The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V7

Lego_Jason
post Mar 20 2013, 11:33 PM

Bro Alby,

I actually ordered one set of 10937 Arkham Asylum for you. Expected arrival in mid April. I know you didn't confirm to order it but I ordered anyway because I want to compare and see who can get better pricing. If you are cheaper next time I buy through you. wink.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 21 2013, 01:25 PM

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Mar 21 2013, 07:12 AM)
Eh, i just asking the price on the forum last time... blink.gif
I think you mention around 800 .
I just want to check whether i need to import myself or just buy from seller. My hands just itchy to get some sets and no one want to do that bulk order thingy.. tongue.gif
So..i decided just to do it anyway. And im not in a rush to get those set (so that it gave me ample time to save more money by June/July)..
Dont worry.. with your price, i think plenty of people will buy it at your sales thread.
Haha! No worries bro Alby! I know you were just asking but thought since other may want it I just order only la. I'm very curious to see if I can bring sets in at a competitive price for the benefit of everybody here in the forum. thumbup.gif No obligation on you to take it up. Who knows, maybe I'll just keep it for myself! lol! doh.gif

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Mar 21 2013, 08:42 AM)
F1 coming to malaysia...correct?

then i saw this...
oh my...oh my...

lego compatible toys  whistling.gif  selling for rm135
Yeah, I saw that in Lelong too and was planning to . The photo do look very nice but am skeptical the real thing is as good as in the picture.

Lego_Jason
post Mar 21 2013, 01:47 PM

Btw, for those who are interested with 10937 Batman Arkham Asylum, there is one set for sale at Lelong for RM480. whistling.gif

Nice price right? drool.gif wink.gif The catch is NO MINIFIG! I think everybody wants the minifigs but I'm posting this just in case someone here have a nice collection of Super Heroes minifigs but no building for them to play/fight in... smile.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 21 2013, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(ilfort @ Mar 21 2013, 01:59 PM)
I think got people sell 450 for a set without the minfigs
QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Mar 21 2013, 02:12 PM)
Legolandstore in lelong = Zen store in ebay biggrin.gif

but he selling in ebay at cheaper price..i think lelong rent are higher than ebay.. tongue.gif

http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/LEGO-10937-Supe...23#ht_500wt_923
QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 21 2013, 02:16 PM)
lelong is building + van

ebay building ONLY
Wah! You guys very expert! Knows who's who in the market! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Actually is it safe to buy from Lelong sellers? I have never bought anything there before but last week found my way there because I wanted storage drawers for my Lego parts. I signed up, pm the seller but never get a reply. Is that normal?
Lego_Jason
post Mar 21 2013, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(ilfort @ Mar 21 2013, 03:25 PM)
Yes bro, is safe since all the seller must give them a copy of their IC for verification purpose.
Thanks for the info! Maybe I'll just try place an order and test. Funny the seller never reply my pm inquery....

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 21 2013, 05:13 PM)
650 for a modular is super cheap leh. i also wan biggrin.gif
Me too! RM650 I also want!! wink.gif

QUOTE(zennan83 @ Mar 21 2013, 05:21 PM)
been poisoned kaw kaw for modular sets pages back there... if i'm planning to buy the 1st modular which one the best for starter kit set?
I'd say go for Fire Brigade first and then Grand Emporium. the Pet Shop I find it so so only... Welcome to the Modular club!! smile.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 22 2013, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(jwrx @ Mar 22 2013, 07:45 PM)
guys,

wanted to offer my import services to the lego community here. My company does import/export and i got a TNT account thats quite competitive when it comes to express air( eg 2 days from UK/HK) pm me the next time you thinking of making a import of lego.

example

20kg UK -> KL : RRP is RM848, my price is RM635-RM500 depending on frequency of shipment
30kg HK -> KL : RRP is RM557, my price is  RM418 - RM330

online tracking, no danger of shipment getting lost in KLIA compared to USPS or other registerd posts like UK mail. The prices cant beat registered mail, but its alot safer and faster. and b4 ppl ask..yes you still kena tax  smile.gif
Cool! I'll be interested to find out more from you.:-)

Yeah, first question on my mind was can "bypass" paying tax or not? Hahaha! wink.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 22 2013, 09:14 PM

Hey guys!

I am on my way back from Singapore. In fact only just passed Customs few minutes ago and asked what was the two boxes at the back on my car. wink.gif I told him it was Lego and he just went "oh!" and waved me through with a smile!

I was in Singapore today for a meeting and had a little time to dash to the Lego store. Nothing much this time for me but found something that may interest some of you here.

Ironman 3 set - 76007 Malibu Mansion Attack!

I'm not familiar with Super Heroes pricing but I thought $80 was a good price so I grabbed two boxes. Didn't dare to buy too much in case trouble with Customs later. I inquired about the other Ironman 3 sets and they tell me 76006 have stock in another outlet while 76008 coming in a few weeks.

I bought the two boxes of 76007 because I gather from reading this forum that some of you wanted it. Two sets of 76007 up for grabs! My cost is $80 (RM200) so whoever wants it just pay me anything above my cost will do. smile.gif

My apologies to whoever that has requested this set from me in the past. I m on the road now so very inconvenient to scan through my mailbox to see who was first and second in the queue for this set. So I'm just posting here to inform everybody first and maybe tomorrow I wil check my mailbox.
Lego_Jason
post Mar 23 2013, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(jwrx @ Mar 22 2013, 10:25 PM)
To be honest, my experience over the last 5 years is that theres more chance of escaping tax using the major couriers vs USPS/UK registered etc
I fully agree with you on this! From my experience if using reputable and fast couriers like DHL, USPS etc chances of escaping the tax man is higher. And nowadays Amazon will calculate tax for you, if Amazon don't charge you for import tax at the checkout then you will not need to pay tax.

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Mar 22 2013, 11:22 PM)
At first I also thought the Fire Brigade is not that nice, that is why I bought the Grand Emporium 1st. However after I got the Grand Emporium and Green Grocer I decided to get the Fire Brigade on news the TLG will stop producing the FB. That was early last year, but till now still in production. The Fire Brigade is better than I had expected, the 1st floor has a very nice interior for your fire-fighters to R&R and even play ping pong. Then you get an antique fire truck with a nice parking bay with the roller shutter on the ground floor. The front façade while a bit repetitive it is very very much less repetitive than the Grand Emporium (when you build both you will know). Even the roof is detailed with the golden bell which is hung by a string and not as incomplete as the Palace Cinema.
[attachmentid=3359946]
[attachmentid=3359948]
[attachmentid=3359954]
Once you get the Fire Brigade you might not want the 60004 unless you want to mod your 60004 to have a façade and interior likthe the FB. The city version looks very.... lacking.
QUOTE(zoomckng @ Mar 23 2013, 01:04 AM)
Can't really compare city fire station or police station to the modular buildings. The City ones offer different kind of playability. That's why u see almost half of the buildings are cutaways. Modular buildings are much more complex and are almost complete.  nod.gif
Fire Brigade is my favourite of all the Modular Buildings, it has very good details and playability. I think I repeated this many times! hahaha!

You certainly cannot beat the details of the Modular Buildings, honestly if you were to combine normal Lego City theme with Modulars it will look a little weird. The colours and building details are just totally different. You are right to say that the Lego City theme offers different kind of playability, it's just that once you get poisoned by Modulars the normal City stuff pale in comparison and I personally find it boring to build...
Lego_Jason
post Mar 23 2013, 03:41 PM

Hi guys,

Finally I get enough rest to write my first Lego shopping report. rclxms.gif

That was my little haul yesterday. Was on a day trip to Singapore yesterday and had a little time before I leave to check out one of my favourite Lego store in Singapore: ToysHunt. They have branches in Novena Square, Great World City and Tampines. I've visited both Novena Square branch and Great World City main branch in the past but not Tampines. Personally I like their Novena Square branch more because it is well organised, the main branch at Great World City is much bigger but I find it more cluttered probably because they have more stuff lying all over the place...

Also Novena Square is more convenient for me as sometimes I take the bus rather than drive and the bus stop right at Novena Square. So nothing beats browsing the shop while waiting for the bus to depart, gives me extra incentive to wait patiently for my return bus ride and usually time flies when you are in the Lego shop!

ToysHunt is very well stocked not only with Lego sets but also almost all things Lego like mugs, t-shirts, bags etc. They have a good selection of every theme including Duplo and they are very up to date with the latest releases. Just yesterday I stumbled upon one of the three Iron Man 3 sets: 76007. Super Heroes theme is not in my radar but I just grabbed two sets anyway since I find the price of $80 to be 'reasonable' for a set that size... They don't have the sets I want at the price I want so I might as well help someone here in the forum. I know quite a few forum members wanted 76006, 76007 and 76008 so I inquired for the benefit of everyone here:

76006: $50.90 (out of stock in Novena Square, available at Great World City)
76007: $79.90 (more than 5 sets in Novena Square)
76008: $29.90 (out of stock but new shipment expected in a few weeks)

Again, I'm not familiar with Super Heroes sets pricing so please make your own judgement on this. The base plates I find to be quite reasonable at $13.90 a piece for 32x32 and $24-$27 for 48x48.

There are several points that make ToysHunt stand out against other Lego stores:

1. They sell loose parts!
2. They sell parted out sets! ie. for example they have LOTR Unexpected Gathering set without minifigs. SW sets without minifigs.
3. They sell lots of minifigs!!! Minifig collectors will drool until the floor is banjir! haha! drool.gif
4. They sell custom minifig & weapons! Fancy a SWAT team? They have it!
5. They sell custom minifig casings. These are good quality ones made in USA/Europe. I remember reading it somewhere before...
6. They always have some sets on special promo.

This time 6873 Spider-man's Doc Ock Ambush slashed from $79.90 to $59.90 and UCS B-Wing slashed from $415 to $369 thereabouts. I was undecided whether to take one set each of 6873 and 76007 but in the end just went for two of 76007.

Well, this is my mini report on ToysHunt. They have an online store too: www.toyshunt.com.sg

I don't have the luxury of roaming around Singapore to check out other Lego stores but ToysHunt is pretty darn impressive to me and I think should be up there with the best if not the best in Singapore.
Lego_Jason
post Mar 23 2013, 11:42 PM

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Mar 23 2013, 10:46 PM)
Today's haul and the last haul for the month till my Lego budget stabilizes. May I present to you the Victory Lap Raceway from the year 1988! Bought from Amcorp today  thumbup.gif
[attachmentid=3361550]
[attachmentid=3361551]

13 minifigs! So many printed pieces I lost count. 2 large base plates! Comes with recovery vehicle in case of crash! Even have a medic with stretcher on standby! Two pits to serve the 4 unique race cars! I wonder why TLG never produced a set like this anymore  rolleyes.gif

Some of my minifig population decided to watch the race in action, hence the place looks very crowded.
Very nice find bro! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hapeace @ Mar 23 2013, 11:09 PM)
1988?? blink.gif  i'm 5 years old at that time and i believe most of u guys dont even born yet.  Haha...

Thats explain the yellowish white bricks... 

Nice set notworthy.gif  total jealousy..
I'm older than you la! whistling.gif

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Mar 23 2013, 11:31 PM)
Mermaid~  wub.gif
Nice photo! Very sharp! notworthy.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 25 2013, 12:03 AM

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Mar 24 2013, 10:08 PM)
i like this set... but i find them a bit expensive... so decided to wait a while n see how...

hmm...wondering if anyone bringing older creator set?
eg: 6754 Family Home  whistling.gif 
i know i would want one  drool.gif

Hmmm.... Looks like a discontinued set so I doubt anyone can bring it in at a reasonable price as it is no longer in the big distributors' warehouse. Your only luck is finding collectors or resellers who are willing to let it go at a reasonable price. On the other hand it does not look like a very complicated build so why not "BrickLink" it? It shouldn't have too many rare/hard to find parts so it may be cheaper to BrickLink one.

I was also quite interested with this set when I came back to Lego but the lure of Modular Buildings were too strong! I went to the dark side! hahaha!

Anyway, this may not be too exciting news but just want to report that Metrojaya at The Curve is having 10% off Lego. (this may probably apply to all Metrojaya outlets) I was there few hours ago and came across a roadshow at the centre court, that's where I saw the Lego on sale. They have quite a bit of Chima and City themed sets there. Lego Land Malaysia have a booth there too. From what I can see during my very brief stay, it will last till 31st March apparently in conjunction with the school holidays.
Lego_Jason
post Mar 25 2013, 08:56 AM

QUOTE(hapeace @ Mar 25 2013, 01:04 AM)
Went to ikea yesterday to get ribba frame.,,,30 minutes standing in undecided.. which one should i get?

decided to buy frame on the right side, smaller size, can fit about 18 minifigures instead 70minifigures if i choose the left frame. i tot if bigger frame, too crowded.. not exclusive enuf. bought 6 of them.

on my way home, drop by stationery shop and bought really thick cardboard. now i have these for my project:

doing the measurement, cutting the cardboard took only 20 minutes..

and the result... walla!

the frame cost RM34.90 (ribba ikea frame) and the cardboard cost RM7.50 (can cut up to 8 size of the frame). including the white 2x2 bricks, the cardboard and the frame itself..  total cost is about RM40/frame..  whistling.gif
Wow! Good job bro! Nice execution! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

I was also at Ikea yesterday, had the same idea and was looking down at the Ribba frame, picked it up and thought really hard about it but in the end gave up the idea because no time and too lazy... Thanks for the inspiration! Maybe this is the push I need to get this going! haha!

I'm still undecided on this display method, good thing is it is sealed from dust but downside is I cannot have easy access to the minifigs should I want to play with it... That's why was hesitant yesterday to buy the Ribba frame, still pondering my options...
Lego_Jason
post Mar 25 2013, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(blugiraffe @ Mar 25 2013, 04:33 PM)
Hi everyone,
This is my first post in Lowyat Forum  blush.gif
Recently found this thread and have been following since then. Still learning to navigate around.  sweat.gif

Previously only purchase Lego through the local retail shops and on ebay. After reading over here only found all the alternative ways. Now, even have reasons to go for a trip to Hong Kong, Singapore or Taiwan.  whistling.gif
Thank you all very much for taking all the efforts to share everything about Lego. Really benefited from it but at the same time also heavily poisoned due to the continuous poisoning.  icon_question.gif

As for me,
At the moment would focus on modular buildings (aiming to build a row of modular buildings by the end of the year  rolleyes.gif )
and some interesting Lego - Friends sets as I like those newly introduced light-coloured bricks.

In future, will definitely share anything that I find interesting about Lego.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yay! Another Modular fan! thumbup.gif

I'm new here also, just joined a week plus... Please share photos of your collection ya!
Lego_Jason
post Mar 25 2013, 07:33 PM

QUOTE(yuying1 @ Mar 25 2013, 07:25 PM)
Guys, what're your expected pricing for expected gathering?

I have ways for getting Lego at reasonable price, and not through me. You can get it yourself as well. Just sharing.

Problem is that I don't want to spoil current seller's price.
Should I share the method publicly?
Pls do share! icon_question.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 25 2013, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(ilfort @ Mar 25 2013, 07:23 PM)
Fuyoh, all modular kakis. Haha, the frame thing is reallt impressive but outta my budget and no Ikea on island. Hahaha
Haha! For a fellow modular kaki I don't mind helping you buy and post it up north to you! wink.gif

QUOTE(iori @ Mar 25 2013, 08:33 PM)
late already....

som 1 selling palace cinema in a good price....

palace cinema

only 1 set....

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Wow! How he managed to do it at that price?!? shocking.gif Hope he bring more sets in, I want! icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Lego_Jason: Mar 25 2013, 09:04 PM
Lego_Jason
post Mar 26 2013, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Mar 26 2013, 10:33 AM)
Can...no problem.. thumbup.gif
Bro Mr. Ably, can meh? I have tried with Lego Shop US and twice they cancelled my order because they think I'm doing a drop ship thingy... I couldn't bothered to reply to them and appeal but maybe I should?

I missed out on so many nice sets and promo because of that... sad.gif

Can you share how you do it? I shop at Lego Shop Online USA using my Malaysian credit card but shipping address I use one of those shopping services' PO box like Vpost. Maybe that's the problem? The first time I tried I use a friend's home address in USA also kena rejected by Lego.

If can find a way to buy from Lego Shop Online we can get our hands on those free minifigs mini sets!
Lego_Jason
post Mar 26 2013, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 26 2013, 11:01 AM)
use hopshopgo service
average local price... whistling.gif
QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 26 2013, 11:05 AM)
either you ask hopshopgo or freight fwder to help u buy (they charge), or u ship to someone's address n hv them help u ship to msia.

LEGO and some stores like Target don ship to freight forwarder address such as hopshopgo
QUOTE(didsterius @ Mar 26 2013, 11:06 AM)
yeah yeah same! i always use vpost when buying things from US, it was fine. but i read somewhere that lego.com will not send to freight forwarding address... so vpost was out of the question? haiyahhh... if i buy palace cinema from US it's only RM450++ plus shipping maybe close to RM600 d.
eh, good lar. maybe can bargain to 720? or 750 la. anything that price for modular is good ok price. RM700 and below is a steal deal!
expensive or not shipping? they give forwarding address too, no?
QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Mar 26 2013, 11:10 AM)
Can la...trust me. tongue.gif
I think i know why you cant. They dont allow forwarder/shipping agency addresses.
Thanks guys! I will check out HopShopGo. What I want is to be able to use my credit card for points collection and also to collect Lego VIP points. Can I still earn Lego VIP points if I use HopShopGo service?

Yeah, so bro Alby you use friend's address then? brows.gif Forwarder's address don't work for me leh!

Actually I have worked out that buying from USA is not the cheapest. (For me anyway.) Even though Lego Shop Online USA prices are cheap, shipping cost is a real killer and add together it is actually very expensive. My incentive to buy from Lego Shop Online USA is more because I want those limited edition gifts like the free TC-14 minifig with the purchase of 10227 UCS B-Wing and those Christmas themed mini sets. So sakit hati to see Lego reject my Chritmas orders two years in a row! cry.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 26 2013, 11:57 AM

Picture spam a bit. This morning I finally took some Lego photos, no choice because cannot defer this anymore, letting this baby go in 2hrs....

I love the X-Wing, one of my favourite SW set! Good size, solid build so nothing comes loose or falls apart when you swoosh it around. The wing mechanism is very clever.

A side-by-side shot with a modular building just to give an idea of the size. (And also to poison modular kakis here! whistling.gif )

This baby is going to a new home today, selling it to a fellow forumer. smile.gif I need to make room for new sets and this unfortunately got the chop! sad.gif Built it up during Chinese New Year and just left it on the shelf eversince so decided to let it go rather than collect dust. This morning while taking the photos it was my first time having a good look at it and moving it around a bit, it grows on me and I felt a tinge of regret that I have to let it go... cry.gif I'm sure the new owner will enjoy this model more than I did! smile.gif

Farewell R2, you will be missed!
Lego_Jason
post Mar 26 2013, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(didsterius @ Mar 26 2013, 12:03 PM)
I'm a VIP! heheheh joined in UK when i bought stuff from the lego shop. i asked if non UK residents/citizens can join they said of course! only thing is, when you sign up online to link your card to your ID you can't put in malaysian address/contact. so i used a UK address and contact number for my acc. hahahah.
what? u sold off ur R2D2??? why didn't u say so? i would've have bought it off u  cry.gif

haihhh... cafe corner... poison!
Oops! oops.gif

Sorry la! I actually posted here in the forum but I guess the posts were moving so fast you may have missed it! doh.gif

I still have another set in 99% mint box. You want? whistling.gif
Lego_Jason
post Mar 26 2013, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 26 2013, 11:49 AM)
LEGO VIP is only open for US citizens. u can try to be VIP still, but risk getting banned if they found out
Really? I'm a registered Lego VIP member from several years ago when I came back to Lego but so far have yet to successfully place an order with them. Sakit hati to see all those points and free gifts fly out the window...

QUOTE(hapeace @ Mar 26 2013, 12:10 PM)
Im sure the new owner will take really good care of your baby  nod.gif
Oh yes I'm very sure of that! This new owner is a very nice gentleman! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(manutd1003 @ Mar 26 2013, 12:11 PM)
Wow... Is it this modular EOL already?
Yes! This is the first set of the Modular Building line. wub.gif 10182 Cafe Corner. My prized possession! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(hapeace @ Mar 26 2013, 01:03 PM)
Just COD with mr jason_lego very nice guy!!!  (and dangerous driver  tongue.gif ).  Can sms while driving  rclxms.gif
Haha! The Force was with me and I had R2-D2 to navigate for me! wink.gif It was a pleasure meeting you bro hapeace! Enjoy your new baby!

QUOTE(didsterius @ Mar 26 2013, 01:55 PM)
if the price is right, mate! i'll PM u.
awesome hantaran gift i tell u!
ah haaaaa... so u're the new R2D2 owner laaaa?  brows.gif
Hi! You got PM! Suddenly I have few peeps wanting the UCS R2-D2, I posted before and nobody inquired.... I guess photos do help! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Mar 26 2013, 02:40 PM)
You should have kept it for yourself tongue.gif Good bye R2 for you....
....and welcome R2 for you (I assume it went to you
Don't think they validate. You can just tag anything I suppose hahaaha
Yeah, I'm missing it already but it's ok, I have more new sets coming and I really need to make room for it. I will get this set again when I clear more shelf space in the future!

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0514sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:51 PM