Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V6, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

SAMPERTH
post Jul 30 2013, 10:03 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ Jul 30 2013, 12:28 AM)
Hi Sam,

Yes I am but have not acquire any new additions since few years ago. How are you?

Uzairi? Still around? How are you bro?

These days seldom see nice turtles and tortoises in pet shops...not sure to be happy or sad...one hand its less illegal trade( i hope so), on the other I dont get to see them =(

Emys remain my favourite although I dont have any...its full of character and like a tank smile.gif
Regards
I am fine THANKS

Ya only the dull legal stuff mostly left in shops !!

Emys both Black and Brown are nice and like you say full of character and different !! They are 2 of my favourite too .

Uzairi , still around but just to read and comment once in a while SO HE SAY .
SAMPERTH
post Jul 30 2013, 10:06 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(LTO @ Jul 29 2013, 10:53 PM)
Depends on species and size? I have a leopard, radiated and star. Star is smaller. Currently star n radiated 2gether. Thinking of putting the leopard in also.
Size also another factor beside their needs in term of diet or husbandry !!

Radi wont start to mature till 12-14"
Leopard about 6-8"

Male Star as early as 4"

SAMPERTH
post Jul 30 2013, 02:21 PM

517 posts

Just a point - all 3 sp mention ie Indian star , Radiated and Leopard are from pretty Dry habitat just maybe Leopard's drier for more parts of the year !!

But all 3 can be trained to adapt to our wetter , more humid climitate if start young or better still Buatan Malaysia - CB locally

SAMPERTH
post Jul 30 2013, 02:23 PM

517 posts

I dont spoonfeed nowadays - think a bit , research a bit around my reply and one might learn faster
SAMPERTH
post Jul 31 2013, 06:12 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(simon7788 @ Jul 30 2013, 11:24 PM)
Hi bro, do you mind to share your sulcata housing habitat picture? I do have a pair of Sulcata, brought over last year August and i keeping them in the 2ft aquarium.

Slowly i realize the 2ft aquarium do not suit them and i plan to build a wooden housing for them. At least got some space for them run around.

Anyone here try to keep Sulcata with Star before?
NA

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Aug 6 2013, 06:32 PM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 5 2013, 08:03 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Aug 4 2013, 07:36 PM)
help... anyone know where to buy antibiotic eye drop for my terrapin? got white spot above his eye.  cry.gif

found this info on net

Eye infections and conjunctivitis
Eye infections often begin as a small white spot on the surface of the cornea (the clear front portion of the eye). As the infection progresses, it can spread over the entire surface and create an ulcer on the eye. It is important that these infections are not confused with cataracts or the less common hypovitaminosis A. Infections may also occur in the eyelids creating irritation and swelling. The cause of many of these infections is contaminated water in aquatic or semi aquatic turtles, or low environmental humidity in tortoises.
The treatment of eye infections usually consists of topical antibiotic eye drops with neomycin, chloramphenicol, or gentamycin most commonly used. In aquatic turtles, injectable antibiotics may often have to be used due to the inability of keeping topical drops or ointments on the eye for a long enough time to provide treatment.
NA

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Aug 6 2013, 06:31 PM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 6 2013, 09:34 PM

517 posts

Must be a bug !!
SAMPERTH
post Aug 30 2013, 10:39 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(YeW91 @ Aug 27 2013, 06:21 PM)
HELP ~my little indian star tortise get white eye , any idea how to cure ?
QUOTE(YeW91 @ Aug 30 2013, 11:09 PM)
cant open eye at all , only drink water never eat 1 week already
WOW !! So serious even after ask for more information also take more than 2 days !!

My advise is chuck it in the bin and thus wont waste more of your time beside money !!

-----------

Like i always say baby size chelonian even thou cheapest to buy are also highest risk from mishandling and if sick Very Very slim chance of recovering .

Good luck
SAMPERTH
post Mar 3 2014, 04:08 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(jloydjay @ Mar 3 2014, 12:03 AM)
And also, what size should a tortoise be before I get them from a pet shop? (i.e. will too young hatchlings be too fragile to handle?)
Depending on source ie WC or CB beside species - but best buy them after 3" but still if the basic diet or required temperature , humidity are not provided even 6 incher can be fragile !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jun 18 2014, 07:14 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(gsJackMin @ Jun 18 2014, 01:35 AM)
Hi everyone.... im a new turtle owner here. Got myself 2 small Taiwan long tail turtle and 1 albino softshell turtle. The 2 small long tail I bought few weeks ago and they been doing ok, then yesterday saw this strange looking white little fella and I just love it. Any experience ppl here can teach me how to take care of this albino? Is my tank setup ok for them? I been trying to google more infos on the turtle, but would really appreciate if anyone can identify the albino is a male or female. Im currently using a 2.5feet tank, will that sufficient for them? Im currently feeding the albino with the turtle pellet I giving the other Taiwan guy, is that ok? the pet shop ask me to get the blood worm, but my wife gonna kill me if I put the worms in her fridge lol.
Nice but , please do not mix them together , size different is too great !!

The albino softshell ( aggressive type ) will start with the long tail and the whole next !!

SAMPERTH
post Jun 21 2014, 02:07 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(gsJackMin @ Jun 20 2014, 12:15 AM)
sam thank you for your kind advice! ok, shall separate them in another tank...... I read your previous posts, know u are a big sifu !!
Staying low and not active as before here !!

SAMPERTH
post Jun 30 2014, 01:11 PM

517 posts

[attachmentid=4034154]

That time of year again !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2014, 05:17 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(gblastme @ Jul 7 2014, 01:50 AM)
All the sifu out here , may i know where can i get alligator snapping turtle age 8 onwards ??
That will be a very big one !!

For Display ? or as Breeder ?

I dont mind parting a few of mine if
- You can come pick up ( I am in Sabah )
- You can tempt me to !!

Cheers

SAMPERTH
post Jul 8 2014, 04:56 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 7 2014, 08:30 PM)
Day 29: Egg 5 - 8

drool.gif
😱

Well done and Good luck !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 8 2014, 05:40 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Jul 8 2014, 05:40 PM)
Hi Sifu SAMPERTH,

May I know why the sad face?

Your kind advice will be much appreciated..  blink.gif
I use that as OMG face LOL

Any particular advice you after ?

- Dont rotate the eggs
- Keep Temp. below 32oC
- Keep substrate moist at all times ….. these are pretty SOP !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Oct 25 2014, 08:20 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(winnieho88 @ Oct 14 2014, 10:38 AM)
'm new here~~i have jz bought two new tortoises, those u can easily buy at pet shop~~i set up the tank with a turtle cliff with a filter embedded in it, some small pebbles n some fake plants for them to cling on~~n a light on the tank, not a uv one~~ but ever since i brought them back on sunday, they  have been hiding in any possible corner they could find~~ n they refuse to eat anything~~i noe baby tortoises take some time to get used to new environment, but they are not eating n im worried that they wud starve~~ they jz stay at the same spot for the entire day without even moving~~ could they b hibernating?
Baby animals dont hibernate !! Sick abaies will hid and stay still most of the time and refusing food !!

Those Red ear slider @ RES i think is the Turtle we are talking here as tortoise cant swim or need those turtle cliff …….

SAMPERTH
post Oct 25 2014, 08:29 AM

517 posts

[attachmentid=4185108]

Just to show how difference siblings can be !

[attachmentid=4185109]

Last season's babies !!
SAMPERTH
post Nov 4 2014, 09:22 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Nov 2 2014, 09:31 PM)
The center one has so few rays tongue.gif
That's why not all hatch equal !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Nov 10 2014, 11:57 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(BubuTheStar @ Nov 4 2014, 10:40 AM)
Hi Guys! I have an adult star tortoise but I don't know what is the gender. It's about 9-10 inches in length and maybe 6-7 inches at it's widest. My gut feeling is it's a male cos its tail is quite thick and long, folded sideways.

Anyone has an adult female and interested in breeding with my handsome male?
My educated guess will be 9-10" Indian star is aa female !!

Cheers
SAMPERTH
post Nov 17 2014, 02:14 PM

517 posts

Any pictures to show ? Picture = a thousand word

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0431sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:12 PM