6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

TSdeodorant
post Apr 18 2013, 11:05 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Apr 18 2013, 11:01 AM)
3. Don't think I can buy property here in SG
4. Don't think I can buy property in KL either....

Why not? hmm.gif You can buy property in Malaysia using your SG payslip for the loan application mah. Unless you are worried about the cannot own private property if you own HDB rule.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 18 2013, 11:24 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Apr 18 2013, 11:13 AM)
the cheapest private in SG is around $600K++. Can't qualify for HDB as I am not a PR, even if I am a PR, not a family unit.
the teres house in Puchong also now going for RM 700K++, how to buy ?

If your head too small for a big hat then buy a smaller hat lor.

I'll admit that buying any property in SG is difficult for us newcomers cos of the 20% downpayment and ~8% stamp duty. So that 600k private condo you need $170+k cash which is a dilemma I'm facing as well. HDB even worse thanks to COV.

However buying in KL can be very easy - the other day I was looking at a condo in Seri Kembangan that u only need rm1,000 downpayment thanks to a 10% "developer discount." (Incidentally I'm not convinced that SK area has strong enough fundamentals to buy, but that's besides the point). Anyways your 700k house in KL needs rm70k downpayment i.e. sgd29k ... save up for a year, swipe all your major expenses to a 0% installment plan, then buy lor tongue.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 18 2013, 01:39 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 18 2013, 01:26 PM)
bro, stamp duty for foreigners are 18% sad.gif

wah didn't know that lol. all i know is that i would need a HELL lot more cash than i have on hand to buy any property in SG so never go into the details of all the up front payable %'ages.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 19 2013, 09:01 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Apr 19 2013, 02:31 AM)
Guys is it ok for fresh grad to look for job in Singapore? Or should get some experience in Malaysia first b4 going over, bcs will ur Singaporean colleague be willing to train & help out Malaysians???

No real reason to purposely hold off moving to SG, IMO. As a fresh grad you might have to compete on price with the locals (i.e. accept lower salary).

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Apr 19 2013, 04:12 AM)
Guys,
If you have 4-5 years experience in IT, how much do you think reasonable to demand for a job in SG?
How much is do you think I need if I decide to work in SG, stay in JB? Is it good pay if can get 3.5k-4k SGD? If convert to Malaysian Ringgit, it is about RM8k-RM10k.
Thank you!

Robert Walters Salary Survey http://www.robertwalters.com.sg/wwwmediali...survey-2012.pdf
MOM Report http://www.mom.gov.sg/Documents/statistics...rsd_2011ROW.pdf
TSdeodorant
post Apr 19 2013, 04:39 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(NasyyEngine @ Apr 19 2013, 04:34 PM)
Yes , they were getting paid in Malysia about 4k to 5k , and they got the salary in singapore between 3k to 3.5k, ,I know its low , but they said getting job in Singapore is very tough now , and they took it since to were getting a chance to work for major mnc's

That is low. $3k is barely above fresh grad salary scale in major MNC's. Although I suppose your friends are willing to take the sacrifice for some perceived benefit - stronger currency, safer living, etc.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 20 2013, 12:55 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 20 2013, 10:30 AM)
labourer like me always kena con by the employers

Lots of companies probably don't give AWS. (Anecdotal evidence alert) I have significantly more friends without AWS than those with AWS so it's probably no big deal if you don't have. I also don have.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 21 2013, 09:04 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 20 2013, 11:15 PM)
I have a S Pass, so I am eligible?

Some companies encash the employer CPF together with salary for non PRs (like mine) to make their compensation fair to all. You could always after a year or so try to move to one of these companies.

Otherwise, nobody is asking u to get your PR right this very moment. IMO work for 2 years first, see how you like it here, if you decide that SG is for you then only apply PR. Although u are eligible now, if you apply now your chance is pretty much 0% to get approval.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 21 2013, 08:33 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 21 2013, 11:41 AM)
rocket sudah terbang ke bulan, now rocket is just bulan's puppet. You think i still vote them? meh~~

I rather vote bulan than those MCA incompetents lol icon_idea.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 22 2013, 08:31 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 22 2013, 06:44 AM)
6) Any other misc fee which people like me going to start work in Singapore?

Housing is a killer. For me, I signed a 2 year contract so that meant 2 months deposit + 1st month rental + 1 month agent fee. Then I had to also spend a decent amount of money buying miscellaneous furniture, appliances, cutlery, etc.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 22 2013, 09:01 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 22 2013, 08:44 AM)
This might be same old question again but i need to ask:
Is it advisable for a person like me work < 2 years in SG to apply PR?
If not when should i apply? after work here > 2 years?

No harm trying mah. I applied my PR in January (1yr 7mths work in SG), got the approval a few weeks ago, so.... less than 2years. P2 EP.

Those of u who got PR, did your IPA say anything like 'you are invited to apply for citizenship after X years" etc? I'm wondering if that line really means a decent chance of SC approval after X years or whether it's just some standard letter template.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 22 2013, 09:03 AM
TSdeodorant
post Apr 22 2013, 10:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 22 2013, 09:18 AM)
Cool, you got PR in less than 2 year.  rclxms.gif So with the PR status, once the CPF kick in, does that hurt you badly on your salary?

It's not that bad cos you can choose whether to immediately 20% employee contribution, or to do a graduated contribution rate (1st year 5% 2nd year 15% 3rd year onwards only 20%)

http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Employers/Gen-Info...n-Rates-SPR.htm

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 22 2013, 09:51 AM)
You work here only <2 years?? blink.gif thought you already work here for quite long already.haha
you are right that no harm trying, just think if i bonded by CPF to pay a certain amount of money every month, will it hurt me since i want to save more money before become PR,1st year monthly CPF not really high right? hmm.gif

hehe I worked about 6 years in KL / Mauritius / Nairobi / Johannesburg before moving to SG. Anyway it is undeniable that being a PR reduces your take-home pay by quite a bit, think about it as forced savings lor since eventually you (or your kids) get all the money back anyway. Plus 60+% of the contribution goes to Ordinary Account which you can empty out to buy HDB.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 22 2013, 10:35 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 22 2013, 10:22 AM)
they were given a signon bonus equivalent to a month's salary

When my company brought me over, no sign on bonus but they paid for 1 month expenses (hotel and food), and a relocation service from my place in KL. I guess some companies are more concerned with staff welfare than others tongue.gif (I'm also a very junior hire in the chain here).

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 22 2013, 10:29 AM)
no wonder they approve ur PR so fast. U got experience in so many country/environment.
u r a precious talent to them. sure approve ur PR application wan. rclxms.gif

Nola I learned the yandou talent of bullsh*tting after working in a 80% indian department for (almost) 2 years. No matter how small and insignificant the 'achievement' was, they have a knack for trumpeting it as if they saved the world. So for my PR application form I also do the same - I got sent to those countries as office boy to fetch coffee for the senior people but I wrote on the PR form as if I am the boss icon_idea.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 22 2013, 10:56 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 22 2013, 10:38 AM)
You are looking for the SC or hope the letter don't come to you? My dad, brother and myself all got invitation letter for SC, my dad even have 2. Mine is after 2-3 years after I started to work. But we decline the invitation.

Your brother 2nd gen SPR need to serve NS right? I thought after u serve NS then Malaysia government will ask u to gtfo off to SG? Or is that only for SC/SPR couples whose kids can choose to hold MY or SG passport hmm.gif

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 22 2013, 10:48 AM)
Any coupple have experience before how easy is to get a job in Singapore. Coz i am thinking to bring my wife down then she start to look for job there while i am working. At least place to stay is cover for her. rather then send email/letter then got interview people also think twice since you are in KL not in Singapore.

One word of advice if you decide to bring your wife over: do not budget your expenditure on the assumption that she will get a job within a few months. When my fiancee came over with me, we assumed she would get a job easily so we went ahead to rent an whole HDB on the assumption of having two incomes. Let's just say that it took her longer than anticipated to get a job and in that period of waiting it was ... tight.

Having said that, while waiting for a proper job your wife can sort of work (those unskilled jobs presumably) on a dependent pass using a Letter of Consent from MOM:

http://www.mom.gov.sg/pass-navigator/forei...-full-time.aspx

This option wasn't available to my fiancee and I (at the time) cos not merrid means she was holding visit pass.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 22 2013, 09:11 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Apr 22 2013, 08:26 PM)
Hi all i have just been offered a job in SG for 3k SGD, seeing that the location of my office would be around Bedok i think that having living around Payar lebar would be the best as it runs both yellow and green line.
I've also look through listings from all the link on the first page, how much is the agent fee/com normally its never stated on the ad. What the general consensus on negotiating rental prices?

Generally it is 1/2 month fee for 1 year contract, 1 month fee for 2 year contract.

If your office is around Bedok, stay in Bedok. There's two supermarkets, multiple food courts, shopping areas, a small mall full of restaurants, basically you won't need to go anywhere else during the weekdays.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 23 2013, 11:22 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 23 2013, 01:25 PM)
And I have no fancy investment strategy. I have no time or energy to monitor and analyse. I invest and forget... so I just invest in shares in sectors I naturally understand well ie. 嫖賭飲吹. I basically bought one lot of Genting, BToto, Guinness, Carlsberg, BAT, JT every month or so (sublots for BAT) and increased the number of shares as salary got higher. All of them pay a high dividend, and have cash rich, unchanging/addictive long term demand, low fluctuation, low risk business models. Don't have to monitor , just collect the dividend cheques. Later on, I added on telcos as a sector because it has very much the same dynamics and I happen to be very interested in this field.

So no need to look so much at share price, just makan dividends for gambling and beer stocks? hmm.gif

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 23 2013, 05:30 PM)
what camera do you use?  laugh.gif

I'm on Canon, 60d and 500d (backup), ef-s 17-55mm and ef-s 10-22mm primarily.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 24 2013, 08:40 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 24 2013, 01:50 AM)
I'm accumulating Maxis and M1 over the last year or so because they have the same fundamentals but are laggards. Their time will come.

Hmm so Maxis, M1 ... and wait for the next recession in a few year's time? biggrin.gif
TSdeodorant
post Apr 24 2013, 11:01 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Apr 24 2013, 10:33 AM)
Aihz.. air tickets so expensive now.. Just now saw a MAS tickets is rm152, suddenly can't proceed for payment... checked back.. sudah naik rm320... shitttt... haha.. anyone took tiger airways before? reliable?

For me I've taken AA, Tiger and Jetstar to KL multiple times in the past, so far touch wood all 3 also decent. But a lot of our members here dunno why very anti Tiger and won't choose to fly it at all.

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 24 2013, 10:46 AM)
Your job doesn't restrict you from buying shares? Need to apply for permission, very troublesome for mine.

How can compare yourself to me? I am low paid nobody in the bank with no access to any information of value, so they don't care whether I can buy or cannot buy. Elite asset managers of course naturally are different and will have all sorts of restrictions to prevent insider trading mah.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 26 2013, 12:54 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 25 2013, 08:41 PM)
but my pay is lower because i am foreigner.

All I see from your posts are complain complain complain complain. If you are so miserable here (I recall you felt "forced" to come to SG by your parents and it wasn't necessarily what you wanted to do) then pack up and go back home.

Having said that, perhaps you're just suffering from a little Quarter Life Crisis. You spent the last 5, 10, 15 sheltered years in school imagining what your working life would be, only to find out in the last few weeks that reality isn't as rosy as you hoped.

All I can say is welcome to the real world. All of us to some degree or other have felt what you feel. Heck, when I first started working I was SO SURE that I would be driving an RX8 after 3 years of working life. Now I'm entering into my 8th year and I can't really even afford a car.
TSdeodorant
post Apr 26 2013, 09:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 26 2013, 08:49 AM)
i am just writing my experience in sg. sorry, not everybody is an elite here driving cars and buying properties here.

There is a HUGE difference between "writing your experiences" and "whining and complaining incessantly." Your posts are bordering on the latter, which is the reason why you've been getting those not-so-supportive responses.

I think of this entire thread, only seantang mackiddo and Fiona Chin can truly be described as elite. The rest of us are just middle class trying to figure out how to save up $120k to buy a HDB without resorting to marrying a Singaporean for BTO. But we accept that not getting everything you want whenever you want it is part and parcel of life, and don't go ranting about perceived injustices like 'oh my god I'm discriminated against because I'm a foreigner, wahhh life is so unfair.'
TSdeodorant
post Apr 28 2013, 02:41 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fujixerox @ Apr 27 2013, 06:26 PM)
need advice here. how is the construction industry in singapore now. is it easy to look for a job as a construction manager or project manager? how is the working environment and working hour there? stressful? how is the pay?
thanks.

Our resident construction guy is Ranjit Singh, you can PM him and ask him your questions. He's big boss of MRT tunnel construction.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0652sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:05 PM