12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Hansel
post Sep 11 2019, 03:14 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Sep 11 2019, 10:56 AM)
Can the Malaysian government just print money to pay off EPF holders in the event the fund does not perform as expected?

I mean it's not suppose to do this right? But it seems to me that nothing is stopping this from happening though.
The gov't can print,... but the effects to the Ringgit will be disastrous... its value will drop very badly if this news goes out ! As it is, without further printing, the Ringgit is unstable and wavers with news,...
Hansel
post Sep 11 2019, 11:43 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Sep 11 2019, 11:34 PM)
Don’t bother contributing more than tax relief amount can ady. Otherwise you are just locking up money in an unstable currency for no good reason.
If a person has nowhere to go to put his money into, then putting into an unstable currency is THE ONLY way to go, I'm afraid,...

By the way, it's still okay, for the Ringgit is our natural currency. I would advise against this strongly if it's a foreigner is putting his money into our RM instruments,.. unless, again,... the foreigner is from another unstable jurisdiction or from a WORSE country than Msia,...

Actually, there are quite many countries out there which are 'worse' then Msia,... but we shouldn't be looking at those countries,...
Hansel
post Sep 16 2019, 12:28 AM

9,348 posts

Frankly, for myself, I don't really care abt tax relief and what nots. I will just let my EPF contribution pile up, and when I am ready to withdraw,... I might withdraw half of what I am entitled to for investing into instruments that can make more than EPF's.

Instruments that, historically will gain aainst the RM in terms of,........

1) tax advantages.
2) instrument quality, and
3) currency strength.

I am not leaving the money in EPF to lose opportunity costs,....

So,... I stand with Prophetjul,....

Who said abt being scared of not being able to take out money when reaching retirement age ??

I am more scared of losing in terms of opportunity cost !!!!!!!!!!

Added : Frankly, when one is not of retirement age,... what can he do if the EPF changes its rules ??? THis is not within his control !!!! Let it be-lar,...

But what one can control is to learn heard and to research hard to try to make MORE than what the EPF can make for us !!!!!!!! Don't put more into the EPF. Don't self-contribute !!! Invest yourself !!!!!!

AND : To start the process of fulfilling those techniques,by start opening accounts before the door closes !!!

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 16 2019, 12:32 AM
Hansel
post Sep 16 2019, 09:53 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 16 2019, 02:15 AM)
Are you offended by my post?
You should not if you are not the one relevant to it.
Those who think money in EPF is going to be lost for good so must quickly take out
Those who withdraw from EPF only to make lesser or negative  returns.

you said money in EPF is losing opportunity cost!!!!!!! better  take out and  invest outside
as if 100% sure can get better returns...........

But when you are allowed to withdraw all, you no longer 100% sure.
You said you just  might withdraw only half, meaning youthink another 50% is still better if kept with  EPF.

I would have taken all out 100% if I am 100% sure money kept outside EPF is better.

Now you understand why people still do additional contribution to EPF?
No offensive remarks taken,... this is just a forum posting. And on your side,... you should not be feeling any hints of offensive remarks, for which I doubt you are not,.... hence, your first sentence !

Losing opportunity cost investing in the EPF is certainly a fact to me at this moment - my records speak for themselves in my posting here,...

However, time is another risk, the future is another risk - hence, the meaning of 50%. Of all people, I would expect YOU to know this, but you question my 50% instead !

I will turn it the other way around - you are asking people to leave 100% inside,... aren't you ? Why not hedge the risk instead ? Why not learn investments properly to do better than the EPF ?

As to your second last sentence - you are not hedging future risks ! YOU are trying to emphasise your point, and imposing your point onto me by belittling the right practices of investment and that is : hedging risks and diversifying !

YOU are making too many assumptions in your postings ? Why 100% ??????

Added : By the way,... anybody can answer anything to any question or posting - you do not say you are relevant or not to a a forum posting ! This is a public posting,...

Everybody is entitled to his/her opinion - and everybody can choose to say out or not that opinion ! I chose to reply YOU ! ..in a nice way, earlier,...

My opinion here is simple : Do not be overly-affected by changes in EPF Rules - instead, try to do better in investments than the EPF. Hedge your investments and diversify to mitigate the risks. DO NOT be over-dependant on the EPF !

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 16 2019, 09:58 AM
Hansel
post Sep 16 2019, 11:13 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 16 2019, 10:44 AM)
EPF is only a small portion, 11% of your income,
You should know it is there, compulsory for a reason
You should also know many just do not know how to save (for their future)
And many are getting much lower returns from their investments.

I find it is irresponsible to incite people go take money out of EPF.
When they tell you they get negative returns from investment!

For those who can save, EPF money should be a small portion of their total.
If you need go dig money from EPF to invest,
first ask why no money in pocket or banks?

If one says 90% of his money is in EPF, no money elsewhere...
I doubt he is good at saving, why bother to take out the last bit from EPF  just to try elsewhere?
without the forced epf savings he may be even worse.

You know how to save money  EPF is only a small portion of your total,
so why need  go dig EPF money? Hedge and diversify  using your other savings.
I appreciated your comments and agree with many points here...

On my part,.. 'do not know' and other effects due to not knowing is something an individual needs to work on. I preferred to not comment on people not knowing, etc,... generalised judgements are tedious to debate on,...

I preferred to discuss and debate on the best- and possible- case scenarios for the people,... not only in Msia,.. but for the world too,... for the savers in the CPF, IRA, OAS, Super, etc,... other national pension funds,...
Hansel
post Sep 16 2019, 11:25 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 16 2019, 11:16 AM)
thumbup.gif
I agree with you

I cant accept the logic money outside EPF is  better ,tell people go take out
but when got chance to withdraw all, he hesitated..........
Nobody should and would hesitate if the decision is right ! An individual has a choice whether to listen to you, or to another, or not to listen to anybody at all and does it his own way.

I use myself as an eg :- I would take out half when the time comes that I am allowed to withdraw,... differing from CL's taking out full when there is a mkt crash,... but that's my choice.

You should not use the word : hesitate. A better word would be : re-think and reconsider. For some, like me,... I don 't need to re-think or reconsider,... but I can't comment abt the general public and contributors.

I stand on my mode of engagements : On my part,.. 'do not know' and other effects due to not knowing is something an individual needs to work on. I preferred to not comment on people not knowing, etc,... generalised judgements are tedious to debate on,...
Hansel
post Sep 16 2019, 02:43 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 16 2019, 02:21 PM)
Why all the differing issues ? Its very simple actually. EPF is for those who intends to fully retire at a given age without taking any more risk needed. Its for those who intend on living of the dividends declared. For those with multiples of million, then it does not neccessary apply , as losses of a few million in investment can still be easily absorbed. However for those with a simple sum with no more forseen future income then that it will be very crucial to fully protect it from any risk of losses and this is where EPF comes in wonderfully. So if we have large sum invested already then in comparison the fund in EPF is paltry and it would of been not much of an effect to withdraw it totally.
My opinion says the above is ONLY true if the performance of the EPF continues with the present momentum. But what happens if the dpu's from EPF start to drop,... which would be a possibility now, given the negative interest rate environment creeping-up around the world ?

Secondly, well,... if one has a sum that is sufficient, and does not think of ever wanting to have more money for whatever else, then,... perhaps, if the dpu from the EPF does not drop, then he can opt to stay clean and quiet inside the EPF.

What if,... the amount of dividend one is earning is not enough to sustain over the entire period of lifespan, or for that matter is not even able to sustain him sufficiently for day-to-day expenses or for sudden expenditures that pop up every now and then ?

Given the above two reasons, wouldn't putting in effort to try to earn a better retirement income with reasonable risks factored in be necessary ? I read everywhere that the majority of Msians do not have sufficient EPF savings to last them for the remaining years.

I guessed then.... we may start talking abt depending on children, going back to the workforce, doing consultancy work, etc,... If it is such, why not learn investments instead ?
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 08:16 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 16 2019, 07:28 PM)
I put my parents pension money into EPF. Beats FD any other day.
Beating FD only ? Enough to makan or not ? Enough for the occasional travelling and pleasures or not ??

Why not learn to earn higher returns ??
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 08:18 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 16 2019, 10:17 PM)
Well they using religion as their marketing strategy..
Which actually working quite well....

Let's see when real shit happen.... Then they all says EPF better, but then it's too late...
How you know, bro ? Maybe these people are really taking care of their afterlife ?? - Just a friendly opinion,... no sarcasm intended,...

Well,... sometimes I do think along this line too (taking care of the afterlife), after seeing many people's lives ended !
Hansel
post Sep 17 2019, 08:48 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 17 2019, 08:19 AM)
Parents money. Cannot risk it.
They don't do travelling. The only travelling they do is go jalan2 in forest reserve. They only eat economy rice and they like it (30+ dishes to choose from)
Okay, you win !!
Hansel
post Jun 9 2020, 12:35 PM

9,348 posts

The way I look at it is EPF is saving for our old age. We don't know what might happen when that day comes. So,.. well,... it's still good to have funds in EPF or in any pension funds elsewhere in the world. EPF comes to almost zero risk,... the only risk being when the time comes to withdraw the thing that can happen is the a withdrawal age might be extended further.

BUT chances for this extension to happen IN MSIA in almost zero because of our ethnicity.

At today's times when we are still many years away from being able to access our funds in EPF, we must learn investment tactics and open investment platforms to invest ourselves. We must not depend on EPF only to help us invest our funds.

Secondly,... EPF allows tax deductions.

JMHO.
Hansel
post Jun 14 2020, 11:33 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Zenph @ Jun 13 2020, 11:34 PM)
So I saw someone speculate that EPF may increase the withdrawal year.

Any thoughts on that? Are you guys still topping up?
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jun 14 2020, 10:46 AM)
It is very unlikely as it is a very unpopular decision and could affect whichever political party in power. Imagine that most Malaysian do not have enough saving and solely depend on EPF as their "saving".

Although some form of limitation on the withdrawal might be possible in the future, raising the withdrawal above rm 1 million to rm 2 million instead. No more 2nd account withdrawal for housing loan instalment or downpayment or even staggered disbursement when reach the retirement age.

If i remember correctly, EPF already raised the concern that sometime in the future, the money outflow from EPF fund will exceed the inflow of fund which could be troublesome for their investment.
On my side,.. I'll look at it this way if I'm near to retirement age. EPF Board will give us time to adjust before they implement anything,.. they won't just say that 'starting with immediate effect,....', they will implement this or that. So, when they announce anything and give us the time to adjust, we can always withdraw everything if we wished to if we're 55 yo.

For those who are not able to wothdraw in time, then they will have to follow,... incl myself.

But,... like I always say.... in life, we must learn to invest ourselves, we must be leaders ourselves,... do not be followers. The internet today has enabled all these.
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 03:42 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 30 2020, 03:21 PM)
if have kids...sspn better
YES,... I have to agree with this one,... I noted this too,... but now, I am caught a bit, I sent them out to Australia at a young age. I am not sure if I can't withdraw my SSPN contributions to finance their overseas education later in The US or Europe when they reach tertiary education level.
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 03:49 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jul 1 2020, 07:49 AM)
Malaysia’s $216 billion fund looks overseas for higher gains

(July 1): Malaysia’s largest pension fund is investing more overseas as it seeks to beat the 4% to 5% return it has been achieving.

The Employees Provident Fund with about $216 billion in assets has been expanding its global portfolio to maintain high dividends for Malaysian workers in the face of limited opportunities onshore, Chief Executive Officer Alizakri Alias said in a Bloomberg TV interview with Haslinda Amin.

“The rate of growth for our fund is outgrowing the rate of the economic growth of Malaysia,” he said on Tuesday. “So whether we like it or not, we have to start looking overseas.”

The state fund currently has almost 30% of its investments placed overseas. Its assets rose 10.9% last year to 924.75 billion ringgit ($216 billion) as of the end of 2019.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mala...as-higher-gains
I hoped they don't lose money,... even Temasek lost a lot of money investing overseas. I do understand though, Temasek is NOT CPF.

Side note here : Predicted last month and recorded here in this thread that BNM will cut the Statutory Requirement Ratio (SRR) and the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) by another 25 basis points at the meeting in July or August. Let's see if my predictions are correct,...

The July meeting shld be held around the first or second week of July every year,...
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 04:04 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 5 2020, 03:56 AM)
There are many previous postings including one recently mentioning that all (Preferably left RM20 inside) sspn money can be withdrawn anytime no question asked
Tq,... this is good news to me,...

I have another question,... back when I first applied to deposit for SSPN for my kids, there was mention that if we have a minimum of RM10k inside an SSPN Acct, the gov't will match this RM10k and 'give' us another RM10k as an incentive for us.

I remembered this was during the administration of Mr Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Is this RM10K incentive still being given ?
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 04:07 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 5 2020, 04:00 AM)
I think there was an article in the news just few days ago mentioning something like 7 out of 12 "experts" expecting a 0.25% cut
Ohh okay,... tq,... this round of my prediction was back in,... I think April or somewhere around then after the first cut for this year. They did cut, as per my prediction for that round too but my predicted quantum of cut was inaccurate.
Hansel
post Jul 5 2020, 08:39 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 5 2020, 04:14 AM)
SSPN-i incentives up to RM10,000 to continue for B40 group
Published 5 Oct 2019
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/494534
Tq again this morning,...appreciated your time to dig-out the article for me.
Hansel
post Jul 6 2020, 12:10 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(hengger @ Jul 5 2020, 10:49 PM)
I read some where most probably 50 bp because our economy now very very bad and inflation also low.  So expected int will only 1.5% soon.
I wouldn't be surprised,.. tks bro,...

Prb is,... if they cut too low, the RM will depreciate further,...
Hansel
post Jul 6 2020, 11:47 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 6 2020, 08:58 AM)
i do not think they are so worried about the RM depreciating. They want to be assured more on exports and domestic consumption.
Yeah,... I know too, 'cos they don't seem to mention too much abt this matter. The thing is.... many of the items we have in this ctry are imported. If our RM depreciates badly, things will become too expensive.

The 'main street' people will suffer,...

I'm not even talking abt travellers and parents who have children overseas,...
Hansel
post Jul 7 2020, 10:53 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(bisobona @ Jul 6 2020, 10:40 PM)
Depreciation is good for export.
QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 6 2020, 11:40 PM)
Will the company that exports the product see a lesser returns when the volume of export remains the same or those thas has price contract argement for a certain fixed period?
Talking abt import-&-export pov, I agree when our RM depreciates, more importers will buy from Msia. But,... if the raw materials used to manufacture the products is imported, the net gain and margin will go down if the export prices of the goods are fixed to a contractual arrangement.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0388sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:15 AM