10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

gsc
post May 14 2013, 12:55 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 13 2013, 11:42 PM)
Hi, gsc. Savemoney.my did a calculation on this and apparently the effective rate 3.097% p.a. only. It's much lower than what you have there. Not sure which one is correct, but it's surely not a fancy offer at all.
I calculate based on the info. given on that day, may be there is other info. not display. 3.097% is low, almost same or worst than normal rate.....if that low what is the promotion ?

gsc
post May 14 2013, 07:48 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ May 14 2013, 02:22 PM)
OCBC NEW SAVING PROMOTION TILL END OF JUNE

4.5 % FOR 3 MONTH FD

MINUMUM FD PLACEMENT = 5000
MAXIMUM FD PLACEMENT = 2X of ur CASA account balance.
*FRESH FUND ONLY
Straight FD ?
gsc
post May 14 2013, 11:10 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 14 2013, 10:40 PM)
This is OCBC's usual promo that's being offered earlier this year. Tied to CASA. I thought you have some with them nod.gif
He didnt mention tied to CASA. It only said max. FD is 2x CASA amount balance....fresh fund refer to FD?

If fresh fund required for CASA then this is nothing new

--------------------------/-------------

OCBC NEW SAVING PROMOTION TILL END OF JUNE

4.5 % FOR 3 MONTH FD

MINUMUM FD PLACEMENT = 5000
MAXIMUM FD PLACEMENT = 2X of ur CASA account balance.
*FRESH FUND ONLY

gsc
post May 19 2013, 01:30 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 18 2013, 03:08 AM)
This has nothing to do with my luck.

Every OCBC branch has their own policy, each branch works independently.

Last time I called OCBC help about to get additional Smart Saver account, they said
this depend on the branch. If you have good reason, they may allow.

You should try to ask for it. Good Luck  biggrin.gif
I stop saving combo because in my SS comparatively the fund is bigger than my FD. This hapened because Ocbc dont allowed opening up additional SS account. You really have a good deal because the 3 month FD effectively is 3.9%
gsc
post May 21 2013, 01:22 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ May 20 2013, 10:46 PM)
ok stupid me  doh.gif
2/3 of total fund at FD,
1/3 at CASA = 1/2 FD amount  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
But great news is there is no restricted number of account for SS, this one end 30th june smile.gif
Which branch has no restricted number of SS account?
gsc
post May 22 2013, 02:06 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 22 2013, 01:13 PM)
hahaha, bursa more interesting than FD currently  laugh.gif

Those who invested in AUD must be freaking out at present rate BUT I am overjoyed. did several transactions with CT Global Transfer to my Oz account  smile.gif The savings I get from AUD weakening in the last 2 weeks is like getting 2 years interest in MY FD.
It drops below RM3, good for Aus$ FD
gsc
post May 22 2013, 07:09 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 22 2013, 02:21 PM)
Huh? Why is that so? You expect AUD to strengthen? Rating houses have issued statements that AUD rating may be revised if the government do not go back to surplus budget in coming years.
I dont have any solid evidence but I am Newton's Law believer, what goes up must come down..... biggrin.gif
gsc
post May 23 2013, 12:13 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 22 2013, 08:46 PM)
Bro, there is no such Newton's Law  tongue.gif  And maybe now AUD is experiencing gsc's law - on the way down since it has been up for sometime.

Anyway, for your further info, the last round the RBA cut the interest rate was mainly because they wanted to weaken the AUD!!! Go google their May meeting minutes.

I guess if you play AUD, what you should pray for is that our Ringgit weaken in the future but that would also make our imports more expensive. So I be praying the opposite thing - that's Newton's Law - for every reaction there is an opposite reaction, hahahaha
You are right on Newton's law, gsc law is based on Newton findings of gravity force...ringgit going up will eventually coming down (by gravity force) tongue.gif
Thanks for your info. on weakening AUD.....
gsc
post May 23 2013, 02:18 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 23 2013, 12:21 PM)
But over the past 55 year, RM vs SGD, gsc law doesn't apply. biggrin.gif
That is true...so far I only monitor Aus and Nz only....
gsc
post May 23 2013, 11:28 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 23 2013, 07:18 PM)
Dont waste your time as the amount that enjoys 4% rate is twice the amount you deposit into CASA  doh.gif
That's an excellent question that only you can answer.

If you need AUD in the near future, why not? If you converting back to MYR... god only knows what the conversion rate will be when it matures (or when you decide to convert back after several renewals). You also need to play god and predict if the interest rate will be going up or down in coming months or years and since last year it has been falling.

Edited***

Here is an example:

Last year this time the lowest conversion spot rate was around 3.10 (I know because I was in Melbourne last year this time). Right now at this moment as I am typing the rate is 2.9444, that's 5% difference. So if you had deposited into AUD last year into 1 year AUD FD and get 4.5% interest, you would have thought you got a good deal. But today, if you need the said fund for something and therefore withdraw the FD and covert back to RM, you would actually get less even with the interest earned. And please note, I have yet to even take into consideration the bank's commission of about 1% every time you convert. So effectively you would have lost money even though your principal earned 4.5% interest in AUD FD.
Aus$ below RM3 exchange rate is good for FD because the Aus$ exchange rate usually is hoover above RM3.1. With Ocbc giving additional 5% for one month FD, it helps to cushion the exchange rate loss and exchange rate commission.
gsc
post May 28 2013, 10:58 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 27 2013, 11:59 PM)
Like I mentioned earlier only god knows... too many infinite variables at play. Not too long ago it was AUD/USD 0.65!!! Go check it out if you don't believe me.

0.65 exchange rate? Cant find...

http://www.nzforex.co.nz/currency-converte.../10000.00/false
gsc
post May 28 2013, 01:37 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 28 2013, 12:10 PM)
End November 2008 dropped to .62
I knew, that was when I bought in AusD, but our friend said not long ago which I cant find it as I was monitoring the rate since beginning 2013....I guess it is different interpretation "not long ago" ....thanks anyway
gsc
post May 30 2013, 10:01 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ May 30 2013, 09:29 PM)
Are there any FD that offer higher return if i commit for say 5 years or more? This is mainly from the money accumulated for my son. so i won;t be needing it for some time. thanks in advance
MBSB 5 years FD
gsc
post Jun 3 2013, 10:27 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 3 2013, 03:26 PM)
Once again, be warned, make sure you check the interest paid to you if your PBB FD matures on a Saturday or Sunday because they will not pay you the 1 or 2 days interest (if got a Public holiday that's 3 days interest) unlike most other banks.
I realised this two years back and made a complaint to the assistant branch manager who agreed to paid the interest on bank off day as I told him it is the bank closed not I dont want to withdraw the FD on maturity day. From then onwards whenever FD due on Sat, Sun Public holidays, I always reminded them and the teller will say they will add on the interest..
If FD mature on Saturday and if a person withdraw only on Tuesday, interest will be calculated on Monday will not be calcuated which is fair....Ocbc interest calculation will automatically include the bank off day without customer demanding for it..

gsc
post Jun 4 2013, 06:03 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 4 2013, 12:50 AM)
Have you ever approached by OCBC RM to ask you to buy their investment products?

Recently they have a RMB (China currency) forex investment plan, minimum investment is
RM 70K, projected return is either 7% or no return at all, but the capital is guarantee secured.

And 1/3 of fund can put into FD to enjoy 4.00% (if I am not mistaken at this rate) for one year.

When I asked for a hard copy to study at home, the RM said no.  doh.gif

What do you think of this product?

Sorry, off topic here...
RM tried before and I said no and she did not asking me further...

Projected return only projected....I invested Public bank structured investment, 3 years 9 months maturity, similar to what Ocbc offered, capital guarantee and impressive projected return...this year Jul will be matured. Till now, 3 years and 8 months, fund performance only 98-99%....those projected return never happened only have zero return ... mad.gif
gsc
post Jun 4 2013, 11:57 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 4 2013, 11:14 PM)
BoomChaCha, if you're a Premier customer already, why didn't you go for the 5.5% FD promo? It ends this 30th June. I know the requirement is to have a few investment products with the bank, but I think since you've already got some FDs, all you need is to do some other investment with them. But of course, the downside is if you can't find a product that suits you, then no point thinking about..

So no, it's not for life. Unless I've been wrongly advised.
RM told me cant go for the 5.5% FD promo for current premier customer.
Yes, I dont think Ocbc provides life premier membership...just imagine a person balance drops to rm50 and still can use premier banking facility...

gsc
post Jun 5 2013, 12:16 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 4 2013, 08:46 PM)
Did you mean if I want to continue my FD in OCBC, I can Giro my fund from Public bank to OCBC?

Can you explain in more detail how does it work?

I heard Giro will take 2 days to clear the check?

I used Rentas once, transfer mature FD into Citi bank and use my personal Citi bank cheque to "renew" my FD at Ocbc. I used Rentas because RM said it is same day transfer.

Later I tried IBG (inter bank giro) and found out if you IBG in the morning, the fund is also available the same day just like Rentas. From that time onwards I only use IBG. It is 15sen versus RM9.

Earlier if my FD due next week, today I can prearrange with RM by signing all the documents and give her the cheque in advance. Next week FD is renewed without I need to go the bank. This is very convenience because sometimes I am outstation or not free during FD maturity date.

But recently, RM said bank ruling does not allowed keep customer pre-signed documents, I have to do it on the actual day of transaction.
gsc
post Jun 5 2013, 04:52 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Jun 5 2013, 09:34 AM)
If I dun have any saving account / current account in OCBC..and I want to transfer 50k to ocbc for FD..what is d best method? IGB got limit per day?
IBG max limit s RM500k per day...not RM10k per day..

This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 5 2013, 04:56 PM
gsc
post Jun 5 2013, 10:50 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 5 2013, 05:45 PM)
RM500k is for over the counter IBG limit ?
Over the counter at Ocbc

gsc
post Jun 6 2013, 10:30 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 5 2013, 12:46 AM)
When I was in OCBC few days ago, I saw an old woman was using Rentas to transfer fund from
her matured FD into her current account so she could renew her FD on the same day.

She said only Rentas was the best for same day wire transfer.
15 sen for IBG is very cheap.

How many time have you used IBG and you can get the fund transfer successfully on the same day?

What is the difference in between Giro and IBG?
At least easily 20 times and it becomes my standard method to meet fresh fund requirement...IBG, InterBankGiro...sometimes people short form it as Giro..new bank negara ruling 10 sen ...earlier I have to pay RM2 after two IBG at Ocbc

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:49 PM