7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?

joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 10:45 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Mar 16 2013, 10:40 AM)
some of the famous dev hav vow will never write any apps or patch any fix for exynos SoC

just incase......i did not say exynos performance is poor

developer hate exynos more than tegra SoC  icon_rolleyes.gif
You said it was crap, implying a host of associated (mis)functionality with that term.

Of course I've seen the devs thrash exynos due to Samsung's refusal to provide full API details. That doesn't make it crap.
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 10:53 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Mar 16 2013, 10:50 AM)
Yeah, now I have to go back to my books to find out what 'a piece of crap' means. You never stop learning.
Such is the evolution of language tongue.gif

To think that "gay" used to mean jovial.....
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 10:58 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(AC_ryan94 @ Mar 16 2013, 10:55 AM)
Exynos-Omega ROM likes
Snapdragon-All but depends variant Chip set
Texas TIOMAP - For G.nex only
mediatek- stupid doc design...
I think some people need to spend 7 days in Bora Bora to appreciate their present environs. laugh.gif
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 11:56 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(AC_ryan94 @ Mar 16 2013, 11:52 AM)
bruce.gif no bora bora in my eye... /k/
I wasn't referring to you bro, but the guy who posted that exynos is a pile of steaming smelly stuff.
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 03:42 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Mar 16 2013, 03:15 PM)
NFC is on the battery.
Oh damn....
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 04:01 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Rudd @ Mar 16 2013, 03:57 PM)
same case for all nfc device with removable battery,
gnex etc.
Note 2 has it on the back cover. A lot cheaper to replace.
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 04:03 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Mar 16 2013, 03:58 PM)
hahaha chill chill cause he will hang out here a while before he truly settles in his super perfect HTC one camp...
IMHO, I find metal bodied devices unsuitable for sweaty palms, and you will doh.gif and cry.gif if you ever drop your premiumdesignsupernicesexy aluminium device since it must be naked to show off its natural beauty.

This post has been edited by joytest: Mar 16 2013, 04:03 PM
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 04:12 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Mar 16 2013, 04:09 PM)
agree..although htc one design is superb and premium...but im worried about its aluminium body..how come nobody did a drop test on it?  sweat.gif

I dropped my dad's ip5 on the road once... doh.gif and the aluminium chipped off..that time i adviced my dad to not use a cover as it spoils the beauty and he agreed...fortunately the place where it is chipped off can be covered by simply using a cover and he chose a slim cover so the thinness is still there.. sweat.gif

Felt so bad about it.. cry.gif

So i doubt ill get htc one because of its aluminium body...
Either get s4 or xperia z..will be waiting for a drop test for s4 as i have already see many drop test for xperia z and its holding up fine.. smile.gif
oi leng lor ...... I'm sure you've seen pics of BENT iponce

Otterbox FTW whistling.gif
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 04:16 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 16 2013, 04:11 PM)
I cannot find my truly perfect phone... How lei...

I want Sony Xperia Z design and body + HTC spec and SLCD3 panel + Samsung S4 modified OS and features.

If got above combination, then it will be real super perfect phone for year 2013 !!!
s

Start a petition to all 3 companies to work together to design your perfect phone.

US Gov only needs 100k online signatures. Commercial companies should be cheaper gua

/s
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 04:18 PM

13,188 posts

S4 teardown

http://micgadget.com/34139/chinese-tech-si...ficial-release/?

Very nice modular design. I like innards.
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 04:49 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 16 2013, 04:43 PM)
Actually I find the black S4 edition front look quite beauty also, the texture was nice.
You vacillate much.
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 05:03 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Mar 16 2013, 04:57 PM)
a better explained teardown that tells you what each chip does

http://outdatedpenanguncle.blogspot.com/20...4-teardown.html
Very nice. Nothing about the sensor chips though.
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 06:27 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Mar 16 2013, 06:26 PM)
Alright, enough with the bickering and insult. Let's change the topic. Anyone knows of any nice place that offers phone skinning (don't know if this is the correct term) service. Of course not too expensive.
LYP has some booths. Plenty of variety.
joytest
post Mar 16 2013, 06:33 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Mar 16 2013, 06:29 PM)
How much does it cost for s3 (I assume it's going to be similar for s4 given the same size)
My sense of aesthetics is to slap on the most bad-ass casing (in terms of protective properties) that I can afford on my device, so I have no idea about skinning tongue.gif

I'm telling you the location just because I've seen it while doing window shopping. smile.gif
joytest
post Mar 17 2013, 08:53 AM

13,188 posts

My personal opinion:
Make the smartphone TRULY like the PC where you can install any damned thing you want.

That will shake the entire industry. The smartphone and the pc are converging and it has been predicted that the phone will become your pc a bit down the road. However the only thing WRONG with this is that the phone as PC is almost completely locked down and it becomes a throwaway device. Set it free from locked bootloaders and implement a universal standard bios. That in itself is not an innovation but an industry shaking move, which any marketeer worth his/her salt will be able to spin as the greatest move ever for the smartphone.
joytest
post Mar 17 2013, 11:40 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 17 2013, 11:38 AM)
samseng fags will still buy it and claim its a revolutionary tech.. same like ifags last time
Go play with your sexy X Z
joytest
post Mar 17 2013, 11:43 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 17 2013, 11:40 AM)
since apple got no new inovation samseng got nothing to copy.. everyone knows korean technology is based on reverse enginering.. they haf nonreal innovation
Didn't Japan start EXACTLY the same way ? whistling.gif

Technology, and Science in general, is built upon the shoulders of those that came before. Science aims to make achievements reproducible and improvable.

I see the innovation in the more powerful hardware with a larger battery and slimmer form factor, although I'd happily trade 2mm for a larger battery.

This post has been edited by joytest: Mar 17 2013, 11:43 AM
joytest
post Mar 17 2013, 02:59 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Chocobos @ Mar 17 2013, 12:45 PM)
This topic can easily be mistaken for Samsung bashing instead of S4 discussion. I don't really care about the material they use to house S4. It's just the design that disappoints me. Like others been saying, was hoping for a new and better look. HTC One looks much better.

However, I'm looking beyond aesthetic and would rather have better supports and features. SD Card, removable battery and faster updates are still my most important criterias in choosing my next phone. I would have considered the One but it lacks things I want.

When Key Lime Pie is ready, I believe Samsung will not let their customers down. They will be among the firsts to get a taste of the new version of Android. Software vs design? Software it is for me. But too ugly phone I also don want la  laugh.gif
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Mar 17 2013, 12:52 PM)
It is not. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion but when one posts some ridiculous or un-substantiated statements, it just irks me.
Absolutely everyone is entitled to their opinions. The only thing is that civil society does not make imposition of one over another. There is quick degeneration into camps when a sentence goes "I think A is worse than B and screw A" without substantiation, and the originator of said post doesn't take an effort to clearly elucidate why his position is so.

QUOTE(giovanni @ Mar 17 2013, 01:14 PM)
Yeah they are similar but not identical. iphone 3 to iphone 5 are all similar too in case you haven't noticed. Don't get me wrong, I'm not defending samsung neither am I bashing Apple. I have far too many gadgets from different brands (apple,samsung,htc etc). What baffles me is the fact that, there are obvious changes to the design (less curvy and bigger screen compared to S3) but people choose not to acknowledge it.

Of course I know it looks similar to its predecessor and boy, I how wish samsung did revamp the design too but, there are changes nevertheless. To fit a bigger screen on a similar body size is already an impressive feat, don't you think? Apple has to elongate the body of IP5 to do this.
Absolutely correct again. Frivolous (as kindly reminded by PeeEl) and nebulous come to mind since some can only see skin deep. I can't help but wonder how people take 6" platform shoes (or somesuch) as contemporary fashion when it was vogue in the 70's.

QUOTE(destEX @ Mar 17 2013, 01:29 PM)
so can suggest another flagship phone with gooding specs, gooding xda community support and with removable battery cover and microsdcard slot?
This I eagerly await as well. However I would prefer the use of the term "excellent" to "gooding". A Google of "gooding" yields no linguistic usage scenarios, only place names and Last names.

QUOTE(SnailWithFingers @ Mar 17 2013, 01:46 PM)
how are they gonna touch the screen and click on the apps  sweat.gif
What if i have small eyes?? Lol. people with small eyes can't use also, or people with no eyes LOL

when they rotate or move their eyeballs the sensor can't detect  sweat.gif
Uh, use their tongues? So Chinese ghosts with long tongues can use it? laugh.gif
joytest
post Mar 17 2013, 06:56 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Mar 17 2013, 06:54 PM)
Poison poison. After looking at the S4 pictures for too long, I feel it's not that bad also la(and maybe due to the fact I quite like S3 design also) tongue.gif
It's 99% like a Note 2. whistling.gif

I love my Note 2. tongue.gif
joytest
post Mar 17 2013, 07:15 PM

13,188 posts

But but but......didn't it have extra protection in the form of the shatter proof sheet? And super tough exterior that withstands life's hard knocks?

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:55 PM