Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

gsc
post Aug 28 2013, 10:29 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 28 2013, 07:56 PM)
If education is not the best form, then what is the best form?

By the way, It is quite headache when FD maturity date approaching, this is one of the reasons
I placed some FD in a longer term...

S$ 1.00 = RM 2.601  ---> Break records  sweat.gif
US$ 1.00 = RM 3.334
Education is not the only way as not all children can study. I would like to say as parents we have to make sure they have a living skill.....skill to repair car, skill in repairing electrical and electronic items, skills in tailoring, skill in machining etc just a living skill which they are expert or good it, that will be enough...parents assets will be added on as bonus in life...

US$ to ringgit has been hovering around 3-3.1 and I have just converted last month when it hits 3.18...didnt expect ringgit to drop even further cry.gif

This post has been edited by gsc: Aug 28 2013, 10:31 PM
gsc
post Aug 28 2013, 11:31 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 28 2013, 02:26 PM)
Besides Affin, could u recommend which Bank offers high FD rate?
Please refer to first page...PIDM or non-PIDM, 12 months or 3 months...all have different rates..
gsc
post Aug 29 2013, 12:00 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(1setsuna1 @ Aug 29 2013, 11:12 AM)
I see I see, understand now. Y the banks wan us to do this thou? rclxub.gif
Want the customer to have more banking transaction apart from FD placement only.
To project high FD interest rate but actual is lower due to CASA placement..

Very soon, I think more banks will be using this tactic to encourage more banking transactions, sign up more bank products etc ...no free lunch in this World...
gsc
post Aug 29 2013, 11:11 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 29 2013, 04:15 PM)
I will call your parents to let them know you are interested in their assets.. biggrin.gif

Hopefully UOB will have a new and better FD rate next week...
Too many China dolls, make you see asset as drool.gif ........

...children inheritance = your current asset + cash
Gen-X is correct spend it together with them and enjoy the family time ...

Bad news from Ocbc the Mega saver 4.5% for 3 months FD will end on 10 Sept instead of end of Sept.
i was thinking of switching over to Ocbc when my SC mature in 3rd week of Sept.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by gsc: Aug 29 2013, 11:13 PM
gsc
post Aug 30 2013, 09:35 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(nebulaguava @ Aug 30 2013, 08:58 AM)
Just sharing here...

That's what I thought at first 9:1.
But when I open with the banker just yesterday they use 10:1
which is more beneficial to me -- more into FD.  rclxms.gif

Meaning

RM100 into FD
RM10 into CASA
10:1 ratio
or
91:9 ratio (rounded)
I mentioned bfore when Ocbc started the bonus saver. The requirement ia 10% of FD which is different from 90:10 ratio.

It is 10% of FD, means if FD is 90 then CASA is 10% of 90=9.
In your case, yourvFD is 100, 10% of FD is =10.

Ocbc then get smarter change it to ratio..
gsc
post Aug 30 2013, 03:13 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(nebulaguava @ Aug 30 2013, 09:37 AM)
I was referring to RHB.
I know you are referring to RHB. What I am trying to say here is Ocbc was using the same term, % of FD and now they have change it to ratio ...this % of FD interpretation can apply to any bank..
gsc
post Sep 1 2013, 09:38 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Sep 1 2013, 09:24 PM)
thanks.
not as much as 50k la..actually now i practice every month try to put in 1k or 2k after salary in into FD instead of leaving it in saving. so online will help with the hassle. i can do it with mbb but just looking at other option that offer more than 3%. ocbc always has promo while BR rate is always higher
Ocbc has brought forward to end the Mega Saver on 10 Sept. Ocbc other offer is 3.3% for 9 months. It seems that banks has changed the promotion to longer period, 9 months or more with a rate lower than present....SC 3.3% for 12 months....
gsc
post Sep 2 2013, 09:59 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2013, 01:47 PM)
I just called OCBC help line, OCBC said all 4 FD promos will end on this 10th of September:  cry.gif

(1) Mega Saver 3 months FD at 4.5% bundled with CASA (Smart Savers)
(2) 3.7% for 13 months
(3) 3.4% for 12 months
(4) 3.3% for 3 months
You are welcome.

I guess OCBC will lower the FD rates after 10 of September..  sad.gif
You'd better do it fast before 10 September..
two weeks ago RM sms 3.3% for 9 months , i think this new promo still on.

This post has been edited by gsc: Sep 2 2013, 11:39 PM
gsc
post Sep 3 2013, 10:01 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2013, 10:04 PM)
Hi Tech, I think so, since OCBC help line agent did not mention about this 3.3% for 9 months FD would stop.
Am Bank beats OCBC with extra 0.25 point, so why not go for Am Bank?

You have a very nice RM lo...  smile.gif
I am looking for 3 month ...for may be 6 months since many banks are lowering down their rate..

gsc
post Sep 3 2013, 06:55 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2013, 05:00 PM)
You are welcome.

To ALL: I just updated Post#1, any other FD Promo(s) from Commercial Banks that I missed and worth mentioning?
MACH Gurney Paragon Penang, 1st Mach in Penang 3.55% for 3 months , minimum rm10k, end Oct..compare to KL 4% promo earlier..this is comparatively low...again a sign of interest rate going downwards....
gsc
post Sep 3 2013, 10:52 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2013, 08:42 PM)
Noted, updated 1st post to benefit those in Penang Island
I told Ocbc staff about this Mach and Mach FD rate will be better than that of Ocbc after 10 Sept..Ocbc staff not even know about the existence of Mach...not surprise too when Mach first started up in KL, I asked Hong Leong bank staff about Mach, they also dont know about it.. doh.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by gsc: Sep 3 2013, 11:56 PM
gsc
post Sep 4 2013, 10:02 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 3 2013, 11:10 PM)
You'd better double check with OCBC again, OCBC help line said this promo is
already ended during June this year.

RM confirmed today still available till 10 Sept. I dont usually call the help line because they tell what they saw on their website which is not updated or sometimes they just tell whatever come across their minds. This apples to most banks 1-300-xxx.. line...

I always prefer call the bank staffs direct as they are the one hands-on opening and closing account..
gsc
post Sep 4 2013, 10:41 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 07:23 PM)
You are too modest, your numbers should be X10  brows.gif !

Have been using Citibank for years, my housing loan also started with them years ago .......... biggrin.gif
Benefits of Citigold, no annual fee Platinum Visa, free parking, used to have gifts for birthday, Citigold counter etc. Really not many, but as part of spreading out the eggs (not all eggs in one basket, ha ha  tongue.gif )

What is rate offered for housing loan by Citi? The FD rate at Citi is miserable but the service in general is better than that Ocbc.
gsc
post Sep 5 2013, 12:11 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 10:34 PM)

Really ah..  hmm.gif  but sometimes if they do not know the answer, they will refer to their supervisor.
Ok anyway..I called OCBC help line this morning, and I double checked again for their FD promo rates,
these 3 FD promo will expire next Tuesday - 10 September 2013.
(1) 3.4% for 1 year (fresh fund not required)
(2) 3.7% for 1 year (fresh fund and joint account required)
(3) 4.5% for 3 months (bundled with CASA - Smart Savers)
The 3.7% is for 13 not 12 months..
gsc
post Sep 5 2013, 10:09 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 5 2013, 02:06 AM)
Ha..ha.. if the banker can tell us the truth, then they cannot sell their products..
I never trust the OCBC RM, every investment he says is just good good and good...  biggrin.gif

I always tell them if so good why dont yourself invest in it...

gsc
post Sep 5 2013, 08:12 PM

1,624 posts

Withdraw Aus$ FD yesterday at an exchange rate of 2.966 but today goes up at 2.982...still not too bad...capitalize on the +5% offer by Ocbc...
gsc
post Sep 6 2013, 01:33 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 5 2013, 11:24 PM)
Do you want to invest in this Foreign Currency Time Deposit Deal..?
This promo is still available until next Tuesday..
I just ended my foreign currency FD. Have to wait for better rate. Last time the rate I bought was 2.916 and I converted it back to RM at 2.966 yesterday..
gsc
post Sep 7 2013, 12:21 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 6 2013, 10:44 PM)
Ha ha, well done on your $AUD trading.. thumbup.gif
Yes, I knew you just ended your foreign currency FD.
I was thinking to seek for your professional opinion about this foreign currency FD.

I made 10% return on Aus$ FD. Was told that the additional 5% on foreign FD will end on 10 Sept. will open Mega Saver next week before promotion ends.
Ocbc staffs also try to sell FRNID to me. But since I was burnt by Public Bank capital guarantee structured fund before, I am not interested in investing into any simialr product...on the surface, it sounds attractive but I am sure there are T and C unmentioned...

my other 5 years structured product is performing at 118% after 3 plus year. A wiser choice is to capture the gain now instead of waiting for maturity (5 years ) as it will dilute the return. But to stop now, there is a penalty clause..the person who sold me the product is no longer working...the current colleague also not much helpful in answering questions.... My points is they are only interested to sell to get the commission and 5 years is a long period, it is better to stick to the FD..
gsc
post Sep 8 2013, 08:48 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 7 2013, 12:40 AM)
10% return is pretty good lo.. steady..  thumbup.gif

Mega Saver is 3 months FD at 4.5% bundled with Smart Savers, right?
I just placed it yesterday (Friday).

Will you place another Foreign Currency Times Deposit Deal again next week..?

I was wondering for those RMs if sold the investment products that were not profitable,
how would they face to their customers..?  hmm.gif

Nowadays RMs does not make much different from car salesmen..
Yes..mega saver...last day is 10 sept...

No Foreign Currency FD because the RM is weak against Aus$...

RM wont feel anything if you are investment is no good. To them you should read and know the risk....or they may ask you to invest in other product to cover the lost..

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.0467sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:42 PM