8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

yhoong12
post Mar 20 2013, 08:40 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 19 2013, 08:58 PM)
I just wanted to rant here after just a few months of working here. One thing I somewhat came to a conclusion to is that I will go back Malaysia after a few years.

I dunno about the rest of you, but the lifestyle here is so much of a pressure cooker. I feel stressed at everything. Going to work is stressful. Trying to find a place to eat at Raffles is stressful. Finding a seat is stressful.

I think I'm having issues coping with the generally high stress levels of Singapore.
If you saying go back to malaysia still depend on location, if KL, i don't see any different stress level as i always see my friends driving car complaining jam here jam there while i am already back home surfing net.

you said:"I feel stressed at everything. Going to work is stressful. Trying to find a place to eat at Raffles is stressful. Finding a seat is stressful", then tell me, what thing is not stress in our life? before you married, you stress on saving money, buy house,car and so on, after married you stress of getting a child, maintain a family and so on.

maybe working here is a bit stressful, but how sure you are working in malaysia is not stressful?
yhoong12
post Mar 20 2013, 08:45 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 19 2013, 10:07 PM)
Hey bro thanks a lot for ur feedback, really appreciate it. But sgd900 is almost 50% of my salary. I dont need air cond or other stuff. I just need a bed, fan & toilet, my budget is max sgd900 including the PUB. Is this realistic to get at a nice location near public transport spots? If cannot then i have to cancel moving to Singapore in my list. laugh.gif
I helped whatever i can because i understand how it feel to move in singapore without any help.haha

the problem you facing now is toilet, 900 with attached toilet near public transport spots(i guess you mean mrt because bus stop is everywhere), you need to search for the room harder, maybe you will find one, because is quite a big sum for a single tenant, i bet alot of tenant want this kind of tenant as they get quite a sum but only one tenant at that room. i suggest you try to find room where the unit only got two room, one master room and one common room, definitely you will be the only one use the toilet while you rent the common room, the different thing is toilet not attached to your room..

if a girl looking for attached toilet i can understand, but can i ask why you want a attached toilet so badly? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Mar 21 2013, 08:51 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 21 2013, 12:24 AM)
I had a very bad experience b4 when renting room but have to share common toilet, some of the things I seen still haunts me till today. So I rather stay in my parents house when my room not master have my own toilet so I don't have to relive that nightmare. But I'm kinda bored staying here ATM I want try life in Singapore.
oic, you look for common room first, then go and see the room yourself, check the environment and house owner, you can ask any question like , how many tenant, toilet is only use by u and so on, they dont mind if you ask question, just dont ask those nonsense one can d. laugh.gif

i guess you mostly like easy to get bored at the same place for a long time which most people also same, but singapore is even more bored as you like start a new life here, less friends, want save money less go out, will this bored you? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Mar 21 2013, 08:52 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

need help from all SIFUs here, anyone purchase transnational bus ticket online before? reliable onot? still not very trust malaysia online system.
yhoong12
post Mar 21 2013, 09:15 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 21 2013, 08:55 AM)
which place is not bored if you not willing to get out of your room ?
True, but he said he is bored in malaysia, is either he alway stick at home or he living and working in a small town, it can never get bored in big cities like penang, ipoh, kl, right? tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Mar 21 2013, 09:20 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 21 2013, 09:03 AM)
I've tried Causeway link, n it works. Transnational, no experience yet. Should be quite reliable. Transnational is a pretty big company. Try call them.
Causeway link ? bought online using malaysia currency? i only can bought Transnational as that the most convenient bus for me, i know is a big company, but i experience before they take on too much passengers as they need to kick some of them out, i guess those kena kicked out is those paid direct to the bus driver, that make me worry about buying online as it is a piece of paper printed out rather than ticket printed out by counter, you know la, malaysia what also can happen, later they say you fake the ticket and so on. doh.gif

i just trying to find time to go larkin and buy myself but kinda busy recently. cry.gif

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Mar 21 2013, 09:21 AM
yhoong12
post Mar 21 2013, 10:30 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 21 2013, 09:40 AM)
usually u buy online, u still need to go to the counter to redeem the actual ticket.
Oh, izit? now i know, i thought is same like train ticket, just purchase and print out is ok d. that what i do previously.

yhoong12
post Mar 21 2013, 02:56 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Mar 21 2013, 01:27 PM)
Hi wanna ask which telco prepaid data is the fastest?
Currently I'm using singtel and when i'm in the MRT the speed damn slow~

But i saw other ppl still can surf facebook, i only can whatsapp...

Please recommend, thanks!
Singtel is the best telco coverage in singapore, i think should be the same for postpaid and prepaid. in MRT is random one, maybe next time you use then you feel like fast.
yhoong12
post Mar 22 2013, 08:39 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Mar 21 2013, 11:31 PM)
Hi guys, thanks for the feedbacks. I've gotten a single room at Depot Road for 700 dollar, excluding PUB. The owner said that if electric bill is not high, then they will cover the bills and if its higher than average, then the tenants would need to divide some among ourselves. The previous few months, tenants did not need to pay for the bills cos the bill's cheap. Living with owner... seems quite mafan but place is very nicely designed and clean. So overall, I think shld b ok gua... hopefully not too much trouble and fingers crossed!

There's one more question though. The HR told me that my EP is approved. I kept hearing (from family members and friends) that I need to do a full body checkup before/after I apply/get my EP but I've asked several employers (including those that interviewed me before) but all of them said that I don't need to do so. Can anyone advise me on this please?
excluding PUB?hmm....not really worth thou. plus you mentioned that previous few months the tenants no need to pay for the bill, how come now need? any idea what happen?

btw, if tenant need to pay the bill, how much per person(how many ppl?) for your new rent unit? hmm.gif

like other mentioned, IPA stated or you can ask HR what to do next, just tell them you don't know. is ok icon_rolleyes.gif
yhoong12
post Mar 22 2013, 11:27 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Evanx2 @ Mar 22 2013, 10:18 AM)
Guys,

My friend attended an interview with KPMG SG on 18/03. She said it went well but they told her they will get back to her latest by 29/03. Does it usually take that long for them to decide or get the approval?
latest mean not more than 29/03 right? from today until 29 is about one week, i guess is normal process.
yhoong12
post Mar 25 2013, 08:36 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(realventis @ Mar 24 2013, 09:55 PM)
Anyone can help me give some advice on going to JB from Woodlands?

A) After i reach MRT station in Woodlands, are there bus from that MRT station? Are the Woodlands CIQ located nearby with the MRT station?
B) if i wan to take bus, which bus i should take at Woodlands CIQ? Are there ticket counter for CW or SBS bus there?
C) can you guys explain again what should be done when we reach immigration checkpoint? I read frm the forum that we need to be aware of something but I forget already where I read it ( alot of post in previous thread and have done alot of searches but unable to find it). Anyone can refreshed me what I need to do?

Sorry for asking noob question. First time to travel to JB from SG. Hope to get feedback on this. Thanks!!
A)woodlands take,950. kranji take 170/CW. these buses heading toward JB(Larkin/kotaraya), so they will go through custom as well, just alight when everyone do so, and move to clear custom, would be upstair. then go back down you will see all bus service down there.if you miss the bus, dont worry, u still can board next bus using ezlink or bus ticket(applicable only for same bus service).

B) where are you going actually? if you already take bus from woodlands mrt,you got bus ticket, just use back same ticket to board the bus. for ezlink, just rescan only.

C) if you didn't look suspicious and didn't bring any illegal thing, just walk only. JB custom only check if you look suspicious. woodlands CIQ does not clear for those leave SG, only check when come in SG.
i never knew that we need to be aware of something. unless u talking about JB instead of custom la. JB u need to be aware of scratch and win only. hope i ans your question.
yhoong12
post Mar 26 2013, 08:52 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ameil @ Mar 26 2013, 07:51 AM)
Hi... anywhere I can get good and cheap mattress?  The price here is crazy compared to kl...
The normal one or foldable one? last time i buy from sea horse for the foldable bed, cost me 39.90. for me, i will consider foldable bed as i worry if i moved, it will be very troublesome, but if you want normal bed, can consider ikea,spend abit more use longer. blush.gif
yhoong12
post Mar 26 2013, 05:43 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 26 2013, 05:38 PM)
other than that mostly ask me do sales, call centre jobs.

i feel my degree is useless. wan cry liao.

my mum want me to be in sg so much, i personally dislike singapore day by day.

other than the currency, nothing attracts me.

think about future, how do i go higher with a job like customer service?

i feel so absurd now.
What degree are you holding now? PR?
it all still depend on what degree and what kind of job you looking for?
did you discuss with your mum about working in SG or working in MY? better talk to her, even you get a job in sg but u hate sg even more,u wont stay also.
dont let people influence your decision on finding job, you should know what is best for u.

cheers!! thumbup.gif
yhoong12
post Mar 27 2013, 08:48 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(realventis @ Mar 27 2013, 12:18 AM)
(A&B) i just going to area around JB.. Looking for place that have cash deposit machine, place to eat and shopping complex.. Any idea that i can find the place around Larkin Bus terminal ( walking distance)? Or should i get off the bus before i reach Larkin bus terminal?

If let say i want to go back sg, must i go to larkin bus terminal to board the bus? Or are there any bus stop around JB central city that I can alight to board the bus?

Thanks for all the feedback guys.. smile.gif
Erm, ok.... around larkin there, there are nothing, and i mean nothing. no shopping complex, not i aware of. place to eat got, just inside bus terminal. cash deposit machine? i dont think got and i dont encourage you to do there if there is one there, too dangerous.

Mostly ppl will only go City Square(CS). it just beside the JB custom. after you clear the JB custom, you will see ppl moving on two direction, one is go back down to take bus, another is going to CS, is a 5 mins walk to CS from JB custom, noneed to go to street level, just move along with other people. eventually u will reach the second lvl of CS. before you reach CS, you need to pass by KTM counter,starbuck and KFC. it a building in between of JB custom and CS.how to know if you reach CS. watch out for a warning sign of scratch and win pasted on the floor just outside of CS, and some scratch and win gang. during the walk to CS, my advice to you is dont stop for anything. unless is police, especially the scratch and win, you should saw the news alot on internet/TV/newspaper. for me, i dont stop for anything,even for donation, sorry to say like that but i dont want to get into any trouble. another mall is KSL. you need to take a cab to there. ask for the cab price before you board, i forget how much d.

City Square(CS)- shopping mall with quite variety of food and some outlet, cash deposit machine only got some,i only remember there is maybank. public bank is outside of CS, you need to cross road. not sure from which CS entrance you can see the bank d.

KSL- shopping mall with quite variety of food and some outlet.

how you come JB then is how you go back SG. dont think bus to SG will stop at any bus stop around JB.

yhoong12
post Mar 28 2013, 08:31 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 27 2013, 07:59 PM)
Why would one pay $140+ for a bag which is not even leather ?  rclxub.gif

Maybe I won't understand .. hahahaha.

If you feel your aunty nagging, you can opt to rent outside, which will cost you a little more ( I am assuming you are staying with her). The extra money will buy you more sanity as you seems to be very affected by your aunty's comments.
I think she yet to found a job so pay alittle more for rent, dont think is a little more, quite alot there, one month depo+ one month rental, maybe got agent fee... so shift out is not an option for her.

but for me, i rather rent outside than staying with relative, one is dont want to disturb their life, especially with family one, the second is maybe i just want to act like i am strong enough to survive alone in this cruel world.. tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 2 2013, 08:31 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 2 2013, 05:27 AM)
I read page one again just now, I find it hard to keep my transportation fee below 60bucks.

IZzit because I take too much mrt and bus? More than any average singaporean?
Below sgd60? once you board bus already >50cent. go and come back already cost you at least 1 dollar.one month at least sgd20++. this is the non accurate minimum fee d. and only take one time bus. haven't include sat and sun.
yhoong12
post Apr 3 2013, 08:39 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Apr 2 2013, 07:53 PM)
Hi All,

I seriously need some advice here.
My contract with my current company is going to expire on Monday, 8th.

I still have 1 day annual leave to utilize before contract expires.

Now, I guess you all know that for contract based jobs, I don't have to resign or give any sort of notice, provided 1 year contract has been fully served.

My current company actually intended to renew me. But they do it in the final week prior to contract expiry.
Anyone who cares about their future will not wait till final week...which means....I have already found a new and better paying job elsewhere.

Now, here's the problem. I have got 1 day annual leave remain and wanted to offset it so instead of working until Monday, my last day will be Friday.
But he won't let me utilize the annual leave!
My boss actually BURNED himself thinking I have got nowhere else to go, therefore decided to take it slowly on renewing me.....

He emailed: "Monday is your last day, then why are you taking annual leave on Monday? We don't have time for that"
(More than 50% of people left under his brilliant leadership, therefore that is why "we don't have time for that occurs")

Can anyone actually give me some advice??

He still proudly thinks this is totally normal to notify me on final weeks whether he wants to renew me or not. And refused to let me utilize my final day of annual leave I am entitled to.

Now this kind of "company leaving" is totally different from resigning from permanent position where you must give notice period.
Since there is no notice period involved, even the last day is considered a "normal employment day" and not "notice period" whereby I can't take any leave.....

I am bad with debating on this kinda stuffs....anyone can tell me how I should reply?
Check your contrct and ask HR about this, if still cannot, escalate to MOM or go for the easy way, let it burn and move to your new job.

HR is always the best place to ask everything because each company would have slightly differ policy, check with them is better than assuming.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Apr 3 2013, 08:40 AM
yhoong12
post Apr 3 2013, 02:43 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Apr 3 2013, 11:27 AM)
Hi there,

I will be start my new job at Sg next month.. hehe.. just want to ask any other best solution to get a accommodation other than browsing the web. Been browsing all the time, but hardly find suitable place nearby. any advice? tq..!
Notice board at MRT, or bus stop.
if you cant search the suitable place naerby, mostly no room for rent, you should expand you target area.
yhoong12
post Apr 4 2013, 03:38 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Apr 4 2013, 01:37 PM)
thank you... means i have to get there to find its better.. ok ok..
No problem.

btw, just curious why you dont want find it online? propertyguru is a good website for room search, at least i found one there, no agent one.
if you dont want to pay the agent fee, find online also can,not necessary must come down. all you need to do is dig deep. mostly agent, but got some is w/o agent.

yhoong12
post Apr 5 2013, 02:17 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 5 2013, 11:24 AM)
Anyone jogs? Last time in KL kurus..go back Penang gemuk zzz
Alot joggers in SG, but still depend on location if you want ask ppl join jogging. tongue.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0472sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:10 PM