126 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!

TSmunkeyflo
post Jun 3 2013, 12:42 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Btw, those who request to join FB group, please leave a message on this thread as we are not accepting random strangers to our closed group. icon_rolleyes.gif
orentakumi
post Jun 3 2013, 02:12 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 3 2013, 11:35 AM)
Just take your AOW on your next dive trip! laugh.gif

Most of us are newbies here, learning from each other.  tongue.gif
actually not a bad idea... although its a bit tiring to drive all the way to the beach..

orentakumi
post Jun 3 2013, 02:14 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Jun 3 2013, 10:35 AM)
all preparing for war...
why you need to take leave for AOW? you can finish AOW in 2 days..

We all here freshie and newbie also... we are here to learn...  tongue.gif 
Aiks... i didn't know that...  hmm.gif
want to go take AOW together? haha
tantalus
post Jun 3 2013, 02:25 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(orentakumi @ Jun 3 2013, 02:14 PM)
Juniorkirk just took AOW on perhentian trip.. he do the jump leap forward from bubblemaker to AOW directly whistling.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 02:47 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(orentakumi @ Jun 3 2013, 02:14 PM)
drool.gif i would love too... but too bad i'm back to DSD aftter perhentian trip... cry.gif

QUOTE(tantalus @ Jun 3 2013, 02:25 PM)
Juniorkirk just took AOW on perhentian trip.. he do the jump leap forward from bubblemaker to AOW directly whistling.gif
hmm... since when i bubblemaker? i'm DSD, leong is bubblemaker
Pandaman
post Jun 3 2013, 03:21 PM

251 posts

hello there sifu2 otai2 divers LYN!!! biggrin.gif

i just got my diving license like a month ago, did it at turtle bay divers perhentian. (my DM is joe) and i will go for another diving trip in two weeks time.

Anyone here has any experience diving in lang tengah? any experience with the dcoconut dive operator?

Mind to share?

juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 07:06 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 03:21 PM)

i just got my diving license like a month ago, did it at turtle bay divers perhentian. (my DM is joe) and i will go for another diving trip in two weeks time.

Anyone here has any experience diving in lang tengah? any experience with the dcoconut dive operator?

Mind to share?

There's no otai otai or sifu sifu here... only divers biggrin.gif anyway welcome to u/w world.

I personally love diving in lang tengah. Super relax + peaceful... there are only a few resort in the island, which are really quite far away from each other... Marine life in lang tengah is thumbup.gif , leopard shark are often spotted there... what else would you like to know? hmm.gif
Pandaman
post Jun 3 2013, 07:39 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Jun 3 2013, 07:06 PM)
There's no otai otai or sifu sifu here... only divers biggrin.gif anyway welcome to u/w world.

I personally love diving in lang tengah. Super relax + peaceful... there are only a few resort in the island, which are really quite far away from each other... Marine life in lang tengah is  thumbup.gif , leopard shark are often spotted there... what else would you like to know?  hmm.gif
Thanks juniorkirk for the valuable information. During my last dive, I had problems with the standard mouth piece provided by the dive operator.the bite space was too small so it made my dive really uncomfortable as I had to readjust the reg all the time. Luckily my DM gave me a diff mouth piece that is bigger easier to bite haha.

Question here, is coconut dive operator ada banyak variety of equipments? I don't know if I say this right but if they have limited choices I have to buy the mouth piece first then haha.
b5n111
post Jun 3 2013, 07:50 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 04:21 PM)

Mind to share?

Sorry, I have no answer for ur mouth piece Q, wait for the others...

Perhaps u can also share us your experience at Turtle Bay Divers....

Welcome to the UW world!
Pandaman
post Jun 3 2013, 08:10 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(b5n111 @ Jun 3 2013, 07:50 PM)
Sorry, I have no answer for ur mouth piece Q, wait for the others...

Perhaps u can also share us your experience at Turtle Bay Divers....

Welcome to the UW world!
Haha. Its okay juniorkirk. Let's wait for others.

Anyway, during my OW license recently, I almost failed. In one of compulsory dives (12m), I had problems with my mask. The water kept leaking in and I had to clear my mask almost all the time. I got very uncomfortable and finally when I reached the bottom and kneeled down they asked me to do the regulator recovery drill exercise. I was not too comfortable with the idea because I was feeling uncomfortable with the whole thing but I did it anyway. I threw the regulator but I could not recovered it. I got panicked and quickly signalled out of air. He tried to give me his alternative reg but I was so panicked I pushed the reg away. In my mind all I wanted was to swim up and resurface. So I quickly swam up and as soon as I reached to the top, I felt alive and relieved. Near death experience, not pretty. I didn't continue my dive.

I resumed my dive the next day and luckily this time I managed to wash away my trauma and got it done. All the drills. But it wasn't easy.

Things I learnt from my dive license

1. My face can only fits cressi big eye mask ( tried scuba pro and few other masks my DM gave me but cress I works the best. No leak whatsoever haha )
2. I have to use bigger mouth piece. Bigger space to bite. Peace of mind haha.
juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 09:04 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 07:39 PM)
Thanks juniorkirk for the valuable information. During my last dive, I had problems with the standard mouth piece provided by the dive operator.the bite space was too small so it made my dive really uncomfortable as I had to readjust the reg all the time. Luckily my DM gave me a diff mouth piece that is bigger easier to bite haha.
Question here, is coconut dive operator ada banyak variety of equipments? I don't know if I say this right but if they have limited choices I have to buy the mouth piece first then haha.
What do you mean dive operator ada banyak equipment? Most of the dive center equipment for rental only. and most of their equipment are those super basic type. If you would like better reg/bcd you have to buy your own. But don't spend your money investing in equipment you are unsure about. gain experiences thru more dive first. If you would like to buy the mouth piece, let me just tell you where to get and how much it cost and how to pasang. some mouthpiece will cost you RM 5-100. Depending on how comfortable you want it to be brows.gif

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 08:10 PM)
Haha. Its okay juniorkirk. Let's wait for others.

Anyway, during my OW license recently, I almost failed. In one of compulsory dives (12m), I had problems with my mask. The water kept leaking in and I had to clear my mask almost all the time. I got very uncomfortable and finally when I reached the bottom and kneeled down they asked me to do the regulator recovery drill exercise. I was not too comfortable with the idea because I was feeling uncomfortable with the whole thing but I did it anyway. I threw the regulator but I could not recovered it. I got panicked and quickly signalled out of air. He tried to give me his alternative reg but I was so panicked I pushed the reg away. In my mind all I wanted was to swim up and resurface. So I quickly swam up and as soon as I reached to the top, I felt alive and relieved. Near death experience, not pretty. I didn't continue my dive.

I resumed my dive the next day and luckily this time I managed to wash away my trauma and got it done. All the drills. But it wasn't easy.

Things I learnt from my dive license

1. My face can only fits cressi big eye mask ( tried scuba pro and few other masks my DM gave me but cress I works the best. No leak whatsoever haha )
2. I have to use bigger mouth piece. Bigger space to bite. Peace of mind haha.
Don't worry. We have experienced this as well, Next time try to calm down and take a second of your time to think/recall what have you been taught. But for student i do not encourage them to surface. Try to solve any/all the problem underwater. I'm not trying to scare you, it is very dangerous for you to swim up like that... it might caused lung expansion, or when you ascent on the surface, you might hit the boat laugh.gif

From this, i can assume that you took your open water course in island within 3-4 days? Just an advise for you, don't stop practicing your mask recovery/reg recovery and 20+ skills you learnt after you got your open water certification. Master all the skills and get familiarize with the equipment you use.

Equipment are important too, there are different kind of mask out there for different type of faces. if you are getting your own mask, maybe you can read on the first page. how to get your own mask. If you are renting your own equipment, don't have this thinking in your mind you will be getting the same type/brand of equipment every time you dive.

Well, Welcome to the diving world. If you need more information about diving, feel free to post here anytime.

billygunny
post Jun 3 2013, 09:06 PM

master sekalian.. me and my friends are considering getting a diving watch as a birthday present for another friend.. any recommendations.. our budget below rm1k plus minus..
wKkaY
post Jun 3 2013, 09:30 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 3 2013, 09:06 PM)
master sekalian.. me and my friends are considering getting a diving watch as a birthday present for another friend.. any recommendations.. our budget below rm1k plus minus..
Do you mean a "dive computer" watch, or a watch that can go deep underwater?
Pandaman
post Jun 3 2013, 10:00 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Jun 3 2013, 09:04 PM)
What do you mean dive operator ada banyak equipment? Most of the dive center equipment for rental only. and most of their equipment are those super basic type. If you would like better reg/bcd you have to buy your own. But don't spend your money investing in equipment you are unsure about. gain experiences thru more dive first. If you would like to buy the mouth piece, let me just tell you where to get and how much it cost and how to pasang. some mouthpiece will cost you RM 5-100. Depending on how comfortable you want it to be  brows.gif

Don't worry. We have experienced this as well, Next time try to calm down and take a second of your time to think/recall what have you been taught. But for student i do not encourage them to surface. Try to solve any/all the problem underwater. I'm not trying to scare you, it is very dangerous for you to swim up like that... it might caused lung expansion, or when you ascent on the surface, you might hit the boat  laugh.gif

From this, i can assume that you took your open water course in island within 3-4 days? Just an advise for you, don't stop practicing your mask recovery/reg recovery and 20+ skills you learnt after you got your open water certification. Master all the skills and get familiarize with the equipment you use.

Equipment are important too, there are different kind of mask out there for different type of faces. if you are getting your own mask, maybe you can read on the first page. how to get your own mask. If you are renting your own equipment, don't have this thinking in your mind you will be getting the same type/brand of equipment every time you dive.

Well, Welcome to the diving world. If you need more information about diving, feel free to post here anytime.
Yup, thanks. There is still a lot to learn and I'm looking forward to it. smile.gif

Thanks juniorkirk!! Yes I would like to purchase a mouth piece! I will pm you.
sgojita4
post Jun 3 2013, 10:14 PM

60 posts

i want a mouthpiece also juniorkirk!! tongue.gif
Putraskyline
post Jun 3 2013, 10:43 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 03:21 PM)

Mind to share?

D coconut dive center are small and very personalized. They have not more than 10 set of equipment if I calculate it right. Not a good brand though and some of the equipment are mixed brand. They are using cap ayam brand fin which colored something green and orange fluorescent. My experience is waaay back in 2011. Boat have no bumbung and back roll entry. You have to climb the boat, given that there is no ladder tongue.gif

My rating : 5/10

Pandaman
post Jun 3 2013, 11:09 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jun 3 2013, 10:43 PM)
D coconut dive center are small and very personalized. They have not more than 10 set of equipment if I calculate it right. Not a good brand though and some of the equipment are mixed brand. They are using cap ayam brand fin which colored something green and orange fluorescent. My experience is waaay back in 2011. Boat have no bumbung and back roll entry. You have to climb the boat, given that there is no ladder tongue.gif

My rating : 5/10
oh i see.. thanks putraskyline!!! i hope they have invested some money in upgrading their equipments. Fingers crossed. I prefer back roll entry haha easier everything is fixed on the boat then golek je. Thanks again!!
billygunny
post Jun 3 2013, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 3 2013, 09:30 PM)
Do you mean a "dive computer" watch, or a watch that can go deep underwater?
erm.. he gonna just only gonna start learning diving.. so is it feasible for us to get the computer so soon?? and if diving watches any recommendations?
tantalus
post Jun 4 2013, 12:01 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 3 2013, 11:45 PM)
erm.. he gonna just only gonna start learning diving.. so is it feasible for us to get the computer so soon?? and if diving watches any recommendations?
I think better to buy dive computer directly..

At first also i was thinking to buy dive watches.. So I bought it but I never use it when diving as it's not practical..

and dive comp is really important (from my point of view) especially if you want to do deep dive and multiple dives per day. So i bought the simplest dive comp which is zoop

This post has been edited by tantalus: Jun 4 2013, 12:30 AM
billygunny
post Jun 4 2013, 08:51 AM

QUOTE(tantalus @ Jun 4 2013, 12:01 AM)
I think better to buy dive computer directly..

At first also i was thinking to buy dive watches.. So I bought it but I never use it when diving as it's not practical..

and dive comp is really important (from my point of view) especially if you want to do deep dive and multiple dives per day. So i bought the simplest dive comp which is zoop
ic.. any ideas where to get a good yet cheap ones?? haha in Klang or PJ area..

126 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:38 AM