-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V17, Leaves You Speechless

izputra
post Feb 22 2013, 09:03 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(keagan @ Feb 21 2013, 05:10 PM)
btw, bro iz, how's ur forte coming along since its a CBU unit... mine claiming steering rack round 2 adi ... suspension and malaysian road not getting well together..lol!
No parts has been changed to date even for wiper blade..lolz. (wear & tear serviceable parts like spark plug, v belt etc surely excluded la). All still in original condition. I only downgrade my rims & change to DVD/GPS HU..which is of course not due to problem/malfunction.
izputra
post Feb 22 2013, 09:06 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Feb 21 2013, 05:52 PM)
dont blame the company, blame the fuel (and the government)
Absolutely right!
izputra
post Feb 22 2013, 09:32 AM

146 posts

We are here sharing our knowledge & experience regarding our Forte..nothing personal here. Kindly discuss in maturity manner smile.gif

Did i talk like a TS?..lolz tongue.gif
izputra
post Feb 24 2013, 09:02 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(luckykid5 @ Feb 24 2013, 01:57 AM)
i'm thinking between Preve Premium (RM7xk) and Forte 1.6 (RM8xk).

Both are quite similar in my opinion, except few things such as brandings, etc. Hope to hear more from this topic since you guys are actually driving Preve itself.

Preve Pros
Cheaper (around 10k) compare to Forte
Technology quite similar to Forte (not exactly same, but both with good qualities)

Preve Cons
Turbo engine still unsure on the performance/maintenance in long run, e.g. after 4-5 years
Proton Spare parts slightly more expensive

Forte Pros
Kia engine been there for years and proven to be more reliable (at least the review that I read so far from forum) IMHO
Forte spare parts slightly more cheaper thank Preve. I chk with some spare parts dealer, they kept quite a number of stocks due to huge demands.

Forte Cons
Pricier than Preve. Moreover, both Kia and Proton post sales services still quite bad IMHO. I'm comparing with Perodua only, cannot match at all.
So guys, can tips me a bit? I'm the type who drive a car 5-7 years before I change to a new one. So a good maintenance and worth the value will be my choice to choose one.
If u like more on sheer power, better handling, comfort & quiet driving, cheaper price, bigger cabin space, 4 airbags..frankly speaking Preve CFE is the way to go.

But if u like on sportier looks, overall a better built & quality, a true keyless engine start stop & entry, a true auto AC, 7" HU, sports tune suspension with 17" rims, a practical electrochromic rear view mirror & reverse camera..Forte 1.6SX is the only option.

I've owned both cars..Preve CFE & Forte..but Forte 2.0 actually..however, i believe it is more or less applicable.

This post has been edited by izputra: Feb 24 2013, 09:03 AM
izputra
post Feb 25 2013, 12:15 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(Ah_Bear @ Feb 24 2013, 12:50 PM)
bro Preve CFE u mentioned its a quiet car ka.. ? how come my cousin's Preve so noisy wan.. ? the noise from engine is like vibration buzzy noise but in fact no vibration gegar2 felt from anywhere in the car..
Yupp..a bit noisy when accelerating & decelerating (buzzing sound). But when cruising at constant speed, Preve is quieter than my Forte..perhaps becoz of the smaller tyre width (Preve). I'm not sure about the 6 speed Forte though becoz i heard the 6 speed Forte got better sound insulation than the 4 speed Forte (mine)
izputra
post Feb 25 2013, 12:32 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(Ah_Bear @ Feb 25 2013, 12:18 AM)
oh you mean tayar.. change it all to Michelin everything about the road noise kao tim lah tongue.gif perhaps will be more quieter than Preve you will nvr know
I mean overall noise actually including engine noise..i compare forte stock tyre (Kumho last time) with preve stock tyre in this case
izputra
post Feb 27 2013, 09:42 AM

146 posts

My Forte 2.0 CBU not having any problems as of now (almost 3 years of owning it) except for the minor front passenger backseat rattling sound & pulling left issue (i'm not considering that as a problem anyway). Not a bad deal for me.

If u are asking whether the car can last 8-10 years without any problem..only God knows. By the way, the 'oldest' Forte in Malaysia is just over 3 years old (the first batch 1.6 CBU unit which start rolling on our roads in Dec 2009). Nobody will know what will happen beyond that.

& if safety is the main concern..Forte is the way to go. If we buy the full specs Vios TRD (B segment car mind u) which cost us more than RM90k, still cant match the safety specs on the Forte 1.6SX (C segment car) in anyway with a price below RM90k. The ESC is the main safety feature in this case. Not to mention the other long list of specs (features) in Forte.

Speaking about the maintenance price..kindly refer to the maintenance comparison table provided on the first post of this thread. Though we can see that the Vios maintenance price is cheaper, but that's on paper only. The actual price is higher actually..coz i already brought my father's Vios J 2 times to Toyota SC for scheduled service & the maintenance price is definitely higher than what they (UMW Toyota) showed in their website last time.
izputra
post Mar 3 2013, 11:42 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 2 2013, 08:35 AM)
Thats in your mind. Alot of that so called 'difference' that ppl experience between Ron 95 fuel and Ron 97 is actually psychological. You may see some minor difference but no where worth the price ure paying for Ron 97 currently. The slightly better mileage (if any) will be easily obscured by the much higher cost of the Ron 97 fuel. Please be reminded that Shell Ron 97 is not Shell V Power Racing.
Absolutely..i pumped RON95 fuel all the way from day 1 until now (almost 3 years). No harm done..no issue whatsoever on the engine. I've also tried pumping in RON97 fuel before for full tank, 3 full tank in a row to be exact..nothing differs except burning a hole in my pocket sweat.gif
izputra
post Mar 3 2013, 01:16 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(blunderboy @ Mar 3 2013, 12:48 PM)
I'm now a proud father of a cute Lil Princess...
Congrats bro..a proud Fortezen too smile.gif
izputra
post Mar 13 2013, 09:35 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Mar 13 2013, 06:27 PM)
U need to read T&C before purchase the extended warranty...
Yupp..thats why i ended up did not opt for the extended warranty..got RM200 excess fee some more. Thank God..my Forte almost 3 year old now & yet to replace any parts due to any problems
izputra
post Mar 13 2013, 09:40 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(**no-name** @ Mar 13 2013, 07:26 PM)
isn't that the kia forte is 5 years warranty? is there any hidden t&c?
I believe this only applies to the early batch of Forte that comes with 2 year warranty which has an option to purchase for another 3 years extended warranty from the insurance company. Current Forte with originally comes with 5 years warranty from NazaKia should not face this issue i believe...
izputra
post Mar 13 2013, 09:45 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(eyez98 @ Mar 13 2013, 09:12 AM)
Morning world. Another day... Midweek. How has your forte been treating you? Mine gave me a surprise this morning. It came out error message "steering not locked" and won't start when I press push start this morning. Then I try again, ok already. Weirdness.
This issue is being explained in the users manual & can easily been solved if we notice the error message on the supervision cluster before u going out of the car. It's due to certain steering position that unalign with the auto steering lock mechanism. This should not happen if we keep the steering in normal straight position when we turn off the engine. It's not a problem by any means & very rarely happens

This post has been edited by izputra: Mar 13 2013, 09:51 PM
izputra
post Mar 13 2013, 09:46 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(**no-name** @ Mar 13 2013, 09:41 PM)
oh, now i feel better, waiting for my loan approval, soon to be a forte owner tongue.gif
Welcome to the club bro smile.gif
izputra
post Mar 13 2013, 11:47 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Mar 13 2013, 11:25 PM)
He's not KIA engineer... He's so passion about this car even before launch in Msia...
U can check his post from V1 until V5...
Tq for answering smile.gif

To be exact, KIA = no ; Engineer = yes...lolz
izputra
post Mar 13 2013, 11:48 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Sarjan_Bilko @ Mar 13 2013, 11:41 PM)
Sjnbilko, 1.6 SX, titanium silver, reporting in, heheh  smile.gif
Welcome to the club..TS will list u soon wink.gif
izputra
post Mar 14 2013, 02:33 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Mar 14 2013, 12:24 PM)
because he's running at 180...u at 170....
and yes...our car is bit heavy.  smile.gif

on what reason u risking your life to go that fast bro?  laugh.gif
Yupp..heavier by about 200kg tongue.gif
izputra
post Mar 14 2013, 02:37 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(cheeguan @ Mar 14 2013, 01:18 AM)
my car is 2013 car, that day i went to SC, SC told me mine should be 1st 2 years under kia, 3-5 years warranty is under allianz...
after the SC told me i only know, feel KIA like a bit cheat people about the 5 years warranty
Then my previous related statement is not applicable..sorry for misleading...
izputra
post Mar 18 2013, 10:12 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Mar 18 2013, 12:51 AM)
I believe what you said. This is really depends on individuals. Some like it and some doesn't. For me, I like it very much.

For Naza, or magazine talker, they cannot simply remove the feature since got some feedback from certain people only.
Yupp..this is absolutely an individual preference. No need to argue on this. Though i agree with u that it (the chime) meant for safety, but what's the point if the driver himself still do not want to buckle up. My own father is the clear case in this matter..the seat belt is wearing him instead of he wearing the seatbelt..just to avoid the warning chime..lolz doh.gif

By the way..this chime is stated as an option in the manual. Though NazaKia took out this chime, i believe this doesn't mean that Naza wanna save cost/warranty. If wanna save cost, better took out the other more expensive features such as keyless entry or engine start/stop rather than the cheapo buzzer/chime with it sensors tongue.gif

This post has been edited by izputra: Mar 18 2013, 10:15 AM
izputra
post Mar 18 2013, 10:55 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Mar 18 2013, 10:31 AM)
Just got my car from Edwin last Saturday. Basically no hassle in my purchase. Everything is quick and precise. Good SA. Recommended. Good offer, honest, no hanky panky.

I however am bothered about the figure on ODO. The figure shows 30km plus when I first get my car. I am not sure what happened but I want to believe he drives it to do BK and tinting. Also, during hand over inspection, I found a small spot scratch, which is not serious, therefore I did not make a fuss out of it. I am not sure if I am the only one but I found quite an amount of small small glue patched and lines on the exterior and interior, maybe due to the BK installation and interior due to tinting process. These are small problems which I think would compensate the possible bigger problem if I get it from a none trustable SA.

I drove 300km for the past 2 days. Very satisfied with the car. Left pull issue is very very very very minimal. Rattling not yet appear. Bumped in to a big hole with LOUD KOOONG sound on the first 5km of drive. Luckily no dent on rim and no damage on tire.

Add me to the owner list. 2.0 titanium silver. Welcome to the club.
If ODO below 50km during collection..it's acceptable for me. Maybe it's due to some test drive at the factory or drive to do BK & tinting as what u said.
izputra
post Mar 19 2013, 10:46 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(kailord @ Mar 19 2013, 10:23 AM)
I've read/heard Forte owners put autofoam in their ubdercarriage. Prepare about rm500 - 1000+.

I just go for the cheaper option, install shock absorber rubber buffer. Costs less than rm100. Of course, the effect also less. Haha.

Other options are stiff ring, anti-roll bar, strut bar.

*anyone please correct me if there's any mistake here* tongue.gif
I did that..i meant use autofoam in undercarriage. Though the steering gives better feedback after i did the autofoam & the driving harshness also been reduced, the body sway is still there. I guess the autofoam got nothing to do with the body swaying..but the rear torsion beam setup might be the main cause

This post has been edited by izputra: Mar 19 2013, 10:47 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:03 PM