EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

MGM
post Feb 15 2024, 02:24 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 15 2024, 01:12 PM)
No. That's not correct.
This is for FULL withdrawal. If you fully withdraw in the FY, you do not get any dividend. If you withdraw the following FY, you will still get the previous year dividend.
Sorry I dont get it. Let say FY is 2022.

If you fully withdraw in the FY, you do not get any dividend.
If u FULL withdrawal in 2022, u should still get the previous year (2021) dividend. just like the next statement

If you withdraw the following FY, you will still get the previous year dividend.
If u FULL withdrawal in 2023, u should still get the previous year 2022 dividend.

MGM
post Feb 15 2024, 02:51 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 15 2024, 02:44 PM)
Yes. In this case, you will get 2021 dividend. Point is if you withdraw mid year 2021, you don't get anything at all.  By right, you should still get something? 
Yes
No, If u FULL withdrawal in mid 2021, u should still get the previous year 2020 dividend.
May be u r trying to say is u dont get anything for the year of FULL WITHDRAWAL?

MGM
post Feb 15 2024, 03:32 PM

18,411 posts

How is the Dividend Calculated For A Full Withdrawal (due to age 55/60, incapacitation, or death) Before Credting the 2022 Dividend? Are Members Who Made a Full withdrawal Eligible For the 2022 Dividend?

Dividend is calculated based on two different periods as outlined in (a) and (b) below:

(a) Period from 01.01.2022 until 31.12.2022
The 2022 dividend will not be credited or paid to members who have made full withdrawals from 01.01.2022 to 31.12.2022. This is because the dividends(2021&2022) were already paid with the withdrawal payment based on the previous year's dividend rate of 2021 and the payment is final.

My understanding is that the full dividend of 2021 plus the portion of dividend for 2022 has been paid at time of withdrawal(in 2022) based on 2021 rate, so no more dividend when it is declared in Mar2023..

(b) Waiting period BEFORE the crediting of 2022 dividend (01.01.2023 until the date before the crediting of 2022 dividend)
(i) For members who made withdrawals from 01.01.2023 before the crediting date of the 2022 dividend, an interim dividend of 2.50% will be paid along with the withdrawal payment.
(ii) The remaining dividend balance (difference between interim dividend and actual dividend rate) will be paid within one week after the crediting of 2022 dividend.

MGM
post Feb 15 2024, 04:37 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 15 2024, 04:22 PM)
So you are implying that for the 2022 dividend portion, the paid rate is at the 2021 rate?
Only that "DIVIDENDS" is plural so i deduced it refers to 2 years' of dividend.
That is my understanding but I might be wrong. To play safe just dont make full withdrawal but keep a token sum for at least a year to get that portion if any.

This post has been edited by MGM: Feb 15 2024, 04:41 PM
MGM
post Feb 26 2024, 07:07 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Feb 26 2024, 04:42 PM)
Already said income 33% more than last year, so last year ...5.35% x........ 😁..
That 33% was for 1st 9 months right. So if say 30% then possible to get 6.9%. rclxm9.gif
MGM
post Feb 26 2024, 09:46 PM

18,411 posts

Can we use 2 accounts on the new EPF iAkaun app in the same mobile?
I can do that on the old iAkaun app.

This post has been edited by MGM: Feb 26 2024, 09:48 PM
MGM
post Feb 26 2024, 10:54 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Feb 26 2024, 10:16 PM)
Withdrawal on 31 Dec or before will not be entitle for dividend on that same calender year. - So if I put in 100k on 1st Jan and I withdraw this 100k on 31st October, I will not get dividends at all for this 100k?
U will get 1 day for Jan2023 + 8 months from Feb to Sep + 1 day for Oct2023, total 8 months+ 2days dividend.
U should at least deposited few days b4 31Dec2022 and withdraw 1Nov2023 to get 10 months of dividend.
MGM
post Feb 29 2024, 07:41 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 29 2024, 06:18 PM)
Not moving out country is ok...But money can move out. Keep a good amount overseas to hedge against toilet paper RM...you won't know what happen one day at least a significant amount of your networth is still safe. Many eggs in Many baskets. Warren buffet says one, not i say.
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Feb 29 2024, 06:41 PM)
cannot agree more.
malaysia is a great place to retire and get decent bang for spending bucks. So why move out?
Capital kept here unfortunately is not optimum at all... and no need to even get into the G part of the ESG of firms and gov of malaysia. So naturally one should deploy one's capital outside. Its a matter of what's the proportional to keep outside: definitely not 100%... so 50% would be a decent portion.

(financial planners usually say if one is able to do so, one's expected expenditure cashflow should not have any currency risk... hence still need to keep a large chunk in ringgit. But they forgot to warn us that this is only if the currency is inherently stable... ie say Türkiye lira, I am sure I will keep 100% of my wealth in USD. haha )
If I may ask, how u guys handle estate planning for overseas assets?
MGM
post Mar 3 2024, 10:40 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 3 2024, 10:28 AM)
Imagine you have 5 million and they transfer 1.5 million into account 3! 🥶
Those ppl might take out a total of 100billion n move it overseas. MYR then gg.
MGM
post Mar 3 2024, 11:26 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(blue_maniac @ Mar 3 2024, 11:09 AM)
Payout for conventional is 50.33bil while syariah is 7.48bil, which is only ard 15%. They allocate conventional dividend to syariah so that they dont have to payout so much dividend for conventional..
Really where u got this news? Can they do that openly?

This post has been edited by MGM: Mar 3 2024, 11:27 AM
MGM
post Mar 3 2024, 01:27 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(blue_maniac @ Mar 3 2024, 11:09 AM)
Payout for conventional is 50.33bil while syariah is 7.48bil, which is only ard 15%. They allocate conventional dividend to syariah so that they dont have to payout so much dividend for conventional..
Where u got the news?

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 3 2024, 01:20 PM)
If there is whistle blower evidence...else you masuk jail for spreading false news...
MGM
post Mar 4 2024, 01:54 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Mar 3 2024, 08:49 PM)
HIStory says bull market lasts longer than bear market. Add an assured long term depreciation of MYR, definitely better to invest overseas.
This is especially true for US, but not many other countries like China, MY ...
MGM
post Mar 4 2024, 10:54 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 4 2024, 10:43 AM)
Yes, as stated above. Why people don't want to buy Maybanks and other blue chips?
1. Risk Aversion - people who understand but not willing to take risks.
2. Ignorance - they are not willing to learn how to invest. I have relatives like that. I encouraged them to learn, especially the young ones. All lazy as fark. Don't cry 20 years down the road.

Yes, if my calculation is correct last year maybank was 5.xx%. But got gain capital growth, not calculated yet.
I hate to deal with individual stocks cos of rights & bonus issues, split & combine shares, EGM etc. Let EPF handles them for me.
MGM
post Mar 4 2024, 10:26 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 4 2024, 09:56 PM)
True also...old gen most don't know how to online...today i was at the Pos Office to send Poslaju...saw an unker like maybe 65 and above. In his hands are TNB bills....they don't even know that you can pay online or maybe don't know how to use? But saw him playing with the phone flick here and there...dunno lah. EPF needs to educate the public more how to withdraw online.
Some educated professional got scammed as they r not seasoned mobile user. Merely use for communication. Previously my ex boss, a 60+ engineer don't even use online banking.

This post has been edited by MGM: Mar 4 2024, 10:27 PM
MGM
post Mar 4 2024, 11:22 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(spoonudus @ Mar 4 2024, 10:48 PM)
Love the discussion on alternative investments. I myself am one of the risk-averse savers.

However, i disagree with the statement that says those who put most of their money in epf, asb, asm etc are not diversifying their investment. All these investment vehicles are already diversified in how they manage their funds. Just because u put your money in epf, asb, asm, doesnt mean you didnt diversify, u just let their fund managers do the diversification for you.

Is there more ways to diversify, yes. Is there more and better ways to diversify in almost zero risk investment other than epf, asb, asm? Maybe no. At least not to my knowledge.

Best thing is, once i put my money in any of the above, I practically dont have to do anything myself anymore, and focus my time for my current work, to increase my income earnings. Being a frugal guy, i still believe most of my nests comes from significant savings from my hard earn incomes.

Anyway, as long as you have set your financial target, and your current investment strategy will allow you to reach that target, then you are on the right track. I know many here swears that gold is the way, or sgd, or usd, or bitcoin etc is the best way, but nobody can predict the future. And anything u earn, other than dividen direct deposited to your account, is profit on paper, until you sell it. That alone requires quite an effort to decide when to buy, when to sell, rebalancing porfolio etc.

If you do have a significant amount of wealth though, maybe hiring someone to manage your finance may not be a bad idea. Still not for me though, nest still puny hehe
Since 2000, half of my investments r in epf & ASMx, but latest events like MYR n green waves make me think hard to switch to overseas assets. I am beginning to lose hope in MY.
MGM
post Mar 5 2024, 01:22 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 5 2024, 12:15 PM)
yes, who cares if it's boring, what's important is the return to the shareholders.
but ya, i make 100% from capital gains + dividends received over the past 3 years.
Congrats, good plantation stocks r indeed good investment for capital appreciation n good dividend yield. Same as plantation land in west coast, which is a good inflation hedge due to its limited supply and consistent demand for development.
MGM
post Mar 8 2024, 10:30 AM

18,411 posts

Buy hard asset like land in Peninsula westcoast with potential for development or tourism. Apart from being inflation hedge can also leased out for income. But dont know still got such opportunity or not. Best time was b4 2000. Can give 10 to 15% returns/year.
MGM
post Mar 16 2024, 07:50 PM

18,411 posts

Unless your kids smart enuf to get in TOP top uni overseas otherwise no use spending million.
Nowadays u can get into courses u desired n qualified in the top 5 local U by paying ~100k if u can't get it via UPU.

MGM
post Mar 24 2024, 08:52 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 23 2024, 09:10 PM)
Would it be easier to self contribute from the KWSP app via FPX ?
Previously if done via MBB website deposit will be credited next working day. If done via kwsp app +fox credited next day even on weekend. Don't know about kwsp website.
MGM
post Mar 24 2024, 08:52 AM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 24 2024, 01:51 AM)
I rather that they get paid for life 6 figure Vs one lump.

Unless you damn suay die early. If you die old, investment> life insurance.
No medical insurance too?
Currently u have no dependent right?

This post has been edited by MGM: Mar 24 2024, 08:54 AM

18 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0563sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:47 AM