Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Apr 18 2013, 10:35 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 18 2013, 10:33 PM)
haizzzz, 12-30t

but steep uphill is fun sometimes tongue.gif
30t nanti kena cari long cage rd
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2013, 10:40 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 18 2013, 10:37 PM)
if that is not gaya... then what is it?

that or you need 22speed...  22 speed cassette that is....
what kind of wheel can fit in 22s cassette?
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2013, 10:42 PM

587 posts

it's kinda late to buy a new 27t 10s cassette anyway... sigh.... now it's 11s already. how much is a 27t DA cassette huh?
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2013, 11:00 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 18 2013, 10:57 PM)
miao... i suggest you buy this

and scratch your itch..
trying to resist the itch lah. cassette 5xx - 6xx. damnit! just gotta climb however slow la
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2013, 11:27 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 18 2013, 11:21 PM)
you buy the saddle lar... RM495 and it is a professional scratcher.... guarantee itch to go away...
baik beli cassette terus. aparaaa
miaopurr
post Apr 19 2013, 06:41 PM

587 posts

but le butthead pays my salary. i work for him

anyway. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...=1&l=865e4005d0

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 19 2013, 08:30 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 20 2013, 02:14 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Alvis_Woo @ Apr 20 2013, 07:41 AM)
hi guys~ i'm going to buy my first road bike~
just wanna raise some matters here :-

1) My budget around RM2,500 - Which bike should i go for?
- Giant Defy 3 / Merida race lite 901 / others?

2) If i buy from the shop, would the staff measure my body to see suit for which frame size?
- Giant Speciality store (Wangsa Maju) / KSH Merida (PJ) , both shop also will measure?

thanks ^ ^
1) could you paste the links to the bikes you're considering?

2) not sure. i've never bought a complete bike from them, so can't really say la. never been to giant wangsa maju shop. and i've never seen bikefitting tools at pedalspot PJ shop. i guess they'd advice the frame size based on your height.
miaopurr
post Apr 20 2013, 09:52 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Alvis_Woo @ Apr 20 2013, 06:20 PM)
i'm 168cm  rclxub.gif , someone said can go Specialized shop to do a full fitting report, but cost RM800  doh.gif
u can have a professional bikefitting session for rm300. let me know if you are interested.

i'd go with merida

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 20 2013, 09:56 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 21 2013, 10:56 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Apr 20 2013, 11:35 PM)
What does a professional bike fitting session do?
give me your email address. i'll send you the flyer. it's 350, not 300. sorry.

but you need to have a bike first, i think.
miaopurr
post Apr 21 2013, 11:08 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Apr 21 2013, 03:37 AM)
I'd like to share this discussion I found on the net. Don't get me wrong, I'm not implying which one is better as I have both alu and carbon bike (honestly I can't feel much differences between them). Some of the replies had a good and valid points. Perhaps it can help those beginners out there who are seeking their first road bike and unsure between alu or carbon frame.  blush.gif
ahh there's many more in that discussion..you can read more here:

http://forums.roadbikereview.com/bikes-fra...-do-276830.html

My take? Whatever it is, just get the first roadbike new. Be it alu or carbon or bamboo or whatever.
u need to go back to the engineering aspect la. alu has definite fatigue lifespan. not with carbon. carbon has no fatigue life. coz fatigue can be calculated only on metal material. but that doesn't mean carbon is better. carbon quality depends on who manufactures them and the grade of carbon cloth and resin, etc. that argument about aluminum engine and aircraft is complete BS. the kind of loads applied onto a bicycle frame and onto aircraft and engine block are completely different. even the purpose also different.

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 21 2013, 03:46 AM)
and yet, you are giving away free stuff ruining my biznes...

dafug kind of balls have u?
promo for our shop la. but nobody interested. malaysians rich i guess, don't want free stuff.
miaopurr
post Apr 21 2013, 06:59 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 21 2013, 12:40 PM)
ei....no side income... need i remind you of company policies?
of cos la it'll go into the shop's cash register
miaopurr
post Apr 21 2013, 07:02 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Apr 21 2013, 01:52 PM)
Aah..yeah afteral Carbon is better. Seems like the stiffness and fatigue is the main factor for carbon to win.

So now im in dilemma. Should i sell my Merida? There's an interested buyer already. Or should i keep it and upgrade it bit by bit? My allez is way lighter than my Merida now..

Sell or not????
sell. coz u r gonna sell it anyway, right? remember ur sl5 plan?
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 04:43 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 01:16 PM)
Thank you Butthead, I am ready to take the plunge, so what are the good options available in the market? The Watch types or those with a strap clinging on to the chest type. Please be more specific about the product or have Miao, your head Honcho to lay the poison!
all heart rate monitors use chest strap lah.
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 08:45 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 22 2013, 06:27 PM)
on another dirty thought...how does the girls use the chest strap???

won't the rubbing of the strap stimulate their
user posted image???

food for thought...
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 08:55 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 06:13 PM)
Sigma is quite interesting with the many features, altimeter is a plus.
What do you say about the watch type, be it any good brand that you can recommend?
it depends on what you prefer. if the cyclocomputer type is what you prefer, then you won't choose wristwatch type no matter how good it is, right? so first you need to know, which type tickles ur fancy?

as for me, i don't like wristwatch type. i prefer cyclocomputer type.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 22 2013, 08:59 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 09:04 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 09:00 PM)
I am on a blank page, no preference at all. Need to reconcile all the suggestion and make a decision base on recommendation. If it is good enough for , it is good enough for me lo.
u can do an easy test.
1) wear a wristwatch. go out on ur bike. time to time, look at your wristwatch. is it convenient? no problem?
2) are u the type who hates to mount and dismount a device/gadget onto your handlebar before and after every ride? you can mount your watch on your handlebar, but u need to remove it afterwards, and repeat it everytime before ur ride.

so, what's it gonna be?
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 09:25 PM

587 posts

i suggest you read this review first.

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/vi...php?f=8&t=70862

after u've read it, tell me what you think, and i'll add my experience with polar and garmin
miaopurr
post Apr 22 2013, 11:42 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 11:20 PM)
At this juncture, Miao Kor, I am looking at the basic, and until I have tried it, I can't say where I will go from there.
The Cyclocom should give me enough info for my workout, in particularly HRM,
I will be looking at the HR Zones with alert. The rest of the features, speed, altitude and cadence will be fine. I am not a gadget freak so keeping it simple is not a bad idea.
I hope I have given you enough info on my expectation to allows you to leave me some pointers. Thank you.
personally, what i want to see on the display are; speed, distance, clock, heart rate. that's all. i don't need the extra features of garmin's (that's what i have now). i had a polar CS200 before, but the downside of it is the speed sensor unit is sealed. if the battery dies, u need to buy a complete sensor replacement. not cheap i tell u. they claim it can last 3500hrs of riding. but mine only lasted much much much less than that. then i bought garmin. the only thing i wanted was, reliability. just a few months of use, i had a problem with the garmin heart rate sensor. to me, died on me after only a few months, was just plain crap. some friends i knew had the same problem with garmin sensors. and they don't replace the sensor unit one-to-one. they take it from you first, and check, and took some time before they replace it for u. unlike polar warranty, i got mine replaced one-to-one right there right then, no question asked. garmin aftersale service really stinks.

so if what u want is the same as me, which is reliability, i will have to say, just go with the affordable ones and can give u the basic information. if my garmin dies again, i will just chuck it in the trashbin. my next option will be:

1) cateye strada digital wireless with heart rate monitor http://www.cateye.com/en/products/detail/CC-RD420DW/
OR
2) normal cateye cyclocomputer AND polar wristwatch type HRM

25 Pages « < 23 24 25Top

0.0532sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:52 AM