73 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Dec 19 2024, 05:19 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Dec 19 2024, 04:06 PM)
I gonna quit this thread very soon
Too much flexing from members here
Me old and barely surviving
Kids young
Wife still young later remarried take my epf money how?
Better don't think too much
Ai yah. Why take into heart what is posted here?
Some flex wealth. Some flex pretending to be knowledgable. Many just want to annoy others.

Glen through for any useful info. Rest just ignore.

Unless somehow you are a super competitive alpha person who has been always ahead of any "game" in life.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 20 2024, 01:32 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 20 2024, 09:10 AM)
My friend recently exceeded 1mil with additional lump sum voluntary contributions....he is mid 40's. Which comes from his liquid funds which are not necessarily for his retirement. Afterall, he is just in mid 40's.

Now it would seem he was cheated and enticed by the EPF scheme, because now the funds will never see the light of day.

Perhaps he should just withdraw everything before the execution of the new limits.

Is he the only one facing this thought?
He is right to review as circumstances have changed. Not only did EPF decide to change the limit from 1 million to 1.3 over 3 years from 2026 onwards, but any sane person has to consider the fact that this limit will keep on increasing due to their framework. Basically its inflation (+ forecast future inflation) on cost of living. So, logically one can expect this 1.3 limit to keep on adjusting up by some amount like 100K rm every year. (which means without any additional contribution, the dividend alone cannot catch up also for those at around the limit of 1.3 million).

So i think the deciding factor is whether your friend plans to work till 55 at least (for now, can still take out after 55), or he has other sources of income besides EPF after his retirement (if retire early).
As he is mid 40s and already has above 1 million in EPF, basically means he doesn't need to touch this funds... and by 55, he would have way more than 2 million in EPF... even 3 or 4.

Those who are not working but in their 40s, need to plan and rethink a lot harder.

Wedchar2912
post Dec 20 2024, 04:46 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Dec 20 2024, 03:45 PM)
If you pay attention to those who are complaining about the 1M->1.3M increase, you'll notice the subtle way they frame their issues like:

1. If I have 1 mil I would...
2. My friend have 1 mil, he would...
3. Those who have 1 mil and wants to FIRE, he would...

It's never about themselves, it's always about "others". In this sense you can already guess these people don't have 1 mil, they are just projecting their "fantasy" about how they want to adjust their imaginary lifestyle based on their imaginary 1 mil. I find it very hard to discuss with these people because you cannot have a "theoretical conversation". I would rather discuss this issue with those who really have 1mil in their epf, but so far from what I can observe, these people don't really have any issue with the increase at all...
Haha. Well. Some here have way more than 1.3 in EPF. I think got one or two with higher than 4 or 5 million. So to them, what is 1.3 limit?

Others such as myself, just cut my position/exposure in EPF until it is at a level where it is no longer significant. Then no need to worry too much about whatever shock coming from EPF management.
And I did my portfolio realignment since end last year. It is unfortunate that I've been proven not wrong.

Now my concern is whether I should reduce further my exposure. I do like the div yield while the limit remained at 1.0 for 2025.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Dec 20 2024, 04:55 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 20 2024, 09:59 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 20 2024, 09:49 PM)
I know you use “” but why set a withdrawal threshold of 1m in the first place? Wouldn’t it be tantamount to being treated as a FD for people with such excess? Hence the feeling of misled.
Anyway what’s done is done. I prefer to advise him to find other means. ASM was a good option, shame it’s actually a pain to buy anything above 4 figures.
do not quote me... as I have no proof...

but I have the impression, vaguely, that long ago, there was the "noise" about how EPF was becoming too big=> causing the return to suffer.
This was before EPF was allowed to invest overseas. something like that. all this was back in late 2000s or early 2010s.

and it was not meant to be used as CASA, as previously, the minimum amout to withdraw was 50K rm.

maybe another forumer with better memory can share.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 20 2024, 10:22 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 20 2024, 10:17 PM)
People withdraw they say not good, people deposit they say not good…am I the only one getting mixed signals Hee?

It does... then again, to be fair, the complaints were across different years...

herd behaviour almost.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 25 2024, 10:24 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 25 2024, 10:20 PM)
From my understanding...

Payout need to come from income of the year...

Remember got big discussion on why the higher payout ratio for Shariah vs Conventional earlier of the year??

Conventional one can carry forward to next financial years....

Also one reason why shariah don't have that guaranteed 2.5% thingy....
well, none of us can guess what that means rite? last year conventional side kena bufferred like mad... low 90s percent payout if I remember correctly.

edit: nothing to see here.... don't know why conventional pot kena buffered last year...

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Dec 25 2024, 10:36 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 25 2024, 10:35 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 25 2024, 10:31 PM)
Wahhh boss...

You mau kena SUS"ed ahhh...
Better delete the reply asap 🙏

Don't go into that route
but but but... isn't that the truth????

but yeah.... not worth it to kena banana just for saying the truth... sad.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2025, 02:51 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 2 2025, 01:30 PM)
This month is "special case"..
Because CNY falls end of the month...

So better deposit around 26 or 27 to be reflected by month end
CNY falls on 29 (wed).

so to be really safe, better send on Friday 24th, as T+2 (biz days) will be on Tuesday 28th.
extra safe, send Thursday 23rd in case some nonsense about system tergendala.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2025, 03:03 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 2 2025, 02:57 PM)
Yeah.. better be safe than sorry

near to big festival time
Banks system might creating issues....
especially those type of system upgrade that some banks love to do over weekend and near a public holiday... very weird how they pick rollout dates.

even entering carparks in mall using credit card I also have expect system delay cos kena like 2 to 3 times already. cannot leave. lol
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2025, 05:23 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jan 2 2025, 04:25 PM)
Ok. Then I'll deposit 24th, lose few days interest
Yeah. The way I see it is basically for every 10K rm, 1 days just means 1rm opportunity loss. So earlier by 2 to 3 days just means 3 rm. Similar to 1 bottle of coke. Hehe.

I personally prefer safer than lose 1 month interest of almost 6% div.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 4 2025, 03:26 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 4 2025, 03:21 PM)
Maybe depends on payout ratio

Higher like above 95%, might get high 6%

But low 90% might get just 6% or even 5.9%

😁
what if the payout ratio is in the 80s percent?
nothing is stopping this.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 6 2025, 12:23 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 6 2025, 07:55 AM)
Which mean is better self contribute at 24 or 25 jan for every year?
in terms of timing of dates within a month, -3 to -5 biz days from the end of the month should be more than safe enough. (i personally do this)
you know lar... malaysia banking system and tech sometimes can be a bit unreliable.

then again, some claim -1 biz day is good enough... cos of the tradeoff of opportunity costs (others calculated some examples earlier already... can just refer)

Wedchar2912
post Jan 7 2025, 02:34 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Jan 7 2025, 01:34 PM)
every malaysian is entitled to epf, nobody have to give up on anything no matter your status, whether you're rich or poor. You're just trying to argue for the sake of argument and in bad faith. please take these bad faith arguments to /k instead  smile.gif
lol...

that is theft... but setting up tiering of dividend rates based on aum is not theft?

lets create an example:
amount between 0 to 100K: gets 10% pa
100K to unlimited: gets 3.5% pa

this is all about "engineering a harmonious society"... lets help the super low aum members first.

ok? doh.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 7 2025, 04:15 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Jan 7 2025, 03:42 PM)
Yes I truly support this arrangement. But let's just use the existing framework:

0 - 1 million: any % dividend announced by the govt.

1 million above: 2.5% which is the prevailing statutory rate as defined by the constitution.

EPF is set up to meet social obligations and not just a for-profit machine, thus it must demonstrate taking care of social needs.

In fact, you can also use the existing Singapore CPF framework as reference:

0 - 60k: +1% on top of the existing interest rate

60k above: the prevailing interest rate.

These arrangements already exists as our current social contracts which we inherited from the British system smile.gif
Why you changing the limit?

Nevermind.lets entertain you.

Do you allow any amount above 1 million to be accessible? Remember, gov already said new limit is 1.3 million in a few years.

Btw, you really should go and beef up your knowledge on how CPF works and their mandate, vs EPF. Hint hint: what does CPF "invest" in. Else you just sound silly. Social contracts. Lol.

Edit: no wonder in malaysia got silly people who thinks they didn't steal anything of they just return the same amount back after a few years. Great math. Haha.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jan 7 2025, 04:21 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jan 7 2025, 05:04 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Jan 7 2025, 04:50 PM)
Nope, the actual question is why did you change the limit? The EPF limit was 1 million all along, why did you come up with an arbitrary 100k? What is your basis?

I always speak facts only, not speculation. Remember, this forum is not for speculation, no speculation allowed.

EPF is a social contract left by the British government, it is signed into the constitution. This is a fact.  smile.gif
Then why are you speculating and creating fake news about dividend tieing?
facts? What rubbish social contract. Show that to all of us where that is for EPF?

Btw, why you speculating about how EPF should follow cpf?

What a hypocrite.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 8 2025, 02:15 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(lock_82 @ Jan 8 2025, 06:46 AM)
Maybe one can be business owner under SSM, pay no salary but dividend hence they can make good use of this injtiative?
or those who early retired... tongue.gif
or those working overseas... blink.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 9 2025, 12:49 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(lock_82 @ Jan 8 2025, 06:09 PM)
Neither of these groups needs such benefit.. but heck gomen.. sigh
very true, but it is the loophole left by gov... in reality, its not much both to these group nor gov... especially nothing to gov... so no point closing the loop...

oh yeah, even kids/young adult can get i-saraan...
Wedchar2912
post Jan 10 2025, 09:03 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jan 10 2025, 03:51 PM)
This is why government is looking to lock all our money up and just pay a pension instead of allowing lump sum withdrawal. You all cannot be trusted.
gov should extend this to all UT/ASN/bank accounts too...

safety vs freedom/rights... safety comes first... tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 13 2025, 01:57 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jan 13 2025, 11:47 AM)
epf website down?
Seems like it.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 13 2025, 02:39 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jan 13 2025, 02:38 PM)
App is up
website also up already too...

73 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0623sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:25 PM