7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

limeuu
post Aug 9 2008, 11:48 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 9 2008, 11:27 PM)
I don't like the way you commented on the local U and private med school in malaysia, they meant as if all the med students from there would make shitty doctors.

this is interesting.. how bad were them? lack of medical knowledge(clinical,etc) or just just plain bad attitudes?
read my posts again.......carefully.......i make no blanket judgement on any particular student......only the system.......

med schools in msia, both ipts and ipta, are mediocre.......none has achieved any excellence....even um has dumbed down.......as reflected in it's lost of gmc registration and world ranking......getting and keeping good lecturers and teachers are the underlying problems......

the main problem is however, admission policy......if you don't select the right students, you end up with the wrong doctors.......the spectrum of students is so broad, you get the very good to the very bad.....that is wrong........it should be the very good to the good........

i am very critical in this area........i strongly believe mediocre students should NOT be allowed to "try'.......because the system is NOT robust enough to weed them out ('not allowed to fail' policy)......and bad doctors are actually allowed to graduate.....

i was initially critical of imu's admission policy too, they are too lax in entry requirements, but they made up for this by having a robust exam system, daring to fail those who do not make the grades........this they have to do, because eventually, it is NOT imu who decides who passes, it's the pms, who will decide who can be accepted into their med schools..........and they tolerate no compromise of standards.....and those who went through the pms through the years have graduated comfortably compared with the home students.....

limeuu
post Nov 15 2008, 11:30 PM

12,291 posts

no
limeuu
post Jan 2 2009, 03:30 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 2 2009, 03:14 PM)
so,when i enter MBBS...you should help me oo....okokok?senior haha rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif kampateh!!!But i still worry lo....em..If can... please post the syllabus here...cos i already start do revision lo!!!
'if'

you don't choose to get into any med school.......

they will choose you.......or not......
limeuu
post Jan 6 2009, 12:35 PM

12,291 posts

the products of any med school is only as good as the raw materials taken in, and only as good as the teachers that mould these raw materials.........

any med school that takes in sub standard students, will inevitably produce some substandard doctors.........

arguements that they also produce excellent doctors, or that even top world class med schools produce some duds hold no water, as the intention is the point here......

that is why i am critical of ALL medical schools with poor selection criteria and process.......this is compounded in msia, and many 3rd world countries, by the curse of private medical education, which then allows people to BUY into med school........

i repeat what i have said many times........future doctors should be selected from the best students, academically, intellectually, aplititudically.......and NOT based on who can pay for it.......and certainly NOT the colour of one's skin......

none of msia's med schools fulfill this........ipts suffers from funding skews, and ipta sufers from racial skews.........

p/s going by recent media reports, trouble is brewing in the upper management of aimst.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 6 2009, 12:49 PM
limeuu
post Jan 8 2009, 02:19 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(jayelleenelial @ Jan 7 2009, 11:42 PM)

We've got a clinical paper that covers stuff from year2-4... die lah like that=(
imagine when you start working, and need to recall stuffs from year 1-5/6......... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Jan 12 2009, 08:31 AM

12,291 posts

soon, it may be necessary to ask where the doctor graduates from before one agrees to see the doctor........

there is nothing wrong with reading the manual, he may not be familiar with the procedure, 1st patient maybe..........on the other hand, if he needs to read it every time he treats anyone, something's badly wrong......

but better he reads, rather than recklessly doing potential harm........which some new grads do, thinking the dr. in front of their name means god.........
limeuu
post Jan 12 2009, 11:12 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 12 2009, 11:03 AM)
1. Many grads from Indonesia also qualified. Will you let him, or let a UM grad treat your family (touch wood)?

1. yes of course..I will also let a indonesia graduate to treat my family!!!
naive and ill informed.......try talk to your friends/seniors from reputable unis who are working junior doctors in msian gov hospitals.......

limeuu
post Jan 13 2009, 12:22 AM

12,291 posts

sorry, don't know enough about usmle to answer you......wgy above probably knows more..........
limeuu
post Jan 14 2009, 07:41 PM

12,291 posts

foundation courses are also good money spinner.........

and allows for 'discretionary' decision making........
limeuu
post Jan 14 2009, 11:01 PM

12,291 posts

i am sounding like a stuck record (if the present generation knows what that is), but there has never been, and will never be, any local med school which did/does not receive mmc recognition by the time the 1st batch graduates......no matter how bad, or how much problem the med school is/has.......
limeuu
post Jan 14 2009, 11:48 PM

12,291 posts

looks like the 'indian syndrome' has descended upon msia.......actually it should be 'subcontinent syndrome'.....

every indian/parkistan/bangla medical student and junior doctor dreams of going to work and settle in the developed world........they will try all ways, sit for the plab, usmle (or ecfmg/vqe in the past), amc, whatever........

and of course these countries are very wary of the subcontinent people.....they have a tendency to stay on after visiting.......that is why there is NO visa on arrival in uk for them, unlike msian or singaporeans......

on the other hand, msians, sporeans, hongkies tend to do what they need to do, and then leave, return back to their own country.......for that reason, it was easier for them to get jobs compared to the subcontinent people........of course some stayed on, but that is more by chance/circumstances, rather than premeditated choice.........

looks like not any more.......not for msians anyway.....

understandably, these countries are wary of msians nowadays........uk is think of withdrawing the visa on arrival for msians.........

what happened to service to your people, and country.........??

private medical education destroyed that.......amongst other reasons, of course.......

sad......

p/s i should add that i am not criticising such decisions, if i were in your shoes now, i would certainly be thinking the same way.......how to abandon a sinking ship......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 14 2009, 11:59 PM
limeuu
post Jan 15 2009, 05:29 PM

12,291 posts

my comments are factual, and not meant to be demeaning on any nationality........

be that as it may, ever wondered why they bothered to come to msia.........?
limeuu
post Jan 15 2009, 11:13 PM

12,291 posts

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...6831&sec=nation

obviously don't read newspapers.......

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:25 pmread my caveat.......

fact remains, it's not service that motivates now, the attitude is mercenary.....

brain drain has been one of msia's major export since the 70's......but like i said, it was mostly circumstances, opportunities, that motivate migration.....now it very premeditated......

don't get defensive, i am not passing any value judgement, just making observations......

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(rav063 @ Jan 15 2009, 07:04 PM)
Enlighten us then?
what would motivate you to go to say, hk, to work?

if you have offers for jobs and pr's from phillipines, hk and uk, which one would you choose?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 15 2009, 11:38 PM
limeuu
post Jan 16 2009, 12:02 AM

12,291 posts

ditto for the indians in aimst........
limeuu
post Jan 16 2009, 12:10 AM

12,291 posts

admission policy......for non-malays, that is.......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 16 2009, 12:12 AM
limeuu
post Jan 16 2009, 05:59 PM

12,291 posts

it's in all the newsapers.......and tv news.....

misbehaviour of others will reflect on all citizens of the country.......you are branded together.......

scholars with bonds are public funded, and NOT private students........even if they study in for profit private unis..........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 16 2009, 06:01 PM
limeuu
post Jan 16 2009, 07:18 PM

12,291 posts

you all obviously do not understand what i am saying.......never mind.....

where did i say 'private medical graduates any lesser or substandard to government graduates'?

i said 'what happened to service to your people, and country.........??

private medical education destroyed that.......amongst other reasons, of course.......'

limeuu
post Jan 16 2009, 07:54 PM

12,291 posts

'what happened to service to your people, and country.........??

private medical education destroyed that.......amongst other reasons, of course.......'

do you all really need everything spelled out? no one is disputing the nep policies are responsible for many of the problems in the country.......including the messed up training of doctors......

limeuu
post Jan 16 2009, 11:21 PM

12,291 posts

search my postings from the past if you are interested.........i have said, explained it all before......
limeuu
post Jan 17 2009, 09:13 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(rav063 @ Jan 16 2009, 11:47 PM)
To comb 700+ posts with my lousy net connection... LOL... I will just trust that whatever you said was constructive ...

a simple click brings out the results.........

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/416477/+120?author=limeuu

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:18 AM