at first wanted to dive... changed tank already... then uncle Ben say dowan dive liao... sigh......
Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!
Jun 4 2013, 10:58 AM
869 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL |
at first wanted to dive... changed tank already... then uncle Ben say dowan dive liao... sigh......
Jun 4 2013, 11:01 AM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 10:56 AM) Yahh... i was tense especially when instructor always scold me not to do that, not to do this. where do you take ur OW course? and with which organization?can't blamed him, coz it's all about safety. i understand that almost drowned during mask take off clearing skill test. aw too bad you have bad experience on your first OW. Instructor shouldn't be scolding, they should teach you patiently as OW course is a beginner course.. but you should try diving again, just try for fun dive. and maybe if can, join us for our next trip. there are lot's of sifu that can mentor/help |
Jun 4 2013, 11:13 AM
564 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 08:10 PM) Haha. Its okay juniorkirk. Let's wait for others. Anyway, during my OW license recently, I almost failed. In one of compulsory dives (12m), I had problems with my mask. The water kept leaking in and I had to clear my mask almost all the time. I got very uncomfortable and finally when I reached the bottom and kneeled down they asked me to do the regulator recovery drill exercise. I was not too comfortable with the idea because I was feeling uncomfortable with the whole thing but I did it anyway. I threw the regulator but I could not recovered it. I got panicked and quickly signalled out of air. He tried to give me his alternative reg but I was so panicked I pushed the reg away. In my mind all I wanted was to swim up and resurface. So I quickly swam up and as soon as I reached to the top, I felt alive and relieved. Near death experience, not pretty. I didn't continue my dive. I resumed my dive the next day and luckily this time I managed to wash away my trauma and got it done. All the drills. But it wasn't easy. Things I learnt from my dive license 1. My face can only fits cressi big eye mask ( tried scuba pro and few other masks my DM gave me but cress I works the best. No leak whatsoever haha ) 2. I have to use bigger mouth piece. Bigger space to bite. Peace of mind haha. QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 10:56 AM) Yahh... i was tense especially when instructor always scold me not to do that, not to do this. personally feel lucky that i had my skill test at confined water pool first (just 1m dept) in order get used to those gears. (and also due to raining day so cannot have open water for 1st day so have to do it in swimming pool).can't blamed him, coz it's all about safety. i understand that almost drowned during mask take off clearing skill test. the benefit having practice at confined water is not current and calm. newbies like me can practice same skill again and again. in case of panic attack, i need just stand up to surface immed. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:15 AM
865 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Melaka/JB/Penang/PJ |
QUOTE(tantalus @ Jun 4 2013, 11:01 AM) where do you take ur OW course? and with which organization? Sometimes scolding is needed so u remember. I've seen some students that really need scolding.. lol.. aw too bad you have bad experience on your first OW. Instructor shouldn't be scolding, they should teach you patiently as OW course is a beginner course.. but you should try diving again, just try for fun dive. and maybe if can, join us for our next trip. there are lot's of sifu that can mentor/help |
Jun 4 2013, 11:15 AM
251 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Jun 4 2013, 10:50 AM) yeah, thank god that you are safe... just remember what have you learnt and try to solve everything uw. noted sifu! |
Jun 4 2013, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 10:56 AM) Yahh... i was tense especially when instructor always scold me not to do that, not to do this. i feel you friend, mask take off and reg recovery are the hardest set of skills!! haha. Looking forward for more dives to get comfortable UW.can't blamed him, coz it's all about safety. i understand that almost drowned during mask take off clearing skill test. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 10:56 AM) Yahh... i was tense especially when instructor always scold me not to do that, not to do this. For me what is important is to remain calm and do the things u need to do.. if not comfortable just signal and go up slowly..can't blamed him, coz it's all about safety. i understand that almost drowned during mask take off clearing skill test. can't force yourself to do it if you dun feel comfortable.. I had problems equalizing on my 1st dive. I just signaled and move up a bit and than equalize.. the instructor also no choice but to follow me up a bit.. take ur own sweet time to do the requirements.. no need hurry.. instructors also should not hurry you and give u pressure.. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:19 AM
bro juniorkirk, i want to buy a good, wide, easy to bite, mouldable mouth piece. Any advise and tips?
Jun 4 2013, 11:20 AM
2,797 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 10:56 AM) Yahh... i was tense especially when instructor always scold me not to do that, not to do this. Instructor strict is good but sometimes too strict then no fun liao.can't blamed him, coz it's all about safety. i understand that almost drowned during mask take off clearing skill test. It'll get some time to get used to taking off your mask completely. Until now, I still hesitate a bit before I remove my mask underwater hahah. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 4 2013, 11:19 AM) bro juniorkirk, i want to buy a good, wide, easy to bite, mouldable mouth piece. Any advise and tips? Got a few brands in the market. Saw quite a number of dive center carrying Mares Jax moldable mouthpiece. Comes in many many colors and if not mistaken cost around RM100 like that.Me and juniorkirk using it. But our mouth is normal size la, I don't know whether wide enough for yours or not. Can go shop to look see look see. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:25 AM
79 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Dear all....by reading some of the comments on buying equipments for new divers.
I would strongly recommend and highlight to all fresh or experience divers to buy a good and not too small "sausage", learn how to use it as it will be your life saving equipments and it doesn't cost you a lot. a decent one will cost about 100 -200. remember Perhentian incident lately it can be avoided if a sausage is deploy. you may consider to accessorize yourself up with dive com and others fancy stuff when you move towards advance level or consider diving as your frequent hobby. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 4 2013, 11:23 AM) Got a few brands in the market. Saw quite a number of dive center carrying Mares Jax moldable mouthpiece. Comes in many many colors and if not mistaken cost around RM100 like that. hahaha. thanks munkeyflo. and one more thing, do we have to immerse the mouth piece into the hot water (95 degree C) and then put it in our mouth, bite it so that it will mould to suit our teeth profile? Is this true or someone pulled my leg? hahaMe and juniorkirk using it. But our mouth is normal size la, I don't know whether wide enough for yours or not. Can go shop to look see look see. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(Erictdl @ Jun 4 2013, 11:25 AM) Dear all....by reading some of the comments on buying equipments for new divers. Dear Erictdl,I would strongly recommend and highlight to all fresh or experience divers to buy a good and not too small "sausage", learn how to use it as it will be your life saving equipments and it doesn't cost you a lot. a decent one will cost about 100 -200. remember Perhentian incident lately it can be avoided if a sausage is deploy. you may consider to accessorize yourself up with dive com and others fancy stuff when you move towards advance level or consider diving as your frequent hobby. I am super new to diving so i am not familiar with the terminology. Can you clarify what 'sausage' means or referring to? |
Jun 4 2013, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 4 2013, 11:27 AM) hahaha. thanks munkeyflo. and one more thing, do we have to immerse the mouth piece into the hot water (95 degree C) and then put it in our mouth, bite it so that it will mould to suit our teeth profile? Is this true or someone pulled my leg? haha Yea that's true. We did that. Haha. No one pulled your leg la.Some can mould it more than once. Say you mould edi no ngam then you dunno after when you can soak it in hot water and mould it again. It really molds to our teeth. Like I can't use juniorkirk's mouthpiece cause the shape completely different. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:33 AM
869 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(Erictdl @ Jun 4 2013, 11:25 AM) Dear all....by reading some of the comments on buying equipments for new divers. yup... sausage is important.... I would strongly recommend and highlight to all fresh or experience divers to buy a good and not too small "sausage", learn how to use it as it will be your life saving equipments and it doesn't cost you a lot. a decent one will cost about 100 -200. remember Perhentian incident lately it can be avoided if a sausage is deploy. you may consider to accessorize yourself up with dive com and others fancy stuff when you move towards advance level or consider diving as your frequent hobby. btw... the perhentian incident is non scuba related.... skin diving..... |
Jun 4 2013, 11:36 AM
79 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Jun 4 2013, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 4 2013, 11:32 AM) Yea that's true. We did that. Haha. No one pulled your leg la. thank you munkeyflo. Will try to look for one in Johor as i am currently working here. Any good dive shops in Johor guys? Did some research online and i only got one hit, one dive shop in KSL shopping centre forgot what its called ady haha.Some can mould it more than once. Say you mould edi no ngam then you dunno after when you can soak it in hot water and mould it again. It really molds to our teeth. Like I can't use juniorkirk's mouthpiece cause the shape completely different. |
Jun 4 2013, 11:38 AM
Sausage:
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jun 4 2013, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 4 2013, 11:36 AM) thank you munkeyflo. Will try to look for one in Johor as i am currently working here. Any good dive shops in Johor guys? Did some research online and i only got one hit, one dive shop in KSL shopping centre forgot what its called ady haha. wow.. KSL got dive shop? Saturday if I go down must go see see.. LOL..I think there is a few in JB but very well hidden.. |
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:06 AM |