Nov 22 2014, 11:46 AM
3,249 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(sadaniel @ Nov 22 2014, 04:13 AM) I will eventually mingrate to Panasonic LX100 soon. I will put up a thread to sell all my m43 gear. Items to sell: Can the LX100 really replace the EM5+1240? Range is about the same but wonders about other little details too.1) Olympus OMD EM5 Black 2) Olympus Battery Grip 3) Olympus 12-40mm pro lens 4) Olympus FL-36r external flash with remote capability + gamilight bounce 5) Two original batteries 6) Eye-fi 8GB pro wifi memory card. U can PM to book or just wait for thread to open. |
Nov 22 2014, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(sadaniel @ Nov 22 2014, 02:11 PM) technically it does. LX100 is 1.7 - 2.8, 24 - 75mm, olympus 2.8 on all 24-80mm. so LX100 is faster wide open. very tempting, waiting for your review after receiving the camera Since im not planning to buy other lenses anytime soon, might as well opt for all-in-one. and its a worthy replacement since it comes with m43 sensor as well. |
Nov 22 2014, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(bobds78 @ Nov 22 2014, 02:49 PM) I am sort of in mingyuyu state of mind too (if you dont mind me saying this it's an interesting camera, but probably I will stick to interchangable system, since I need the telephoto (thinking to get a 60mm macro or a 40-150mm in the future, useful for macros). I experimented with all-in-one camera when I had the Fuji X100, yes I really like the colors it produced and the awesome built-in-flash (no other onboard flash that i have used so far beats this) and its exposure is always spot-on, but somehow I terribly missed the m43 so in the end I sold it. But the LX100 has so much going on that maybe it's worth a try, it has Leica lens, flash, evf, good sensor etc etc Wish I have more magnification ![]() PB220264 by tuna97, on Flickr ![]() PB220253 by tuna97, on Flickr |
Nov 22 2014, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(bobds78 @ Nov 22 2014, 03:30 PM) Like always, you took awesome macro shots already. Maybe you can mount a close-up lens (like the raynox?) on the LX100 someday?. I have watched some 4k videos from the LX100 and they are super. i am thinking I might need a longer focal length, mounting a close up lens like Raynox on the lx100 would give me around the same working distance as the 1240 I think, so not much improvement.QUOTE(sadaniel @ Nov 22 2014, 04:15 PM) I used to own an X100 when it first came out. I changed to M43 simply because I feel the need to ZOOM during certain moments. having a zoom is always handy, especially traveling. |
Nov 26 2014, 10:11 AM
Nov 26 2014, 11:24 AM
Did a quick read on ming thein's review on the lx100. this line got my attention
"I’ve left the most interesting part til last: it has an electronic shutter up to 1/16,000th of a second, and will sync flashes at this speed, too – successfully tested with both SB900s and a Profoto B1 via Air remote. I’m sure there’s a use for this…" wow so we can over power the sun now? |
Nov 28 2014, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 28 2014, 07:13 AM) I didn't do any multi exposure bracketing and never shoot in raw because i lazy PP your shots look really good, I think upgrading the camera will give you more room to take better photos but to be frank, the shots can be considered PP because i just throw all the photos into a lossy photo resize program, tick "sharpen +1" and "auto contrast", then click batch process. I think your shots are better than mine, some time you just need to upload a larger size picture with proper cropping then it's done. Yes, with 14-42. 1st shot i couldn't go any further, e-pl3 sensitivity sucks, for me iso400 is max for dark sky. 2nd shot white balance kantoi. 3rd shot couldn't get it stable, too windy and too cold, my hand shaking. 4th shot barely ok, but still can't get the right feel. I'm still learning how to shoot a good photo, still haven't get right with all the focus, composition, exposure, white balance, dof, hdr, bla bla bla bla. I've no passion in photo shooting, most of the time i still prefer to shoot with handphone and upload to facebook. Of course the $ spend for EM5 worth it, you might get 2 stop better than e-pl3 i think. Why not try to a photo session with other m43 users and try to borrow their pro lens and compare whether should you go for body or lens upgrade. Some new macro pictures, trying out new PP (declarity brush around OOF areas to create a softer look ![]() PB260304 by tuna97, on Flickr ![]() PB260290 by tuna97, on Flickr |
Nov 28 2014, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(67zai @ Nov 28 2014, 03:29 PM) I shot 90% of my macro images in my house QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 28 2014, 05:14 PM) thanks but yours are far better Oh Taiwan, quite a beautiful country right? went to taiwan, simply like the people there. first photo touched up not so well btw, do you think is it possible for you to amaze us with multiple exposure macro shots? Haha thank you, I am not good at landscape though so i admire your shots. Multiple exposure you mean HDR? |
Nov 28 2014, 08:56 PM
Nov 28 2014, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(bobds78 @ Nov 28 2014, 11:02 PM) The body or lens first argument is seen like the chicken & egg analogy but to me, a lens is more important than the body (no, i don't intend to start a war here no no agreed, i was stuck between em1+1442 or em10+1240, end up go for the second one. no regret so far, the 1240 is a fantastic lens and very nice to use. can't say the same thing if I went for the 1442 though, since a lens affect an image more than a body does (other than high ISO and focus tracking).A better body only when you have progressed beyond what your current camera body can allow, for example, you want to shoot low light, a newer body will definitely gives a better advantage than an old body, or probably you want faster shutter speed for fast-action shots, a newer body will most always gives you better speed than your old one, so on & so forth. No harm getting a newer body if you find a fantastic deal though. |
Nov 29 2014, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Nov 29 2014, 12:11 AM) I totally understand that a good body doesn't mean much without good lens. I've often suffer quite a lot when it's getting dark while traveling. Most shots requires me to jack up the ISO a lot to get a usable image but the noise is very apparent. but if it's about ISO then you can't do much, the limitation of a body does matters a lot with that. Another point is that an UWA lens costs a bomb. Cheapest 7-14 is at least RM2k right? I think it's about that price? I wish m4/3 can come out with cheaper UWA lenses like how Canon did with their APSC (10-18mm, a fantastic lens costing below rm1k). |
Nov 29 2014, 11:51 AM
Nov 29 2014, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(sadaniel @ Nov 29 2014, 01:56 PM) you mean this one?http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/8591...MC_Fisheye.html it's still a fisheye though. |
Nov 29 2014, 11:09 PM
A complete Chinese review of the LX100, it pretty much says the camera is perfect
http://www.mobile01.com/newsdetail.php?id=15975 *must resist the poison* |
Nov 30 2014, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 30 2014, 01:01 AM) BTW, in real life application, appropriately how many percent better than those 1 incher compact like RX100 m3 and g7x? can't really obtain actual calculation, it depends on the user actually. the larger m43 sensor on the lx100 is at least 2 stops to 3 stops better than the rx100 m3 and g7x in ISO performance (as you can see in the review, ISO 3200 is still quite clear on the lx100 but at ISO 800 details are starting to wiped off on the rx100 m3). Not to mention better DOF control and slightly better dynamic range (didn't see many people testing this, most folks only care about ISO only it seems).QUOTE(0300078 @ Nov 30 2014, 08:08 AM) LX100 heard got a lot of artifacts and over process on the edge of the pictures shot. But damn the leaf shutter could really do wonder on daylight flash photography, if can sync with extreme speed, it could kill the daylight. You meaning the RAW or the JPEG? RAW should be fine right? Waiting for photographers to do wonder on it. Yeah the leaf shutter is one of the most interesting part on the camera, totally silent shooting + the ability to sync with flash at such crazy speed. It's not a leaf shutter though, it's a electronic shutter. |
Nov 30 2014, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(0300078 @ Nov 30 2014, 11:05 AM) they said JPEG will see a lot of processing, and the RAW file still no support yet. But this type of lens most likely RAW file also will be headache to fix one. Lets see the RAW first, I never trust JPEG from any cameras, they always over sharpen or create artifacts. Electronic shutter.... got any site sharing the highest sync speed with this thing? 1/12800 will be awesome compare to those 1/250 or 1/320 (higher end m43). Looking at those shot with Fuji x100 with shutter up to 1/2500 or 1/3200 was already super impressive. I am not sure if the electronic shutter has the same characteristic as a leaf shutter which is the ability to sync at high speed. the one on the fuji is leaf shutter, same with those medium format system which the shutter is built-in with the lens. QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 30 2014, 11:12 AM) the only reason for me to choose the rx100 over the lx100 would be the size, nothing else. the lx100 has a larger sensor, better grip, hotshoe (important for controlling flash and such), better EVF and better contorl/ dials. |
Nov 30 2014, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 30 2014, 12:27 PM) exactly. that's why RX100 still remains pocketable compact king. it's true, i take a lot more photos with my m43 compared to my old dslr system. size really does matter. we tend to shoot more photos using phone camera. www.cameradebate.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/panasonic-lx100-and-sony-rx100-iii-size-comparison.jpg i would be happier to trade better IQ for bigger size though, the lx100 isn't that large anyways. |
Dec 2 2014, 10:07 AM
Any idea why does the light on the charger blinking when I am charging my battery?
Pretty sure the battery is fine since I inserted it into my camera afterwards and it was still quite full. |
| Change to: | 0.0609sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:50 PM |