140 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

TScsrulez
post Jun 23 2009, 02:12 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

QUOTE(little apple @ Jun 22 2009, 09:53 PM)
more challenging in a sense tht.. there're many distractions...(of course, a city with much entertainment,,,...the many happenings in the city..events in univeristy, the environment of UCSI is quite open.. like "no one cares if you're attending classes or not"  brows.gif  ) , as in.. you have to train yourself to be stronger mentally and to cope in your studies with so much discipline..

where as for AImst... you're stucked within the boundary of the campus.. quite stale..boring..you are kept in a big cage  shakehead.gif with a bunch of same people..all you have to do is study .. cafeteria... labs... library... study... cafe... for five years...however, it is "less challenging" ,...in a sense of concentrating in the studies... no distractions... birds chirppings all the way thumbup.gif ..(haha!!)... but if one cannot cope with this stale thing.. brain cells will also sure crack a bit one.. tongue.gif
Is that how you define a course as challenging? From it's location? Find it cute.

Even in aimst, ppl still fail. Probably more than some other university, so how do you explain this phenomenon then?

What i'd like to say is that, no matter where you are if you do not disciplined yourself, you'll end up the same. This SHOULD NOT be the attitude of any medical students, constant studying is a must here. We still have penang, by the way. I would agree if you mean that the course curriculum itself is challenging, and this is what i feel that aimst's MBBS curriculum is not a piece of cake if you were to compare it with USCI. No offence though. IMHO.
little apple
post Jun 23 2009, 03:01 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jun 23 2009, 02:12 PM)
Is that how you define a course as challenging? From it's location? Find it cute.

Even in aimst, ppl still fail. Probably more than some other university, so how do you explain this phenomenon then?

What i'd like to say is that, no matter where you are if you do not disciplined yourself, you'll end up the same. This SHOULD NOT be the attitude of any medical students, constant studying is a must here. We still have penang, by the way. I would agree if you mean that the course curriculum itself is challenging, and this is what i feel that aimst's MBBS curriculum is not a piece of cake if you were to compare it with USCI. No offence though. IMHO.
wel, the environment affects students in a way...tht's how i feel.. but you're right... it matters more WITHIN-ourselves. rolleyes.gif =) thanks csrulez.
how about the recognition? i mean.. aimst get the recognition FIRST ... not UCSI.. will it affect the judgement on doctors in future?

This post has been edited by little apple: Jun 23 2009, 03:05 PM
fykk64
post Jun 23 2009, 03:02 PM

48 posts

is it true that aimst only accept actual results? if that's the case alevels student can't apply for it?
TScsrulez
post Jun 23 2009, 04:16 PM

1,114 posts

QUOTE(little apple @ Jun 23 2009, 03:01 PM)
wel, the environment affects students in a way...tht's how i feel.. but you're right... it matters more WITHIN-ourselves. rolleyes.gif  =) thanks csrulez.
how about the recognition? i mean.. aimst get the recognition FIRST ... not UCSI.. will it affect the judgement on doctors in future?
Yes, in a way. But i believe that shouldn't be the reason for failling exams, you can play but make sure it's within the limits. Can't be studying all year round.

Nope, the date of recognition wouldn't affect the judgement toward doctors. Nobody will be asking you when your uni is recognised when you come out to work in the future. And eventually all medical school will be recognised, it's just the matter of time. (Unless the med school is really badd). And the time of recognition does not reflect the grads quality, of course. It's the quality control eg. examination standard, curriculums, entrance examination etc.
little apple
post Jun 23 2009, 04:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jun 23 2009, 04:16 PM)
Yes, in a way. But i believe that shouldn't be the reason for failling exams, you can play but make sure it's within the limits. Can't be studying all year round.

Nope, the date of recognition wouldn't affect the judgement toward doctors. Nobody will be asking you when your uni is recognised when you come out to work in the future. And eventually all medical school will be recognised, it's just the matter of time. (Unless the med school is really badd). And the time of recognition does not reflect the grads quality, of course. It's the quality control eg. examination standard, curriculums, entrance examination etc.
thanks very much again for the info.. really helps.

read your previous posts...you're a medical stu. in Aimst.. mind me asking another question..? but why did you choose Aimst and not other ,(eg, UCSi,, IMU...PMc..)?

This post has been edited by little apple: Jun 23 2009, 04:23 PM
clouds
post Jun 23 2009, 04:25 PM

318 posts

AIMST...near my parent in law house in kedah...
TScsrulez
post Jun 23 2009, 04:29 PM

1,114 posts

You're in AIMST too?

I'm actually a foundation leaver from aimst, and the choice i have will only be Manipal, UCSI, russia and indonesia. Russia and indon is definitely out for it, i've heard alot from senior MOs about russian grads especially. So that leaves UCSI, Manipal and few other med school in m'sia such as RCMP and CUCMS. Being a student here, i've heard alot from my seniors and lecturers. I was thinking, AIMST is equally good so why not just give it a try. AIMST had just been recognised at that time.

Currently i'm already in year 2 term 2. And i guess i've not regrets, it's a good choice. All i can say is that, AIMST is equally good if you were to compare it with other medical schools locally. smile.gif
little apple
post Jun 23 2009, 05:07 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jun 23 2009, 04:29 PM)
You're in AIMST too?

I'm actually a foundation leaver from aimst, and the choice i have will only be Manipal, UCSI, russia and indonesia. Russia and indon is definitely out for it, i've heard alot from senior MOs about russian grads especially. So that leaves UCSI, Manipal and few other med school in m'sia such as RCMP and CUCMS. Being a student here, i've heard alot from my seniors and lecturers. I was thinking, AIMST is equally good so why not just give it a try. AIMST had just been recognised at that time.

Currently i'm already in year 2 term 2. And i guess i've not regrets, it's a good choice. All i can say is that, AIMST is equally good if you were to compare it with other medical schools locally. smile.gif
okay... good to know you're happy with AIMSt.. so far wht i've read is mostly bad stuffs bout aimst.... thanks a lot!!!

Added on June 24, 2009, 4:21 pmjust wanna share with you all here.. >from the nil< - a summary
after a long research on medic universities... and applying for places,

i got offered in three medical schools, which is... MMA ( MOSCOW MEDICAL ACADEMY), UCSI , AIMST... (i didnt apply for IMU)
1. MMA- MD

i turned down MMA last minute, as many seniors and news advice me it's not too wise to go there... tho it'll be great chance for us to experience student life in oversea...but currency rate might change few years down the road.... students in practical years there are not given the same chance to treat patients like in malaysia.. but of course, i hv no bad comments for those who are already on the rail there...

2. UCSi- MD

2years in KL cheras, 3 years pratical in kuala terengganu hospital
it's still new and havent got the recognition.next year 2010, the first batch of students will only be out, and tested...but anyway, many students still enrol in it,,a medic student there told me tht it isn't about recognition afterall...they will eventually get it ( but there's a tendency ...- wht if it doesnt?/).,n cz of tht, UCSi will maintain its high standards in order for them to get the regonition, so..the first few batch of students there will get the benefit.( their A levels is recognised internationally compared to Aimst and others) the lecturers there are good. but there are some "transfers" of lecturers for the past years... but anyhow, they still maintain good quality teaching.
i also realized tht the dean is actually the from one our local universities, there are lecturers from africa, myanmar and india..
also,a class there only consists about 80 ppl, so lecturers can actually put focus on them... facilities are ok there
the evironment-- is a bit congested,if you go there, you can see so many students walking in all directions!! it's because it is centralized,,,(-) may get distracted...but it's a strategic place.thr r pharmacies , restaurants etc near there...
and also,based on fact, many students whom r rejected in AIMST, then, managed to get in UCSI,,..

UCSI will be sending out their offer letter by this week, 26/6 im told..

3. AIMST - MBBS

2 years in Sg petani, 3 years practical in Sg petani hospital
it's located in Sg Petani...far from anywhere...city. i went there myself. serious... it's lke a desert..! (exaggeratively)i hardly can i see any well grown trees! they have good lecturers too.. in sense of establishment, they are stronger than UCSI in medic field.. they have around 200 students in a lecture...they set stricter min requiremnts for a levels and stpm leavers compared to UCSI...
they provide free dental treatment for students....hhaah... there are graduates serving in hospital already
environment- no worries, no pollution at all!! but a bit isolated.. not easy to search for good food...
their cocu is not so fantastic compared to UCSI.. accomodation-nice.. but not like UCSI (of cz,,! apartments in city have more standard la!)..
anyway, my personal view is tht AIMST has been under the care of a bog organisation. MIC and governments.. anything goes wrong, it seems to have very big bunch of supporters stnding behind them....
>>>negative part. the ppl incharge of AIMST management team- receptionists... like in kindy school.i witness myself.. few days back i called up and i was passed from one line to the other.. many times i called..the same thing happened! and they are rude!! <<<

anyway, im told tht offer letter will be sent out today, 24/6... and students will receive it by friday...

i hope this helps

anyway.. i think i will be going to AIMST..... eheh.....after a long skull-cracking consideration

This post has been edited by little apple: Jun 24 2009, 04:23 PM
SiN90
post Jun 24 2009, 09:50 PM

13 posts

I am wondering why aimst actually send out all the offer letter (for STPM ) so late??i called them and they said it will be done around mid july..sigh
wenchean
post Jun 25 2009, 12:17 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(SiN90 @ Jun 24 2009, 09:50 PM)
I am wondering why aimst actually send out all the offer letter (for STPM ) so late??i called them and they said it will be done around mid july..sigh
Yeah, I wonder why too. :/ But since little apple said they sent the offer letters out on 24th of June, guess we would be getting ours soon?

I'm not going to AIMST though, just curious about whether I would be accepted or not. Hehe.
joyce_limyp
post Jun 25 2009, 01:33 AM

19 posts

hello there. im new at Lowyat forum. im interested to do MBBS at AIMST, i asked around and a friend recommend me here to find out more. so i was reading this thread for an hour plus and only reached to page 10. so i gave up and thought of why not i ask my questions, hoping someone would answer me directly instead of searching through the 90pages until my eyeballs come off. i just finished my stpm cgpa 3.5. received call from AIMST on monday asking me whether i want to accept to enter the MBBS course. i said yes and they said offer letter would be sent. and i thought i was the only one who noticed that the admin of AIMST thosewho handling calls are rude and they kept passing u to another line when u actually dialed the correct extension number.

my questions are :
1- the 220K is for ? course fee only? since its stated that students must stay in the campus for 1st 2yrs, is the accomodation included in the 220k?
2- the classes are daily ? monday till friday? there will be sem breaks is it? when?
3- books needed are purchased where?
4- ptptn loan is quite a sure-will-get-150K?
5- is JPA scholarship offered?

i hope someone would provide me with compact and precise answers to my questions. im quite certain il be heading to aimst, so i need assurance for my doubts, thus i asked the above questions.

thank you.
TScsrulez
post Jun 25 2009, 02:12 AM

1,114 posts

QUOTE(little apple @ Jun 23 2009, 05:07 PM)
okay... good to know you're happy with AIMSt.. so far wht i've read is mostly bad stuffs bout aimst.... thanks a lot!!!

Added on June 24, 2009, 4:21 pmjust wanna share with you all here.. >from the nil< - a summary

i got offered in three medical schools, which is... MMA ( MOSCOW MEDICAL ACADEMY), UCSI , AIMST... (i didnt apply for IMU)
1. MMA- MD

i turned down MMA last minute, as many seniors and news advice me it's not too wise to go there... tho it'll be great chance for us to experience student life in oversea...but currency rate might change few years down the road.... students in practical years there are not given the same chance to treat patients like in malaysia.. but of course, i hv no bad comments for those who are already on the rail there...
2. UCSi- MD

it's still new and havent got the recognition.next year 2010, the first batch of students will only be out, and tested...but anyway, many students still enrol in it,,a medic student there told me tht it isn't about recognition afterall...they will eventually get it ( but there's a tendency ...- wht if it doesnt?/).,n cz of tht, UCSi will maintain its high standards in order for them to get the regonition, so..the first few batch of students there will get the benefit.( their A levels is recognised internationally compared to Aimst and others) the lecturers there are good. but there are some "transfers" of lecturers for the past years... but anyhow, they still maintain good quality teaching.
i also realized tht the dean is actually the from one our local universities, there are lecturers from africa, myanmar and india..
also,a class there only consists about 80 ppl, so lecturers can actually put focus on them... facilities are ok there
the evironment-- is a bit congested,if you go there, you can see so many students walking in all directions!! it's because it is centralized,,,(-) may get distracted...but it's a strategic place.thr r pharmacies , restaurants etc near there...
and also,based on fact, many students whom r rejected in AIMST, then, managed to get in UCSI,,..

3. AIMST - MBBS

it's located in Sg Petani...far from anywhere...city. i went there myself. serious... it's lke a desert..! (exaggeratively)i hardly can i see any well grown trees! they have good lecturers too.. in sense of establishment, they are stronger than UCSI in medic field.. they have around 200 students in a lecture...they set stricter min requiremnts for a levels and stpm leavers compared to UCSI...
they provide free dental treatment for students....hhaah... there are graduates serving in hospital already
environment- no worries, no pollution at all!! but a bit isolated.. not easy to search for good food...
their cocu is not so fantastic compared to UCSI.. accomodation-nice.. but not like UCSI (of cz,,! apartments in city have more standard la!)..
anyway, my personal view is tht AIMST has been under the care of a bog organisation. MIC and governments.. anything goes wrong, it seems to have very big bunch of supporters stnding behind them....
>>>negative part. the ppl incharge of AIMST management team- receptionists... like in kindy school.i witness myself.. few days back i called up and i was passed from one line to the other.. many times i called..the same thing happened! and they are rude!! <<<

anyway, im told tht offer letter will be sent out today, 24/6... and students will receive it by friday...

i hope this helps

anyway.. i think i will be going to AIMST..... eheh.....after a long skull-cracking consideration
Haha. A good sum up of each university, if it's me MMA is definitely out for me. Reason? i guess many has known that reputation and quality of russian grads are not as good, even the JPA scholars. UCSI i haven't heard much. But AIMST, i have few points to clarify. SP got no trees meh? I mean if you were to compared it with city wor. Hahaa. Another thing is that yeahhh, truly agree that the management sucks. However, the faculty members are really good. Currently my batch has only 70 students. The upcoming batch will have up to 220, including the JPA scholars. Therefore, the number of intake has only been increased very recently. Facilities wise, if you were to say the school of medicine, we have one of the most advance clinical skills lab in Malaysia. Lecturers are from UK, US, India, Myanmar, Australia etc. And i dare to say that they're all very good in their own field, and there are few very high profile ppl as well. Such as Prof ET Larmie, from USM which setted up the clinical skills labs, Prof Christina Gellknight, which is the member of WHO Opthalmology fellowship etc etc.

Therefore i guess, you've made a good choice. Your batch might be very big, but most of the time your personal effort is very important in learning especially in medical schools. All the best to you, your journey has just started. Good luck and i shall see you back in august. wink.gif

QUOTE(joyce_limyp @ Jun 25 2009, 01:33 AM)
hello there. im new at Lowyat forum. im interested to do MBBS at AIMST, i asked around and a friend recommend me here to find out more. so i was reading this thread for an hour plus and only reached to page 10. so i gave up and thought of why not i ask my questions, hoping someone would answer me directly instead of searching through the 90pages until my eyeballs come off. i just finished my stpm cgpa 3.5. received call from AIMST on monday asking me whether i want to accept to enter the MBBS course. i said yes and they said offer letter would be sent. and i thought i was the only one who noticed that the admin of AIMST thosewho handling calls are rude and they kept passing u to another line when u actually dialed the correct extension number.

my questions are :
1- the 220K is for ? course fee only? since its stated that students must stay in the campus for 1st 2yrs, is the accomodation included in the 220k?
2- the classes are daily ? monday till friday? there will be sem breaks is it? when?
3- books needed are purchased where?
4- ptptn loan is quite a sure-will-get-150K?
5- is JPA scholarship offered?

i hope someone would provide me with compact and precise answers to my questions. im quite certain il be heading to aimst, so i need assurance for my doubts, thus i asked the above questions.

thank you.
1. 220k is for tuition fees ONLY. Accomodation is not included, the list of fees charged can be found in the site.
2. It was stated full time course. Mon to fri, daily 8am to 5pm. Inclusive of lectures and practicals for the 1st 2 years. 3 year onwards the timetable would no longer be the same. Sem break varies from batch to batch. Basically year one has 3 mid sem break (each 1 week) and 1 final break (6weeks).
3. Totally up to you, mostly ppl from KL buy from KAMAL while locally in SP normally it's from TOPRANK or IBS(Inside campus).
4. Confirm 150k provided if you've not made any mistakes in filling the forms.
5. Yes, offered. But currently for SPM leavers only, it depends where they will send you to. Upon finishing the Foundation, they'll be offered MBBS (if qualified).

kennethwongpk
post Jun 25 2009, 02:22 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(little apple @ Jun 23 2009, 05:07 PM)
it's still new and havent got the recognition.next year 2010, the first batch of students will only be out, and tested...but anyway, many students still enrol in it,,a medic student there told me tht it isn't about recognition afterall...they will eventually get it ( but there's a tendency ...- wht if it doesnt?/).,n cz of tht, UCSi will maintain its high standards in order for them to get the regonition, so..the first few batch of students there will get okay... good to know you're happy with AIMSt.. so far wht i've read is mostly bad stuffs bout aimst.... thanks a lot!!!

1. MMA- MD

2. UCSi- MD

the benefit.( their A levels is recognised internationally compared to Aimst and others) the lecturers there are good. but there are some "transfers" of lecturers for the past years... but anyhow, they still maintain good quality teaching.

3. AIMST - MBBS

i hope this helps

well, you're about to embark on the greatest career possible. dealing with, and entrusted with life and death matters. i would understand how you feel at this particular time, your mind races with questions and a million of things. but, be clear. any formal medical curricular should help but will never guarantee you in becoming a good doctor. today, medical school admission are easy for concrete thinkers, those who know how to learn only if the material to be learned is clearly laid out. at the end of the day, it is your interest and initiative which will eventually define your professional identity. try to be a cool and competitive medical student and doctor. don't get it? watch grey's anatomy. haha, that was a joke. don't worry too much and it's too soon, you'll get more on that by years in medical school brows.gif . good luck. in the meantime, chill and relax. whistling.gif cool.gif

anyway, always remember one rule to become a good medical student. icon_idea.gif be good with your senior. one more thing, despite surrounded by mountains, trees, paddy fields and cows. i'm sure there are still room for you to be 'happening'. thumbup.gif is your choice. right csrulez? haha.

btw, am a 2nd yr dentistry student. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kennethwongpk: Jun 25 2009, 02:32 AM
Alexcruz
post Jun 25 2009, 05:18 PM

45 posts

little apple : Thanks for providing the date in this forum. It's really tough to get this info through phone. smile.gif
lordblood
post Jun 25 2009, 08:05 PM

422 posts

hi all, been to this thread a couple of times and guess will be here a lot more often..

i received a call from AIMST yesterday saying that I've been accepted into their MBBS program and thus will be received my offer letter somewhere next week, seems they're posting it out today or tomorrow.. I'm an STPM student and unfortunately, failed to get a place in local universities..

anyway, PTPTN is a guaranteed thing rite? as in u'll get the 150k? are they any more sources that i can take a loan? do AIMST offer scholarship like Dean's list or something like that? cause I heard some medicine unis like Monash offer partial scholarship while UCSI offers Dean and Presidential award. So does AIMST have the same thing?

reading all the comments above, i figure AIMST is located in an out of town place?? are there any nearby convenient stores to purchase stuff or even mamak stalls?? =p

and the rooms is quad share rite? are the rooms big enough to put in 4 people or will there be a squeeze??

sorry for asking so many questions but i'm just excited to get a place..
flo30rence
post Jun 25 2009, 08:53 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(lordblood @ Jun 25 2009, 09:05 PM)
hi all, been to this thread a couple of times and guess will be here a lot more often..

i received a call from AIMST yesterday saying that I've been accepted into their MBBS program and thus will be received my offer letter somewhere next week, seems they're posting it out today or tomorrow.. I'm an STPM student and unfortunately, failed to get a place in local universities..

anyway, PTPTN is a guaranteed thing rite? as in u'll get the 150k? are they any more sources that i can take a loan? do AIMST offer scholarship like Dean's list or something like that? cause I heard some medicine unis like Monash offer partial scholarship while UCSI offers Dean and Presidential award. So does AIMST have the same thing?

reading all the comments above, i figure AIMST is located in an out of town place?? are there any nearby convenient stores to purchase stuff or even mamak stalls?? =p

and the rooms is quad share rite? are the rooms big enough to put in 4 people or will there be a squeeze??

sorry for asking so many questions but i'm just excited to get a place..
1st of all congrat..
once apply PTPTN loan.. cannot apply other loan d..
if the fact is wrong,sumone please correct me

AIMST is located out of town.However in the campus hv mini market and bookshop.
The housing area immediately besides AIMST hv grocery shop
Tesco and Giant hypermarket are around 15 minutes far apart from AIMST.

Dun worry,although 4 ppl stay in a room,each person hv their own wardrode and table.

anything jz feel free to ask...
imamaxis
post Jun 25 2009, 10:07 PM

49 posts

Guys, im coming to AIMST to do my foundation in science.... ques time!!

1. will i have to wear formal for all my classes?
2. where my classes will b held? at semeling or amanjaya campus?
3. how long to get to the nearest airport frm aimst?

tekiu2
flo30rence
post Jun 25 2009, 10:32 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(imamaxis @ Jun 25 2009, 11:07 PM)
Guys, im coming to AIMST to do my foundation in science.... ques time!!

1. will i have to wear formal for all my classes?
2. where my classes will b held? at semeling or amanjaya campus?
3. how long to get to the nearest airport frm aimst?

tekiu2
yup... u need to wear formal for all ur classes smile.gif
ur classes and ur hostel wil be at Semelling campus
if the airport u mention is penang airport.. then will be approximate 1 hour
welcome...

This post has been edited by flo30rence: Jun 25 2009, 10:33 PM
imamaxis
post Jun 25 2009, 10:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(flo30rence @ Jun 25 2009, 10:32 PM)
yup... u need to wear formal for all ur classes smile.gif
ur classes and ur hostel wil be at Semelling campus
if the airport u mention is penang airport.. then  will be approximate 1 hour
welcome...
isnt there any airport in alor setar?
flo30rence
post Jun 25 2009, 10:35 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(imamaxis @ Jun 25 2009, 11:34 PM)
isnt there any airport in alor setar?
yes.. but usually ppl will go airport in penang..

140 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:15 AM