8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

magika
post Aug 9 2013, 09:44 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(trust4you @ Aug 9 2013, 09:05 PM)
Just wondering what happen if a person dies? What happen to thier FD?  Can anybody take in behalf of them? As far as I know many banks had implement thumb print for withdrawing cash from the bank.
If you are that worried then open joint account. Nowadays banks have survivor`s clause. biggrin.gif
or better still write a will ! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 9 2013, 09:45 PM
magika
post Aug 9 2013, 09:47 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 9 2013, 05:06 PM)
I did the same during last year. No scare either.
Start from this year onward, the maximum contribution limit is RM 60K per year.

Yes, hopefully can get more than 5.5% return rate next year.. Cheers  cheers.gif
shocking.gif shakehead.gif
magika
post Aug 10 2013, 08:41 AM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(watertan88 @ Aug 10 2013, 12:56 AM)
Anyone here tried the Fixed deposit - overdraft facilities before?

I had deposited 300K with OCBC premier banking.

Suddenly i want to buy a leasehold house with 300K. The house lease term is short, i must buy the house with cash first, after that renew the lease and do refinance.

I do not wish to lose the premier banking status and fd interest.

May i know how's the overdraft with pledge FD work? how much the bank will allow for overdraft limit ?

how much is the interest rate for overdraft ? i dont mind to pay a little interest to them.
First of all you wont lose Premier Banking status if you were to withdraw all your money.
Overdraft pledge with FD means you cant withdraw and will only earn board rate when your FD mature and its first time only BLR-1 roughly currently at 5.6% for one time only. biggrin.gif

magika
post Aug 10 2013, 08:42 AM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 9 2013, 11:30 PM)
What do you mean?
No good? It does not work this way..?

Or you want to treat me a dinner?  biggrin.gif
nod.gif

Its good if you are near 50 or above then can withdraw anytime you feel like it. However you and the goat must have surpassed that age. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 10 2013, 08:44 AM
magika
post Aug 10 2013, 08:48 AM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 10 2013, 08:18 AM)
xx is not the top depositor. Let the kitty be the Top Cat of BR in Lowyat Forum and beyond ...........................  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Actually the cat is too modest, somewhere there is a screenshot of his FD cert. Actually admire it for accumulating so much net worth and can enjoy it practically forever as cat has nine lives. rclxms.gif

magika
post Aug 10 2013, 11:52 AM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 10 2013, 10:41 AM)
Was told Ocbc premier status will be withdrawn if bank account less than the qualified amount...for Citi bank effective Nov 2013, a service fee RM80 will be charged if less than the qualified amount..

If bank charges 5.6% and can still earn board rate, let say 3.1%, net net paying only 2.5% for pledging FD? That sounds attractive than housing loan
No, you wont lose PB status, as mine is much below it for many moons. How you calculate attractive, got cash use cash,no need to pay extra. When need cash afterwards then can still mortgage .

magika
post Aug 10 2013, 09:28 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 10 2013, 09:06 PM)
Bro Magik biggrin.gif  Everybody can save money into EPF except below 18 years old.
The minimum contribution is only RM 50.

I put at least RM 100 into EPF almost every month instead of putting my extra money into my saving account.

We saved our money into a saving pot when we were kids  --->  [attachmentid=3576617]

For me, EPF replaces saving pot. Since we can get more interest, why not..? 

In my opinion, this is another safe way to diversify our money to get a good return rate  biggrin.gif
Yo, Uncle ! tongue.gif Piggy Bank can use hammer to break anytime, try breaking EPF with hammer and see ! flex.gif

magika
post Aug 10 2013, 09:29 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 10 2013, 09:16 PM)
Ya lah, Magika, how can you guess people's age like that one ........................

You and I are probably in the same league cheers.gif and I am .......... the "old man"  rclxs0.gif
Play poker mah ! At least the goat show hands ! rclxms.gif

magika
post Aug 10 2013, 09:34 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(watertan88 @ Aug 10 2013, 05:10 PM)
Thanks for two of your reply. Still not sure the PB status condition.

I want to maintain the PB status because next year i need to do refinance. I dont mind to pay interest.
My documents is not very strong because of very high commitment. Just hope that if PB status is maintain, refinance my old house will be easier to approve.

If currently i withdraw 300K to buy new house with cash. Next year the bank may not approve for my old house refinancing.

Is the bank same as (Ah Long)" ? Give them earn interest, maintain good record, next time everything can discuss easily......
If you have PB status then OCBC do not need strong documents and the loan will be easier to approve. Thats what the RM told me. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 10 2013, 09:39 PM
magika
post Aug 10 2013, 09:47 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 10 2013, 09:36 PM)
How to define a person is old or young has caused much controversy..

Let's say if a person aged at 50 but he is a very successful businessman, and if comparing to another
person aged at 40 but he is only an office clerk, who is younger?  biggrin.gif

Unfortunately, I am similar to the clerk  cry.gif 

Another example like Bro Goat, he is definitely a young man based on 3 things that I know about him:
(1) Money - especially US dollar and uncountable
(2) Girl friends - uncountable
(3) A good Scene of humor - this will make you always young
Most serious FD players are old men. If you ask me in the example you have given,,, you are the sucessful businessman. Most rich man says they are very poor one.. dont worry i know you know only lah... brows.gif

The goat one dont play play ..... lots of china doll... drool.gif

However its good to diversify our savings thru FD and EPF, very safe one.. If wan to gamble there is stock market, futures, gold but that one mostly for young blood. So its not for you and the goat of course.. shakehead.gif

magika
post Aug 10 2013, 09:56 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 10 2013, 09:42 PM)
hello Uncle.. you are probably right...  biggrin.gif
bbgoat, where are you , Boomchacha is calling you ! laugh.gif

I was thinking also of contributing extra but unfortunately undecided yet. So still getting as much as possible from FD. hmm.gif
magika
post Aug 10 2013, 10:06 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 10 2013, 09:59 PM)
You are drunk... shakehead.gif  or you are having cocaine or heroin now..enjoy yourself.. biggrin.gif
I am a bit high at the moment. Ride all the way to Ipoh and back. Traffic was horrendous both ways. Wet, tired but not hungry. One of the ways we enjoy ourselves using the spoils from FD returns. Only thing is my better half was grumbling as could not buy much. laugh.gif

magika
post Aug 11 2013, 09:52 AM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 11 2013, 08:50 AM)
Ha, caught you again, still counting new assets coming in at 4.34am or later ?? How much is it now, billions & billions ?  rclxub.gif

That one got something wrong upstair ! I say ride , he says car ? shakehead.gif
Your fren something wrong, counting maid money in the wee hours of the morning, somemore touching her assets.
Its like the Uncle Scrooge`s story, everyday counting money and saying humbug.

I used to place FD at whichever bank that is having a promotion until recently I deposited in the bank that gives me better return and no need to play musical chairs. So lots of free time nowadays. flex.gif

magika
post Aug 11 2013, 01:55 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 11 2013, 12:27 PM)
Those three remind me of Moe, Larry and Curly  laugh.gif

I remember vividly that you have a 12-month FD placement with BR. If you want to save your time, why don't you go for the 5-year lock-in period with BR? If the amount is right, you can get 4.90%, or at least 4.60% - 4.70%  drool.gif
Doggone it! Then its confirmed since you knew the three stooges you are ancient. Me I heard it from my parents. laugh.gif

Quite a number of forummers here are into BR, just shy to mention it as its regarded as big no..no.. shakehead.gif

magika
post Aug 11 2013, 02:03 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 11 2013, 04:16 AM)
I told you not to get cheap low quality type and on-sale ones from Magika since you can afford better quality,
but you never listened to me..  sad.gif
BoomChaCha.. got offer buy one free one, wan or not... tongue.gif

Nowadays banks does not gives good value free gift. The last I had with OCBC ..free Mont Blanc pen quite value.. thumbup.gif

magika
post Aug 11 2013, 07:22 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 11 2013, 05:51 PM)
Bank Rakyat's 5 years FD will pay you monthly interest too.
But it requires minimum RM 20K..
Unlike me, this one got lots of money one.. dont mention minimum 20k, after it goes ballistic then you know. shakehead.gif

Those with 5kk if put into 5%pa FD no need to work already. 250k per year , every morning wake up shake leg enough. Free time oogle young girls. drool.gif

magika
post Aug 16 2013, 04:17 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 15 2013, 11:39 PM)
If I were you, I would put FD in shorter term like 3 to 6 months and see how is the "weather" next year.

If you put in 5 years now, I do not think you can sleep well every night until bank negara announces
the new FD rate next year.

Since you heard the thunder, then bring an umbrella first loh...
It could be a sunny day? Thunder storm? Or thunder only but no rain at all? Just like car price..  biggrin.gif
I think so... but hopefully Captain is not abandoning us and our ship..  biggrin.gif
Thats what they said last year too. React only when its actually been implemented. BNM n the gomen in my opinion , will not raised th OPR, as it will stiffled the local economy. Rather I think they will implement stiffer rules for personal loans. sweat.gif

magika
post Aug 23 2013, 03:01 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Aug 23 2013, 02:34 PM)
Wnt to ask, i placed FD at OCBC ( 3 month 4.5% ) . Then i check my online banking account, the FD amount was correct, but the 50% place to my existing smart saver only show as current balance, but no add into available balance. Is it normal? The 50% fund inside Smart saver can get 2.9% ?
Thats because its locked to your FD and not available to be used. I think it cant even be used to pledge for OD.

Smart saver has its monthly deposit, to be eligible for its max interest.

magika
post Aug 23 2013, 03:37 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Aug 23 2013, 03:07 PM)
so let's say my smart saver currently got rm10k, the 50%  amount was 5k(locked), so the interest i get on smart saver is calculate based on 10k or 15k?

*Every month i will deposit >1k for 2.9%
whatever is in the smart saver is eligible including the monthly RM1 k provided 0 withdrawal.

note: just in case u dont understand, locked or unlocked also will get the interest. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 23 2013, 03:44 PM
magika
post Aug 23 2013, 03:40 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 23 2013, 03:35 PM)
ok, hate the banks, never wat u see is wat u get.
That one is considered simple, more tricky ones are around. I do hope you ask for adviced before diving into any scheme no matter how convincing it sound. biggrin.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.5296sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:23 AM