129 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg

eddiewsk
post Jul 22 2008, 02:38 AM

100 posts

that time i reached there around 12 pm and i told them we'll be staying for 3d 2 nite . they ask us what time is our flight b to msia, then i told them 12.50pm. so, they gave me until 11.30am to return back the car. btw it is manual. at 1st wanna take auto, he said langkawi mana ada jam...tak perlu auto lah. lolzz..if auto need to pay another RM30. well...lucky i didn't take auto cuz there's really not many car even though in town.

This post has been edited by eddiewsk: Jul 22 2008, 02:51 AM
donalduck
post Jul 22 2008, 05:11 PM

452 posts

hahaha got likdat oso ah? i c ic,, ok so i think i will DEMAND 50% no excuse, even in front gf( save fc cannot b so stingy) oso i wil bargain til get rm70-75 for sentra , hehe tq stimix for ur word. if only any of lyn member here got any contact that i can bargain earlier, no nid to hussle later lor ^^

so how isit, can rent 2 days ony a? or nid to discuss somore? aiya i hate renting car o, soo troublesome, hehe

kimhoong
post Jul 23 2008, 01:03 AM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Jul 21 2008, 10:27 AM)
Re: Kimhong

hi there, my schedule went out pretty well, in fact have plenty of free time too as I leave the Island on the late flight.
Restaurant with reasonable price that i tried - Fatmum (pantai tengah) and Palm view (pantai cenang) , both with price stated on the menu (for normal dish : small for Rm8 , medium for Rm10 etc.)

Chocolate and liquor wise I went to a few shops around the RuTian Restaurant (only eat mee , not order dish so cant really comment but was OK) , Billion and Teoh Soon Huat. Some are cheaper at one place and some are at another, so if you have time you can compare and don have to buy immediately on the spot. My pick for chocolate - Rigger Sport (DO i spell it correctly?) with Rum and Raisin (RM10.50 for 3) but of course it is expiring pretty soon tongue.gif  (one or two months time) .

If you want to eat some budget lunch then go RuTian during afternoon time as they have a few hawker stalls there

oh ya, it's rambutan season now..very cheap and nice you can buy it almost everywhere on the road side..ate it everyday especially when I was driving laugh.gif
Thanks for the feedback. I really appreciate it.

For those who are lost of this,

Actually dEviLs had prepared a schedule and I am interested to adapt it into my trip in Oct/Nov (4D3N). Just for some memory refresh, here's the schedule (find more comment from the post):
QUOTE(fraulein @ May 19 2008, 12:59 PM)
12 July 2008, Saturday
� Scheduled arrival time : 5.10pm
� Bargain for car rental (from research RM50 for Wira auto, Rakan Kota Leisure Sdn. Bhd 04-9555092 012-4621093) and mangrove tour (from research RM250 whole boat, Langkasia Travel & Tours Sdn. Bhd. 04-9662429 Othman 013-4078213)
� Check in at (going to book Federal Villa hotel)
� Dinner at Pantai Cenang (any good suggestion?) - I forgot the name, but there are quite some number of Malay stalls if you would like to go for a budget and nice dinner.
� Pasar Malam at Kuah Town (near Pekan Kuah Bridge, infront of Baron Hotel) / Pasar Malam near Beras Terbakar - Ask the locals for the updates on the location of Pasar Malam, don't trust the brochures. Pasar malam start to close at around 9pm.

13 July 2008, Sunday
� Mangrove tour, includes eagle feeding, bat caves, kelong and sight seeing (half day)
� Lunch (Tanjung Rhu Thai style roti canai at roundabout)
� Durian Perangin Waterfall / Air Hangat Hot spring - Skip these 2 places!! Damn secluded, no tourist, no people..
� Black sand beach / Crocodile Farm / Seven Well / Summer Palace - Nothing much to see at Black Sand Beach. Just black sands. Seven well is a nice place to go though.
� Mountain Mat Cincang Cable Car (Operating Hours: Friday � Sunday: 930am-700pm) - A must-go-place but brace yourself for the cable car!
� Dinner (Fatmum Restaurant?) - Fat Mum is rather expensive, but if you don't mind the $, can try.

14 July 2008, Monday
� Island Hopping
� Lunch (???)
� Beras Terbakar
� Underwater world
� Makam Mahsuri - A dissappointment
� Taman Lagenda
� Eagle Square
� Dinner(???)
� Kuah Town

15 July 2008, Tuesday
� Galeria Perdana - my friends gave thumbs up for this place.
� Kuah Town � Samudera Shopping Mall
� Airport, 1040pm flight
edwin88
post Jul 23 2008, 02:49 AM

60 posts

recommend me a place to stay at pantai cenang. i'm confused...thanks thanks. 100Xthanks:D

Added on July 23, 2008, 2:58 amcable car only open at friday, saturday and sunday?

This post has been edited by edwin88: Jul 23 2008, 02:58 AM
woodflaming
post Jul 23 2008, 06:31 PM

52 posts

came back from langkawi past 2 weeks, here r some info...

rent 2 cars once reached the island, 1 iswara rm40/day n 1 wira rm50/day after, there r plenty of car rental agents n all sort of vehicles, just right opposite the jetty, somemore can nego n check the vehicles condition. for van reantal around rm90-120, depend on the condition. nice mpv just around rm150/day smile.gif, also got new waja, sentra, pregio, scooter etc... n there r a lot of scooter, motorbike n bicycle rental along the chenang road, pantai tengah road...

stay at hotel porto malai, good, clean n beautiful but no sand beach sad.gif , breakfast ok, dinner so-so.

under water world still consider ok, just the entrance fees quite expensive, felt not much special except penguins...

cable car worth to go, prepare to walk a little bit (quite hard for old ppl, kids n lady who wear high heel shoes) if wanna go to the hanging bridge, but the view r beautiful n the nice strong wind rclxms.gif .

there a lot of beach activities at the chenang beach, can go there at the evening n check it out. also can c lots of hotel, motel, shop n restaurant along the chenang road.

if wanna shopping for free tax goods, better go to the town or chenang beach. those at the airport n jetty price tag r more expensive!

enjoy thumbup.gif !
one0202
post Jul 24 2008, 12:32 PM

429 posts

which one is better.........
take ferry at kuala kedah or kuala perlis???
how much those ferry from those place cost?
i always got ferry from kuala perlis when go to langkawi during my child.
but cant remember much.......
how long the trip from kuala kedah or kuala perlis to langkawi???
ah_fui
post Jul 24 2008, 05:45 PM

technical potatoz
858 posts

i will go langkawi soon
can i ask which rental car is good in price ?
v got 6 person! any recommendation?

where to shop ciga n chocolate n is cheap n trusworthy ??

zacevox
post Jul 25 2008, 03:24 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

QUOTE(one0202 @ Jul 24 2008, 12:32 PM)
which one is better.........
take ferry at kuala kedah or kuala perlis???
how much those ferry from those place cost?
i always got ferry from kuala perlis when go to langkawi during my child.
but cant remember much.......
how long the trip from kuala kedah or kuala perlis to langkawi???
from Kedah is 90minute while i think Perlis will be half of it. i advice you take ferry from Kedah because the travelling time to Perlis take almost 1 hour.

QUOTE(ah_fui @ Jul 24 2008, 05:45 PM)
i will go langkawi soon

all is good but make sure you bargain. you can get lower price if you not going on weekend/holiday.

take a MPV or 4wd that can fit 6people.
donalduck
post Jul 29 2008, 11:29 AM

452 posts

I found dis promotion.

http://www.genting.com.my/promovoucher/2008/faq.htm

wut say u guys?
cheaper thumbup.gif
Grengo01
post Jul 29 2008, 12:41 PM

7 star but no spesial tag...
4,669 posts

QUOTE(ah_fui @ Jul 24 2008, 05:45 PM)
i will go langkawi soon

Get a Serena... I was quoted RM320 for full 4D3N. But I took the older Mitsubishi Space Wagon.. RM200 for 4D3N.

Buy stuff.. I normally go to Eastern Native. If you buy cash for liqour.. they give discounts... ciggie no discount la...

Added on July 29, 2008, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(donalduck @ Jul 29 2008, 11:29 AM)
I found dis promotion.

http://www.genting.com.my/promovoucher/2008/faq.htm

wut say u guys?
cheaper  thumbup.gif
Those are corp vouchers. Read the conditions at the back.

Use to get them from my wife's employers.. smile.gif. Normally I use for Genting free FWH rooms or RM70 for Theme Park Hotel... pretty good deal.. the rooms are newly renovated and they throw in free Breakfast for 2! On weekdays of course.. smile.gif.

This post has been edited by Grengo01: Jul 29 2008, 12:43 PM
cocoschnuppe
post Jul 29 2008, 01:04 PM

just got back frm langkawi n stayed in Berjaya Hotels n Resorts (3days 2nite)..
so many arab ppl coming 4 holiday n the hotel is full of them.service is quite good n the rooms nice.

we rent a Vios for rm90/day n the hotel was very nice altho the front office staff was quite 'sombong'
esp the philipine gal.maybe my clotes r shabby n i look like a teenager..hoho..

oriental village r nice spot to take pics..altho we couldnt get to ride in the cable car coz on the 2nd day the whole day raining cry.gif ..so they close it for the whole day but nearby got animal park n the entrace is free.
got so many jinak rabbit n deer..hehe i like..

bought cigarattes (mild 7 per carton - rm52) in kuah town in a shop called eastern native
n chocs.quite cheap..altogether the place is very nice n we plan to go again next year..hee

p/s: do keep ur ferry tickets coz the customs wants to verify if u stayed 48hours in langkawi..
if not they will impose tax on u. icon_idea.gif
jejes
post Jul 29 2008, 04:59 PM

81 posts

I plan my first trip to Langkawi on Sept, few question:

1. Is that safe park our car at Kuala Kedah Jetty?
2. About the car rental, any name/company that your have try with good price and car in good condition? Or Which area I should look for the car rental...? Or any bad company i should advoid?

stimix
post Jul 29 2008, 07:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Aik I tot we just discussed this extensively days ago or a page b4 this hmm.gif biggrin.gif (Car rental)

About How safe parking at Kuala Kedah - OK-lah parking is a big biz at KK..not a problem...but at current fuel cost I think it's viable to fly rather than taking car - more expensive!! 1 journey to/fro KL-KK probably cost u RM500/car compare to RM100-RM200 by flying AA hmm.gif

QUOTE(jejes @ Jul 29 2008, 04:59 PM)

I plan my first trip to Langkawi on Sept, few question:

1. Is that safe park our car at Kuala Kedah Jetty?
2. About the car rental, any name/company that your have try with good price and car in good condition? Or Which area I should look for the car rental...? Or any bad company i should advoid?
This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 29 2008, 08:00 PM
jejes
post Jul 30 2008, 12:34 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 29 2008, 07:57 PM)
Aik I tot we just discussed this extensively days ago or a page b4 this  hmm.gif  biggrin.gif  (Car rental)

About How safe parking at Kuala Kedah - OK-lah parking is a big biz at KK..not a problem...but at current fuel cost I think it's viable to fly rather than taking car - more expensive!! 1 journey to/fro KL-KK probably cost u RM500/car compare to RM100-RM200 by flying AA  hmm.gif
I saw last few pages, but all talking about price la... any one can PM me the name then I can have more specific option to look for. I can imagine what they said everyone come to u like pasar malam... so... sweat.gif
I know fly from KL better also save time, but I actually need to drive back to my wife home town first (Sungai Petani) then from there I go Langkawi. That why finding an better option.. I think Kuala Kedah is nearest to SP. Anyone from SP here? Is there any Bus to Kuala Kedah From SP? my wife from SP, but she don't know anything about bus info there... sweat.gif

donalduck
post Jul 30 2008, 12:55 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Jul 29 2008, 12:41 PM)
Get a Serena... I was quoted RM320 for full 4D3N. But I took the older Mitsubishi Space Wagon.. RM200 for 4D3N.

Buy stuff.. I normally go to Eastern Native. If you buy cash for liqour.. they give discounts... ciggie no discount la...

Added on July 29, 2008, 12:43 pm

Those are corp vouchers. Read the conditions at the back.

Use to get them from my wife's employers.. smile.gif. Normally I use for Genting free FWH rooms or RM70 for Theme Park Hotel... pretty good deal.. the rooms are newly renovated and they throw in free Breakfast for 2! On weekdays of course.. smile.gif.
ah yes corp vouchers, which is very cheap if u can utilise it right? i got 1, but then 1 question here. to any1 that already use d voucher mentioned, isit only d owner of d CC that book the reservation that can check in or can any1 with d voucher and reservation number check in.

really need a clarification on this
stimix
post Jul 30 2008, 08:15 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

As mentioned by others..Yes you will be expecting Pasar Malam style..Mali-mali manyak murah ....normal-lah..That's how u get good rate...go for the one u can offer u the cheapest or shout at them I want RM30 for kancil who can give... biggrin.gif ...

I changed diff companies on each trips..no specific - just go & try bargain as much as possible. If too few car rental approach you, u will be expecting very high rate bcos they claim no more cars..That time u cannot bargain-oh..u probably getting RM100 for just awira if no one approaching you!!

QUOTE(jejes @ Jul 30 2008, 12:34 AM)
I saw last few pages, but all talking about price la... any one can PM me the name then I can  have more specific option to look for. I can imagine what they said everyone come to u like pasar malam... so...  sweat.gif
I know fly from KL better also save time, but I actually need to drive back to my wife home town first (Sungai Petani) then from there I go Langkawi. That why finding an better option.. I think Kuala Kedah is nearest to SP. Anyone from SP here? Is there any Bus to Kuala Kedah From SP? my wife from SP, but she don't know anything about bus info there...  sweat.gif
This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 30 2008, 08:16 PM
louistcs
post Jul 30 2008, 09:45 PM

i will go there on 30 sept till 2nd of oct..it's hari raya..i m worry the rental of the car will increase crazily..anyway, i go by airasia..i only want to rent the car on third day..first and second day..walking..:$ haha..i stay in cenang beach..hope there got activity for my first and second day tongue.gif
stimix
post Jul 30 2008, 09:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Whoaa super dupper peak...I kena once b4..3rd day of Hari Raya way back in 1999....Wira renatl also increase to RM70! mad.gif

QUOTE(louistcs @ Jul 30 2008, 09:45 PM)
i will go there on 30 sept till 2nd of oct..it's hari raya..i m worry the rental of the car will increase crazily..anyway, i go by airasia..i only want to rent the car on third day..first and second day..walking..:$ haha..i stay in cenang beach..hope there got activity for my first and second day tongue.gif
one0202
post Jul 30 2008, 09:53 PM

429 posts

now countdown........
4more days i will visit langkawi.......
will go on this sunday......
here i come langkawi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Criptonox89
post Jul 30 2008, 11:32 PM

2,792 posts

Hey guys..planning to go to Langkawi on this december...In Langkawi, December is demanding for tourist..? We're going in about 5 people for a 5D4N trip..arrived at night and depart from there on morning...

There's few questions here...
1. How much is the pakage of island hopping..? is that inclusive of snorkelling..? Usually where do people snorkel..?

2. Usually how much does it cost for water activities..?

3. Is that advisable to rent a motel before we are there..?

4. We're going by flight in around 5 person, flight ticket would be less than RM160..our budget would be around RM550..not more than RM600...do you think that we can make it..? include motel, meals, water activities, car rental, and cable car and stuffs..

Thanks a lot for incoming helps...i'll appreciate them..notworthy.gif

129 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0416sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:01 AM