https://tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/stock-market
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/personal-fi...dend-rates.html
1998 KLSE <300 EPF gave 6.70% tongue.gif
MGM
post Mar 1 2021, 11:07 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(catherintherye @ Mar 1 2021, 10:19 AM)
The joker who wrote that not sure follow instructions from whom.

Simplified tiered is like you and your poor self buy Maybank stock, those that use 1,000 (consider the poor people) to buy the lots at the end of the day, get 7% dividend. Those that use 10,000 (consider the rich people) buy the lots, at the end of day, get 3% dividend.

Not sure which nut job think of this idea.

What for you use 10,000 to buy, may as well take all out and keep the minimum to enjoy maximum dividend.

This jokers always thing of out ways the get the money flow out from EPF, retirement is for retirement. But always building pipings, to leak the fund out either unit trust, withdrawals, lestari, bestari, whatever it is....so many pipings connected to EPF to get the money out.

Singapore CPF doing the opposite, always put up road blocks to block the CPF money flows out to it's citizen and keep in locked in into medical, old age special  or whatever....scare you don't know how manage and let government control how much they give u and let PAP control the money.
Many unhappy one will just take out the DISCRIMINATED portion.
MGM
post Mar 10 2021, 04:30 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Mar 10 2021, 04:23 PM)
This is quite a clever thinking.. If u have 600k, taking out 60k is not really that much of a deal. Your larger sum of 540k still a compound interest work horse.
The 60k that is outaide of epf might take a few years before it start rolling
For years I have been treating my epf n ASMx as balanced funds giving 6+%, but not lately esp ASMx. cry.gif
MGM
post Mar 29 2021, 09:45 PM

18,399 posts

If a person is now 53 yo n starts self-contributing 60k EPF, when can start withdrawing this 60k? At 55 or 60 yo?
MGM
post Mar 29 2021, 09:58 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 29 2021, 09:49 PM)
i think is age 55....as per this...

"Upon reaching age 55, the contributions made to your Account 1 and Account 2 will be consolidated into Account 55.
You can withdraw all or part of the savings from this account at any time.

Should you choose to continue working after the age of 55, all further contributions you make will be credited in your Akaun Emas, to be withdrawn only upon reaching age 60."

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/withdrawals/...age-55-60#age55
Thanks for the prompt reply. thumbsup.gif
MGM
post Jun 16 2021, 03:42 PM

18,399 posts

WTA: IF one contributes 60k to i-saraan, at what age can this fund be withdrawn, 55 or 60?
MGM
post Jun 16 2021, 04:06 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Jun 16 2021, 03:50 PM)
Acc 1 can withdraw at 55 years old for i-Saraan scheme.

Acc 2 can do withdrawal before age 55 for certain reasons similar to non i-Saraan members.
So how much of the 60k will be divided between acc 1 n 2?
MGM
post Jun 16 2021, 04:32 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Jun 16 2021, 04:06 PM)
70% and 30%, like usual.
So basically 30% will be stucked at acc2 until 60yo if dont have qualified reason to withdraw?
MGM
post Jun 16 2021, 04:54 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Jun 16 2021, 04:39 PM)
No issues for me. Must depend whether your bank is panel for that withdrawal or not.
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 16 2021, 04:52 PM)
Thanks mate. thumbup.gif
Is this e-withdrawal via i-akaun?
MGM
post Jun 16 2021, 05:44 PM

18,399 posts

For a retiree, if he puts in 60k via i-saraan in Jan2021 then withdraw out 50k in Aug2021, can he put in another 50k in Nov2021?
MGM
post Jun 16 2021, 07:26 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 16 2021, 07:09 PM)
If I am not mistaken,... I saraan has age limit to join... While the normal self contribution does not...

Per calendar year is 60k max...
So total 60k is based on gross deposit。
MGM
post Aug 26 2021, 11:07 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Aug 26 2021, 10:05 AM)
Luckily EPF was not heavily influenced by political affairs.

Also thanks to EPF management for slowly increasing overseas exposure

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/cove...-pension-burden

Are we really that poor of a nation?
Ah well, not suitable to discuss here..
Just a lillte rant.
Country is rich in resources but poor in management.
Well I know the country has built up a debt till trillion of MYR. This C19 probably increase it by another 2digits %.
Will this affect our EPF esp when MYR devalues?
Future Gen will have heavy burden n less tongkat.
MGM
post Sep 5 2021, 10:59 AM

18,399 posts

Is it true that 90% of those who took out epf to invest make less than epf itself?
MGM
post Sep 5 2021, 12:43 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 5 2021, 12:29 PM)
wave.gif  Me, majority I still leave inside as one of my diversified low-risk passive income for future.
Minority I withdraw to try out the investments and I leave it to my agent to move the portfolios around, since there are annual fees and it is their job to perform better. All funds are in profit range for me right now, highest 35%+ and lowest 1.x% (recently switchover) on total return over all the years.

Some have invested for >9 years already, latest switchover is ~1 year ago (refer image below). I do continuously keep track of the current total value/worth inclusive of annual y-o-y compounding for scenarios if I do not withdraw out from EPF. Now, I would have 14%+ more profit as of Dec-2020 if the same initial investments are not withdrawn out from EPF.  blink.gif

Once EPF declares 2021 dividend by Feb/Mar 2022, then I can generate my opportunity lost by not leaving it in EPF until Dec-2021.

Anyway, I'm not going to do anything but just leave it there for 10-30 years as a guinea pig to compare the returns.

My expectation is any investment outside EPF will have higher risk and hence higher returns (or loss).

I guess most others who has taken out will not admit making less than EPF  rolleyes.gif  or maybe they don't really count on y-o-y compounded. e.g. even a 9 year 35% total return is equivalent to 35/9 = 3.89% p.a. average out, which is still less than EPF average of 6.12% p.a. for the past 9 years.

Only those who make more than EPF will brag about it. But hope they consistently brag and share their returns here every single year as a case-study comparison.

[attachmentid=10966347]

TL;DR:  Yes to your question. My EPF is still giving giving higher returns than investments using EPF-allowed-funds.
icon_rolleyes.gif
With the help of agent u still made less, what more those who r doing it themselves n not as good as the agent.
For me the only time i made money from stocks was in 1997-98 financial crisis during the clob saga. Since 2006 i switched totally to ASMx n Epf n my money doubled in 13 years. Not a lot but it is really passive. But the negative side is all in MYR.

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 5 2021, 12:52 PM
MGM
post Sep 5 2021, 01:54 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 5 2021, 01:34 PM)
I'll be a bit cautious to say if my EPF doubled in 13 years. On surface value, looking at my own EPF, my total balance nearly tripled in 5 years from 2016 to 2020. Forecast end-2021 will be more than tripled already.

However, it is because I am still working and contributing monthly. There are increments and/or bonus which increases the contribution y-o-y. Also every year I top-up into EPF, again as one of my passive low-risk savings.

So diving one step deeper, just computing the total dividends received vs 2016 total, a rough estimate calculation is >40% returns over 5 years in EPF.

Which doesn't make sense, as I will need further in-depth calculation for accurate estimates of ~6% p.a. which is equivalent to a more logical 30%+ over the last 5 years.

icon_rolleyes.gif
It was just a general quote using roughly the 72-rule n excluding additional ongoing topup along the way. Didnt actually gone thru the exact figures but happy that i have surpluses every year after 50% was spent on expenses.
MGM
post Sep 12 2021, 02:43 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Sep 12 2021, 02:07 PM)
Something weird...anyone contribute to i-Saraan? I contribute RM2K under i-Saraan to get the RM250 ang pow from gov. I got one RM250 in January this year. And few days ago on 8th, i got another RM250.

Why? Gov too much money to  pay? System bug? Not that i am complaining...but still weird. Lol.
U must have contributed in 2nd half of 2020 and 1st-half of 2021.
MGM
post Sep 25 2021, 04:12 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 25 2021, 10:07 AM)
The question is: WILL THE REMAINING CAPITAL SEE HIGHER RETURNS?
Shouldnt that be the case where the returns r distributed pro-rata to the the capital who r invested in 2021?
MGM
post Oct 1 2021, 09:38 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 1 2021, 09:25 AM)
Indeed, the yield is generally higher than bonds. Plus one can withdraw intermittently during our retirement years.
So can treat it as bond in a balanced portfolio.
MGM
post Dec 8 2021, 05:42 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 8 2021, 05:17 PM)
the assets belonging to the EPF millionaires only make up 12% of total assets.
so dropping 1% dividend return of these millionaires will only increase the return of the rest by 0.1% thereaabout. So will 0.3% return for the rest of members be a life changing enough? (i assume take 3% absolute return from these EPF millionaires to redistribute to the rest).

the original politician who suggested this basically not telling the truth. And it will not work.
(same thing as taking from the 20% of the population to help the 70% will not work. Thats why inverse pyramid scheme does not last)
That is what happened when leaders n supporters have brain in their xxxx. This is a nation with full potential only to be wasted by xxxx.
MGM
post Dec 10 2021, 09:02 AM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Dec 10 2021, 06:36 AM)
It is certainly weird that there is not so much noise with ASB tiered dividend but when EPF wanted to do the same, it seems like the world is ending to some.  Still have another approximately 6 years or so to get to 1 million assumung my salary is stagnant.

I still support tiered dividend but only to people who havent reach minimum saving by age and active contributor.
Yes should allow option to opt-in of such scheme to please ppl like you.

18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:31 PM