Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Feb 13 2013, 09:47 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2013, 09:10 AM)
we got an eagle eye contender here... miao... you got a challenge...
hmm... so many challengers....

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 13 2013, 09:10 AM)
i guess it's still acceptable a risk... if it blows once and the puncture mark is near the area of the cut, then you should consider changing it...

just be more careful and ride not far from home or car during this period... if you are safe, most likely you will be quite safe for some time more...you should see my tire... it has more cuts that look more gnarly than that.. not necessarily on the sidewall, but it looks an even uglier cut than yours...
wah... missed by 1 number wo.... pao also got no use rite?
it's a bet... but the last layer should be a wire mesh which will be quite tough unless the wire meshes are already damaged in the process... you get a puncture with this new cut or you just noticed a cut....

if puncture, then there is likelihood that there is some damage done to the casing all the way through... it's just a bet... go get one of those tube patches and glue it up... .

the birzman patch kits even has a piece of plasticky material that is used for the tire in case of holes like this... i have used mine for quite some time on an ugly cut and it lasted me quite a while... still riding on the same tire now....
thinking of changing to vittoria rubino pro. after this, no more expensive race tyres. rubino's sidewall seem to be thicker than the gp's. if riding on the gp with that sidewall cut requires me to ride close to home and always cautious descending downhill, than i think it's not worth it. example, janda baik/bentong route. scary.

the inner layer is not wire mesh la. both inner and outer layer are made of fabric. when i pump full pressure, the sidewall bulges a bit. i've tried gluing patches onto the inner sidewall, but it bulges the same. i guess maybe because the sidewall is thin and supple. i even tried a patch made of old tyre. harder and stronger. it holds the sidewall, but end up with harsh ride.

so.... anybody knows the price of a vittoria rubino pro?

i used to ride on michelin prorace2. super tough! got sidewall cuts even bigger than this, but didn't bulge. much tougher sidewall than gp4000

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 13 2013, 09:49 AM
miaopurr
post Feb 13 2013, 05:03 PM

587 posts

really? i already got it ooo.... sad.gif

what do u guys use instead?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 13 2013, 05:03 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 09:24 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(yolk @ Feb 18 2013, 07:33 AM)
hey guys ... was thinking of upgrading wheels and budget doesn't cover exotic stuff such as enve or zipps  cry.gif

So far I've been looking at fulcrum racing 3, mavic ksyrium sl/elite, campy zonda, dura ace 7850/7900 c24,easton ea90 sl. These wheels are within my budget and i've spent the weekend trying to read reviews about them. From what I've gathered, it's expensive to repair/replace spokes on the fulcrum. Mavic ksyrium, depends on luck .. some are bombproof some are lemons  yawn.gif the zonda is basically like the fulcrum with different rear spoke design ? and so far there's been little or no complaints about the dura ace and apparently good value for money.

Does anyone have any experience with any of these wheelsets or any other recommendation ? Basically want a lighter wheelset for climbing and lower rolling resistance compared to my stock alex dc19 rims. Also with the current wheels I really have to fight crosswinds and it's scary especially if there's a vehicle that comes between me and the crosswind while descending shocking.gif  Will changing rims help with this or make this situation even worse ?  icon_question.gif
budget limit?
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 09:52 AM

587 posts

i'm not sure exactly the price tags of those wheels. but first, eliminate the ones above your budget. easier that way. make a shortlist.
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 11:55 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 18 2013, 11:10 AM)
or you can look into SRAM S30 wheels as it has torroidal shape copied from old zipps... if it is still around...
still around. check out spez shop
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 12:08 PM

587 posts

ooo i sudah outdated la info...

eh if in oz, get some nicely built custom wheels la..

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 18 2013, 12:09 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 12:19 PM

587 posts

i tot was in the wrong forum coz i saw some lengthy serious discussions...

godzilla built some nice wheels with ambrosio hoops and CK hubs. but the problem is, you have to come up with the parts urself.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 18 2013, 12:20 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 12:25 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 18 2013, 12:22 PM)
maybe it's mad cow disease...

or new year new resolution of plastering threads with wall of text...

or just the 28th day of the month...

uhhrrr... i don't get how they can build some ambrosio and ck combo but you still have to come up with the parts myself? have to buy spokes and nipples... isn't that a weird arrangement?
spokes n nipples, not sure.
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 12:28 PM

587 posts

i guess they provide wheelbuilding service, just the service. but not the parts.
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 12:57 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 18 2013, 12:35 PM)
doesn't that mean we have to bring our ambrosio rims and ck hubs as well?
yeap. i think i said that, didn't i?
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 05:19 PM

587 posts

i read sram red manuals. fussy product. pulleys and bb need to be serviced quite often. remove seal n drop some lube for ceramic bearings.
miaopurr
post Feb 18 2013, 05:30 PM

587 posts

i'd go with sram force instead
miaopurr
post Feb 19 2013, 04:14 PM

587 posts

i rode for years with imperfect bike fit. after my session, i could notice the difference and improvement.

willing to spend thousands on equipment, but not willing to spend a few hundreds on bike fit.

btw, i agree; ignorance is bliss

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 19 2013, 04:41 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 19 2013, 05:04 PM

587 posts

yes, i did some adjustments based on my reading. after many adjustments, i thought i'd had the perfect set up. but i engaged a bike fitter service anyway, and he made a couple of minor adjustments but significant improvement. to me, it was money well spent.
miaopurr
post Feb 19 2013, 05:17 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 19 2013, 05:13 PM)
you never know there is something better than siham until you try oyster mar... tat is why we call kena racun...
from a biomechanic perspective... you can't learn from the net because it is a very deep topic and you need to understand and i do mean understand human physique to make it work... it's not about having the video tracking software and adjust it to this and that angle and that's it...

having a Full Frame DSLR doesn't actually make you a professional photographer if you know what i mean... it's the knowledge and the experience of doing it...
yes, trained eyes see differently
miaopurr
post Feb 19 2013, 07:03 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(arren86 @ Feb 19 2013, 07:02 PM)
guys, do you know where can i get CORIMA wheels in penang?
try KSH
miaopurr
post Feb 19 2013, 07:58 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 19 2013, 07:34 PM)
wah.. open until penang also you know... your antenna damn long leh....
like davy jones' tentacles
miaopurr
post Feb 20 2013, 12:19 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(ctan6611 @ Feb 19 2013, 11:51 PM)
Anyone know where to get HED wheels in Malaysia? I am interested in HED H3 clincher.

try avanti shop
miaopurr
post Feb 20 2013, 03:35 PM

587 posts

i dare not answer coz i know u'll twist my words
miaopurr
post Feb 20 2013, 03:41 PM

587 posts

after the 15 days, u can always quote previous posts