8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

yhoong12
post Apr 8 2013, 04:09 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

I have one question regarding singtel business fixed line call cost.

link as below:
http://info.singtel.com/business/products-...-line#-overview

so my question is, an office fixed line called another office fixed line, the charges is 0.86 cent per 30s,
then one minute is SGD 1.72 ? is my calculation correct? fixed line so expensive?

but my friend told me that for fixed line, the call is free, is he talking about home line?

yhoong12
post Apr 8 2013, 05:17 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 8 2013, 05:05 PM)
1.72 cents not 1.72 SGD leh  tongue.gif  hp 16-20 cents

You friend may be talking about the mio plan, call to local line free. Don't know got business plan or not.
Ouch, my bad. maybe my understanding very bad, that why confused me. so one minute call only cost <2 cents ?
because i saw hp cost alot more so i didn't think of fixed line can be so so much cheaper, hence confused. tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 08:34 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 8 2013, 05:49 PM)
You say 0.86 cent per 30s then 1 minute is 1.72 cent lo. Why you apply business line leh?
Haha, because the way malaysia put the figure wont be <1 cent (for 0.86cent), seldom i see got the zero in front, maybe i too used to it and seldom read all the way, i really thought is 0.86 SGD.haha

anyway, i didnt apply for it, because recently heard some staff say the phone bill cost alot, so just asking to see why it is so much. tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 08:37 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 03:41 AM)
haih. this afternoon POSB called me for job interview. after so long! after i've settled to this admin job.

timing is everything i guess sad.gif

i applied for this POSB job long time ago. now only they get to me.  sad.gif
Usually some company process the job application very slow or maybe they dont have other candidate d. btw, why not go for the interview? just have interview experience and get to see what they have to offer so that you can plan for future when u want change job. you have settled mean you already start working?
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:02 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 09:22 AM)
i think i should work with this admin job for at least 6 months?

or i can just jump to another company just like that?

what will happen to my S Pass and stuff sad.gif

i am clueless. i don't want to get myself into trouble..

i did apply to some logistic company, but i didn't get any replies and i am just a freshgrad from malaysia sad.gif
My suggestion is that you carry on to work with this admin job, but you attend the POSB interview as well. no harm for you to attend another interview, can gain experience and learn more from interview. i would do that if i were you.dont jump because you also cannot guarantee that you will get the POSB job right? what is the job position? is it the one you want? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:04 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 9 2013, 09:45 AM)
i have a similar kind of issue with u
however, mine was only the passport number for application is different from the 1 when i entered sg.
i was exempted from the medical so this part is different but i think it should not pose that big of an issue
however, the problem u will have is they are most likely going to need your old passport.
when u go to EPSC...bring along your old passport and the new 1 to let them know that it is still the same person.
If HR help you update the new passport, then i guess wont have any problem. last time when i renew passport , HR just help me update only. nothing much to do, but is not during pass application la.
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:06 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 9 2013, 10:01 AM)
If call client then no choice one. If use to call back Malaysia home or friends, IT people start to check then you die liao. Most company using IP phone. If your phone got a big screen with Cisco name most likely they are IP phone.
Haha, i seldom use office phone, as my boss just sitting behind me only.is not IP phone, just normal phone. tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:35 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Apr 9 2013, 10:10 AM)

Recently I just got terminated for an employment less than 2 months in Singapore. My question is:

1) Is it advisable for me to delete that employment in my future resume? I m worried that other companies can check.

2) Will my S Pass or employment pass be greatly affected by the termination?

Thanks in advance.
Reason of termination?
1) & 2) is basically based on why you get terminated only you decide what to do, by see your concern there is looks to me that you terminated because you are not performing? blink.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 11:31 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 11:17 AM)
Welcome. Then you must prepared to give an honest reason on why you leave the company in less than 2 months because they will definitely do a reference check.
Most company doesn't like employee who job hop & unable to perform.
But he is talking about termination not resignation. is different.
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 01:48 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 9 2013, 01:33 PM)
I try to write what I feel about working in SG so far not much work today hehe. Please give your input especially your MY experience all are welcome.

I started my working life in SG. Never work in MY so I don't know about the pay scale, culture, organization and cost of living there. Seeing many Malaysians coming to SG to work, I guess SG is better.

Input from my MY colleagues who worked in MY before, things like electronics, food, clothes, travelling are generally "cheaper". Cheaper in the sense of the cost % over income. Partially due to the stronger currency exchange for SGD. I assume this is the main attraction for graduates to come here as those are the things they are chasing at that age?

After some time we move to another kind of needs. Housing, transportations and setting up a family. Everything change from there. Not so cheap after all. For dual income, maintaining a car is affordable. We plan to get another  car recently because our working hours varies, either me or my BF has alternate OT. After calculation and the new budget we gave up the thought. Our place is 30 mins walking distance up hill from the nearest bus stop. Try going up hill with heels before saying 30mins is ok... If one of us OT, the other one have to force to stay back too because we share one car. The cab queue around my workplace is even worse than the MRT queue. Petrol is cheaper though - about 2.2 for 98UL per litre and MY Ron 97 is 2.9 per litre.

We can't buy HDB because we both have properties here and oversea. My parents hate me so they put my name in the house before they went back. Next choice is condo, dual income, pay until retired. Waiting for the second wave of cooling measures. Landed... don't even dare to think. So yah well over marriage age but still waiting. And the government is complaining of low fertility rate among residents. Kids will be another level of needs - akan datang lol.
LOL. because they hate you, hence they tied you with a house?? shocking.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 02:37 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 9 2013, 01:58 PM)
i wish my parent hate me, they din leave me with anything  sweat.gif
since i got kids, guess i already next level  rclxms.gif

work in malaysia 5 years then sg 4 years then 5 years again in malaysia and now back in SG 2 years plus  hmm.gif
i see also alot people go back permanently no problem adapting with Ringgit
depend on opportunity, me career been on turbo since i back in SG
planning for more kid, house and already enjoying driving here in SG  rclxm9.gif

a lot of plan have been acomplish with the strong currency  thumbup.gif

different age different need, i like the freedom kl have when i younger (young and dangerous)
i like the security and freedom for my son now in SG (they run and roam around in the park with no fear)
Well, cant agree more with your statement, but i still can see my friend cannot tahan the life here and intend or already going back to work in malaysia, they tried to use alot excuses to forced themselves stay and work here.
for me, maybe i didn't work at big city before, only work at my kampung which is small and live simple life. so for me, SG life is better than MY life for me. wish my career can turbo on like you. rclxms.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 05:49 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Apr 9 2013, 05:10 PM)
Pros working in SG:

- save more money in RM
- more buying power in Malaysia
- better public transport system & environment
- cheaper internet & mobile phone

Cons working in SG:

- your paid will be much less then $3.4k, probably SGD$2.5-2.8k
- quite impossible to own a car in SG
- super high room rental SGD500-1000 (depends location) in Malaysia you could rent a Apartment/House
- working as foreigner in SG (SG ppl always look down on us & discriminate Malaysian)
- much competitive working environment & demanding (may work >12 hours a day, no work life balance)
I don't kena discriminatd by any singaporean as some even mistake me as singaporean, so your look down issue is invalid unless you alway offended them with"you singaporean wat wat, i malaysian wat wat" that kind of thing only will make ppl discriminate you, but not malaysian.

work life balance? my work life balance is very good, is depend on one how to manage it.
yhoong12
post Apr 10 2013, 08:43 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 11:45 PM)
but u dun see malaysians gang up online scolding foreigners to go back home don't we?

f&b very tiring one. but if got chance i will try. just didn't know the method. at that time i dun have any pass. but now i got S Pass, so i can apply?
I think apply job does not related to the need of any pass, pass is your identity as a staff at the company, if you change job, you change pass too. if you are jobless at the moment, you dont have pass, you get a job then you get a pass.
yhoong12
post Apr 11 2013, 09:47 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Apr 11 2013, 08:53 AM)
What do u mean? Better you write in English la as most of us here are English educated.
He is trying to ask how to apply to become oversea voter. but singapore is not applicable, you still need to go back and vote.
yhoong12
post Apr 15 2013, 08:57 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 15 2013, 12:02 AM)
problem is i dunno how to go..
first thing is. how to go jb @_@
Goto queenstreet is one way, another way is take bus 170 @ Kranji or 950 @ woodlands. you just follow the crowds. alight bus at checkpoint, go up for custom clearance and check document, then going back down to take bus to cross bridge, then reach JB custom, go up again for custom clearance and check document, after that you don't need go back down to take bus, find sign board going to City Square or you also can follow the crowd walk to city square. but just beware of scratch and win on the entrance to City Square.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Apr 15 2013, 08:57 AM
yhoong12
post Apr 15 2013, 01:38 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 15 2013, 12:53 PM)
imma gonna copy this down!

any idea how can i go to taman setia indah by public transport?
Best option for you is to go through custom during non-peak hours. so that you can observe and get use to how to reach JB city square.what is important is beware the scratch and win. for me, i wont stop for anything until i reach the inside of city square.no harm for taking extra precaution. girl need to be extra careful, is better you find a male companion.

taman setia indah you need to ask other taikor d.
yhoong12
post Apr 15 2013, 03:10 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 15 2013, 02:29 PM)
Scratch and win really that scary? Only saw it in TV.
regardless scary onot, you wont want to find out. becareful better than regret.
yhoong12
post Apr 15 2013, 03:37 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 15 2013, 03:25 PM)
will keep that in mind lol
You from johor but seldom come to JB? maybe you can catch up with some of your old friends and trying to explore together around custom till city square if you feel shy to join the gang mentioned. biggrin.gif

btw, i miss out some part of traveling from JB custom to city square. while you walk from jb custom after you clear custom. basically you just walk only, no need take bus. you will pass through KFC and starbuck and ktm counter before you reach city square. quite a distance but within walking distance. thumbup.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 15 2013, 03:54 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 15 2013, 03:39 PM)
i was from segamat wink.gif til i was 17. then i went to pj. then kampar, perak for 4 years.

then now in sg.
Oic, Kampar UTAR student.
Btw, i recall that you havent start work? maybe you can plan one day and go to explore during weekdays, less pack and i think the scratch and win less come out cari makan. hehe
yhoong12
post Apr 15 2013, 04:48 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 15 2013, 04:20 PM)
working now.

now i plan to go jb on weekends to attend japanese class smile.gif
Thumb up for you, keep upgrading yourself. thumbup.gif
but did you found where got offer japanese class?

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0598sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:44 PM