QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 27 2013, 10:11 PM)
that aside, cleaner wax to remove watermark is rather unorthodox Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
Jul 28 2013, 09:20 PM
5,367 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Jul 31 2013, 05:33 PM
Jul 31 2013, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(lowkl @ Jul 29 2013, 01:32 PM) Primary considerations: forget cheapo car centers, DIY better if you're not willing to pay.- can be applied by newbies without dedicated equipment - available here in Malaysia - high slickness (new car mah... ) - reasonable durability - will not require second mortgage on house Background: - Just got a new car - would like to keep it decent-looking for as long as feasible - NOT really willing to drop a few grand on a professional coating - Don't have discipline/time/money to have the car waxed on a monthly/bi-monthly basis so with your background considered. 1) visit osren, buy few basic mf cloths for wax/polishing and a waffle weave (buy a pack of 2/3 iinm better lol) for drying after wash. get a bucket with grit guard system as well from osren and another cheapo bucket you have around the house or buy one if you don't osren clay bar/cloth before you polishing/re-apply new ultimate liquid/paste wax. (no need to clay prior to spray wax toppers) get megs gold class car wash shampoo, spray wax, and ultimate polish, ultimate liquid (or paste) wax, ultimate quick detailer for bird droppings/road tar or dirt/tree saps/occasional cleaning in between washes and you're pretty much done. 2) wash every 1-2 weeks (3 weeks at most if you're busy/lazy (after every wash just use the spray wax topper for easier drying since it repels water and also serve as a wax booster/barrier to your existing wax, so they all last damn friggin long) this spray wax only takes maybe 10-20mins tops to apply after you wash ultimate liquid/paste wax every 3-4 months or so (maybe longer if you think the water beading/sheating action is still strong) clay > polish > fresh wax every year or when you think your car isn't shiny enough or when you nbtd tada done. =edit= oh ya, megs wash mitt not bad, using it now. it works as a simple wash mitt la lol This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 31 2013, 06:09 PM |
Jul 31 2013, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 29 2013, 09:40 AM) Not much could destroy the pads except for: btw speaking of cleaning pads, or in my case, cleaning MF cloths, there tend to be some black/dark ish stains that i can't seem to clean off with vanish detergent and dishwashing liquid, should i proceed to use something stronger or just let it prick at my OCD nature?1. stiff brush 2. forced wring dry - velcro might delaminate 3. not rinse thoroughly what other products would you recommend? |
Jul 31 2013, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 31 2013, 11:52 AM) I'm also waiting for 22ple to be available...need to replenish...the authorised dealer here is soooo slooowww laa....hehehe... eh im also hoping they can be available before 10 ish august, because track day on 18th august and i absolutely need to fit my new 'extreme performance' tires already XD |
Jul 31 2013, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Jul 31 2013, 06:30 PM) Meg's wash mitt, mahal weh. Jusco carries this RM10 wash mitt which looks EXACTLY like the Cobra Gold Plush Mitt, and it comes with a microfiber cloth for drying. Bought one pack in Pyramid, came back the next week and everything kena sapu off the shelf. buy from unker voldemort lo, cheaper than retail lol.i alternate between the wash mitt and my 2 existing microfiber with embedded sponge (was using these before the mitt) so now i use the 2 sponges 1 for dirtier spots and another for my tires/rims |
Jul 31 2013, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 31 2013, 07:35 PM) Try shooting the dirt off with pressure washer. If that doesn't work then 'let it prick' la... hmm ill try it out with my PW then... never used the PW for the cloths before since it kept giving me the feeling of the cloth will get destroyed by the PW LOL! (and yes it hurts if you got shot by the PW before... curious, did a very brief and never again test Just received news that they're on their way.... and omfg can't wait for the arrival will need to find myself a rubber block these few days for my car jack... any recommendations? lol the hydraulic jack i got aren't like those big/expensive ones you see from workshop and they have no gradual release, so the bottom of the car tend to get scraped by the jack's metal lifting part >< |
Jul 31 2013, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 31 2013, 08:54 PM) I do suggest you mount the tyres first before getting them coated. You wouldn't know what those Tyre shop would do.... eh mount first then coat a? i was thinking that the rubber might get in the way... but if that's your recommendation i'll get them mounted this weekend heheI think I've seen rubber blocks selling in hardware shop before. Not sure if they're the right ones though. We'll do the coating after Raya la...got a place in mind to do them? Your place? Let's do a DIT.... *poke* nestum after raya sounds good, not sure if 10th/11th counts as after raya for you, if not then it'll be on 17th since 18th would be the actual track day already hehe. my place is at selayang/kepong area, not sure if its convenient for you... also, either one of us can't be driving the car at all right? (since you need to let the coating cure) and not sure what kinda specific place you'll need, my place do have adequate space to put 4 rims out and it is shaded |
Aug 1 2013, 02:17 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 31 2013, 10:25 PM) Whoa...man we're cutting it very close...too close for comfort. The coating do need at least 12hrs to cure & a couple of days to reach max hardness, and I won't be back until 15/8. Let see how it goes la. If the coating reach me before this weekend then let see if we can find the time this weekend then. If not, I'd say just slap on a good coat of sealant and go for the track first la....then we do them later or it'd be a waste. pictures for my house front porch shaded portion:Anyway, first and foremost, get the tyres mounted and do all the balancing, etc. I'm assuming that you'd be doing on-wheel balancing so best would be to get everything sorted out and not let anybody you don't trust to touch it afterwards. The coating is good against dirt, brakedust, etc. but it's not scratch-proof or damage-proof against 'rough hands'. Oh...and your place sounds good to me. Big enough for a small gathering? The more the merrier.... http://twitpic.com/d07518 http://twitpic.com/d03ts2 http://twitpic.com/cwd0ax it isn't exactly that well shaded in the sense that if you have a damn long car (like your mpv), it's gonna get rain/sun light unless we try to squeeze the vehicle towards the wall. that also means no detailing on said vehicle cuz water splashes will go all over the shoe racks etc that's on the wall side unless people don't mind standing around, then yea a *VERY SMALL* gathering is ok i guess. bear in mind the rims had been sitting in my living room for months now so you can get the idea that the house's out of space everywhere and everything just goes everywhere... aka damn messy place there's only 2 sofa too so can have maybe 4-5 people sitting (which is just right for our family of 4 in which 1 of my sis stays at uni dorm for the most part so 3 is adequate of space lol) http://twitpic.com/ctu2tv thats basically the first sight you'll see the moment you step in the house lol anyways the way you're putting it, basically we'll be doing with tires fitted on, and ideally, the wheels should not be touched for few days for maximum hardness/curing? don't really have any good sealant lying around, however i do have megs ultimate liquid wax... i wonder how those fare in high temperatures? (over 300-400ish celcius lol) off wheel balancing is fine btw. so long the rims/tires aren't having any defects, on wheels are not required |
Aug 1 2013, 02:18 AM
Aug 1 2013, 02:40 AM
Aug 2 2013, 09:56 AM
Aug 2 2013, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 2 2013, 03:52 PM) I would agree more with GRexer, we're just ikan bilis compared to the real pros. yeap pretty much this But what I can't figure out is why these folks won't even sell us their trade/professional/bodyshop line. As if we could wind them down or something.... cuz i friggin want their polish LOL (oh well settled with banana aroma ultimate polish now |
Aug 2 2013, 06:09 PM
Aug 5 2013, 01:46 PM
Aug 5 2013, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(vx55 @ Aug 5 2013, 04:43 PM) Hmm, the claim from CarPro CQuartz Malaysia is very bold. "No more polish and wax" and "No after maintenance" are very bold claims ya no shit weih LOL=edit= ooo noticed you drive a mazda and using eneos sustina, maybe we can chat chat someday This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 5 2013, 06:30 PM |
Aug 5 2013, 06:26 PM
Clayed the Rims, Meguiar ultimate polish, ipa wipe down, Meguiar ultimate liquid wax... About 1 hour per rim lol http://www.twitpic.com/d6eq5u
And this is the result: some really shiny and nice smelling Rims. And no I'm not kidding on the smell part rofl http://www.twitpic.com/d6hpt2 So next stop, ad08r installation replaced the drive shaft too because on hard cornering the nvh is just terrible. myr190 with 2 years warranty wtf? http://www.twitpic.com/d6hvj9 And finally, some extreme performance overkill as f*** tires on my slow stock ride XD http://www.twitpic.com/d6jsgl Products used for this shot: Meguiar endurance tire gel, Meguiar ultimate quick detailer http://www.twitpic.com/d6kxm1 Also installed mcgard security lug nuts This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 5 2013, 06:27 PM |
Aug 5 2013, 06:34 PM
Aug 7 2013, 07:21 PM
Aug 7 2013, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(ntdote @ Aug 7 2013, 04:50 PM) My car white colour. hmm if solid white then maybe can give products such as eztouchup a try.My front bumper has some deep scratches (from gliding with road divider i supposed). Can spot painting be done to the affected area only? How much would that costs? personally, they're still visible, just that you can get the metal surface (if it's really that deep) some coating/clear coat so it wouldn't rust or further peel the surrounding paint layers. those products cost around rm60-70 if you want to spot-spray paint, it'll cost a few hundred minimum for good ones, and you'd still have different tone/shading of color |
| Change to: | 0.0475sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:40 AM |