EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Aug 25 2023, 03:19 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 25 2023, 03:02 PM)
Some says keep till death or 100yo whichever is earlier 😏

No wonder EPF published notice saying ask to withdraw all for those members that reach 100yo... Some might be thinking it's can be kept over 100yo...
unless got big jump in medical tech, I think most of us will be gone before even coming anywhere near smelling 100 years old.

Best to just plan till 80 years old and after that, plan to just maintain principal... innocent.gif
Wedchar2912
post Aug 25 2023, 05:43 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 25 2023, 04:34 PM)
True...
From the information I saw... Average is 70+
So 80 is nice number target.... unless your family gene is very powerful.... All previous gen members over 100++ then probably u also could be over 90...
Well. What I know is that I hardly know anyone in person that is older than 80 years old. Like really not many. Just based on this stay (not very scientific), there is absolutely no reason for me to think that I will beat this stats.

Also, like most of us here, my financial planning doesn't involve depleting my principal. So may as well plan that after 80 years old, if still alive, I get to spend all passive income.

Some can say that I am being stupid. Cos why wait until so old only spend all passive income. At current juncture, I don't even spend 40% of my passive.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 25 2023, 05:44 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 25 2023, 04:59 PM)
Emm,.... at what age will our sexual functions be gone, bro ? Any idea ? I'm serious in asking this question.
That would really be a question for your doctor or any doctors reading here.

:-)
Wedchar2912
post Aug 26 2023, 03:09 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 26 2023, 02:58 PM)
Its all paid for. I am already coming to 62.

Yield is from 3 to 4.5%.
Early days at purchase was from 7 to 12%.
well, you can look at this situation in a positive light. It just means the properties increased in price by at least 2.5 times... drool.gif
Wedchar2912
post Aug 27 2023, 12:27 PM

3,694 posts

Well, properties are not really passive in terms of income generation, and many didn't realize this. Not really recommended for those who are getting on with age. REITs maybe a better alternative.

But since this is a EPF thread, nothing beats EPF in terms of being passive. haha... smile.gif One can throw it in and forget until age 100....
Wedchar2912
post Aug 28 2023, 10:41 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Aug 28 2023, 04:38 PM)
I am thinking right now how much do i need to have in EPF before i can retire?

Almost touching 50 years old - already thinking of retiring as company dont really want to keep me there, just they have not much excuse to ask me to go
I am a B40 Lifestyle with M40 earning
Housing loan should be clear in the next 2 years
Car fully paid off Proton Ertiga
2 kids 1 high school and 1 UTAR
no other investment other than ASM, SSPN, EPF and FD!
Biggest Asset is my apartment (medium cost apartment bought it for 90k, now worth  220k)
Biggest liability is my 2 kids education and me and wife health but we have insurance till 80 years old
I am not looking forward to retirement but company is hinting...
damn scare to go into retirement as i cannot touch my EPF money (less than 1 million) but once reaches 50 i can withdraw 30% most likely is for my kids education only if needed else wont withdraw
saw some tiktok video said need 2.5 million to retire due to inflasion and increase of cost of living... If really need 2.5 million i dont think i can retire even work for another 20 years!!!
Check out the concept of FIRE (Financial Independence/Retire Early)... Work out if ur expenditures can be covered by your productive networth.

particularly for you, what the followers of FIRE would call LeanFIRE and/or CoastFIRE.

Nothing is stopping you from working for fun or for additional income. Obviously this new work should be less stressful.
even a normal retail store attendee can get paid like 3K rm pm.... Its to supplement your cashflow....

Wedchar2912
post Aug 28 2023, 10:57 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Aug 28 2023, 10:34 PM)
I have been counting this past 3 years or so also. Every time different number. Very hard to know. I actually thought i can retire this year but lucky not yet pull the plug coz last minute found out i need 1.8mil. But then now i think think think not right also. Let me ask the fella below to count and see what numbers and i give formula why it's 1.8 mil
Boss boss.. help me count. My case a lot simpler. B40 lifestyle. Currently expenses i see and count and keep counting is around 1.5k a month. House, car and everything big considered fully paid. No kids and wife is working and will be supporting herself. Let's say asm + epf average (past 3 years) 4.5%. Nothing else. How much do i need with 4.5%?

From what i learnt in this forum at another place (asm thread), it is said i need to first deduct inflation out of dividend. In this case assuming inflation 3%, that will mean 4.5% - 3% = 1.5%. This 1.5% should reflect my annual expenses which in my case should be estimated at 2k (not 1.5k coz changing from work to retire will incur some expenses so put extra 500 in case) so annually 24k a year will be my safe figure. So that 1.5% = 24k. So 100% will be (24,000/1.5) x 100 = 1.6m. That's the bare minimum. I actually use 27k (extra 3k for just in case) per annum and if you plug in the formula it will be 1.8mil. What do you ppl think?
You comment on above?
Your strategy appears to be way too conservative, as you assumed EPF and ASM's return to be average 4.5% pa. Don't know about ASM, but EPF's much better at 5.5% pa if anything.
using your strategy of minus inflation directly from the return, that would equate to 2.5%. your 27K rm just need like 1.08 million ringgit.

A better way would be to assume your 27K spending to increase at 3% inflation, while your whole networth will grow by 5.5% pa. That's more realistic right?
If you put it in a spreadsheet and run the numbers, you are fine already with 1.08 million ringgit.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 29 2023, 01:55 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Aug 29 2023, 12:23 PM)
Oh correction. Base on accrual figure it's 1.5k a month. Not 2.5k. Base on upper calculation it's 2,0378.xx but base on actual usage is less than 1.5k a month. But i estimate 2.5k (27k a year) coz things might come out unexpectedly when i switch to retirement fully. Hope that clears everything. Right now i still far from kwsp withdrawal age so i keeping more at asm for now. Will slowly put more into kwsp as i get closer to the withdrawal age coz i don't want things get stucked in kwsp when i need them. That is why currently i use annual dividend rate of 4.5%. Actual number base on 3 years average is 4.22% la but like my expenses i don't really use more than 1.5k a month so that should cancel out the variation. The excess per month will roll over and when it is big enough i will add to asm. So 4.5% should be not far off from reality. Want other questions?
You have worked out very well/detailed the expenditure side of things. nice.

But I feel the fund management (note on my focus about management, not investment) side of things can greatly be optimized... just because you are assuming 4.5% pa return and somemore, maybe due to inertia, you are keeping your funds in ASM, which is delivering subpar performance.
It maybe worth your effort to optimize your fund deployment.... simple suggestion would be like shifting the ASM funds slowly to EPF as you mentioned... but you can also deploy some portion of your money into stable dividend yielding funds or stocks (one of my fav example of advice is Maybank when the price is right) etc. Its to improve your yield.

Obviously should ask for advice and suggestions from people you trust, or get a "mentor" to explain stuff. Like in your earlier post, I think I read that you are worried you cannot touch your funds in EPF. But this is purely psychological because as of now, you are not touching your funds in ASM and EPF. And based on aging, you will access sooner or later. Like if you are 50 years old, access is not really a worry if cashflow is managed properly.

(sharing a real life example: A friend, for some reason only keeps her funds in FD and EPF. Prior to covid, she was complaining about low FD rates but she refused to throw her funds into EPF via self contribution. Kept on citing wanting liquidity. Finally after showing her different scenarios in spreadsheet her worries, she finally threw as much per year as she can into EPF so that she can reach the EPF liquidity event. Now she is happy as a bird as her funds is deployed more efficiently.

I should have charged her a few K ringgit for work done to convince her. She is earning at least 5K rm pa more now in EPF div vs FD interest... lol )
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 02:57 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Sep 12 2023, 02:32 PM)
Hmm.. today's news and yesterday's news made me worry if i can ever retire. Yesterday there was mention of PADU system where the subsidy will be targeted and need to fill in database.. which i am sure since i don't belong to the prince earth group will make me need to pay more. Today pmx mentioned capital gain tax and gst implementation in consideration.. meaning kwsp and all investment will be affected. Sigh.... this country really cannot stay already.. things getting worse with the new unity gov. What do you ppl think?
This country can still stay.... Just to spend money or retire.
the key is to shift one's ability to generate income overseas, so as to be out of reach of the gov (regardless of who is in control).

and then try to make yourself part of the B40, nay bottom 10% of B40, if possible to get the gov's machinery off your back. Filing zero income is a good start I think.

blink.gif
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 03:18 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Sep 12 2023, 03:07 PM)
Agree but it's slapping own face if introduce gst. This time it's like they are implemention all at one go. Which is worse at the time when economy is bad and ppl are suffering.. This pmx really cannot make it la. So disconnected with the ppl. Next election i guess i won't go out vote already. No hope.
The devil is in the details. Kwsp can invest in funds and those funds also got unit price. Aka it could qualify as capital gain. They always start with the harmless one then just tweak the details as time goes by. The good news is it will not happen within next few years ago i can wait until kwsp mutual fund gain enough until no loses and then sell back to kwsp and not touch them. PRS on the other hand cannot escape. Etf and other mutual fund night qualify for capital gain depending on definition later. Dividend should be exempted. Sigh... if you say totally not affected... i don't believe lo. Kwsp mutual fund and PRS got unit price. Unless they specify exemptions.
I also want like that but i tried this week to move money out. A lot of issues and red tapes... in the end of into kwsp/asm.. 😂

Anyway.. as mentioned above.. need to see definition of B40. I actually fit the definition but since pmx go into power they remove me from subsidy list coz i "own" two company. Even though one doesn't pay me anything and the one i actually have is losing money every year.
I do believe Malaysia should head into GST regime, rather than stick with whatever we have now... the leakages is just too big and with GST, everyone get taxed more fairly.
What I don't like, and again nothing I can do about it, is all variations of government we have so fair just know how to intro new taxes without proper reform... and to make it worse, tax more to give more subsidies.... unfortunately, this can last way until all our oil reserve is gone.
Plus we can't really run away as most countries have consumption tax implemented, at least countries that I am willing to retire in.

Maybe it is time that you remove yourself from being a company director? or pass it on to your kids, if there is a reason why you want keep the directorship...

I am clearly classified as one of the B40 (since I get to collect the BRIM/STR stuff) with zero income.... gov hinting of changing the game by implement capital gains tax is quite annoying.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 03:20 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 12 2023, 03:16 PM)
everyone lari tax... have to find more ways to tax lor...
hence stupid FM and EM....

want to implement capital gain tax and GST at same time....
but nothing to find out and cut expenditures like subsidies or gov pension etc.

Best to relook into one's portfolio allocation and maybe rebalance out of country.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 12 2023, 03:25 PM
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 03:35 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 12 2023, 03:31 PM)
On subsidies, there will be the targeted subsidies coming next year.
lagi worse.... can be more stupid?

add new subsidies... calling it targeted doesn't make it better..... now, changing the subsidies to targeted to ensure the needy gets them, that is different. and doesn't seem to be what any of the variation of Malaysia gov wants to do.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 03:42 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Sep 12 2023, 03:32 PM)
One is my own. One is my dad one who is actually dying but don't want let go until his last breath and still manages it but required to put his heirs in the list in case he suddenly kick the bucket. So i cannot unlist myself until he kicks the bucket. So no choice.

Where you wanna retire? Lai lai share share.. how to rebalance out of country? Share share.. 😂

In this case i actually think it is better to put into kwsp and asm. There is no capital gain and the dividend are tax exempt. I think this is what pmx trying to do. Sell all etf or outside shares or mutual fund (coz they have a unit price and hence has capital gain) and you put into these local vehicle so you get 0 tax and the gov get to use that money. Evil... but it's an option. What they do after everybody pool the money into these vehicle is another story.

What i really don't like is they are trying to kill off ppl. Remove subsidy, introduce gst and killing your investment options at the time when economy is very very very bad.
Oh... now that is a headache.... how about just tell your dad you don't want the company and allow your siblings or your kids to have it? (skip generation should be fine kua.... )

I want to retire in Malaysia.... I am a loyal Malaysian... hahaha.... but doesn't mean I have to be here 365 days of the year.... after I am free to do what I want, the strategy is 8 months overseas (different countries)... while 4 months here to feed the food craving. haha.

I just do normal official thing to move money out, and it will be to my SG's interactive broker account. The amount I move is usually a few hundred K each time, so for safety sake, it will be via the banking system. This round maybe will move a million or 1.5.
(since all my liquid cash is in EPF, I can only drawdown from EPF... won't top up anymore).
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 03:45 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 12 2023, 03:40 PM)
Why you say new subsidies?

nothing in the news about new subsidies. Its existing ones which will be targeted instead of blanket to everyone. Things like RON95. Will be needs based. No idea how this will be implemented tho.
Its the lack of details that is the problem.... same thing with the news about capital gains tax....

since the news only state targeted subsidies, it could mean new subsidies or change in subsidies program. I just don't know, and gov is good in introducing new subsides.

if gov of malaysia can provide more details, would be better.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 03:48 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Sep 12 2023, 03:37 PM)
Errr.. boss.. that's exactly what they are doing by targeted subsidy. They planning to remove petrol subsidy for example and only give to selected few. They are testing the system PADU to see how.
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 12 2023, 03:38 PM)
You are really jumping the gun on this capital gains tax thing..

We dont have details yet, but during 2023 budget it was about capital gains on unlisted shares. Nothing about capital gains on unit trust, etfs, listed shares.  Capital gains on these might come one day, years from now..but no need to overeact now.
are we sure? whose fault is it to assume this or that?

Gov not providing enough details. Just simply say capital gains tax and targeted subsidies means a lot of things.
This is what gov of Malaysia, in all its variations, is very good in doing. Not giving proper details. haha.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 04:16 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 12 2023, 03:56 PM)
Sometimes ppl just need to be more patient and dont freak out at headlines.

This capital gains tax n targeted subsidy is something that the gov has been working on if u follow the news. They havent finalised the details. Still WIP.

N PM is not annoucing the implementation. The news came about from his speech in parliament for the Malaysian Plan mid term review. Things that they plan to introduce.
Funny. Who is freaking out?

Just cos one write something here mentioning what gov mentioned past 2 days doesn't mean panic. Panic would be going to Epf building and withdrawing millions and then send overseas. Hehe.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 06:39 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Sep 12 2023, 06:26 PM)
*Runs to kwsp building withdraw everything and move overseas and run back and burnt down house and car"

Run~~ run while you still can!

But to be on the serius note. All these talking proves pmx not as good as originally thought. He is just going from bad to worse. First the budget last year. So big allocation. The biggest spending ever. Deficit run so high until syurga.. he think can just print money kah? Then the expenses if you look carefully doesn't benefit much ppl. Then allocate to pretty much useless places. Hmm... quite disappointing to me. But even with such big budget, this cannot control, that cannot control, need abolish subsidy, need that targeted subsidy, need bring back gst, need to tax this, need to tax that, need to rob rakyat money. Zahid and gang still free. And worse of all? Touch kwsp and asnb indirectly. Tell them what to do and how to do some more. Aduh.. really no eye see. If this goes on really jialat ah.

Just a young old man whining...
when OPR was not allowed to hike under his watch, we should have realized this gov is just a rebranding of the older gov. same DNA running the show...
I love that saying from the scifi show: a younger grape from the same vine, destined for the same old bottle.

But in our case, it is old grapes... calling them raisins would be more accurate. biggrin.gif
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2023, 09:54 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Sep 12 2023, 09:11 PM)
Do you think they will deem dividends from retirement account as income and hence subject to income tax?...

in US ....
highly unlikely.... reason is if they wish to target div from retirement funds, then may as well target FD and CASA interest first. Long ago, interest from FDs 100K and above are subject to tax. That would be a better place to start vs EPF or ASM/etc.

just my opinion...
Wedchar2912
post Sep 20 2023, 10:50 AM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 20 2023, 07:26 AM)
USD1m hahahaha.... that's RM5 million
not enough... we need 10 million ringgit to retire.... and that is retire with worry...

there, I've said it... tongue.gif

brows.gif

// the worry is because don't know if people will start liking my money more than me... haha
Wedchar2912
post Sep 21 2023, 02:27 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 21 2023, 01:49 PM)
Money matter don't play...

Sometimes the most trusted one is the one would betrayed the family...

So next alternative is FD 🙏
agree.... most, if not all, of us believe that FD is the safest storage of value in ringgit terms, but do not realize that banks can go bankrupt.

Do not be lulled into complacency thanks to marketing gimmick of PIDM.... so remember to disburse 250K rm across financial entities and self-ownnerships to get better protection, and treat EPF as another diversification of storage with gov of Malaysia's implicit guarantee.

Disclaimer: all this assume you still believe 100% in value of ringgit... if not 100% trust, then diversify across different fiat money.

73 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0576sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:44 AM