EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Super2047
post Mar 3 2024, 11:02 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 3 2024, 10:59 AM)
Put in US FD can already.
2023 was such a good year for so many investment, yet EPF delivered such a pathetic result.

This post has been edited by Super2047: Mar 3 2024, 11:03 AM
Super2047
post Mar 25 2024, 08:13 AM

276 posts

Do you think it’s a better idea to consistently invest in US ETF such as SNP/Nasdaq instead of doing voluntary contribution every month? In the long run, equity will win bond(epf) hands down.
Super2047
post Mar 25 2024, 10:38 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 25 2024, 09:08 AM)
May I suggest, go for a more diversified portfolio instead of just focus on US ETF such as SNP/Nasdaq.

For if the timing is not correct, you may have to wait for years to see black. Then the accumulated EPF returns wins
Ya agree. If the timeframe is not long enough (<10 years), EPF might be a better choice due to the volatility of equity market. I was thinking on behalf of my kids whereby when they start working around 20+, should they park their savings in EPF or US ETF smile.gif
Super2047
post Mar 25 2024, 08:56 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 25 2024, 07:11 PM)
Your kids will have 40 years time frame. Good enough to go with S&P500 or QQQ over EPF.
This is what i thought too. Thanks bro.
Super2047
post Apr 29 2024, 02:08 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(newtunes @ Apr 29 2024, 11:48 AM)
ETF can be good choice to diversify to improve the return of retirement fund.
But it will never able to replace EPF that provides safety net on principal and consistent positive return rate.

Imagine your entire retirement fund that you accumulated for the last 30 years, put in ETF or whatever suddenly down 30% when you retired.
When bear market hit, then we will see the importance of EPF like fund as retirement safety net.

Nasdaq took almost 18 years to recover back its previous high during 1999.
While when we retired, we may not have 18 years to wait for.

EPF still serve a very important retirement planning, even though other investment tool can or may provide better return. Also, there is no guarantee those other tool may able to gain, may as well losses.
Having the right strategy is important. Since now government allows acc 3 withdrawals, just take that portion every month to buy some QQQ or VOO. Whether the market is up or down, if you hold long enough aka 15 years above, it’s very hard to lose money.

The biggest risk is to take no risk. Don’t time the market , but have time in the market.

This post has been edited by Super2047: Apr 29 2024, 02:11 PM
Super2047
post Apr 29 2024, 09:07 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(newtunes @ Apr 29 2024, 02:47 PM)
Extra fund - take risk to maximise return.
But for retirement fund, it is different strategy.

Also the ability to withstand the risk also depended on age.
For those near retirement, the risk should be lesser, as we don't know whether we have another15 or 18 years to wait or not.
Also the emotionally being affected by market crashed. Imagine 30 years of hard saving halved due to market crashed, even though it may rise in much long term future.

Retirement money is not the same with ordinary saved money in the planning.
Yes I agree. Therefore, only those who can afford to leave their money in the investment for at least 10-15 years should use their acc3 to invest in US ETF.
Super2047
post Apr 30 2024, 08:06 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 29 2024, 11:58 PM)
I don't agree with 6. Bolded.
Reasons
1. You are holding ringgit. Ringgit depreciated with time which means you are losing future purchasing power faster Vs if it it's overseas. If it's SGD, different story. No issue.
2. Return is just constant 5-6%p.a if it's not increasing yearly you are losing to inflation and losing future purchasing power.

I have very limited cash. If I were to max out my EPF, That will make me reliant on EPF to find my retirement. By putting into S&P500/QQQ your money is working more efficiently for you Vs putting into EPF.

Ok to max out EPF if you have infinite money glitch.
I guess in this aspect, time is major factor. If we are approaching retirement, time is our enemy. We can’t afford to max out to anything which has high fluctuation. If we are still at least 20 years away from retirement, it’s a no brainer to max out in equity.
Super2047
post May 11 2024, 10:21 PM

276 posts

Done.
Super2047
post May 15 2024, 05:57 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ May 15 2024, 03:24 PM)
Based on retirement age 50 today.
Assume average age 85 - I used Singapore average age not Malaysia which is lower
assume no debt. Have fully paid house and car.
Assume asset replacements 10k yearly
Assume holidays 10k yearly each
Inflate rate 4% epf rate 5% or real gains 1%

doesn’t make sense to put anything more than  1.5~2m in EPF
I do agree with what you said, because if we have 2m in EPF, we can get around 120k a year dividend. That should be enough for most expenses.

Anything more than RM2M, we can do some higher risk investment, provided we have sufficient knowledge and know-how on that investment.
Super2047
post Feb 15 2025, 08:54 PM

276 posts

Just curious, even if you have 1m in your epf, 5.8% vs 6% is only a good RM2k difference. Why so hype up if dividend is 6% ya?

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0509sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:04 AM