Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.
magika
Aug 4 2013, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 4 2013, 12:22 PM) Wow. I am impressed. I just asking some questions and see what i have got? Strong bold comment. Seem like i am bashing you guys, but in fact I AM NOT. I NEVER compare anything. But, sigh. If want compare, compare 90's FD rate to now. Up to 12% ( ComB, MBB, HSBC, PBB ) compare to now, which is 3 - 5 %. I know the chances for a bank to fall is relatively low, but i am just concern about it, please don't get me wrong, mate.  Dont have to compare, look to the future. I still kept a copy of FD with Maybank Finance at 9.xx rate. Been there done that.
magika
Aug 4 2013, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 4 2013, 12:34 PM) Nope, i din't compare, because HJebat did mention in the reply I am quite new in FD, thats why i ask more about BR. I think is impossible for me to got 5% since i can't made it to the min req. I saw some of your comments way back and just did not wish to reply. However I am interested in other forumers experience with FD traditional banks or whats not. Your petty comments seem to interupt the flow of posts, and thats why I felt the need to put things in perspective. This thread is for info on FD and it does not matter if the cert is printed in whatever colours. I f you wish to elaborate on the pros of investment that is the better then post your experience with proper printscreen data. Then you are talking. This post has been edited by magika: Aug 4 2013, 03:36 PM
magika
Aug 4 2013, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 4 2013, 07:38 PM) since u asked, just to share... i do not put my money in non-pidm entities. i do not hv experience with them, but.... i just want no exposure to the non traditional, often labeled "shadow banks" that hv certain risk, a risk anyone can dispel or take seriously. no one can say that is right or wrong, just an individual's risk appetite at best or perception at worst. see, 99% of the time, nothing happens, all is safe. but what if that 1% happens to you, what do u do? like life, accident, medical, home burglary insurance, there is no value in buying n paying until n unless you know it happens to u. such is the nature of insurance. all said, it's all about how u view the local economy, yr confidence on the banks incl bnm, yr trust on the politicans and the the real state of the economic health n the accompanying intrigue that surrounds us. To each its own poison I would say. However while its good to share the merits each case has, its not very nice to often post as if its a high risk option. PIDM has been here for not so many years, so without it as before then will be keeping all the cash under the pillow. It has been overhype and the risk is very minimal. Another overhype myth is regarding the Kwsp fund imminent collapse. This has caused quite a number of contributors withdrawing and then what depositing in banks at a much reduced rates. Some forumers here even dare to increase their contribution. So who is right. Dont think too much of what we cannot control, such as the state of the economy, the stock market and the likes. Even in chaos, there will be opportunities. Just to get rid of the myth regarding koperasi debacle, my better half including her family was refunded. Hope others old enough can share their experience.
magika
Aug 4 2013, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 4 2013, 08:07 PM) Yes,  I always count my money and assets: [attachmentid=3569773] That is good but hopefully dont count your maid money and touch her assets.
magika
Aug 4 2013, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 4 2013, 09:03 PM) For me, I will never put my money in Uni Trust, never and ever.. I only trust myself.
magika
Aug 4 2013, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 4 2013, 09:28 PM) I was one of them..  So old man, were you fully refunded.
magika
Aug 4 2013, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 4 2013, 09:25 PM) Cannot tahan la this fellow, I laugh till guling-guling on the floor Maid's assets as in $$$ or "assets" as in...ehem  (just in case this post is been monitored, by "assets" I meant her...errr, haiya...since this is FD thread, I meant her FD la  )...but I have reason to believe magika knows what I'm implying  Shh.. young children around, very difficult explain later..
magika
Aug 4 2013, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 4 2013, 09:35 PM) Why refunded? I said I made some contribution to KWSP before the end of last year.. no scared..  oh.. shit. I thought koperasi..no scared.. one of my sister friend say all (hearsay) withdrawal frozen...
magika
Aug 4 2013, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 4 2013, 09:41 PM) Which koperasi?  *deleted* This post has been edited by magika: Aug 5 2013, 08:44 AM
magika
Aug 4 2013, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 4 2013, 10:13 PM) This "old man" has his money refunded related to Koperasi collapse. Thats what my missus told me too. That time we were just a baby , of course Nowadays got money also worried, no money also worried ... but better to have money of course ,,,!
magika
Aug 5 2013, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 5 2013, 12:34 AM) Why you got money also worried?  Of course worried lah.. Put under the pillow scared thief steal Put in BR scared cannot get back Better spend it all, get china doll enjoy
magika
Aug 5 2013, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Aug 5 2013, 03:17 AM) BR pays out the interest monthly to the savings account and from there you can withdraw as required, betul? Meaning, it can perhaps serve as spare cash, hmm... Anyone has tried the branch(es) in Penang and has any good advice? It is correct.
magika
Aug 5 2013, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 5 2013, 11:02 AM) Last Tuesday, Fitch downgraded Malaysia credit rating outlook from stable to negative sending stock market and ringgit tumbling down. Ringgit was history low against S$ and renminbi. I wouldn't want to go long on FD at this very moment unless G implement measures to control the country debt and spending. Just my personal opinion. Good opinion !
magika
Aug 5 2013, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 5 2013, 07:53 AM) want to know too. By saying, the amount can't be accumulate? Because the interest is given directly to the SA. So, the interest will be the same throughout the years because is into diff site ??? I would like to know which bank will compound your interest.
magika
Aug 5 2013, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 5 2013, 09:14 PM) eh, i thought the normal 3.15 fd did that, MBB did from my exp, and still the same till today. they did accumulate when the fd matured... Within the FD tenure....  RU sure u know what UR posting ? This post has been edited by magika: Aug 5 2013, 09:23 PM
magika
Aug 5 2013, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 5 2013, 09:24 PM) no problem ..
magika
Aug 9 2013, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 9 2013, 07:55 AM) It depends on the individual. For larger amount, the diff is even more. Several factors are involved like amount of fund available, need for the fund (short/long term) etc etc. Combination of short/long terms FD is a good strategy. I used to be thinking of 12 months. But after joining this forum, have started to swift more to combination of the two. Of course whether the IR will goes up before the 5 years FD is up we never know.  If you near the retirement age, then when all you want to think of is passive income. Long term FD is plausible as it will generate enough monthly income for our lifestyle. So for all old man who do not want to take any other risk, that will be the way to go.
magika
Aug 9 2013, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(RO Player @ Aug 9 2013, 12:08 PM) some have seen my certs...other savings need to be secret alrdy.. This cat got lots in the kitty ! Topcat i would say !
magika
Aug 9 2013, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 9 2013, 10:34 AM) Right, right ....................  But also some short term one in case we need to feed ...............u know lah  Feed what, chinadoll !!
magika
Aug 9 2013, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 9 2013, 03:00 PM) I agree EPF is the better option. I havent touch it before so better have dual option. FD and EPF to propel us in later years. Only condition, no scared ah... This post has been edited by magika: Aug 9 2013, 09:37 PM