126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

University University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus, [ The University of the Year ]

ihz
post Jun 7 2006, 12:45 PM

596 posts

That's a huge sum of money.
Erm.. I took SAM because before that i was thinking to take accountancy.
However, i decided to change my mind.
I'm more interested in physics and especially math.
I don't wanna waste my great achievements in math by taking up business subjects.
In fact, only engineering can satisfy my interest, so that's why i'm in SAM now.
=--ChoonG->>
post Jun 7 2006, 05:49 PM

567 posts

The fees for Nottingham Malaysia Campus, I heard has been raised to approximately RM30k per year. It was RM28k before this. There are 2 semesters each year, thus you can pay the fees by semesters. If it is RM30k, then each semester is RM15k.
feynman
post Jun 7 2006, 08:52 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 6 2006, 01:10 PM)
30k per semester. try to look at the main website wink.gif
TIPU!!!!!!
It's 31k per year.

QUOTE(ihz @ Jun 6 2006, 04:11 PM)
Wah! 30k per semester, that's a lot!
Anyone studying knows the actual fees?
Oh.. So u mean i can skip the foundation and straight away take its degree course?
But i think the syllabus are different, one from AUS and one from UK, duno if i can really do so..
doh.gif

Does it mean that you can't go to Australia with A-levels?Does it mean that if you want to go down to Singapore, you must do Singapore A-levels?

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 6 2006, 06:30 PM)
uk = 3 years

aus = 4 years

so uk can get faster degree, icon_rolleyes.gif
No use, you must have 4 years of studies to become a chartered engineer.
seorang
post Jun 7 2006, 09:06 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Jun 7 2006, 10:52 PM)
Does it mean that you can't go to Australia with A-levels?Does it mean that if you want to go down to Singapore, you must do Singapore A-levels?
Not really. I got into australian uni with uk alevels.
feynman
post Jun 7 2006, 09:13 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(seorang @ Jun 7 2006, 09:06 PM)
Not really. I got into australian uni with uk alevels.
That's precisely the point....................................
dayalan86
post Jun 10 2006, 12:12 AM

981 posts

I am currently a 1st year E&E student in University of Nottingham.
Prior to that I did their foundation course, all I can say is that much has been improved since the time I took my foundation last time.
Now they have 3 foundation course for engineering, if I am not mistaken, as opposed to only two during my time.

On campus accomodation and meals are pretty expensive, it would be cheaper if you could rent outside on your own. Meaning don't rent the houses under Pioneer Century Sdn Bhd.

The university provides FREE shuttle service to and from the Kajang KTM.

Now for the negative side, not all the lecturers are competent and the way things are done at Nottingham Malaysia can be frustrating at times. I believe they are still trying to improve the system, as this is a fairly new campus.

Lecture theatres and lecture halls can be said to be spacious but whether they can cope with the avalanche of student intake in Sept, is rather doubtful.

Civil Engineering ( Latest addition come Sept), Pharmacy and Law are the latest courses being offered by Notts.

Mechatronics is also a fairly new course which has a steady increase of student intake. Electrical&Electronic,Electrical&Telco,Electrical&... course is one of the famous engineering course after Chemical Engineering.

What I can say about studying at Nottingham is that, don't expect too much out of it, come here for the UK degree but beware of careless staff and sharks under the disguise of F&B or accomodation service.

On a side note, the campus is about 4km away from Semenyih, and the nearest mamak stall is about 2km away from the campus. Thus if you stay on campus, your social life will revolve around the campus, which can be fun, depends on how you look at it though.

As for the fees, its rather high, but remember at the end of the day you're getting a UK degree and not a twinning Degree. This helps if you're going to work or further your studies abroad later.

P.S. Welcome all incoming Sept intake students
feynman
post Jun 10 2006, 12:23 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Jun 10 2006, 12:12 AM)

As for the fees, its rather high, but remember at the end of the day you're getting a UK degree and not a twinning Degree. This helps if you're going to work or further your studies abroad later.

A twinning degree can also be a British degree. eg. A degree from the University of Northumbria is a British degree and it is also a twinning degree.

This post has been edited by feynman: Jun 10 2006, 12:24 AM
silly_squirrel
post Jun 26 2006, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Jun 10 2006, 12:12 AM)
On campus accomodation and meals are pretty expensive, it would be cheaper if you could rent outside on your own. Meaning don't rent the houses under Pioneer Century Sdn Bhd.

The university provides FREE shuttle service to and from the Kajang KTM.

Now for the negative side, not all the lecturers are competent and the way things are done at Nottingham Malaysia can be frustrating at times. I believe they are still trying to improve the system, as this is a fairly new campus.

Lecture theatres and lecture halls can be said to be spacious but whether they can cope with the avalanche of student intake in Sept, is rather doubtful.

Civil Engineering ( Latest addition come Sept), Pharmacy and Law are the latest courses being offered by Notts.

I checked the website for closing dates for applications but it's not stated anywhere. Am I too late to apply for the September intake for Pharmacy? How many Pharm students do they take in each year, do you know?

This post has been edited by silly_squirrel: Jun 26 2006, 12:09 PM
benQue
post Jun 26 2006, 07:11 PM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

im joining nott. on july 12th.

anyone here is in foundation programme?

QUOTE(hotboyccds @ Apr 13 2006, 10:46 PM)
hey guys,did anyone of u got scholarship for foundation studies in engineering at nottingham uni.well im surprise because i only got 8A for my spm but still can get a scholarship from nottingham.anyway i think that scholarship is more like a spam because it only deduct 25% from your tuttion fee.im not sure should i study there or not?
i got full scholarship until my degree ends. tongue.gif but of course my results need to be at least 60%. if not need to pay back rclxub.gif

one more ques..

do they allow foundation students to drive in the college?

if can i wanna book satria neo laugh.gif

This post has been edited by benQue: Jun 26 2006, 07:21 PM
woo_hitman
post Jun 26 2006, 11:59 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 26 2006, 07:11 PM)

i got full scholarship until my degree ends. tongue.gif but of course my results need to be at least 60%. if not need to pay back rclxub.gif

one more ques..

Ya, u can drive. In fact, it's better if u drive cause it's not easy to travel around there unless u have ur own transport.
benQue
post Jun 27 2006, 12:08 AM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

QUOTE(woo_hitman @ Jun 26 2006, 11:59 PM)
Ya, u can drive. In fact, it's better if u drive cause it's not easy to travel around there unless u have ur own transport.
coz of the 3 km hilldrive to the campus from semenyih rite?
mxploit
post Jun 27 2006, 12:28 AM

266 posts

Okay, AFAIK the Mechanical Engineering course is accredited by LAN. And to be frank, the tuition fee is up by RM3k which means from RM28k to RM31K and so is Monash. But do take into consideration that RM31k is inclusive of misc. fees such as lab fee, library fee and computer lab fee. This is somewhat different from Sunway/Monash. Don't ask me how I know cos I've been a student in Sunway and currently doing Mechanical Engineering in Nottingham. About Mechanical Engineering, the lecturers are good, but do expect one or two which are pretty much so-so. It happens in any Private Uni / Colleges. Labs are improving, we have more machineries in such as CNC, miller and few others. You'll get the chance to do practical works such as welding, plastic injection moulding and machining during the course.
woo_hitman
post Jun 28 2006, 01:22 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 27 2006, 12:08 AM)
coz of the 3 km hilldrive to the campus from semenyih rite?
Yup. Nothing much around the campus.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 28 2006, 08:57 AM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 26 2006, 08:11 PM)

one more ques..

Check your PM. Eh, STAR Scholarship? walao... High 5 dude!
Why u ain't tell me you got that scholarship? sweat.gif
brows.gif wink.gif

QUOTE(woo_hitman @ Jun 28 2006, 02:22 AM)
Yup. Nothing much around the campus.
yea, kinda, it's in a jungle... cool.gif
benQue
post Jun 28 2006, 02:52 PM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jun 28 2006, 08:57 AM)
Check your PM. Eh, STAR Scholarship? walao... High 5 dude!
Why u ain't tell me you got that scholarship?  sweat.gif
brows.gif  wink.gif
yea, kinda, it's in a jungle...  cool.gif
haha but im not under STAR lar, blush.gif

so how is the basketball court ther? is it indoor or outdoor?
nice or not?
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 28 2006, 03:02 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 28 2006, 03:52 PM)
haha but im not under STAR lar, blush.gif

so how is the basketball court ther? is it indoor or outdoor?
nice or not?
The sports centre facility is good, if only the gym facilities are maintain... Those students do not care when they use the facility, they just put it aside, misuse it, bang it etc... doh.gif
but not all la, excluding me icon_rolleyes.gif
The basketball, outdoor, the floor kinda slipery.
Where as the squash and the badminton court is good. I like the badminton court. Nice tiles.
And also, now UNiM is growing the field, around 90% ready, already got ppl playing. laugh.gif
And the swimming pool is going to be opened... Now full of clorine...
Unless you wan to turn white... If not jump inside... wink.gif

All of the students are looking forward to the swimming pool... :drools:
benQue
post Jun 28 2006, 05:29 PM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jun 28 2006, 03:02 PM)
The sports centre facility is good, if only the gym facilities are maintain... Those students do not care when they use the facility, they just put it aside, misuse it, bang it etc... doh.gif
but not all la, excluding me icon_rolleyes.gif
The basketball, outdoor, the floor kinda slipery.
Where as the squash and the badminton court is good. I like the badminton court. Nice tiles.
And also, now UNiM is growing the field, around 90% ready, already got ppl playing. laugh.gif
And the swimming pool is going to be opened... Now full of clorine...
Unless you wan to turn white... If not jump inside...  wink.gif

All of the students are looking forward to the swimming pool... :drools:
haha, football fever, what to do laugh.gif

swimming pool eh, but i heard this uni got less girls then other coll. sad.gif

seems that u online almost evryday, so the wi-fi is quite good izit?
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 28 2006, 05:32 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 28 2006, 06:29 PM)
haha, football fever, what to do laugh.gif

swimming pool eh, but i heard this uni got less girls then other coll.  sad.gif

seems that u online almost evryday, so the wi-fi is quite good izit?
Yeah.. My foundation got no gals... 3 guys only... If the whole foundation still got gals... rarely... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Wi-fi? Lol, wi-fi here not so good... I'm in the com lab doing homework now, this friday need to passup individual assignment... doh.gif Business... doh.gif

Anyways, I dun think you will have a problem in suiting yourself here.
Cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif
benQue
post Jun 28 2006, 05:35 PM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jun 28 2006, 05:32 PM)
Yeah.. My foundation got no gals... 3 guys only... If the whole foundation still got gals... rarely...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Wi-fi? Lol, wi-fi here not so good... I'm in the com lab doing homework now, this friday need to passup individual assignment... doh.gif Business... doh.gif

Anyways, I dun think you will have a problem in suiting yourself here.
Cheers.  icon_rolleyes.gif
omg 3 people per foundations course?

hope the sept intake lots more will come in.

yea. from the pic this is really a nice place. cool.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 28 2006, 05:48 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 28 2006, 06:35 PM)
omg 3 people per foundations course?

hope the sept intake lots more will come in.

yea. from the pic this is really a nice place. cool.gif
Foundations in CSIT has only 3 person. For business and engineering there is a lot... laugh.gif

The Uni has been expecting a large amount of students coming for this intake...
So, Uni won't be that peace afterall... biggrin.gif

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:07 PM