10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

gsc
post Jun 6 2013, 10:22 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 6 2013, 06:15 PM)
An OCBC Premier Manager told me IBG and Giro are the same company.

IBG (Giro) transfer limit is RM 500K per day; whereas Rentas has no limit.

It will take more than a day for IBG to wire fund to current account; Rentas can wire fund on the same day.

Rentas is a bit more expensive, but it is more secure than IBG.
Rentas will match the account holder name and current account number,  if the account name and account number no match,
Rentas will not wire the fund into current account to avoid wire fund to another person wrongly.

IBG will not match the name but match the account number only.

When I was asking about Rentas and IBG, Premier Manager smiled and said: "you guys are smarter than banks now.."  biggrin.gif
That was what my RM told me and I listen to her on Rentas...but as I have said I tried IBG in the morning and found out my fund is available on the same day...from that time onwards RM has been IBG my fund to renew FD...Rentas no limit? Seems my RM dont know about it..
gsc
post Jun 6 2013, 10:45 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 6 2013, 04:58 PM)
Hi guys, my 1st post in this section and hopefully I asked my question at the right section.

Anyways, I'm kinda new in this FD thing and ain't really sure whats good and whats not. Here's the case:

My father just retired and had withdraw his EFP fund and he ask me to look for a good FD plan to "grow" his money in a stable way. From I read at the front page I found Affin Bank offer the highest interest amount.

And here goes myquestion is, can my father just cash out part of his money and put it as FD in Affin Bank? Or he need to create a saving account?
If your father is above 60 then the chances of government changing any withdrawal ruling may not affect him. Since government has changed the retirement age to 60 yrs old, people are concern that EPF may follow and change the full withdrawal age limit.

You father can still deposit back to EPF and the limit is RM60k per year.

I deposited into EPF since the rate is high. In case I need to withdraw, EPF will prorate based on this year dividend announcement. Most likely next year rate will be lower as this year high dividend rate is due to election.

Split the fund into two or three groups, example 20k for 1 year, 20 k for 3 months, 20 k for 6 months. The good thing is flexibility but the bad thing, those promotion rate need fresh fund which may be troublesome to him to play the musical chair when FD mature.

Most banks do not require saving account for FD placement. But some banks which have promotion rate required opening of saving account to deposit the interest rate..most banks provides a very slightly higher rate for senior citizen. Am bank provide free insurance for senior citizen FD placement but the rate is lower than that of banks which have promotion now.

This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 6 2013, 10:48 PM
gsc
post Jun 6 2013, 10:55 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 6 2013, 10:33 PM)
I forgot to add:
The Premier Manager also mentioned how soon can receive fund in current account
also depend on the bank (fund recipient).

According to her, Maybank is the fastest to receive fund via wire.

By the way, there is a always a security guard inside the Premier room, is it necessary?
For Ocbc, the security guard additional job is lock and unlock the door and of course watch out for suspicious people. The guard is required may be is to meet the insurance guidelines..example robbery happened in bank and insurance company may not want to pay because no security guard station there...all these insurance terms and conditions are unknown to the customers.....

The best part is this year Penang Hong Leong bank was robbed and the security guard ran away from the bank...reappear only after the riobber had left.. biggrin.gif
gsc
post Jun 7 2013, 10:28 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(potachan @ Jun 7 2013, 09:01 AM)
hi
May i know can i negotiate with UOB if my fund is 200k and normally how much more the interest will u get? notworthy.gif
thank you.
200k cant even be a premier customer at UOB, unlikely you will get additional rate...but no harm try it and report here biggrin.gif ..

With additional 100k you can be a premier customer at Ocbc and get FD at 5% for 3 months..
gsc
post Jun 7 2013, 10:31 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(alwjmonster @ Jun 7 2013, 10:53 AM)
They have yet explained to me about smart saver, i feels unsecure because they like selling insurance to me, i have to put aside RM17,220 every year and accumulate till 8 years only can withdraw the fund, but i get RM2,400 interest return + RM3000 bonus (fluctuate according economic) every year and i get insured up to RM60,000, while you can enjoy saving account with 4.5% rate untill end of this year and afterward will follow normal fd rate..
I think you are referring to the Builder Express product which Ocbc is selling..
gsc
post Jun 7 2013, 10:39 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 7 2013, 11:01 AM)
I see.. Okay, now i got it! biggrin.gif

So bro, it is possible to have the fund to be deposit back to EPF but only with 60k max / year right? Sounds good, at least it can be the last resort if there's no suitable solution found.
For the bold part, you're right! Nothing is perfect. For making the fund more flow-able, there's always a game need to hands on.
Will try to walk to the bank ask for their monthly / special promotion for more info since I got the heads up! icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes, your father can deposit the money back to EPF. ..

You better move fast, 60k, interest rate 3.7% is about RM185 per month or RM6 per day...if in EPF,6.3% which is RM 315 per month or RM10 per day..
Another option is place at MBSB which offers 5 years FD, 4.7% rate if not mistaken...MBSB is not PIDM protected....MBSB major shareholder is EPF..
gsc
post Jun 8 2013, 01:13 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ Jun 7 2013, 10:48 PM)
quick one guys, lets say my OCBC SS now have 10k and i wanna place additional 60k (40k for 4.5% FD + 20k for SS) .  Now my SS already have 10k, does that mean i can only top up 15k for SS and 45k for my 4.5% FD.  meaning total of 25k SS and 45k FD?
Your existing money in SS has nothing to do with the new FD placement.
60k new placement, need 20k in SS, your SS new balance is 30k. One member here said can open more than one SS then you might as well deposit into new SS account.
gsc
post Jun 9 2013, 01:05 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Jun 8 2013, 10:58 AM)
Higher interest rate, no need to q long long, got coffee unlimited, got chick serve oppps for financial advice or investment advice, anymore?
One sen cheaper than board rate on foreign currency at Ocbc....Public manager can also give 0.5 to 1 sen lower than board rate even if you are not premier customer...
15sen banker cheque at Citi Gold....free one hour parking...
gsc
post Jun 10 2013, 11:44 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Jun 10 2013, 11:24 PM)
10k fd dunno will qualify me for free gift  sad.gif

summore i locked n burned some money in uob prumax rm200 sad.gif dam sad
Public bank. Am bank with give you a free plastic "folder" for your FD cert...Ocbc only gives you a paper envelop...

gsc
post Jun 11 2013, 11:59 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 11 2013, 11:14 PM)
I never knew placing FDs can entitle us to ask for free gifts...really wasted those other times I place FDs and didn't try to ask for anything, lol
Dont feel bad, very likely that you didnt loose anything because very seldom bank give free gift unless they advertised it which you dont need to ask for it. free gifts are automatically given to premier customer.

The only exception is Bank Rakyat which the members here are comparing and competing to get more gifts biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 12 2013, 12:01 AM
gsc
post Jun 12 2013, 11:48 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 12 2013, 04:12 AM)

Yes, I did. I sent a complaint letter to her superior..

I had a very bad luck to have an unprofessional RM like this. 

Did you get it eventually? Sometimes they dont give gold art but other things..they give a nice Ocbc paper bag to contain the free gift...the cctv should be able to show was any free gift given...and may be the stock balance can tell hw many was issued on that day.....not after post count... biggrin.gif

gsc
post Jun 12 2013, 02:16 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Jun 12 2013, 01:40 PM)
I'm new to this fixed deposit account business thing, but I have RM10k lying around in my maybank account doing nothing at the moment.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...al/ACC-Accounts

^ I plan to open a fixed deposit account online with them (seems pretty easy, just click a few times and I'll get a FD account), but I don't quite understand how the profit rate is given out?

For example, it says here 1 - month tenure gives 3.00% p.a profit.

So they'll hold up my RM10k for a month, then give me the 3% interest a year later?
1 month tenure means you will get principle rm10k plus interest after 1 month, not a year.3 months tenure means after 3 months...

You need to have account opening first before can perform on line banking...bank needs your signature, personal particulars etc if you are first time opening account..

gsc
post Jun 12 2013, 07:46 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 12 2013, 07:20 PM)
Hah... both..?

Oh... doh.gif  I discovered this thread late lah...  cry.gif
That was given for recommending premier member ....for Penang side the campaign was stop beginning of this year...I think KL side also no more this campaign...if there is it is the RM that personally give....so you didnt miss anything since your pervious RM has the right not to give? tongue.gif
gsc
post Jun 13 2013, 10:04 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jun 13 2013, 08:48 PM)
guys
if i have rm10k in my hand, which bank should i choose for my fixed deposit?
currently i only got CIMB and Maybank saving account.
is it worth to open new bank account for the sake of getting extra %?
Most banks allowed opening of FD account without opening a saving account. Best FD, scroll to the top or first page and share with us your findings
gsc
post Jun 15 2013, 12:24 AM

1,624 posts

Received called from Hong Leong bank saying there is a FD promotion 5.25% per year. The staff wanted to make appointment to explain to me. I asked her is this 5.25% a pure FD and not reuired to buy any structured products or unit trust etc..she said is pure FD. I told her email to me the detail first begore meeting up...no news thereafter...anyone of you aware of this FD promo?
gsc
post Jun 15 2013, 09:17 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2013, 09:34 AM)
Are u sure it's HLB, not HLA? hmm.gif
That girl just said from Hong Leong, guess you are right, may be from HLA...

MBSB CEO mentioned in the newspaper there is a plan to turn MBSB into full fledge bank...may be merge with RHB since EPF have shares in both banks...
gsc
post Jun 17 2013, 10:31 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 16 2013, 11:09 PM)
Hello Handsome..

if you can make both FD and Smart Savers placements during the 1st day of the month,
after that you withdraw both FD and Smart Savers in 3 months later (better withdraw both during
1st day of the month), then you will get approximately 3.96% p.a. profit rate.

But you have to deposit at least RM 1000 in your Smart Savers in the 2nd and 3rd month in
order to get 3.96% rate.

if you make FD placement + Smart Savers other that 1st day of the months, you will get less
than 3.96% rate.

Smart Savers is the most tricky saving account I have ever seen in my life so far... (if bundled with FD)   biggrin.gif
Take up another Bonus Saver at Ocbc. A person can open up mutliple SS account. Example with spouse, children etc..in this way you are not bounded by the trick of perpertually tied up the SS fund.
The counter girl tod me IBG is FOC for premier cistomer. Then I told her a saving of 5 sen rclxms.gif big deal...earlier .was 15sen for first two IBG...
The staff tried to sell a principal guaranteed product, 18 months. Either 0 or 5.56%. Surprise still got people invested in this product... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 17 2013, 10:33 PM
gsc
post Jun 20 2013, 10:26 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(helob @ Jun 19 2013, 08:48 PM)
I am a retiree (67) but still hold an account with EPF with some cash.
Since EPF is paying much better dividend than FD or TD,
I am thinking of putting a certain sum into my account monthly.
Have check with EPF and was told that I can contribute min RM50/mnth and max RM60K/yr.
Any downsides to this scheme?
Would appreciate feedbacks from participants.
TQ
You can deposit in one lump sum RM60k if can afford to enjoy the high dividend. Since you are 67, any rule on age limit withdrawal will not affect you, by the way EPF is proposing only full withdrawal at 60 for new EPF member.
The only downside is government may not allow full withdrawal on total amount. This is not likely as many retire people will jump... vmad.gif
On the positive side, assuming 60k in EPF with a dividend of 6% which is equal to 300 per month income...if there is no need to use the money, I will deposit 60k to enjoy the high return...

MBSB promotion 9 months FD for roughly a return of 3.8%. 80:20 similar to Ocbc previous offer, 80% FD and 20% saving account. I wonder can we withdraw immediately the 20% earmark in the saving..the FD rate is 4+% (cant remember the exact number) . Offer till end of Aug which is a good alternative should in July month Ocbc, UOB lower their rates...

This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 20 2013, 10:31 AM
gsc
post Jun 26 2013, 02:26 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 23 2013, 03:27 PM)
You can call OCBC branch in your area.

But usually we call OCBC help line (personal banking) on www.ocbc.com.my
I do not think they (help line) open today.

OCBC 3.7% p.a. for 12 months is a pure FD, it does not link to CASA, but it needs fresh fund.
You can call to OCBC help line to double confirm.
Ocbc bonus saver 4.5% continue after 30 Jun. 3.7% for 13 months joint account only
gsc
post Jun 26 2013, 05:35 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Jun 26 2013, 05:15 PM)
more info for this pls...
Ocbc bonus saver is a continuation of current promotion which is supposed to end on 30 June. It is being carried forward with same terms and conditions.

Current 3.7% straight FD for 12 months will end on 30 Jun. it will be replaced by 3.7% FD for 13 months, joined account. Max allowed is RM500k.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:13 AM