2006, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(Bahir. @ Jun 27 2006, 03:07 PM) Thanks supafreak but apparently its not the Software problem..its the RAM..need to get a pair of RAM sticks.. so yeah... anyway, what do you guys use to check for the temp..? i got the iStat nano widget and it doesnt list my temp...its empty..so yeah...wanna get something to really check for my temps..any favourite suggestions...? so now you using pair ram?
neekun
Jun 27 2006, 05:53 PM
Bahir, use CoreDuo Temp to check for temp reading.
SUSMike3300
Jun 27 2006, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(razom @ Jun 27 2006, 05:19 PM) does anybody know when will the MACBOOK low end specs reach malaysia ? 1.83GHZ Intel Core Duo Macbook is RM4399 I think you can order it 1st This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 27 2006, 05:56 PM
razom
Jun 27 2006, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 27 2006, 05:56 PM) 1.83GHZ Intel Core Duo Macbook is RM4399 I think you can order it 1st  I booked liau but I cannot wait till so long. When is the MACBOOK reach?
na21m
Jun 27 2006, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(razom @ Jun 27 2006, 07:45 PM) I booked liau but I cannot wait till so long. When is the MACBOOK reach? Same here dude, same here...
SUSMike3300
Jun 27 2006, 08:04 PM
Looks like MacBook is a high demanding product, everybody is going to buy it...so it'll be longer...you just have to wait if you have the cash already...dun worry
This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jun 27 2006, 08:04 PM
lokgotz
Jun 27 2006, 08:31 PM
finally i got access to my macbook....hehehe... it was in my dad's office since friday...but i wasnt in KL......today only got it.... after being a long time windows user, really not used to Mac lah..... This post has been edited by lokgotz: Jun 27 2006, 09:00 PM
ASAP
Jun 27 2006, 08:44 PM
Regarding the Ms Office problem, just upgrade to the latest patch from auto update should solve the problem.
I have a totally new macbook black selling cheaper than the retail. Totally new and legal. PM me if interested.
TSminiacs
Jun 27 2006, 09:07 PM
just bought the white macbook 2.0Ghz from Lowyat today. there are many stocks, but no 1.83Ghz yet.
1zR4eL
Jun 27 2006, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(miniacs @ Jun 27 2006, 09:07 PM) just bought the white macbook 2.0Ghz from Lowyat today. there are many stocks, but no 1.83Ghz yet. you mean macstudio?
onimusha_m16
Jun 28 2006, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(miniacs @ Jun 27 2006, 09:07 PM) just bought the white macbook 2.0Ghz from Lowyat today. there are many stocks, but no 1.83Ghz yet. how much is the 2.0ghz (white) ?
lokgotz
Jun 28 2006, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Jun 28 2006, 08:26 AM) how much is the 2.0ghz (white) ? RRP is RM5299
d@odao
Jun 28 2006, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jun 27 2006, 08:31 PM) finally i got access to my macbook....hehehe... it was in my dad's office since friday...but i wasnt in KL......today only got it.... after being a long time windows user, really not used to Mac lah..... congrat on ur new Macbook...  very nice Macbook... no worry ler...u will get use to it and u sure love it...it is very easy to use one... i m tempted liao...
Bahir.
Jun 28 2006, 12:59 PM

hey 1zR4eL, i reverted back to the original 2x256..im thinking of selling the 1G stick cause i really doubt ill be needing 2Gs anytime soon..  then ill buy 2x512..either that or go back to the shop and ask if i can trade it in for 2x512..
d@odao
Jun 28 2006, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(miniacs @ Jun 27 2006, 09:07 PM) just bought the white macbook 2.0Ghz from Lowyat today. there are many stocks, but no 1.83Ghz yet. do u pre-ordered it or direct jst go lowyat and buy?...cheers... I wonder if the Macbook cpu can be swapped into the Mac mini?...Or hv tis been discussed b4?...it shld be the same cpu type, right?...
Eithanius
Jun 28 2006, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(d@odao @ Jun 28 2006, 01:04 PM) do u pre-ordered it or direct jst go lowyat and buy?...cheers... I wonder if the Macbook cpu can be swapped into the Mac mini?...Or hv tis been discussed b4?...it shld be the same cpu type, right?...  I thought MacBook cpu is soldered onto the logic board....