125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V129, All time high!

foofoosasa
post Apr 5 2013, 06:50 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 5 2013, 06:42 PM)
Well good for you then, keep buying more and more and more.  icon_idea.gif

I also bought after the dot com bust and in 2008, but i prefer to keep a contrarian view..  wink.gif

Sell when the market is in euphoria and buy back when they are in despair.
market not yet reach euphoria mode la, but arguably in quite optimistic I guess?
gark
post Apr 5 2013, 06:52 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 5 2013, 06:50 PM)
market not yet reach euphoria mode la, but arguably in quite optimistic I guess?
Depends on individual stock... not the market... if the fair value is exceeded then sell, if still undervalue then keep. laugh.gif
felixmask
post Apr 5 2013, 06:53 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Apr 5 2013, 06:20 PM)
you shud have bought it when it was low. smile.gif
i want to buy below rm6.
gark
post Apr 5 2013, 06:56 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 5 2013, 06:53 PM)
i want to buy below rm6.
1-2 years ago before the hype, it's around RM 3 only... tongue.gif

That time no one wants... wink.gif Now everyone chase until the yield koyak...

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 5 2013, 06:56 PM
felixmask
post Apr 5 2013, 06:57 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 5 2013, 06:56 PM)
1-2 years ago before the hype, it's around RM 3 only... tongue.gif

That time no one wants... wink.gif Now everyone chase until the yield koyak...
bought liao want to add more.
foofoosasa
post Apr 5 2013, 07:06 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 5 2013, 06:52 PM)
Depends on individual stock... not the market... if the fair value is exceeded then sell, if still undervalue then keep.  laugh.gif
tongue.gif , I am trying to getting rid of value syndrome.

One simple reason is that this approach more often you can 20 - 50% if you get corrected, but rarely people will put concentrated amount of wealth in those stocks.

Applying uncle buffet's one of his famous quote : " it better to buy wonderful company at fair price rather than fair company at wonderful price."

but can't even found 1 blue chips that I like the price in here now cry.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 5 2013, 07:13 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 5 2013, 07:06 PM)

One simple reason is that this approach more often you can 20 - 50% if you get corrected, but rarely people will put concentrated amount of wealth in those stocks.

Applying uncle buffet's one of his famous quote : " it better to buy wonderful company at fair price rather than fair company at wonderful price."

but can't even found 1 blue chips that I like the price in here now  cry.gif
What is yr definition of Blue Chips ? if above rm 100 , then u got to wait lah.

Cannot find one right now laugh.gif
jy1905
post Apr 5 2013, 07:15 PM

1,411 posts

u just gotta wait
until all those who side-lined panic and jump in to chase the stocks higher

foofoosasa
post Apr 5 2013, 07:24 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 5 2013, 07:13 PM)
What is yr definition of Blue Chips ?  if above  rm 100 , then u got to wait lah.

Cannot find one right now laugh.gif
see how people define lo. Like doing FA or TA, different people see different things mah.
maybe there are some blue chips at least at fair price, just I dunno.
keep finding and finding. Here don't have go other market lo...earning other place while waiting.
foofoosasa
post Apr 5 2013, 07:25 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(jy1905 @ Apr 5 2013, 07:15 PM)
u just gotta wait
until all those who side-lined panic and jump in to chase the stocks higher
Maybe market will go into euphoria mode, who knows. Let me wait another few years, I also no problem.
jy1905
post Apr 5 2013, 07:27 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 5 2013, 07:25 PM)
Maybe market will go into euphoria mode, who knows. Let me wait another few years, I also no problem.
maybe it will
but it won't be a linear equation gua tongue.gif
machine also need to rest la
if not break down mampus lo

This post has been edited by jy1905: Apr 5 2013, 07:27 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 5 2013, 07:31 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 5 2013, 07:24 PM)
see how people define lo. Like doing FA or TA, different people see different things mah.
maybe there are some blue chips at least at fair price, just I dunno.
keep finding and finding. Here don't have go other market lo...earning other place while waiting.
Probably u need to read the " diamond true story " .

The morale of the story is most people travel far to seek the so called blue chips/diamonds , rm 10, 50 100 and above. But never care to look at one own back yards.

Well, when reits were traded at below rm one, only 1 or 2 persons here think they are diamonds, now turning out to be.

Russell H. Conwell's Acres of Diamonds

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 5 2013, 08:30 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Apr 5 2013, 08:38 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

hmm.gif US jobless rate keep turn bad..........
CP88
post Apr 5 2013, 08:56 PM

2,677 posts

For laughter. Enjoy! biggrin.gif

KVReninem
post Apr 5 2013, 09:19 PM

IX
5,369 posts

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/busines...o-buy-out-misc/

MISC ship coming to headline..

can we make a titanic sink?
foofoosasa
post Apr 5 2013, 10:11 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 5 2013, 07:31 PM)
Probably u need to read the " diamond true story " .

The morale of the story  is most people travel far to seek the so called blue chips/diamonds  , rm 10, 50 100 and above. But never care to look at one own back yards.

Well, when reits were traded at below rm one, only 1 or 2 persons here  think they are diamonds, now turning out to be.
Russell H. Conwell's Acres of Diamonds
Yeap, probably you're right.

But honestly if put significant of money in Reits, I just feel I could do more better (I wish).

Many of the small/medium caps in malaysia. Honestly I don't think I dare to put significant amount of my wealth...Just play and run away as always ( I need to watch them over them shakehead.gif )

It turn out to be only aiming those highly priced blue chips.
cherroy
post Apr 6 2013, 12:59 AM

25,802 posts

Generally, in normal market condition, most blue chips price won't be too cheap. FUnd managers are eyeing around everyday, how can they go cheap then?
Fund managers by nature is bullish (as short is not permitted here), so if they have money, or people pouring money into fund/unit trust etc, they need to buy, cannot take client money and put all in cash as FD, right?

The so called "cheap price" generally occur once or twice in a decade.

From my experience, it is better to buy a good company share at fair price instead of cheap price in a lousy company.

There is cheap price in red chip, super duper low valuation, who said there is no "cheap" price? tongue.gif
or
There are still plenty of 0.005 CWs out there... tongue.gif
This cannot go "cheaper" already. laugh.gif
yok70
post Apr 6 2013, 03:23 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 5 2013, 10:11 PM)
Yeap, probably you're right.

But honestly if put significant of money in Reits, I just feel I could do more better (I wish).

Many of the small/medium caps in malaysia. Honestly I don't think I dare to put significant amount of my wealth...Just play and run away as always ( I need to watch them over them  shakehead.gif  )

It turn out to be only aiming those highly priced blue chips.
Exactly the point I want to say.

Say you have 1 million for investment. Will you dare to put 1 million all in betting on those super undervalued low PE volatile cheap stocks? Ends up, maybe you will use 50k to play shoot and run short term game. Maybe you are lucky, they one day shoot up 100%, and you gain 50k from it.

Now, if you buy (good) blue chips stocks, put 1 million all in. They steadily and unsurprisingly gain just a small 10%. That will be 100k gain, which is actually double of that 50k gain. And you can sleep better at night holding some (good) blue chips.

Not saying this is a great method, just sharing some thoughts. I mix around steady growth stocks and undervalued stocks in my portfolio. smile.gif

mopster
post Apr 6 2013, 07:11 AM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

Uncle Jeff asking for money... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
gark
post Apr 6 2013, 09:29 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Apr 6 2013, 03:23 AM)
Exactly the point I want to say.

Say you have 1 million for investment. Will you dare to put 1 million all in betting on those super undervalued low PE volatile cheap stocks? Ends up, maybe you will use 50k to play shoot and run short term game. Maybe you are lucky, they one day shoot up 100%, and you gain 50k from it.

Now, if you buy (good) blue chips stocks, put 1 million all in. They steadily and unsurprisingly gain just a small 10%. That will be 100k gain, which is actually double of that 50k gain. And you can sleep better at night holding some (good) blue chips.

Not saying this is a great method, just sharing some thoughts. I mix around steady growth stocks and undervalued stocks in my portfolio.  smile.gif
IMHO Not all cheap stocks (as in market cap) with low PE is volatile and dangerous to invest. If it is a speculative play then yes it's risky, but there are lots of them with good fundamentals. In fact there are quite a few which graduated to blue chips over time as well.

There is a difference in 'cheap' on valuation, market cap and price. Some of my 'cheap' (low PE) stocks have prices that rival blue chips. laugh.gif

You can find safe, low PE, fundamentally sound companies with low market caps. Not all blue chips are wonderful companies, but you definitely pay higher price for it. wink.gif My low pE, low market cap holdings let me sleep at night better, as it is less volatile and have good dividend to boot, so it lets me wait out all the ups and downs.

I like these range of stocks, no need to compete against those 'fun' managers. I am proud to say I never held a KLCI index stock before, as before i find their valuation appalling. If later the value shines, then I might buy some. wink.gif

P/S Your post is 3.30 am.. no need to sleep ah brother yok. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 6 2013, 09:36 AM

125 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:10 PM