QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 3 2013, 11:35 AM)
PENIPU SCAMMER ! Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!
Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!
Jun 4 2013, 08:54 AM
837 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Jun 4 2013, 08:57 AM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 4 2013, 08:51 AM) there are not many dive comp which is cheap. but all dive comp are supposedly goodfor a basic dive comp which is cheap, you can try to look for suunto zoop or mares puck pro (below 1k). But they are big and can't be used in everyday's activities. or for a watch size dive comp, you can see d4i (i think around 1400rm) for the shop, I don't know too much, maybe the other can guide you |
Jun 4 2013, 08:58 AM
2,797 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
Jun 4 2013, 09:00 AM
2,797 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 4 2013, 08:51 AM) Can check list of dive shops in the 2nd post. Basically you need to know which one you are getting and ask them whether they have it or not. The price will not differ too much. If your friend's bday is not so soon, maybe can wait till MIDE held on first weekend of July to look for good deals. |
Jun 4 2013, 09:03 AM
Jun 4 2013, 09:07 AM
1,528 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 3 2013, 11:45 PM) erm.. he gonna just only gonna start learning diving.. so is it feasible for us to get the computer so soon?? and if diving watches any recommendations? Not much utility in a dive watch for actual diving, except for counting your bottom time and making sure you surface in time for tea time at the resort.But if you must, I think the Seiko divers are rather popular for that sort of money. I too would recommend a dive computer instead. The Suunto D4i goes for around RM1,400 IIRC and will look good over and under the sea. Or a Zoop (I got mine for slightly below RM800) if budget does not permit, though the Zoop is to be worn during dives only (you'll look silly wearing a Zoop on land). These 2 computers are fairly standard issue, and most dive shops in the Klang Valley should carry it. Last time when I was shopping around for my Zoop, I found that most shops were selling it for around the same price. |
Jun 4 2013, 09:23 AM
1,249 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Just got my OW license.
hmmm...donno why i'm not happy. maybe to much focus on breathing, equalize, and buoyancy. sorry, noob reporting in |
Jun 4 2013, 09:52 AM
Suunto Zoop - RM720
Suunto D4i - RM1650 |
Jun 4 2013, 09:57 AM
865 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Melaka/JB/Penang/PJ |
QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 09:23 AM) Just got my OW license. When getting your license is like that 1.. if you dive with friends its more fun.. unless u lose the DM..hmmm...donno why i'm not happy. maybe to much focus on breathing, equalize, and buoyancy. sorry, noob reporting in When I was getting my OW few months back also feel more tense and not that fun.. but I did extra fun dives and it was good.. specially fighting current and laughing about it after the dive.. |
Jun 4 2013, 10:02 AM
32 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(sgojita4 @ Jun 3 2013, 10:14 PM) i can mould my mouthpiece on your body if you want... QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 3 2013, 11:45 PM) erm.. he gonna just only gonna start learning diving.. so is it feasible for us to get the computer so soon?? and if diving watches any recommendations? the first thing we recommend is dive comp... QUOTE(tantalus @ Jun 4 2013, 12:01 AM) I think better to buy dive computer directly.. 10 dives a day... At first also i was thinking to buy dive watches.. So I bought it but I never use it when diving as it's not practical.. and dive comp is really important (from my point of view) especially if you want to do deep dive and multiple dives per day. So i bought the simplest dive comp which is zoop QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 4 2013, 08:51 AM) maybe you can wait until MIDE? most of them will have around 10-30% discount. QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 4 2013, 09:03 AM) breathing air from cylinder is cheaper than breathing air in hospital... QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 09:23 AM) Just got my OW license. Welcome... why are you not happy? you went alone? dive alone? anyway welcome, feel free to join us if you want to feel happy.. hahaha hmmm...donno why i'm not happy. maybe to much focus on breathing, equalize, and buoyancy. sorry, noob reporting in QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 4 2013, 09:52 AM) you can get lower price for D4i |
Jun 4 2013, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jun 4 2013, 09:57 AM) When getting your license is like that 1.. if you dive with friends its more fun.. unless u lose the DM.. who say lose dm you wont have fun? try to tell that to choco...When I was getting my OW few months back also feel more tense and not that fun.. but I did extra fun dives and it was good.. specially fighting current and laughing about it after the dive.. |
Jun 4 2013, 10:21 AM
865 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Melaka/JB/Penang/PJ |
Jun 4 2013, 10:23 AM
Jun 4 2013, 10:40 AM
869 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Jun 3 2013, 10:35 AM) all preparing for war... brother at scubatex.. brother sister at scubastation.... that's why sell same stuff... same promo... same price... same dive center....why you need to take leave for AOW? you can finish AOW in 2 days.. We all here freshie and newbie also... we are here to learn... Aiks... i didn't know that... |
Jun 4 2013, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 08:10 PM) Haha. Its okay juniorkirk. Let's wait for others. wow... luckily you din blow your lungs out.... never force yourself to dive if you feel uncomfortable.... I always skip dives on the first day if I drove overnite.....Anyway, during my OW license recently, I almost failed. In one of compulsory dives (12m), I had problems with my mask. The water kept leaking in and I had to clear my mask almost all the time. I got very uncomfortable and finally when I reached the bottom and kneeled down they asked me to do the regulator recovery drill exercise. I was not too comfortable with the idea because I was feeling uncomfortable with the whole thing but I did it anyway. I threw the regulator but I could not recovered it. I got panicked and quickly signalled out of air. He tried to give me his alternative reg but I was so panicked I pushed the reg away. In my mind all I wanted was to swim up and resurface. So I quickly swam up and as soon as I reached to the top, I felt alive and relieved. Near death experience, not pretty. I didn't continue my dive. I resumed my dive the next day and luckily this time I managed to wash away my trauma and got it done. All the drills. But it wasn't easy. Things I learnt from my dive license 1. My face can only fits cressi big eye mask ( tried scuba pro and few other masks my DM gave me but cress I works the best. No leak whatsoever haha ) 2. I have to use bigger mouth piece. Bigger space to bite. Peace of mind haha. |
Jun 4 2013, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jun 4 2013, 10:21 AM) QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 4 2013, 10:23 AM) they playing bollywood hide and seek with DM underwater...QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 4 2013, 10:43 AM) wow... luckily you din blow your lungs out.... never force yourself to dive if you feel uncomfortable.... I always skip dives on the first day if I drove overnite..... that day you didnt skip leh... |
Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM
251 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 4 2013, 10:43 AM) wow... luckily you din blow your lungs out.... never force yourself to dive if you feel uncomfortable.... I always skip dives on the first day if I drove overnite..... Yeah i was lucky. Probably because i was at 12m depth. Panic attack all i wanted to do was to resurface. Hopefully it will never happen again. |
Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM
first day I skipped 9am and 2pm dive wat..... I did noon dive only...
Jun 4 2013, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM) Yeah i was lucky. Probably because i was at 12m depth. Panic attack all i wanted to do was to resurface. Hopefully it will never happen again. yeah, thank god that you are safe... just remember what have you learnt and try to solve everything uw. QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM) 2pm got skip ah? |
Jun 4 2013, 10:56 AM
1,249 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jun 4 2013, 09:57 AM) When getting your license is like that 1.. if you dive with friends its more fun.. unless u lose the DM.. Yahh... i was tense especially when instructor always scold me not to do that, not to do this.When I was getting my OW few months back also feel more tense and not that fun.. but I did extra fun dives and it was good.. specially fighting current and laughing about it after the dive.. can't blamed him, coz it's all about safety. i understand that QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Jun 4 2013, 10:02 AM) Welcome... why are you not happy? you went alone? dive alone? anyway welcome, feel free to join us if you want to feel happy.. hahaha |
| Change to: | 0.0284sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:21 AM |