121 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

pinksapphire
post Apr 4 2013, 11:51 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 4 2013, 11:44 PM)
Ask you to "save" more lah doh.gif doh.gif what else ?
RM1k extra every month also they want ah? Okies sweat.gif
BoomChaCha
post Apr 5 2013, 03:56 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 4 2013, 09:55 PM)
Ah, thanks for your example, I get it now! But since it's past beginning of the month and I could only go for the FD next week, I guess I'll have to endeavor monitoring two different dates of withdrawal. Otherwise, it's a long wait till next month.

And since the Smart Savers 'saving' account interest is calculated daily, is it right to say that I won't lose out too much having to keep them for a few weeks till the end of the month at the rate 2.9%?
In order to get 2.9% in your Smart Savers, you have to deposit at least RM 1000 into Smart Savers every month.
If you have time to deposit RM 1000 during the first day of the month, then your RM 1000 will get 2.9% interest
for the whole month. Please refer to the first page page of this thread.

You have to keep your fund in Smart Savers until 1 August; whereas you have to find another bank for your FD
which you make withdrawal in 15 July.

Another alternative is to transfer your FD fund into Smart Savers in 15 July to earn 2.9% for 15 days, and then withdraw
all funds at a time in 1 August.

I always try to place Bonus Saver during the very early date of the month.

BoomChaCha
post Apr 5 2013, 04:00 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 4 2013, 11:51 PM)
RM 1000 x 1000 customers nationwide (very conservative estimate) = RM 1 Million every month

LostAndFound
post Apr 5 2013, 07:29 AM

6,266 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 4 2013, 11:51 PM)
Rich fag detected...
cucubud
post Apr 5 2013, 07:59 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 4 2013, 06:20 PM)
I am not sifu..

Yes, you can go to the bank only by yourself (since all 5 FDs are either one to sign) to combine
the 5 FDs into 1 FD.
But do it only when all the 5 FDs are matured if you do not want to lose interest.

Also, you need to know if the bank requires fresh fund or not when you renew your
FDs (combine and renew from 5 FDs into 1 FD).

For most FD promo, Banks will usually require fresh fund.

The bank (only the particular branch where your placed your FD) will keep your FD account record
for both of you. Next time, either one of you can go to the particular branch to place or withdraw FD.
Thank you very much for your advice.
Will go to the bank when the FD is matured.
pinksapphire
post Apr 5 2013, 10:50 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 5 2013, 03:56 AM)
In order to get 2.9% in your Smart Savers, you have to deposit at least RM 1000 into Smart Savers every month.
If you have time to deposit RM 1000 during the first day of the month, then your RM 1000 will get 2.9% interest

You have to keep your fund in Smart Savers until 1 August; whereas you have to find another bank for your FD
which you make withdrawal in 15 July.

Another alternative is to transfer your FD fund into Smart Savers in 15 July to earn 2.9% for 15 days, and then withdraw
all funds at a time in 1 August.

I always try to place Bonus Saver during the very early date of the month.
I did refer earlier nod.gif
And I think what you just suggested about moving the FD fund to Smart Savers works well! Unless a few months later there's a better promo elsewhere, otherwise parking in under 2.9% for the time being is decent.

Lucky earlier when I thought OCBC 4.5% promo has ended, I was told at the bank that it's renewed from April till June period. Just curious, is it still eligible for you since you've done it in the earlier cycle?

And thanks a lot for taking time to address my questions earlier.

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Apr 5 2013, 07:29 AM)
Rich fag detected...
I'm a girl, so technically you can't call me a fag grumble.gif ....I'm just blur *stomps feet*
ronnie
post Apr 5 2013, 11:03 AM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

My current Bonus Savers is ending in May 2013... can I put back the funds into another round of Bonus Savers for June 2013 ?
frontierzone
post Apr 5 2013, 12:42 PM

735 posts

Hi, I went to a Hong Leong branch. I wanted to open a savings to facilitate the FD placement. I wanted to open the Basic Savings without annual fee (RM8), with limited transactions per month, and e-banking facility. However they told me that their Basic Savings Without Annual Fee, only comes like this:

- No ATM/Debit Card
- No E-Banking facility.

I have previously always been able to open the non-annual fee account (with ATM limited transactions & E-Banking) at other banks.

Forumers, can anyone tell me whether HL Basic Savings really works like this? I thought Bank Negara mandates all banks to carry Basic Savings, Option I and II, is that not?

nomen
post Apr 5 2013, 04:03 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 5 2013, 11:03 AM)
My current Bonus Savers is ending in May 2013... can I put back the funds into another round of Bonus Savers for June 2013 ?
One can have multiple placements for Bonus Savers so long as the promotion is still on, but need to move fund out and return to make new placement because of the so-called fresh funds requirement. biggrin.gif

BoomChaCha
post Apr 5 2013, 05:30 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 5 2013, 10:50 AM)

...... I was told at the bank that it's renewed from April till June period.
Just curious, is it still eligible for you since you've done it in the earlier cycle?

Yes, as long as place with fresh fund
BoomChaCha
post Apr 5 2013, 05:31 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(nomen @ Apr 5 2013, 04:03 PM)
One can have multiple placements for Bonus Savers so long as the promotion is still on, but need to move fund out and return to make new placement because of the so-called fresh funds requirement. biggrin.gif
Precisely.

But as discussed earlier,it is inconvenience for multiple placements (different dates) of Bonus Savers if you have
only one Smart Savers account, because all funds will "stuck" into one Smart Savers for 2.9% interest (require
to deposit minimum RM 1000 into Smart Savers during the second and third month to eligible for 2.95%) until
over the end of 3rd month.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 5 2013, 05:43 PM
gsc
post Apr 5 2013, 08:40 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 4 2013, 07:44 PM)
Hi guys...for OCBC's FD deal of 4.5% for 3 months, can you help me to verify if my calculation is correct?

Let's say I put in RM50k into FD and as per their requirement, another RM25k into the savings:

FD (50,000 x 4.5% / 12 months) x 3 months = 562.5
Savings (25,000 x 2.9% / 12 months) x 3 months = 181.25

Total = 743.75 for 3 months

I took 2.9% as the savings interest rate as I think it's their latest.

Also, what do you think of this deal? Is it worthy of deposit? I'm thinking to do so next week once my other FDs are matured, so appreciate your thoughts smile.gif
Your calculation is slightly incorrect because to emjoy 2.9% rate, you have to deposit 1000 in month2 and month 3. This will add on to your principal of 50k+ 25k + 1k + 1k = RM 77k.
gsc
post Apr 5 2013, 08:46 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 5 2013, 03:56 AM)
There is no need to deposit RM 1000 on the first day of the month, as long as you deposit RM 1000 any day of the month, you total fund inside bonus saver will be calculated at 2.9% interest for the entire month.
nomen
post Apr 5 2013, 08:49 PM

163 posts

- deleted -

This post has been edited by nomen: Apr 5 2013, 09:04 PM
nomen
post Apr 5 2013, 09:00 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 5 2013, 05:31 PM)
Precisely.

But as discussed earlier,it is inconvenience for multiple placements (different dates) of Bonus Savers if you have
only one Smart Savers account, because all funds will "stuck" into one Smart Savers for 2.9% interest (require
to deposit minimum RM 1000 into Smart Savers during the second and third month to eligible for 2.95%) until
over the end of 3rd month.
I actually made 2 placements within the same month (08 March & 18 March) with only one SmartSavers account, so the only viable way is to make withdrawal on July 01 to be eligible for 2.90%. In this case, I need to prepare to deposit an additional RM1000 on June 01. I might withdraw the FD(s) on maturity separately or deposit into SS account and withdraw altogether on July 01

This post has been edited by nomen: Apr 5 2013, 09:03 PM
gotham11
post Apr 5 2013, 10:32 PM

171 posts

Hi Sifus out there.. not sure anyone think of this?
Instead of FD, I am thinking of offer my brother RM200K in his flexi housing loan, he continue to pay his installment, and by end of the year, he shall pay me 5% interest, not sure whether the interest that saved will be more than the 5% that I charged? to make this deal worthwhile to be win-win situation?
BoomChaCha
post Apr 5 2013, 10:33 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 5 2013, 08:46 PM)
There is no need to deposit RM 1000 on the first day of the month, as long as you deposit RM 1000 any day of the month, you total fund inside bonus saver will be calculated at 2.9% interest for the entire month.
You are right. As long as deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers any date of the month, the fund in Smart Savers will get 2.9% for
the whole month.

This is what I was trying to say:
If we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during the first day of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% for the whole month; let's
say if we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during 15th of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% interest from 15th until the end
of the month.

I think you should put Smart Savers instead of bonus saver.
Because Bonus Savers consists of FD plus CASA (one of them is Smart Savers)

When your are talking about total fund inside Bonus Saver, the interest will calculate roughly 3.96% (FD + Smart Savers), but
not 2.9% interest; 2.9% interest is for Smart Savers alone.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 5 2013, 10:39 PM
gsc
post Apr 5 2013, 10:56 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 5 2013, 10:33 PM)
You are right. As long as deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers any date of the month, the fund in Smart Savers will get 2.9% for
the whole month.

This is what I was trying to say:
If we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during the first day of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% for the whole month; let's
say if we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during 15th of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% interest from 15th until the end
of the month.

I think you should put Smart Savers instead of bonus saver.
Because Bonus Savers consists of FD plus CASA (one of them is Smart Savers)

When your are talking about total fund inside Bonus Saver, the interest will calculate roughly 3.96% (FD + Smart Savers), but
not 2.9% interest; 2.9% interest is for Smart Savers alone.
If we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during the first day of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% for the whole month;
let's say if we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during 15th of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% interest from 15th until the end of the month.

On 2nd case it is true the RM 1000 will get 2.9% from 15th onwards but the original amount in the Smart Saver will still earn 2.9% interest for the entire month which is similar to the case of depositing on 1st of the month.
RM1000, interest 2.9%, daily interest is RM 0.079 or RM 2.38 for 30 days.
Thus no point to purposely go to deposit RM 1000 on 1st day of the month. Go any day whenever a person is near to Ocbc bank...
BoomChaCha
post Apr 5 2013, 11:06 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(nomen @ Apr 5 2013, 09:00 PM)
I actually made 2 placements within the same month (08 March & 18 March) with only one SmartSavers account, so the only viable way is to make withdrawal on July 01 to be eligible for 2.90%. In this case, I need to prepare to deposit an additional RM1000 on June 01. I might withdraw the FD(s) on maturity separately or deposit into SS account and withdraw altogether on July 01
2 options:

Hassle to manage FDs on different FD placement dates:
If you withdraw your FD separately from Smart Savers on different date, this mean you will split your funds into 2 portions on
different date; then you will need more time, energy, effort, and money (petrol) to take care of 2 portions of funds (FDs).

or

Get a bit low interest rate at 2.9% for less than 1 month period
If you move your 2 funds from matured FDs into Smart Savers and withdraw all funds in 1st July, this means you 2 FDs will
get 2.9% interest for 22 days and 12 days respectively. And all your money will park in OCBC for almost 4 months.

In overall for these almost 4 months period, you will get lower than 3.96% interest

Now just realize that OCBC is too smart to offer Bonus Savers.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 5 2013, 11:08 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 5 2013, 11:10 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 5 2013, 10:56 PM)
If we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during the first day of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% for the whole month;
let's say if we deposit RM 1000 into Smart Savers during 15th of the month, this RM 1000 will get 2.9% interest from 15th until the end of the month.

On 2nd case it is true the RM 1000 will get 2.9% from 15th onwards but the original amount in the Smart Saver will still earn 2.9% interest for the entire month which is similar to the case of depositing on 1st of the month.
RM1000, interest 2.9%, daily interest is RM 0.079 or RM 2.38 for 30 days.
Thus no point to purposely go to deposit RM 1000 on 1st day of the month. Go any day whenever a person is near to Ocbc bank...
You are absolutely right... smile.gif

121 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:47 PM