6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Photography Official Fujifilm X-Series Premium Camera Family, Version 1 is Here by Popular Demand!

geek8585
post Mar 11 2013, 11:14 PM

923 posts

i'm gonna place my order at kaza very soon... anyway want tumpang? but tell first... i got no guarantee how long does it take to deliver to my door step... maybe we can share postage lar..

@lanatir: how long does it take for the casing to be deliver to you? i mean from the day u make payment...

can some sifus share some experience on using the X-E1 since the evf and lcd is not "what you see what you get". i need some input on the exposure side... manual mode is mostly based on my straight feeling and the exposure meter...
geek8585
post Mar 11 2013, 11:22 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Mar 11 2013, 11:18 PM)
took about 9-10 days from payment to arrival at my door.
wow it is fast... thanks for sharing...
by the way, the flower and butterfly that u shoot is with M mode?

can you share your step on composing since xe1 is did not provide WYSIWYG display on lcd/evf? icon_question.gif
geek8585
post Mar 12 2013, 11:43 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Mar 12 2013, 01:02 AM)
I don't know about the XE-1 la, but on the x10 and x100 I set brightness to -1. In most cases, the brightness is pretty similar to the final picture. You can do some trial and error yourself. And since it's a viewfinder, your perception of brightness won't depend on the surrounding, so whether it's midday or twilight, you will get the same results.

Then secondly is the metering guide, just adjust the settings until you get the the EV is at 0 or however bright you want it to be.

Don't go crazy with this though. Most if the time, you just need to set the shutter speed on auto and then adjust the aperture to control how much of the scene you want to be in focus. Single subject=bigger aperture, scenery=smaller aperture. It's not worth the effort to manually set the shutter speed because in the end it's going to look at the guide on the screen which is the same thing the camera is doing for you.

You'll want to set both manually in very limited situations such as high-speed subjects, motion blur in street photography, planned photoshop or flash setup. Then you just set both values manually, take a test shot. If you like it, just spend the whole time with the same setting. The lighting isn't going to change much for the next couple of hours.
QUOTE(lanatir @ Mar 12 2013, 01:15 AM)
there is no hard and fast rule. if u shoot with enough experience and knowledge about your camera, then u can figure out e.g. if the highlights are blown out or if the result would be satisfactory. normally u can train yourself with comparisons against the histogram. i've been shooting since the days of film so it's more or less 2nd nature. i only use a fully manual exposure mode when i'm doing flash and studio work. otherwise, i would typically work on Aperture priority and compensate accordingly on the camera based on experience in order to obtain the desired result.
really thanks bro for sharing your experience with me...

i admit i am a spoil kid from nex system... for the WYSIWYG issue kinda let me down for few days, but i gain is a whole new experience of photo shooting... believe or not, i'm not taking EV adjustment seriously when i am with NEX... due to the troublesome process of back into the menu, scrolling and look for EV, then adjust.. then back to the scene and recompose doh.gif

and 1 more question, for the AE/AF-L button, u guys set lock both at one click? or lock only AE? the spot metering looks very useful but still in the midst of exploring it... hmm.gif
geek8585
post Mar 13 2013, 08:55 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Mar 13 2013, 12:41 AM)
One more tip to set everything manually is that on a bright day, you set your aperture to f/16 and your shutter speed to 1/ISO. Then for every stop up of the aperture you half your shutter speed.

I set my button to lock AE. Holding the button down is awkward. There is no point in locking the AF as well unless you're doing a studio photo shoot
thanks for the tips... meaning that, i will set my shutter to 1/400 when my ISO is at 400 and aperture at F16? gonna try this as the F16 for fuji will be retain a lot of details...

i still hv a small wish list in the next firmware release:

1) auto ISO shutter limit issue
2) WYSIWYG
3) a AF improvement on low light
4) focus peaking drool.gif
geek8585
post Mar 13 2013, 09:56 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Mar 13 2013, 09:45 AM)
guess what body i used..

a very low light situation. At iso 6500
The Fuji Sexy One with kit lens? drool.gif
geek8585
post Mar 13 2013, 11:34 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Mar 13 2013, 11:14 AM)
seech=1
geek =0

tongue.gif
yes, i feel my photos quite alive when using sexy1.. brows.gif
at least i got the body right... hahaha... nice bw photo btw thumbup.gif
geek8585
post Mar 13 2013, 01:44 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Mar 13 2013, 12:46 PM)
I think I want to return to the Nex 7. Now I've realized perspective control is important too. x100 isn't giving me that and I can't find an affordable xe1. Any offers for your xe1 or nex 7 haha?
will nex7 cheaper than xe1? nex7 doesn't come cheap also... maybe 7n out and 7 will become cheaper...
but undoubtedly nex series is much mature in terms of functionality... i mean more balance overall
geek8585
post Mar 13 2013, 03:30 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(jackyyong @ Mar 13 2013, 03:25 PM)
Eh guys, wanna ask, is there a third party lens for X mount? Anyone heard Sigma, Tamron or others having any plans to build a lens series for X mount?
zeiss coming soon rclxms.gif
geek8585
post Mar 13 2013, 03:34 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Mar 13 2013, 03:33 PM)
wow..zeiss
i read somewhere on an almost certain rumours...

zeiss will have 3 x-mount prime coming soon... laugh.gif
geek8585
post Mar 13 2013, 04:54 PM

923 posts

well.. for me, i just can't justify the price of a CZ lens.. unless it is for commercial use to generate income...

i will only get this lens if i'm really rich as a hobbyist wink.gif

a lot more to learn on the sexy1 system... i had told myself here is where i am and i'm gonna stick with this system for another 2yrs (changing btw system really burn big hole in pocket)

This post has been edited by geek8585: Mar 13 2013, 04:54 PM
geek8585
post Mar 14 2013, 08:34 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(yankiat @ Mar 13 2013, 10:06 PM)
hey all... i found an interesting website which is worth to spend some time to look at it... have a look? (don't mind the japenese writing... just enjoy the pic!)

http://photo.yodobashi.com/
a very nice page form u guys...

this weekend i'm gonna bring sexy one to FMFA to really test out the lowlight performance yawn.gif

This post has been edited by geek8585: Mar 14 2013, 08:35 AM
geek8585
post Mar 14 2013, 11:35 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Mar 14 2013, 11:00 AM)
Guh so many rich people. I'm using X10. Still wondering if it's worth it to upgrade to X20.

That yodobashi site is nice!
X10 to X20 is not a significant upgrade... X100S then yes... please go ahead rclxms.gif
geek8585
post Mar 14 2013, 02:53 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(jackyyong @ Mar 14 2013, 02:48 PM)
YAHOOO!!!! My X-E1 arrived today from HK!! That was very fast actually. Bought and paid via paypal on 11th March, sent on 12th March, arrived in Malaysia on 13th March, and today I got it already!! Gonna play with new toy tonight! tongue.gif
congrats... that is not fast... is blazing fast shocking.gif
geek8585
post Mar 14 2013, 09:36 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 14 2013, 07:18 PM)
I m torn between Fuji x100s and Fuji xe1 + 35mm f1.4...
Which should i go for?...
im in the same shoe with u for past few weeks... but after i did make my choice...
anyway, back to the basis... what u want to shoot the most (diff lens hv diff capabilities)? and will u get impress by the fujineon lens road map?

i understand x100s did a great job in terms of speed overally, but at the end... i still choose the sexy one and never regret to do so... cool2.gif
geek8585
post Mar 14 2013, 09:37 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Mar 14 2013, 09:34 PM)
Sorry for the pic spam.
What I got for today;

Sexy One + 35mm f1.4

1/52 f1.4 iso5000

seriously, fuji bw photo really very story telling... smile.gif
geek8585
post Mar 15 2013, 08:36 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Mar 15 2013, 01:15 AM)
Check this out if u havent

http://www.briankraft.com/Blog/fuji-x100s-...raphy-colorado/

warning. Alit of poison
the composition is just awesome... very inspiring... thanks for sharing smile.gif
geek8585
post Mar 15 2013, 09:36 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Mar 15 2013, 09:23 AM)
Went to CamWorld in IOI Mall yesterday, I looked at the salesman and said, "X100S" he replied, "Cash or card?" doh.gif

Anyway, the cost of X100S as mentioned by forummer here last time was RM3,390 but he quoted me RM3,400++ this time. sad.gif

and XE-1 with 18-55 RM4,300.
a bargaining skill from me...

when u first ask the price from salesman, they will throw u a price based on their first sight at you (if u are a leng lui, you can get an even lower price wub.gif )

then from there u keep on ask, got any freebies, cash price how much to show that you very interested... then here comes the most important part..

if you really plan to get from them and their starting price is good enough, pull a calculator from them to you and start pressing... round up a figure and tell them u straight take if price is agreed...

in my case, i bring my gf and i hide behind... wait my gf ask for the starting price, then i slowly come in and my gf fade out biggrin.gif

i'm able to get my xe1 + 35/1.4 + Fuji original w126 for a total of RM4100... (talk until my mouth also thirst and dry icon_idea.gif )

This post has been edited by geek8585: Mar 15 2013, 09:38 AM
geek8585
post Mar 15 2013, 10:24 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Mar 15 2013, 09:43 AM)
Does it have 3x magnification. I normally take landscape and 10x seems rather excessive. Btw, I don't what will happen if I try to auto focus with a manual only lens. Will it jam or something?
yes, it have 3 types of magnification and the most can go up to 10x smile.gif

This post has been edited by geek8585: Mar 15 2013, 10:28 AM
geek8585
post Mar 15 2013, 10:26 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Mar 15 2013, 09:43 AM)
YL Camera selling at RM3.9k, no?  hmm.gif

Well perhaps our friend here happens to be a lenglui?  whistling.gif

anyway, I thank you for the tips on "Art of Bargain", usually I won't ask for the best price, the first price would be the best price for me so men don't usually bargain much but not for the ladies.  rolleyes.gif
please remember i do take in an extra original battery which RRP at RM328...

it is up to you but i just want to save as much as i can... good luck for yr next purchase bro
geek8585
post Mar 15 2013, 11:15 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Mar 15 2013, 10:59 AM)
ahh forgive me I musta have missed the battery.  smile.gif

between the f/1.4 and the new sensor, I just couldn't make up my mind now.  sweat.gif
is ok bro... yah it is hard to choose...

but if x-e1s/x-e2 is here, i guess the choice wont be so hard anymore... good luck smile.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:55 AM