73 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Feb 15 2022, 01:32 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 15 2022, 01:29 PM)
The starting base pay for this model is very important. How many 21 year olds can get 3k per month without any sort of working experience?
I just used that number because the chap's starting pay at the turn of the millennium was around that.
To make sure I did not overcount, i allowed only 3% salary increment pa.
Would you think 3% pa increment fair or unfair? smile.gif

(ps: instead of 3K, say it is 2K and keep all other parameters the same. just adjust the amount linearly. he would still have around 360K rm at end of 2021)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 15 2022, 01:34 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 15 2022, 03:03 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 15 2022, 01:51 PM)
Oh...it is an actual person?  Then i must say at 21 years old and getting 3k in year 2000 is pretty impressive.
3 or 4 or 5%, the base number to start the growth progression is an important number.
yeap, actual person. I also don't have a reason to doubt him, although most starting pay back in 2000s were like 2K rm type.

in fact, my calculation was way too pessimistic. his basic salary now is not 5K rm type... i believe it should be closer to 17.5K rm just based on his senority and jobscope. that is like a 10% pa salary increment.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 15 2022, 03:04 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 15 2022, 03:05 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Feb 15 2022, 02:32 PM)
well, just imagine :

1. has EPF saving, has over a mil or a few mil when maggie mee is rm 50 a pack.
2. no EPF saving, save less than 10k, maggie mee is rm 50 a pack.
I saw a lot of FB comments that asked to allow them to withdraw their epf money. Based on their comments, these people seems anti saving. Their thinking are, millions are useless because that time items XXX will increase / inflate to YYY pricing. So they prefer to have no saving rather than have million RM saving? I can't understand their thinking.
you made a fantastic astute point. Hats off to you for this comment.

Wedchar2912
post Feb 15 2022, 04:25 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 15 2022, 04:05 PM)
Nowadays 17k is pretty normal for managerial positions.
My General managers are on 22k and above.

21 years will see some jump in his salary along the way.
agree...
and he is not even a manager in the proper sense, although rank wise is a VP. (banking is kinda weird with grandiose title... especially after 2008 where banks here start following US ranking titles). Pretty much everyone is a VP/D/ED/MD... and no, ED is not that ED. haha.
Joke aside, my firm have VPs that basically just do clerical work. serious here.

But the point to share in this forum (semi-serious topic since not in kopitiam) is that EPF is there to help all of us, and the "forced" savings feature with compound returns helps damn kau a lot; while many makes claims that 5K rm salary at 40 years old are failures. In reality, only a failure if didn't make their financials properly.

Wedchar2912
post Feb 15 2022, 04:26 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Feb 15 2022, 04:16 PM)
good points shared here...to those skeptics or always think negatively...do you want to be the one with 550k savings or 0 savings when maggi mee reach RM50 a packet or chicken rice is RM10? Anyway, i think usually for such cases, it is exaggerated la. it may be true there is a particular famous chicken rice stall selling for RM10 but who ask you go and buy from that stall? there are still plenty of chicken rice stall selling easily RM7 and below....
actually, my chicken rice example is cos I add char siew.... hahaha...
Wedchar2912
post Feb 15 2022, 11:19 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 15 2022, 10:45 PM)
my point is don't punch in some numbers... get a few million and be happy...

this is how the unit trust and insurance ppl try to up sell a lot of their products to financially illiterate ppl... when i do some simple npv and discounted cash flow, practically all ended up worse than fd...
understand what you are getting at. you are looking at a higher level problems: expected returns vs actual realized return vs risk free vs portfolio management, etc

Unfortunately, we do need to punch in numbers to see the effects: the math is never wrong, just the theory and assumptions that go into it. The UT/insurance people have a different agenda, as we both know well. shocking.gif

vs FD, esp for certain category of people, it will be silly to leave money on the table by not considering EPF.

**light hearted Disclaimer: I am not a sales person for EPF and I do not get any benefit whether anyone here puts more money into EPF or not. The fact that a decent % of my assets are in banking stocks, it is actually in my interest, pun intended, that everyone put more cash in FD/CASA. yum yum...
Wedchar2912
post Feb 15 2022, 11:28 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 15 2022, 11:12 PM)
i fully support the gov ponzi epf... gonna leave my millions there for my kids...  thumbup.gif

if they start robbing the rich and giving to the poor... then i'll withdraw all but 10k to enjoy dividend subsidy...  whistling.gif
the government will find it very hard to do the dividend tiering, as to work out the criteria of the tiering is not easy, and will face a lot of resistant.
the 250 odd deca-EPF millionaires are some of the most influential people in Malaysia. Heck, our FM would be one of them also. All the major firm CEOs and then some. These people are not that generous to begin with.

And like you say, by the time it really comes to it, we most probably will just take our funds out.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 16 2022, 04:13 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 16 2022, 01:07 PM)
thumbup.gif   All good and understood.

In year 2000, i was paying my fresh engineers starting pay of around Rm1,600.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 16 2022, 01:44 PM)
np... i started working age 27 @ 2.2k... lol

des why I say in my initial reply to you... we start when we start and get what we get... wink.gif

whilst I understand the compound interest wrt epf, whereas starting early means a longer period and higher initial capital means a lot more $ at the end... it's moot wrt what age/how much a person can start...

anyways... cheers...
The 3K monthly salay came from a colleague of mine (I have no reasons to doubt him): started at 3K in 2000 at age 21, and then I assume he got no bonus at all; salary increment 3.0% pa.
He did way better than 3% pa increment, as his pay is way more than 6K rm in 2022.

But the point is even with such conditions, he would still end up with 550K rm in EPF now, and when he retires at 60, he should have 2.3 mio in EPF.

A big notice: if a fresh grad now in 2022 starts with these conditions, by 2044, he will have 550K rm in EPF, give or take.
If he starts with 2K rm instead, 360K rm then.
Hence, EPF is a great savings/pension/retirement scheme.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 16 2022, 04:16 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 16 2022, 04:46 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 16 2022, 04:32 PM)
I started my working life at 21 years old as an engineer.  laugh.gif
In 1983 with a starting pay of Rm1200.  laugh.gif

And indeed EPF is a great FORCED savings retirement scheme.  :thumbsup:
But earlier years had higher returns. Its slowly diminishing.
Wah. 1.2K is very good salary in 1983. Chicken rice like 80cent to 1 rm?
imagine using chicken rice as index. 1983 starting pay can eat 1200 plates.
2022 starting pay only 300 plates.

No wonder SG starting pay is min 3K sgd. = 9K rm
Wedchar2912
post Feb 16 2022, 05:44 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 16 2022, 05:08 PM)
i not challenging you/friend's info... no need to repeat so many times smile.gif it is quite high for a fresh 21 yr old... but we no idea of his job... but to double in 22 yrs really seems slow tbh...

also nowadays after covid very hard to get permanent jobs... a lot nowadays all contract basis... some are zero epf...
biggrin.gif I am just saying cos many in my firm also said it is hard to believe. But I didn't care about it cos that was not the point of the discussion that day with him and others... smile.gif
And then I told them starting pay in America back in 2004 and all my colleagues just called me an outright a liar. haha.

Gig economy workers... EPF should still be of use to them, just that they may lose out in the employer's contribution part.
Most banks, for example, gives 16% or even higher contribution, and that is a very nice juicy monthly savings that we usually dont "notice".
I guess they need to be disciplined enough to do self-contribute, or if not via EPF, some other method and not touch those funds.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 16 2022, 05:47 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 16 2022, 04:53 PM)
Yeah. Chap fan was Rm1 with lots of meat.
No proton saga. Toyota corona 1.8 was Rm 33k.  laugh.gif

Concerning minimum wage, just found out architect minimum wage in Australia is $29.35 per hour laugh.gif
Mana Msia?
oo... nice. and now we get Perodua, not even Proton at RM 33K. ok, my fault... Saga can. smile.gif

Malaysia got... but you got the decimal place wrong. It is 2.90 rm and the employer will even round down the 3.5 sen. bye.gif bangwall.gif
Wedchar2912
post Feb 16 2022, 09:43 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Feb 16 2022, 09:12 PM)
I have a colleague who told me there is no way he could have a million saving for his whole life.

I asked him if he has at least 100k in his EPF now? He said yes. I then calculated for him, when he reaches 55, he could have at least 1.1million in EPF. (by using his current salary, without any increment, without any bonus, based on fixed 4% yearly dividen).  P/S i like to calculate things based on the "worst" scenarios. Example, if i think average dividen would be 5%, i would make it 4% when doing calculation.

After i did the calculation and told him he would have a million saving when he reaches 55yo, he didn't believe at first and told me no way, until i showed him the calculation. I think i brought "hope" into his life, lol.
in a normal functioning market/economy, low rates with high inflation is quite rare. Ie, real rate of return for capital is normally positive.

So for Malaysia's inflation rate vs EPF nominal dividend rate, it really doesn't compute to have inflation running at 10% but dividend rate at 4% consistently for long term. But if in doubt, just to see what kind of purchasing power one can have, just put into your worksheet a dividend rate of 1% with zero rate of salary growth. What you see at end is roughly your spending power at retirement based on today's purchasing power.

Just for fun, i did a simple calculation with these assumptions: starting salary at 1.2K rm at 21 years old; grow the salary till 30K rm at end of 60 y.o. (ie 8.6% pa salary increment); zero bonus ever; 4% dividend rate. Guess what is the EPF balance?
1.9 mio myr about.

If I use historical dividend rate and the person retires in 2021, the number is 2.6 mio myr thereabout in TODAY's MONEY.
even if the person stopped working at 40 years old and retires early, his EPF will end up today at 1 mio ringgit in TODAY's MONEY

Wedchar2912
post Feb 16 2022, 09:58 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Feb 16 2022, 09:52 PM)
That's excluding devaluation and inflation isn't it. A million isn't much in the next few decades...
sure, a million ringgit is not much.
But it sure is better than having lesser than a million ringgit right?

Obviously if there are better alternatives to accumulation of wealth, go for it. But do you have something else in mind that will do this?
Wedchar2912
post Feb 17 2022, 12:24 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 17 2022, 11:48 AM)
Geee, my bad, I did not realise that your 1 mil is just a number... A number that may not represent the equivalent purchasing value of now compared to future.
Good that one can see a number...
But I think it would be better if and when that number can be compared to its equivalent value.

Of course, having a number (1 mil) when retired is definitely much better than having just 10k.
Just that the things that can be utilised to buy with 1 mil now will most probably be more than that same 1 mil 30 yrs later.

Just looking at compound interest on saved amount without looking at the inflation value will be OK if one just want to see an end future value number.

Just like some of my relatives/friends realised what seems to be enough CI/hospitalisation  insurance coverage 30 yrs ago when they bought them, just looked so little now... Then of course, having it is of course better than having none.
Agree on the points about present value of money/static purchasing power if possible when it comes to financial/retirement planning.

Since nominal 1 mio appears too vague a number at 60 years old (in earlier discussion cases, it is like at around the year 2040), what would be a good recommended number then? I would assume that number would be in today's money worth/purchasing power.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 17 2022, 12:33 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 17 2022, 12:35 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Feb 17 2022, 12:33 PM)
Remember to keep some funds for funeral wakes, burial plots or columbarium niches. Death comes at anytime despite us planning for retirement.
sounds like I am not taking this seriously, but I do in some sense... when one is dead, one is dead. Just leave the body in the government hospital morgue and they will take care of it.
that turns out to be the most economical way. bye.gif innocent.gif

Joke aside, in wealth management planning... if after calculating one's financial plan and one is short of a bit of funds, just change the age of death assumption and wallah.... one can retire already and die tomorrow.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 17 2022, 12:37 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 17 2022, 01:03 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 17 2022, 12:36 PM)
This.
There is an official inflation index and there is a REAL inflation.
There is also a concept called personal inflation, and by right and if possible, this should be used.
(At age 21, I love buffets because I can eat a lot. But now, it is a waste of money and caloric count. Spending pattern changes)

But too much trouble and difficult to calculate this. So, everyone just use whatever inflation index that is freely and easily available for calculation sake. Just be aware of its flaws.

Wedchar2912
post Feb 18 2022, 10:47 AM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(bill11 @ Feb 18 2022, 09:45 AM)
What if govt continue to plunder and let give you high return rate in EPF.They know as long all dont withdraw at the same time they wont have issue.
Or bad management that even give you high return % also when we retire also cant survive much due to high inflation rate that govt didnt control well.
Meanwhile sillypore cpf rate is between 2.5% - 4% , does that mean they are not a good govt ?

Or do we want a govt that able to provide the enviroments of creating high quality job for higher pay so the people doesnt really need to rely much of retirement (EPF/CPF) fund.
How does low dividend rate going to help since the government is plundering?
How does Low dividend rate but inflation is high help?

Your concerns are valid, but the solutions is not with Epf. In fact, based on your concerns, converting a high % of your assets to foreign currency denominated assets would be a better solutions.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 18 2022, 03:45 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 18 2022, 02:49 PM)
You should remember where myr1 was equal to usd1 or hkd1 as well and it all went downhill from there thanks to PM4  doh.gif
ringgit was never par with the usd. but it was a lot stronger at Rm 2.2x to 1usd back in 1970s/80s.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 18 2022, 06:18 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 18 2022, 05:34 PM)
The closest we got to this in recent years was 2011 - 2013 where it hovered around 3.1x to 1USD (even went less than 3 briefly), until 2015 1MDB scandal hit 😅
if memory serves me right, ringgit strengthened to 2.9X level even during that period.

What was interesting was Malaysia economy was "doing well" in the aftermath of subprime (Malaysia didn't really get impacted). Incidentally this was when 1MDBD started issuing its debt.

Wedchar2912
post Feb 18 2022, 06:32 PM

3,665 posts

The system is currently under maintenance

that is what the EPF app is saying as of 6:30pm Friday

73 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0496sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:17 PM