6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

TSdeodorant
post Apr 7 2013, 10:03 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Apr 7 2013, 10:00 PM)
Wait till u try their peppery bak kut teh

I quite like their BKT. As long as you don't directly compare it to KL/Klang one and accept that it's a different 'style,' it's not too bad.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 7 2013, 10:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Apr 7 2013, 10:18 PM)
Guess I'm used to the Klang BKT type

It's OK if you can't get used to the SG type. After all taste is a personal thing mah hehe. For me I consider the SG BKT something like eating pork stomach soup (which is clear and peppery even in Malaysia) ... except that I eat ribs instead of stomach. So it's still OK smile.gif

But I still can't accept stuff like the char koay teow, wantan mee, bak chor mee, fried hokkien prawn mee ...
TSdeodorant
post Apr 8 2013, 08:09 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 7 2013, 10:45 PM)
same lar. our vinegar pork leg. they also wanna vomit if they try that.

sinkie also eat lah, I go sinkie full moon party everyone keep asking me to eat the ter kar
TSdeodorant
post Apr 9 2013, 09:06 PM

5,691 posts

Those of u who say sinkie can't identify malaysians, this only applies if u have been here donkey years n already integrate into their way of speaking etc. I been here coming to 2 years and still taxi drivers instantly know I am Malaysian after I speak 2 sentences to them regardless English or mandarin.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 9 2013, 09:11 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Apr 9 2013, 05:10 PM)
no work life balance

You haven't met some of the real elite people in singapore. Some of them have a level of work life balance that even those 35hr work week Europeans are envious of. Can check with MacKiddo for confirmation on this.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 10 2013, 06:16 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Apr 10 2013, 03:31 PM)
btw,where is the best shop (i.e: reliable no tipu2 n offer good price) to buy gadget (i.e laptop and prosumer camera)?
in general is SG with its GST can give better price than Msia?

cheaper in malaysia, by quite a significant amount. if you're worried about warranty u can always buy brands like Asus that come with international warranty.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 12 2013, 03:37 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 12 2013, 12:12 PM)
since u so bersemangat, i'll take a Non Pay Leave and go back vote!
i already bought tickets!

wah really need to no pay leave so early into your SG career ah? hmm.gif ... just talk to your boss and ask for normal annual leave cannot?

TSdeodorant
post Apr 13 2013, 08:44 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 13 2013, 03:50 PM)
currently tumpang at my friend's place at jurong but will be looking for my own place..mostly all I see are agents though.

it's probably easiest to resign yourself that you'll likely end up using an agent. even if u go look on like propertyguru, 80-90% of the listings there are agent who post one.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 14 2013, 09:57 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(adieslave @ Apr 14 2013, 08:08 PM)
because now is 2 times i heard that if working in singapore cant bring a car

working and staying in singapore can't drive foreign car. working in singapore and staying in JB can drive in.
http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/ro...otorcycles.html

working in singapore can drive using malaysian license for 1st year. after that u need to convert to singapore driving license.
http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...nformation.html

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 14 2013, 09:59 PM
TSdeodorant
post Apr 14 2013, 10:13 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Apr 14 2013, 10:06 PM)
working in singapore must drive a SG registered vehicle and can use malaysian driving license for the 1st year....

I gave the LTA link liao lor

However, any work pass holder, who is not a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

He is the registered owner of the vehicle.
He resides outside Singapore.
He has a valid insurance certificate and road tax to use the vehicle on Singapore roads.
The vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more every day.
The vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/ exit at Woodlands and Tuas Checkpoints and to pay for VEP/ toll charges.

So if you stay outside SG (i.e. in JB), you are allowed to drive a foreign car in.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 14 2013, 10:47 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 14 2013, 10:16 PM)
ok, i am running low on SGD cash now.
anybody can tell me how to go to JB and tekan money from CIMB atm machine??????

Should be able to tekan money in SG atm's using your MY atm card. SG also got CIMB. Otherwise you can always take a bus into JB, but JB itself quite troublesome to get around if you got no wheels. Can PM Lester1987 cos he lives in JB if u need help there.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 15 2013, 03:14 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 15 2013, 02:29 PM)
Scratch and win really that scary? Only saw it in TV.

Not really scary, just that they are ... super enthusiastic. I kena once before and I was simply amazed at how the girls were 99.99% convinced and happy for me that I won a car with the scratch, I had half a mind to follow them to their office just to see their boss and ask him/her what methods were used in training and getting his staff to be so engaged in their job rclxub.gif

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 15 2013, 03:09 PM)
i am always alone wor..

already told you to PM our daikor's MacKiddo and Lester1987 to come socialize with the rest of us Truly Asia folks but you dowan. Don't worry one lah the bunch of pipu are (generally) quite decent folks.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 15 2013, 04:49 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Apr 15 2013, 03:56 PM)
Just managed to get PR appointment booking on end of april. As I went through explanatory note I noticed that they require us to produce english translation document for those not in english. So do i have to translate my birth cert, educational cert? Where do i get such service?

birth cert no need to translate.

not sure about edu cert though hmm.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 15 2013, 09:23 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Apr 15 2013, 09:00 PM)
any PR here is living in JB? can pm me pls?

King Lester1987 is your man
TSdeodorant
post Apr 16 2013, 03:16 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chongsmotor @ Apr 16 2013, 02:35 PM)
Mostly of you guys that working in Singapore is working on what position?

I work in one of the branches of a foreign bank as a Assistant Teller (Clerical level), on Work Permit, my WP say cannot marry Singaporean or PR cry.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 16 2013, 04:05 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 16 2013, 03:56 PM)
Admin staff in a local office, never apply any WP, S Pass or EP, luckily no MOM officer check at office.

But you different leh, you already PR so of course no need to apply any pass

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 1 2013, 07:06 PM)
Hello ... (I am) Second generation PR but spent most of my time in Malaysia until A-level. Studied here for four years and working in bank, still prefer the lifestyle in Malaysia  biggrin.gif

Actually I can sense you are pretty lady wub.gif but since you are PR then we got no jodoh liao cos MOM already set a restriction for me on my WP that I not allowed to get pregnant or merried with a Singaporean or a Singaporean PR cry.gif ... can't be helped lah life of a Bank Teller is like that one, MOM just want me to do the lousy unskilled job that locals don't want to do then after that want me to GTFO from Singapore cry.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 17 2013, 11:08 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 17 2013, 10:34 AM)
i take back my words for saying the bus is efficient.

to be honest singapore public transport is only "efficient" when compared to other 3rd world countries in SEA. If you compare among (most) developed cities with focus on public transport, it freaking sucks. in SG it's already probably running at close to full (or even perhaps exceeding) capacity, so any small disruption like rain where the MRT and bus need to travel slightly slower will frak it up for everyone.

Example, SG got 5mil people and 4 train lines.
Hong Kong got 7mil people and 10 train + 12 lrt lines
Paris got 2.2mil people and 16 metro lines plus 5 train lines
Tokyo got 13mil people and 102 train lines (121 if counting greater tokyo area) - some of these got like 15, 16 cars per train.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 17 2013, 11:09 AM
TSdeodorant
post Apr 17 2013, 01:01 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 17 2013, 12:43 PM)
So are you looking for a job in the banking industries in Singapore?
Unless you are a Permanent Resident, most banking position they would only hired local's & PR.
All the best to you.

I dunno where you get this perception, but the bank I work in is almost a quarter foreigners. Maybe local banks might prefer to hire SC/SPR, but foreign banks certainly have no hang ups about hiring foreigners.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 17 2013, 01:03 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Apr 17 2013, 12:59 PM)
i heard there's EP that is not tied to any employer. got such thing?

Got but you need to be pretty Elite to qualify. http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...es/default.aspx

- Overseas foreign professional whose last drawn fixed monthly salary overseas was at least $18,000
- P1 Pass holders who earn a fixed monthly salary of at least $12,000

TSdeodorant
post Apr 17 2013, 05:04 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Apr 17 2013, 04:51 PM)
i prefer settle these stuff myself.. dowan ask someone else to do

I don't think anyone here will be able to help you. As you can see in the previous pages, most of us here are unskilled workers - bank clerk, sakae sushi dishwasher, etc - only on Work Permit (and one of us even work as admin staff illegally with no pass). The other elite people I know about earning 6 digit monthly are all already PR status so they also won't know about PEP.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 17 2013, 05:05 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0561sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:24 AM