EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

SUSsupersound
post Dec 23 2015, 09:57 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 22 2015, 12:54 PM)
not sure if student can become EPF member  hmm.gif  but min age is 18

but I think your best bet is on the 1Malaysia Retirement Savings Scheme under EPF.

please call them & ask them
Are you sure is 18?
I'm an EPF since 16 years old. 1st job in KFC hmm.gif
SUSsupersound
post Dec 23 2015, 01:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 23 2015, 12:00 PM)
Me too.. but I am a casher at a supermarket..  biggrin.gif
Those were the days.
But nowadays will be hard to see same age youngsters willing to work like that sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Dec 23 2015, 03:55 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 23 2015, 03:12 PM)
Yea.. those were the days! I remembered only first few days of working as a cashier, I need to use some of my own pocket money to payback the supermarket because the cash register $ wouldn't tally with the recorded printed receipts..  cry.gif

I guess nowdays parents are over protective of their kids especially in big cities.
Well, a fact that cannot be denied.
That's why people that commits suicide are getting younger.
By working part times are good to expose our self to the reality world.
SUSsupersound
post Dec 23 2015, 10:02 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 23 2015, 08:44 PM)
Life must b tough those days  sweat.gif
Well, just imagine on form 4 you have rm800 to spend monthly 28 years ago laugh.gif

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 23 2015, 09:54 PM)
The youngest I think is the form 3 student jump from school building because of exam  hmm.gif
That's stupid doh.gif
But is normal since parents now like to give their children the worst sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 1 2016, 01:39 PM

11,554 posts

I take 4.5%, anything above that considered as bonus.
Been walked through 90's financial crisis where the dividend still good. But that's because we don't have donations.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 3 2016, 09:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 3 2016, 07:59 PM)
Read in one of the webs that Msians are demanding higher dividend rate from EPF in view of the rising costs, etc. Right or wrong is up to you.

One thing came to mind while reading that. What if EPF gives higher rates depending on age? The younger ones will protest! Ha.

If someone can give me EPF Q4 2015 revenue, I will do a quick calc on the expected 2015 dividend rate.

You mean tiered dividend?
For lower income group, they sure agree with this. But not for those are rich.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 8 2016, 09:03 AM

11,554 posts

But Singaporean can't take out full amount even after they retired.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 17 2016, 01:54 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 16 2016, 10:06 PM)
yeah have this feeling too.. hopefully wont have the result below 6.0.. anything above 6.0 good lor based on falling economy now
As long as it is > 4.5%, considered good already. Always target EPF will only give 4.5% and anything above that, considered as bonus.
Other than EPF, government's AS*, there won't be any instrument that can consistently give you 4.5% of return each year.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 17 2016, 02:27 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 17 2016, 02:26 PM)
whats the lowest dividend thy ever gave in history?
2002 at 4.25% nod.gif
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/.../dividend-rates

SUSsupersound
post Jan 17 2016, 05:14 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 17 2016, 03:57 PM)
4.25% as mentioned by supersound is still acceptable.. haha ... if ...

4.5% FD and 6.xx asw2020 sure beats if epf really give 4.x
If for the sake of misleading people that EPF not performing, indeed I can use 2.5% as the number to justify there's better type of financial instrument that sure make money(those agents will always forgot to tell you that is they make money first, not you)

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 17 2016, 04:47 PM)
I don't think would go below 5%.. EPF financial is not so bad compare with those 4.25% period blush.gif
Sure will, but then those skim pasti rugi in the market will become skim pasti mampus whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 25 2016, 09:16 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 25 2016, 09:12 AM)
I think it is the 2nd Tue of Feb. But CNY will fall on that day. So either the Fri before or following Wed.

Eager to know the % hah?

biggrin.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
Know the dividend then what you want to do?
If the dividend are better than last year, will you increase your own contribution?
If the dividend lower, will you reduce your own contribution?
SUSsupersound
post Jan 25 2016, 10:20 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jan 25 2016, 09:58 AM)
If dividend above 6%, still worthwhile to top up. Otherwise just let it be. cool2.gif
Well, as long as you got money, just increase the contribution, no need to think much. I'm taking at 4.5% to benchmark EPF's dividend which is still higher than most FDs.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 26 2016, 08:44 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 25 2016, 03:28 PM)
Just remember this ...

I think EPF will suspend access to accounts for their dividends calculations and updates. Cannot access to EPF account now.

I think it is a 1-2 weeks suspension.

So, announcement in 1st or 2nd week of Feb?

My gut feel is, if it is before CNY, then it is good news. If it is after CNY, then not so good news. Ha.
Can log in without problems, announce also the same, we won't able to take the money out easily.
Don't let this spoil your mood. As said before, just take their dividend at 4.5% every year and you will be happy when getting more dividend thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 26 2016, 12:13 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 26 2016, 09:18 AM)
My mistake. It is not about accessing our account. Instead, they have stopped accessing our 2016 statement, saying it is for updating the dividend.

Different people have different mentality on EPF return. Some will take whatever it is giving, some will be happy if it is higher than FD, some will always want the HIGHEST whatever that is!

I am a bit of the last 2.
I see, yup, 2016 can't see. Even if yes, it will still showing rm0 contribution for Jan.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 12:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Apr 5 2016, 12:17 PM)
The dividend payout by EPF certainly would be better than Sg's CPF.

FYI, Singapore’s CPF still earned only 2.5% to 4% – one of the lowest returns on pension funds in the world. And it has been 2.5% to 4% since 1999 – for nearly 20 years.
Comparing to their bank's FD rate, consider not bad already.
We are getting 6%, but for the same food(forget about currency) we are buying, like chicken rice in Malaysia need rm6 while at SG, SGD3.
For the same travel distance of 20km from house to work, every month we need to spend rm200 while they only need to spend SGD100.
An engineer using donation to secure the job gets rm4000 a month, while in SG, can easily get SGD3000.
For the same job, in Malaysia the same guy can save rm500 while in SG he can save SGD1000.
Now back to dividend yield, rm500's 6% is rm30 while SG's 1000 is SGD40.

This post has been edited by supersound: Apr 5 2016, 12:44 PM
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 02:11 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 5 2016, 01:34 PM)
Wow,... I never looked at things to such details, bro,...  thumbsup.gif
Different country, different policies, there's no right or wrong. If you decided to stay in Malaysia, have to consider Malaysia's lifestyle.
In Middle East even worst, saving money in banks as foreign labor get close to 0%. But yet my friend is still making money. When USD are weak, he keep that money, when it strengthens, he convert it all back to rm. Since he is earning USD(in Middle East, you can choose either their local currency or USD), so when it touches rm4.20 from rm3.20, just imagine how many % he makes for every USD he sending back as rm.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 06:31 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 5 2016, 02:31 PM)
Instead of saving money n the bank as FD, can you no invest in properties or in the stock exchange in a Mid-East Country ? How is their dividend policy ? Any withholding tax against the payout, or internal taxes against div payouts ?
Nope, is not allowed. So just keep the cash and change when USD is strong.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 09:49 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 5 2016, 09:19 PM)
good strategy  thumbsup.gif

but I read in news paper today. Saudi gomen is considering to have "green card" policy for those foreigner.  hmm.gif
Saudi has no money to spend, so they are looking ways to get money from foreign workers.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 09:52 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 5 2016, 09:51 PM)
yeah..
they even planning for VAT @ GST  tongue.gif
Very soon and fast, next in the pipeline will be Qatar.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 6 2016, 12:14 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Apr 6 2016, 10:38 AM)
I don't think there are many people working in Sg can save SGD1000 every month. Don't forget recently they have just gained the fame as the most expensive city in the world.

If you're talking about food maybe yes.. Working there as a middle class isn't easy at all same as here. Look at the accommodation they're paying for only HDB flat (forget about private housing in Sg!).. the car comes with the hefty cost of COE.. no doubt in term of GDP as promoted by PAP is one of the richest countries in the world but if you have zoomed into the actual individual income, it is not the figure translated by GDP. Due to the sky high living cost in Sg, not many people could save $1k net every month. All of them are fighting for survival. This is no.2 of HK!
Did the SG government point a gun to your head and ask you to buy a scrap metal?
My friend that working in SG as waste water treatment plant operator are getting SGD1000 a month from SGD2500 pay. Stay in a room for SGD300, food and transport SGD900.
When I first time work in Qatar, 90% of the income turn to savings.
If you know how to set target, sure you can make it. A rm1.80 all the time are way healthier(to you and your wallet's health) than a rm20 chemical coffee.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0483sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:03 AM