EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Ramjade
post Jun 29 2024, 08:24 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 29 2024, 07:52 PM)
But I believes you ate still young thus may not hv much in account 2 to move to account 3.
After August, what ever you contributes to kwsp only 10% of it will be in account 3.
Thus in the end you will still hv "alot" in kwsp for retirement in which you hv not control.
Excess will be use to invest into performing unit trust. Hence making my EPF money work harder than it can.

I will move money into account 3 every 10k like what I have been doing all this while (moving my salary overseas once every 10k)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 29 2024, 08:25 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 29 2024, 08:47 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 29 2024, 08:33 PM)
Er, so far surprising lots of good fund can match or even exceed EPR returns. There are around 10 or more that can match EPF returns.

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jun 29 2024, 08:36 PM)
I've been lurking enough in the EPF & ASM forums long enough and every once in a while there will be someone who say they know better investments that offer better returns than EPF/ASM.

Well yeah. I've also had better returns in my bitcoin, and made more than a million ringgit off properties. Definitely better than EPF/ASM, right?

But do I come into EPF/ASM forums and promote those investments?

Nahhh...of course lah there can be other better investments, but the topic is, the topic
Bro different basket using bitcoin. Lol. But I do have a friend who withdraw out EPF money and put all into bitcoin. But like I said mine money is mine money. Your money is your money. I don't agree with him but let him do what he thinks is best for his money.

When you use EPF money, try to be as close to risk free as possible.
At least that is my way of investing.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 29 2024, 08:50 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 29 2024, 09:18 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 29 2024, 08:56 PM)
But just remember after Aug, account 3 has only 10%  you can take out for investment, 90% is still in kwsp.
If you had taken out 80k from kwsp for UT investment, there are still 720k in kwsp that you got no control of.....which will also be definitely subjected to all the bad things about saving money in kwsp.
The 100k is voluntary. That part I can control. Also I can control to invest the excess into unit trust. So do what you can with the money you can control. For those that cannot control, can't do anything about it.

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jun 29 2024, 09:09 PM)
“Different baskets”

Exactly bro, exactly.

That was exactly my point.

Come into EPF/asm topic but promoting ‘i can do better in different baskets’

Like I said, I can also do better but i’m here to talk about epf
Well I am just saying putting money into EPF means you will be losing future purchasing power. There is no doubt about that. If ok with it then ok lo. I am not.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 29 2024, 09:33 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 2 2024, 09:47 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 2 2024, 06:50 AM)
been thinking a lot to move or not to move....

ended up didn't move anything.... if i need more funds, ill use existing savings that i have.
You need to think what you want. EPF give flat rate 5%. Which means you are losing future purchasing power with time due to inflation.

If you can find something like visa/MasterCard/Costco that increase their payout yearly by say 15%p a even though yielding around 0.5% p.a post tax, you are not losing money as the 15% increase in payout more than make up for it in the long run.

You can stimulate it yourself on excel. I have done it before. You can also check out the video on YouTube.
Slow dividend grower Vs fast dividend grower. The slow one will win initially. If you have a long time, the fast one will win. Imagine your money paid out to you double every 4-5 year.

0.5-> 1% -> 2% -> 4% -> 8% ->16%
This is what I am aiming for in the long run.
Ramjade
post Sep 2 2024, 01:36 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 2 2024, 01:24 PM)
In hindsight, you can quote : visa/MasterCard/Costco. But nobody can tell the future for sure that these issuers will keep up this performance forever.
It's not hindsight. It is still valid today. They are still so many companies doing the above. That is why now all my investment I rotated to the above. All will automatically increase payment to me by min 15%p.a

No more high yield for me. Low yield high dividend growth rate is the way I am going forward.

Even company like Salesforce and Google which started paying me dividends will grow their dividends at that rate in the future.
Ramjade
post Sep 2 2024, 02:16 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 2 2024, 01:58 PM)
I like ur crystal-ball !  biggrin.gif
Bro I got so many in my list. Can't even buy all. Google and Salesforce was unexpected.

All of them share one thing in common. Not cheap!!!

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 2 2024, 02:19 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 11 2024, 09:43 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 11 2024, 09:20 AM)
i have a question for 60+ years olds.
If EPF is yielding 5%, why are you spending only2%?
Keeping for the next gen?
For me, I will keep for next generation.
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2024, 09:25 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 20 2024, 08:43 PM)
Can u help please help Unker run some numbers. Unker wanna know whether those who keep in EPF for 30 years earn more leh OR those who transfer to Singapore and put into FD earn more?

Unker guess EPF win hands down even with Ringgit depreciation. Unker use common sense only. Unker doesn't know excel.
You cannot compare like that. Why? Majority of FD in Singapore before 2020 was giving like 1%p.a in interest. Want to compare, compare with CPF or if you want closer comparison, compare EPF with Singapore banks. Of course people say can't compare stocks with EPF.

Someone showed before that the RM depreciate by 2-3%p.a Vs the SGD for the past 30 years.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2024, 09:25 AM
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2024, 11:22 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 21 2024, 10:35 AM)
yup... about 2.6% pa...

he wanna show epf is superior to keeping myr in sgd form... this is correct... but we all know majority who does it intend to invest in sg or us market... myr to sgd is only a transition step...

waifu is doing 75% salary direct to epf... she got no interest in investing/hedging... so epf with high dividend vs fd, is best casa acc...
Likely.
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2024, 01:28 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 21 2024, 01:20 PM)
FD in Singapore would be more suitable as comparable because the risk profile is quite similar to EPF. It's not exactly the same but quite close.

Don't use stock because highly risky.

Probably can use Singapore 1 year T bill to compare with EPF.

Should include FX losses 0.5% during transfer.

Anyone up for the challenge to prove Unker common sense is wrong?

Don't tell Unker that transfering to Singapore is going to win over time without running the numbers.

Unker use common sense only. Don't really understand how some people said it's better to withdraw from EPF to transfer to SGD.
I tell you how. Transfer RM into SGD. Buy SG bank shares. They have never cut dividend and only cut in 2020 not because they cannot pay but MAS ask them to cut. They have historically given 4-6%p.a

If you want a really like guaranteed then go with DBS. It's their national bank and it's backed by temasek. Think of it like our Maybank.

So if you compare with EPF with DBS bank you are getting paid more or less 5%p.a + auto increment of 5%p.a (being conservative here) + 1.5-2.5% in capital appreciation (if you really want to count forex loss)

That is what I did. I transfer our EPF money and park my 100k meant for EPF into Singapore banks. I don't bother with their FD or their Tbill.

Instead of putting RM100k into EPF, I use the 100k to buy and hold Singapore bank shares.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2024, 01:30 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 11 2024, 11:51 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 11 2024, 10:54 AM)
Thats why many struggle to reach RM1m in epf.

Avoid housing withdrawals.
Yes. Avoid using EPF for house withdrawal.
Ramjade
post Nov 11 2024, 12:52 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Nov 11 2024, 12:44 PM)
what's your solution then?

for housing needs $$$
Save money for downpayment. Not that hard to be honest.
Ramjade
post Nov 11 2024, 05:00 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Nov 11 2024, 01:10 PM)
That's easier said than done  icon_rolleyes.gif
Depends on commitment and how much savings you have. Both my parents didn't even use EPF money to buy house. They saved the DP themselves.

I meet some retired engineer, he told me don't touch EPF money. Dump money into EPF if you got extra and if you don't know how to invest. Avoid buying anything from banks. These are his words. Not mine.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 11 2024, 05:01 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2024, 08:00 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Nov 12 2024, 11:39 PM)
if can want exploit to the max

if no set min wages I think RM500 also dare to pay one

yup I think FW prefer getting higher take home pay than being stuck in EPF
Need to top-up EPF cause maybe RM100k top-up too slow.
Ramjade
post Nov 15 2024, 07:01 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 15 2024, 05:28 AM)
I recalled reading some forummers mentioned during the pass govt approved withdrawals, they withdrew it to put in some equity investment ...like overseas etfs
My friend withdraw and put all I to bitcoin. Lol. Now he's laughing to the bank.
Ramjade
post Nov 15 2024, 03:12 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Nov 15 2024, 03:03 PM)
I always have a question, how do them transfer the money back to Malaysia after they sold the crypto? Can they transfer back, say, rm100k in one shot? Or they need to transfer a small amount bit by bit to avoid the payment holding by banks? I have such question because every time i receive USD dividend via oversea to MY banks, the banks will hold the payment until i submit the relevant docs to them.

---------

Back to EPF, 1+ more months before 2025, as long as have 5%, i will be happy.
He use luno. Luno got account for Malaysian.
Ramjade
post Oct 2 2025, 03:16 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Oct 2 2025, 03:13 PM)
At the rate we going... Soon we will say we need 10m in EPF....

Just last 1-2 years ago we say 2-3 millions needed... Now it's hovering 5m....

Y'all really have fat retirement and buffering in layers of fat...
Yes because the ringgit is a weak currency. If ringgit is strong you won't have this issue.

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.3744sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:00 AM