7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

limeuu
post Jan 17 2009, 02:14 PM

12,291 posts

the 'old boys' network is still alive and well........but the selection process is now more structured and transparent, with more people involved.....they will still look favourably upon offsprings of colleagues, but you will still need to get through the qualifying exams first......and achieve the AAA or AAB they give their offers on.......
limeuu
post Jan 17 2009, 10:51 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 17 2009, 08:35 PM)
And this is what's written on the SMC web site:
SMC web site
Now when i read back, i seriously LOL. Pls do proper research before answering next time. And try to admit when you are wrong.

again, not quite.........never once did i refer to singapore, but was a general comment in responce to a misguided belief.....context of my comments here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry18524675

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 11 2008, 08:07 PM)
Wow, is this the attitude of a Melbourbe U student?? Wow, something went wrong in the selection of students man. I thought students in Melbourne U are mostly humble and hardworking bunch, instead of egoistic idiot like you (i personally know a few people from medical course in melbourne U, mostly your seniors, that is if you are really from melbourne U wink.gif )

Well, say all you want about Manipal, UM or other local Us. In the end, all of us will be doctors. And once i obtained MRCP or other specialist degree, I'll be recognized worldwide.

Btw, entering medical course in local Us for non-bumi is even harder than entering melbourne U.<removed>

limeuu: eh........not quite.......

registration to practice in a country depends on the primary qualification.........not the subsequent postgraduate qualifications........

and in uk, the mrcp is an ENTRANCE qualification, ie you are ready to enter into advanced specialist training........at the current moment, to qualify for consultant grade jobs, you need the cst........

Added on January 17, 2009, 10:58 pmin any case, if you think you can get full registration in spore with an mrcp, you are greatly mistaken........read the condition carefully.....'exit specialist qualification'....from the uk, you will need the CST......and you get a provisional registration, based on having securing a job as a trainee........

look in the mirror first......

Added on January 17, 2009, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 17 2009, 10:06 PM)
Did i ridicule your good friend when he claimed that visa was withdrawn? I was merely asking for reference. Since he's the one who pointed out such issue, by logic he's responsible for providing reference.

Mistake? what mistake have i made? Care to point out?

where did i do that? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 17 2009, 11:40 PM
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 12:46 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 02:40 AM)

Btw, i made a mistake in my previous statement on visa. It should be: "Did i ridicule your good friend when he claimed that UK is thinking of withdrawing the visa on arrival for Msians? I was merely asking for reference. Since he's the one who pointed out such issue, by logic he's responsible for providing reference."

i didn't 'claim', it's a fact, extensively reported in the media, both mainstream and alternative....... rolleyes.gif
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:00 PM

12,291 posts

as for registration in singapore, the specifics are as stated in their website, in particular, non recognised foreign graduates, where there is avenue for conditonal registration subject to the conditions stated........which includes offer of employment before applying for registration......

you however cannot get the standard full registration.....

much of my comments have been in general, and not specifically in respect to spore.........

the specifics of singapore, from experience, is that this pathway is discretionary.....
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:21 PM

12,291 posts

most people here can tell the difference between 'claimed' and factual information........

Added on January 18, 2009, 1:22 pmeh........not provisional registration lah.........that is for the housemanship, and only for those whose primary qualification is recognised........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 18 2009, 01:22 PM
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:24 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 18 2009, 08:32 AM)
Internet forums generally serve 2 purposes. Exchange of ideas and a playground for fun. Both will draw people to it.
biggrin.gif .....but it can get a bit vexing sometimes........especially when people gets argumentative and ruminative....... smile.gif
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:27 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 18 2009, 11:16 AM)
...........many here are too obsessed with practicing in Singapore.
(Luckily I'm not one of them)
spore is the 'what msia could have been' model.......and hence, not without merit, a defacto standard for msia/msian to benchmark against......... biggrin.gif

Added on January 18, 2009, 1:28 pmi think it is pretty clear to most here who starts arguments in this forum......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 18 2009, 01:28 PM
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:35 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 01:31 PM)
Tell me then, who started the "Indian Syndrome" and private medical education destroys the spirit of service to your people and your country"?
i did, and these are facts.......no need to argue.....

perhaps you may want to talk to some of you friends who are studying/working in uk, to verify what i said about 'asians' (in the uk context, that means the subcontinent)........

those who are studying in uk now will know what i am talking about......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 18 2009, 01:37 PM
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:43 PM

12,291 posts

dense.....

i was referring to some here who are already talking about doing qualifying exams to work overseas, even before graduating, and even before embarking on clinical years......and heavens forbid, even before actually being admitted into med school.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 18 2009, 01:45 PM
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:48 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 18 2009, 01:45 PM)
What's wrong with planning early? It's better to have a goal than not to have any.
that, my friend, is called the 'asian' syndrome......lah....... biggrin.gif

pssss........ go ask your friends in uk/oz whatever, whether the local brits, aussie etc are planning to sit for registration exams to go practise elsewhere......... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 01:58 PM

12,291 posts

even with my caveat at the end you cannot understand.......oh dear.....where did i criticise......i am merely stating the facts........

i can tell you that 20 years ago, it wasn't like this in msia.........

it is still not like this in spore and hk, together with msia of the old days, these 3 ex-colonies were shinning examples, students went to study, work, train in uk, and then they go home.........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 18 2009, 01:59 PM
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 02:06 PM

12,291 posts

hello friend, where did i blame anybody?.........i am just stating the facts, it is up to you to think what the root causes are.......like i said, do i have to spell everything out?

i think i have made my points quite clear on this issue, and it is up to the readers to understand........or misunderstand........whatever.....

signing off on this subject matter now.........

limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 03:13 PM

12,291 posts

those in medical schools now will have no problem with securing a job with the moh......so future job prospects in msia is excellent.......

one does not have to go work elsewhere to sit for postgraduate exams in the uk.......the mrcp, mrcog exams are open exams, and anyone with the necessary required rotations in msian hospitals can sit for them........
limeuu
post Jan 18 2009, 06:07 PM

12,291 posts

in msia, like i said before, after mrcp and mrcog, one gets gazetted after 18 months, and is recognised as specialists, for the purpose of registration with the nsr (national specialist register)......the cst (supersedes the ccst) is not relevant in msia........

unfortunately, the mrcs is not recognised, so surgical training is a bit of problem at the moment.......the frcs will require onshore recognised postings.......

nevertheless, 30-50% of masters places are taken by non-malays......just compete like everybody else lah........

about standards, what makes one thinks if one is not good enough to qualify to get into nus/um/ukm medical programme, and not good enough to compete with other non malays to enter the masters, that one will qualify to be selected for employment in spore, even after mrcp.......? cos the others will also have their postgraduate qualifications as well.......

point remains, there are many options locally to advance in careers, one need not go overseas.......unless one intend to migrate, training being just an excuse........

it's a very different mindset, judging from the few forumers here, very different from the old days.....
limeuu
post Jan 19 2009, 12:22 AM

12,291 posts

for those contemplating applying to work in spore, this is some info just obtained through personal communication with a spore based msian doctor.....

the recent change in uk immigration laws has resulted in a marked increase in msian uk graduates applying and working in spore......

in addition, the recent recognition of um and ukm by smc has resulted in many fresh graduates from these two unis applying to do their housemanship in spore........which is still 1 year, while it is now 2 years of 'slavery' in msia.......

i need not add which ethnicity these will be......

these will be your likely competitors.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 19 2009, 11:55 AM
limeuu
post Jan 20 2009, 05:49 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 20 2009, 05:26 PM)
also, the focus of our debate is the eligibility to work there, not the possibility of securing a job offer. I hope you know how to differentiate the 2.

eh.......in this particular case of using mrcp for conditional registration due to unrecognised primary qualification, you are NOT eligible to work, until you get the conditional registration, which you can ONLY get if you have a firm offer of a job............therefore securing a firm job offer is vital..........before being eligible...... smile.gif
limeuu
post Jan 20 2009, 06:10 PM

12,291 posts

eh.........not the same lah.........

if you are recognised, you can register, then go look for job lah......

if not, and using something like mrcp , then you have to look for a job first.......no offer, no registration........and lots of uk, um, ukm people looking at the same jobs.......

anyway, this is all moot.......go get the mrcp, mrcog, whatever first lah......and possibly the rules will have changed by then......... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 20 2009, 06:13 PM
limeuu
post Jan 20 2009, 06:24 PM

12,291 posts

whatever.......

wonder if the spore people still go on road shows to recruit doctors in imu, nz and oz unis, like they used to do..........maybe with the flood of people from uk, they don't need to anymore.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 20 2009, 06:27 PM
limeuu
post Jan 20 2009, 06:29 PM

12,291 posts

opti, they are targeting msians in these unis lah.......spore is relatively short of junior and intermediate level doctors in the last few years........

some took the bait, know a few there.........including my bil.......

let's face the facts.......fully HALF of all doctors in spore are or were msians........ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 20 2009, 06:30 PM
limeuu
post Jan 20 2009, 07:18 PM

12,291 posts

spore could easily have another 1 or 2 medical schools, to produce more doctors.......but they know they can always rely on msians to pay for their own education and then want to go to spore to work and settle.......save them a big bundle of money NOT having to train doctors for their own needs.......

uk and oz actually train adequate doctors for their own needs, just that they also tap into the best brains from msia, who even pay fully for their own education first, and then contribute their youth and lifetime of work to them......

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0525sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:11 PM