Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Feb 5 2013, 01:37 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 5 2013, 01:31 PM)
Will be going back to Msia in March. Hopefully GHSpeedbikes has some Sworks SL4 frameset for my size.

Or should I get the complete bike SL4 non Sworks if the price is not much of a different than the sworks frame?

i know they dont carry the Tarmac Pro, the highest level is Expert model i think. What do you guys think?
my friend would go with the non sworks complete bike if the spec is right. if not, he might look at the non sworks frameset.

vinann will wait for u at GH entrance. just u wait.... prepare to be challenged
miaopurr
post Feb 5 2013, 01:50 PM

587 posts

or maybe he will greet u at the GS door and say... "prepare to be challenged... see u soon.... i won't tell u when... but i will see u soon... "

and then he'll just leave.... leaving the new spez owner wondering when he'll be challenged... like a thriller/mystery/suspense movie

he'll leave while doing this;

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 5 2013, 01:53 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 5 2013, 05:52 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 5 2013, 03:40 PM)
Ok can anyone give me the ballpark figure of a complete sl4 bike in GHS? Is it rm14k or 12k?

Groupset is the least of my concern, neither do wheelsets.
no idea man...
miaopurr
post Feb 6 2013, 11:52 AM

587 posts

so plain water is better?
miaopurr
post Feb 6 2013, 12:29 PM

587 posts

dropper? sure... he dropped ullrich after he gave that fella the look

http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2013/02/let-the-season-begin/

"Everyone in the pro peloton bashes one particular groupset though. It’s all in good fun, but it’s an unwritten rule that you have to take the piss out of the guys who are on that groupset."

sram?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 6 2013, 12:30 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 6 2013, 12:31 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 6 2013, 12:18 PM)
plain water with low osmolality...

i bet people will think you are crazy if you ask for water with low osmolality...
i meant, a drink with low solubles. plain water laaa... right?
miaopurr
post Feb 6 2013, 11:41 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 6 2013, 11:06 PM)
Wait ahh later I post up here. Perhaps I can invite vin Ann for a spin at genting sempah and later read his blog how he smoked me and my brand new Sworks
sounds like a great plan
miaopurr
post Feb 7 2013, 08:56 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 7 2013, 02:50 AM)
If he can settle for less, why wouldn't I?
because he doesn't have itchy hands like you do
miaopurr
post Feb 7 2013, 05:09 PM

587 posts

mrjgx, what r u waiting for?

http://redkiteprayer.com/2013/01/the-speci...mac-sl4-part-i/

http://redkiteprayer.com/2013/02/the-speci...ac-sl4-part-ii/
miaopurr
post Feb 7 2013, 10:49 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 7 2013, 10:11 PM)
I'm not some of the rich guy who simply buy stuffs without knowing what are the advantages I'll get..i've a friend who will buy anything that he deemed superior and top class and then clouded his mind that he sees improvement on his performance. Kinda of placebo effect. To each his own wink.gif
that's why i gave u the links. for u to read about its awesomeness

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 7 2013, 10:49 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 7 2013, 10:54 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 7 2013, 10:11 PM)
Ok I have a question on energy consumption for us cyclist. Let say, I can hold an avg speed of 32kmh-35kmh for 100km as a proven baseline. I bonked at 100km, hitting the wall, no energy left even to draft someone. Just pedalling to reach the finish line. Then on the following week while maintaining the same avg speed, I bonked at 80km. Is it because of my calorie intake prior to the 100km ride is not the same? How to prolong the energy before I get bonk? Eating on the bike will help? Can I eat like mad 1 week before the 100km ride and ride so damn hard to allow me to go faster even after completing the 100km?
honestly i have no idea. i bonked once. i mean, the real bonk. that was because i didn't have enough mileage (weak base). i try not to think too much. i eat as how a glutton would. i always believe that bonking is due to weak base and improper hydration during the ride. energy, i have lots of it in my reserve.
miaopurr
post Feb 7 2013, 11:09 PM

587 posts

btw, is spez's OSBB the same as BB30? confused

btw mrjgx, i have to agree with RKP; it's hard to slam the stem on a tarmac, at least for me. the headtube is super short.

poor pat

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 8 2013, 12:17 AM
miaopurr
post Feb 8 2013, 09:00 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 8 2013, 01:30 AM)
haiyar.. it's a race frame mar... it's meant for people who can bend backwards to lick the floor...still you can slam the stem if you want... just be sure to say bye bye to your back or say hello to brokeback mountain...
that's why i have 2cm spacers below the stem. can't slam it, but still comply with The Rules
miaopurr
post Feb 8 2013, 10:19 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 8 2013, 09:37 AM)
2CM??? that is quite a lot isn't it?

I only have a 5mm spacer under the stem and another 5mm under the stem cap.

Didn't slam it, but i kept on chopping the steerer tube until i have only 5mm spacer left. No roads to regret now.
2cm is ok. the limit set by velominati smile.gif

i wanted to have the same setup as my kuota
miaopurr
post Feb 8 2013, 10:30 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 8 2013, 10:09 AM)
anyway anybody can convince me that tarmac is better than venge?  rolleyes.gif
up to u, whichever u fancy. beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, right?

i thought u prefer the classic look? well, tarmac isn't exactly classic, but at least it doesn't look like a TT bike on diet.

and u can use aftermarket seatpost, unlike venge.

i'd go with tarmac.
miaopurr
post Feb 9 2013, 09:46 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Feb 9 2013, 06:07 PM)
The diameter of a seat post does not effect the geometry of the bike. And no a seat post is not a vagina, it cannot accommodate anything larger then its intended size.
butthead, looks like you have a contender here...

dafuq happened to my tyres! yesterday, noticed some tiny sidewall cuts in both front n rear tyres. once pumped to full pressure, the cuts expanded a bit. just small cuts, but scared to take the risk. there goes rm300.....

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 9 2013, 09:51 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 10 2013, 03:20 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 9 2013, 11:38 PM)
i shall not be outdone, but lets not gross people out on cny shall we...

it's better to waste the 300 now than swear 300 times when your tire explodes mid ride somewhere far far away from home dude...no amount of tubes can save you by then
RODE ON NEW TYRES THIS MORNING AND GOT ANOTHER SIDEWALL CUT!!! WHAT LAH???
miaopurr
post Feb 10 2013, 04:16 PM

587 posts

similar. nevermind, i'll patch the cut from inside. i'll glue some tube cut outs
miaopurr
post Feb 12 2013, 04:20 PM

587 posts

guys, is it safe to continue riding on this tyre?

miaopurr
post Feb 12 2013, 06:34 PM

587 posts

there are two layers of fabric in the sidewall casing. the first layers is torn. only one layer left, which is the inner one

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:31 PM