12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Primies JUST Primes ! OPTIMUS PRIME !, Photographers who only use prime lens...

dvlzplayground
post Feb 3 2013, 10:26 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 3 2013, 01:26 AM)
yea... agak there ba @_@ haha... eh btw i need advice.. im going to buy a 35mm f1.8G already , i'm considering should i get another 2nd hand 85mm f1.8G.. people offering me 1050... 1 year used no any defects in the lens.. how ah?? or should i guai guai shoot with 35mm first ._.
i think that's quite cheap... normally i see 2nd hand around 1.2k or 1.3k
yfyap69
post Feb 3 2013, 05:13 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 2 2013, 07:15 PM)
okay =D decided to get the G one.. btw any idea whats the lowest price for 1st hand 1.8G 85mm? so far found 1.39k nia lowest
I bought mine for rm3460 when it first launch from Hike in PG. Not sure the price now. Don't rush into buying too many lens at 1 go. You need to familiarized with the lens first before trying out another one.
dvlzplayground
post Feb 3 2013, 10:25 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 3 2013, 05:13 PM)
I bought mine for rm3460 when it first launch from Hike in PG. Not sure the price now. Don't rush into buying too many lens at 1 go. You need to familiarized with the lens first before trying out another one.
hah rm3460 for the 85mm f/1.8G lens? u serious ah bro... damn overpriced. i bought a few weeks after it became available on shashinki... around rm1500 only eh
TSBlizzardCraft
post Feb 4 2013, 02:45 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 3 2013, 05:13 PM)
i think urs is 1.4G ba @_@

erm now UP is 1.35~1.4k... 2nd hand 1k ba... hmm... because if wanna get the 85mm next time.. need wait dam long alr @@ going overseas study.. tried shooting with 85mm focal today ! LOVED IT biggrin.gif felt wanna buy it more lah =X ayam kinda confuse again @_@ by tuesday havta decide !
Holyjolly
post Feb 4 2013, 03:12 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 4 2013, 02:45 AM)
i think urs is 1.4G ba @_@

erm now UP is 1.35~1.4k... 2nd hand 1k ba... hmm... because if wanna get the 85mm next time.. need wait dam long alr @@ going overseas study.. tried shooting with 85mm focal today ! LOVED IT biggrin.gif felt wanna buy it more lah =X ayam kinda confuse again @_@ by tuesday havta decide !
Some picture macha taken by the 85mm? You bought it from Lowyat forum already?
TSBlizzardCraft
post Feb 4 2013, 03:39 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Feb 4 2013, 03:12 AM)
Some picture macha taken by the 85mm? You bought it from Lowyat forum already?
bo la~ i mean taking with 85mm focal @ zoom XD sry din explain clearly ! good distance lah on a DX sensor... the 50mm for me felt like distance between me and the object is like hanging mid air range... not close not far...
i think mostly gonna deal with the guy on tuesday smile.gif but still need to think further abit...
yfyap69
post Feb 4 2013, 11:56 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 3 2013, 10:25 PM)
hah rm3460 for the 85mm f/1.8G lens? u serious ah bro... damn overpriced. i bought a few weeks after it became available on shashinki... around rm1500 only eh
Sorry, my brain is playing tricks on me...Should be RM1360.
TSBlizzardCraft
post Feb 4 2013, 01:26 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 4 2013, 11:56 AM)
Sorry, my brain is playing tricks on me...Should be RM1360.
oooo.. means price already stable lah... fun lens? XD
yfyap69
post Feb 4 2013, 09:59 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 4 2013, 01:26 PM)
oooo.. means price already stable lah... fun lens? XD
Depend on what u wanna shoot. I used this lens a lot to take head shot of my son. I liked it very much. More than my 35 mm 1.8G.
TSBlizzardCraft
post Feb 4 2013, 10:18 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 4 2013, 09:59 PM)
Depend on what u wanna shoot. I used this lens a lot to take head shot of my son. I liked it very much. More than my 35 mm 1.8G.
yea 85mm focal on DX head shots nice! u using DX oso? what u feel about half body shots?

for 35mm i'm using it for streets biggrin.gif
yfyap69
post Feb 5 2013, 09:42 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 4 2013, 10:18 PM)
yea 85mm focal on DX head shots nice! u using DX oso? what u feel about half body shots?

for 35mm i'm using it for streets biggrin.gif
I used to use DX (D7000). Now I upgrade to FX (D600). I still like the 85 on DX better due to the crop factor. Thinking of getting the 135 now. For 1/2 body shots, still ok but need to stand a bit far. I tried to use 35 for head shot and the result is so weird. The nose will look so big. You have to get so close that my son will grab my lens. That's why I get the 85.
TSBlizzardCraft
post Feb 5 2013, 09:58 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 5 2013, 09:42 AM)
I used to use DX (D7000). Now I upgrade to FX (D600). I still like the 85 on DX better due to the crop factor. Thinking of getting the 135 now. For 1/2 body shots, still ok but need to stand a bit far. I tried to use 35 for head shot and the result is so weird. The nose will look so big. You have to get so close that my son will grab my lens. That's why I get the 85.
hehe cute son ! rclxms.gif
yea 35mm for portraits are weird X.X !
Calvin Seak
post Feb 5 2013, 11:53 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Feb 5 2013, 09:58 AM)
hehe cute son !  rclxms.gif
yea 35mm for portraits are weird X.X !
Its for you to shoot full body biggrin.gif

Comic Fiesta-4 by Calvin Seak, on Flickr

Zeiss 35mm F1.4
shootkk
post Feb 5 2013, 12:10 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

You really should not use too wide angle to shoot portraits. Wide angle lenses tend to introduce distortions. Things that are close to the lens will get magnified and things further away tend to look smaller and far away.

You need to be careful to keep the lens level and not pointing upwards or downwards at subject to minimize the distortions. Sometimes distortions can work but most times it just screws up the picture, especially if it's portraits.

Looking at Calvin Seak's picture the distortion is obvious. Notice how her chest area is magnified and her legs are small and looked far away?

Well, some may like the distortion but it's a bit uncomfortable for me.

For full body or half body shots, I like to use my 50mm but I'm on a full frame sensor.
Calvin Seak
post Feb 5 2013, 02:18 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Feb 5 2013, 12:10 PM)
You really should not use too wide angle to shoot portraits. Wide angle lenses tend to introduce distortions. Things that are close to the lens will get magnified and things further away tend to look smaller and far away.

You need to be careful to keep the lens level and not pointing upwards or downwards at subject to minimize the distortions. Sometimes distortions can work but most times it just screws up the picture, especially if it's portraits.

Looking at Calvin Seak's picture the distortion is obvious. Notice how her chest area is magnified and her legs are small and looked far away?

For full body or half body shots, I like to use my 50mm but I'm on a full frame sensor.
Hehe biggrin.gif

Like you said shot from upwards! What 50mm are you using?
shootkk
post Feb 5 2013, 02:21 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 5 2013, 02:18 PM)
Hehe biggrin.gif

I use a Sony 50mm f1.4
lwliam
post Feb 5 2013, 07:12 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

Let's complete the collection. 50, 85, 135

Love the 50 1.4 on a full frame sensor.

20120707_1533 by william leong, on Flickr

Camera Sony DSLR-A850
Exposure 0.003 sec (1/320)
Aperture f/1.6
Focal Length 50 mm
ISO Speed 1600
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

20130128_1543 by william leong, on Flickr

Camera Sony SLT-A77V
Exposure 0.004 sec (1/250)
Aperture f/1.6
Focal Length 85 mm
ISO Speed 1600
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

20130128_1619 by william leong, on Flickr

Camera Sony DSLR-A850
Exposure 0.008 sec (1/125)
Aperture f/5.6
Focal Length 135 mm
ISO Speed 400
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash On, Fired

This post has been edited by lwliam: Feb 5 2013, 07:15 PM
TSBlizzardCraft
post Feb 5 2013, 11:15 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 5 2013, 02:18 PM)
Hehe biggrin.gif

I see what u did there ! =P

eh btw, distortion...... so can make girls to look THIN?! can ?? thumbup.gif

QUOTE(shootkk @ Feb 5 2013, 12:10 PM)

hmm... i'm thinking of keeping my 35mm and get a 85mm , thus selling off my 50mm for my D7k DX camera... 85mm okay for portaits rite? no distortion as like the 50mm? or shud i keep the 50mm..

This post has been edited by BlizzardCraft: Feb 5 2013, 11:22 PM
shootkk
post Feb 5 2013, 11:47 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

50mm does not distort much unless you are very close to your subject.

35mm will distort more compared to 50mm.

Generally, the longer the focal length, the less it will distort.

If you use the distortion to make girls look thin then they will look very weird.
TSBlizzardCraft
post Feb 6 2013, 12:44 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Feb 5 2013, 11:47 PM)
50mm does not distort much unless you are very close to your subject.

35mm will distort more compared to 50mm.

Generally, the longer the focal length, the less it will distort.

If you use the distortion to make girls look thin then they will look very weird.
hmm okay then =) thx for the info ! so means 85mm is better than 50mm alot? same purpose almost? ( in DX )

35mm i'm gona use for streets generally =) and 5 people shots like that

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0249sec    1.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:35 PM