EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 08:38 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Feb 19 2017, 11:00 PM)
Singapore CPF 2.5% ordinary account vs  Malaysia EPF 5.7% , since many peoples here always like to compare. CPF special account= ??  https://heartlandboy.com/how-to-optimise-si...-account-early/ After finishing 1x small HDB mortgage, nothing much left in CPF.. Same goes to FD interest rates here are better YIELD.
See cost of living. Rm3000, one for plate chicken rice rm6+
SGD3K, chicken rice only SGD2.
Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 10:46 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Feb 20 2017, 10:44 AM)
Are you sure chicken Rice cost only  SGD 2 ? When is the last time you been to Singapore eat chicken rice at
Kallang, Toa Payoh, Bukit Batok or Geylang?    http://www.thebestsingapore.com/eat-and-dr...e-chicken-rice/   hmm.gif

Monetary Authority of Singapore objective is to hike SGD, to makes their IMPORT cheaper, as well as to control inflation. If your country
is EXPORTING a lot,  lower currency exchg rate is preferred.

Singapore CPF 2.5%  rclxub.gif  ordinary account vs  Malaysia EPF 5.7%   , since many peoples here always like to compare.
CPF not doing well in ROI ??  Fixed rate also low in Singapore ..
Just less than a month ago. Woodlands MRT station to be precise. Heck even Toa Payoh Central is also that price (in January)

It's memang SG policy to put low rate for their CPF. FD is low in SG because their govt policy to make their citizen don't depend on FD.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 20 2017, 10:47 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 12:40 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Feb 20 2017, 12:30 PM)
Higher Singapore CPF Contribution only got 2.5% yearly DIVIDEND .  Employees CPF Contribution 20%  and Employers  17%  Total = 37% SGD  ohmy.gif

Malaysia  EPF  got 5.7% DIVIDEND .  Employees EPF Contribution 8%  or  11%  ,  while Employers  12 % ( < rm5K)  /  13% ( > rm5K)  .  Total = ?  RM    smile.gif

Yet Malaysia EPF (Employee/Employer) contribution is smaller and yet is getting higher YIELD ROI than Singapore CPF higher contribution .  rclxms.gif  rclxs0.gif

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/employers/employergu...llocation-rates

Fixed Deposit (FD) rate in Singapore is also low. Suppose depositors expect higher YIELD ROI , right ?
Let's not forget RM is dropping yearly against SGD tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 12:48 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Feb 20 2017, 12:41 PM)
We are talking % employees/employers contribution and yet getting higher ROI YIELD.

SGD is also dropping against GREENBACK USD too.
Everyone is dropping against the USD. But if you compare SGD or RM drop more, the answer is clear. sad.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2017, 09:55 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Feb 21 2017, 09:46 PM)
Great, thanks for that update. So , no issues with transferring RM60K in a day? Or is there a limit of RM30K/day? Does it follow the IBG limit?
You can do 12x transfer of RM5k/transaction to make it RM60k.
Ramjade
post Feb 25 2017, 09:44 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 25 2017, 09:28 AM)
some interesting numbers to ponder about this weekend....

How the EPF stacks up against other funds

Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...8YcXpck8Ekly.99

expecting lower dividend in the coming years??
Sounda like damage control.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2018, 09:29 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 24 2018, 08:37 AM)
ummmmm

last year was 5.7% on a lousy year  biggrin.gif

5, 5.5, 6, 6.5, 7, 7.5

what does it matter?

what can you do?

zilch, nothing, nether........ laugh.gif
Can. Continue lesser biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2018, 10:53 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 24 2018, 09:32 AM)
Lesser?  :confused:
Say you use to contribute RM60k/year, cut it down to RM40k and take the RM20k, put it somewhere where
1) you know can get >6%
2) acceptable risk.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2018, 11:31 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 24 2018, 11:11 AM)
UTs?
UTs or stocks lo.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2018, 02:15 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 24 2018, 11:54 AM)
I do not TRUST unit trusts.  biggrin.gif

Can invest in stocks?
Put at it this way. Are your stocks able to beat unit trust performance? If no, better to put into UT. Of course, best to put into UT which can beat the ETF consistency. Got such funds? Got.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2018, 03:02 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 24 2018, 02:34 PM)
Didn't know you can invest EPF funds in stocks directly.

There are hundreds of UTs. Only a handful can beat gold's performance. Why bother?
You can't. What I meant is self contribution of RM60k. You have control over this factor. You can choose how much to contribute a year. If you have no confidence of EPF/think you can beat the EPF returns then just reduce the amount of self contribute. And take the balance and invest it yourself.

Apa pulak gold? doh.gif doh.gif No one's talking about gold performance. Gold is high risk and high gain as volatility is high.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2018, 03:13 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 24 2018, 03:03 PM)
Employee contribution is fixed. Cannot reduce.
But not personal voluntary contribution. Not to mentioned 30% of the excess of the min amount can be used to invest elsewhere to get higher returns.
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2018, 03:38 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 24 2018, 03:14 PM)
I have no voluntary contributions.
That's why must withdraw the excess and invest it ourselves.
Ramjade
post Jan 31 2018, 08:14 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(topearn @ Jan 31 2018, 07:58 PM)
Self contribution ? Can any member do this ? What about for retirees, who r over 60 ?
Anyone can self contribute max RM60k/year.
Ramjade
post Feb 2 2018, 09:36 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Feb 2 2018, 09:32 PM)
Billions of investment, earn 5 - 7% interest. EPF is a joke.
Before you comment, learn why their investment only yield 5-7%. They invest majority in bonds. And bonds don't give you much good returns unless you are looking at junk bonds.
Ramjade
post Feb 11 2018, 10:44 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Feb 11 2018, 10:37 PM)
I am curious, if asb is "halal" ,why isnt epf halal?

Or only asb halal and other asx not halal?
ASB is not halal. I think it's 70% halal only.
Ramjade
post Feb 12 2018, 10:06 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Feb 12 2018, 09:27 AM)
info outdated.. Selangor already said 'harus'...

btw, what's DJI?
DJIA - Dow Jones industrial average.
Ramjade
post Jul 3 2018, 10:11 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(Pitbulllover @ Jul 3 2018, 07:33 AM)
Is it worth to self contribute more into EPF?

Dividend looks better than FD rate now.
Of course. All money contributed to EPF is your own money. The difference between FD and EPF is very significant over long term.
Ramjade
post Sep 16 2019, 07:28 PM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 16 2019, 02:43 PM)
My opinion says the above is ONLY true if the performance of the EPF continues with the present momentum. But what happens if the dpu's from EPF start to drop,... which would be a possibility now, given the negative interest rate environment creeping-up around the world ?

Secondly, well,... if one has a sum that is sufficient, and does not think of ever wanting to have more money for whatever else, then,... perhaps, if the dpu from the EPF does not drop, then he can opt to stay clean and quiet inside the EPF.

What if,... the amount of dividend one is earning is not enough to sustain over the entire period of lifespan, or for that matter is not even able to sustain him sufficiently for day-to-day expenses or for sudden expenditures that pop up every now and then ?

Given the above two reasons, wouldn't putting in effort to try to earn a better retirement income with reasonable risks factored in be necessary ? I read everywhere that the majority of Msians do not have sufficient EPF savings to last them for the remaining years.

I guessed then.... we may start talking abt depending on children, going back to the workforce, doing consultancy work, etc,... If it is such, why not learn investments instead ?
I put my parents pension money into EPF. Beats FD any other day.
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 08:19 AM

24,427 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 17 2019, 08:16 AM)
Beating FD only ? Enough to makan or not ? Enough for the occasional travelling and pleasures or not ??

Why not learn to earn higher returns ??
Parents money. Cannot risk it.
They don't do travelling. The only travelling they do is go jalan2 in forest reserve. They only eat economy rice and they like it (30+ dishes to choose from)

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0409sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:10 AM