Primies JUST Primes ! OPTIMUS PRIME !, Photographers who only use prime lens...

KTCY
post Mar 18 2013, 12:44 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Mar 17 2013, 09:49 PM)
what u mean by easy to use? ._. hmm... the 0.4 difference really so significant meh? or its the glass quality + distortion thing... so far the msot annoying part of my 35 f1.8 is the CA  mad.gif
Siggy 30 f1.8 leh?
0.4 different alot for guy ? tongue.gif
Pun intended. And yeah I was talking about the glass quality.

Easier to use as in not too wide. 24mm on FF is very wide. which is 16mm on crop.
sorry. not a siggy fans. 30/1.8 not my cup of tea.
TSBlizzardCraft
post Mar 18 2013, 12:56 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 18 2013, 12:44 AM)
0.4 different alot for guy ? tongue.gif
Pun intended. And yeah I was talking about the glass quality.

Easier to use as in not too wide. 24mm on FF is very wide. which is 16mm on crop.
sorry. not a siggy fans. 30/1.8 not my cup of tea.
haha... 0.4 extra can snap meimei faster ?

oo, but 24 sibek expensive... @_@ price increment alot compare to 35
KTCY
post Mar 18 2013, 07:35 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Mar 18 2013, 12:56 AM)
haha... 0.4 extra can snap meimei faster ?

oo, but 24 sibek expensive... @_@ price increment alot compare to 35
Been there tongue.gif

tongue.gif
I'm more to gear collector tho tongue.gif
ifer
post Mar 18 2013, 08:42 AM

4,637 posts

Prime lens shooters.
I am sure you are aware of the Kuala Lumpur Photo Awards 2013 competition that is taking place currently.
The deadline for the submission is on the 31st MArch 2013.

Do submit your creamiest bokeh portrait photographs

KL Photo Awards 2013
KTCY
post Apr 1 2013, 04:36 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Welcome back my baby wub.gif
More photo spamming soon tongue.gif
seather
post Apr 1 2013, 10:44 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

latest addition to my collection... the Cow Sai Lens laugh.gif (if u speak hokkien u know what it means laugh.gif)

shot with another prime: 105mm micro vr brows.gif
mumeichan
post Apr 2 2013, 12:15 PM

4,152 posts

I have a few lenses now both primes and zoom for my APS C sensor camera. Currently I use the 28mm when I shoot scenery and the 50mm when I want to shoot single subject because of the longer focal length and option to go down to f/1.4 if I really want a super shallow DOF (too much rubbish in the surrounding).

I just bought a 35mm and it will probably be the one I will be using the most and has the most normal perspective to me. Normally if I ever need a wider FOV, I will just shoot a series of pictures and stitch it together in Photoshop.

My problem now is that sometime I want that wide angle perspective. Although people say perspective is a function of the distance of the subject from the focal plane, stitching together pictures does not achieve the same perspective as using a wide angle lens. It does have somekind of distorted perspective, but not the same.

I know this because I happen to have a spare camera (also apsc) with a 16mm lens and stitching together frames from a 28mm and 45mm doesn't give me the same effect.

So now I can buy a 18-50 lens for about 80 dollars. Or I can get a 16mm lens which cost about 200 dollars.

With the information I've provided, would there be a huge difference in FOV and perspective between a 18mm and 16mm on a crop sensor?
shootkk
post Apr 2 2013, 03:13 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

mumeichan: I'm not sure what you are looking for but I do know that a 16mm lens on a crop sensor the FOV is akin to using a 24mm lens on a full frame sensor and the 18mm on crop is closer to 28mm FOV on a full frame.

If you've ever looked through a full frame camera, you will know that the 24mm is quite different from the 28mm. I think that 24mm is just nice and 28mm is just not wide enough for me.
KTCY
post Apr 2 2013, 08:00 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

I'm mounting 24mm on FF now and lovin' it smile.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Apr 2 2013, 08:24 PM
incubus_skj
post Apr 2 2013, 09:02 PM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

fellow prime lens user lipoting in... but i'm from the m43 faction la tongue.gif

My gears include the Oly 17mm 1.8, PL25mm 1.4 and Oly 45mm 1.8... and 2 OM-D bodies to use them with
mumeichan
post Apr 3 2013, 03:22 AM

4,152 posts

Q@Wwqquote=shootkk,Apr 2 2013, 03:13 PM]qwQE@w
mumeichan: I'm not sure what you are looking for but I do know that a 16mm lens on a crop sensor the FOV is akin to using a 24mm lens on a full frame sensor and the 18mm on crop is closer to 28mm FOV on a full frame.

If you've ever looked through a full frame camera, you will know that the 24mm is quite different from the 28mm. I think that 24mm is just nice and 28mm is just not wide enough for me.

[/quote]

You kind of answered my question. I was wondering if there is much of a difference between 18mm and 16mm on apsc. I'm asking because I am not sure if I want to get a 200 dollar 16mm prime or a 18-50mm zoom just for the 18mm focal length, since the widest lens I have now is the 28mm. Why do I want such a wide lens? Because I want that wide angle perspective.

For now I bought a 0.45x wide angle converter for 10 dollars. I'm going to attach it to me 28mm lens and see how it performs. That would give me a focal length of 12.6 (19mm equiv fov).

But still I do not have a 18mm lens to compare for myself the difference between 16 and 18. And I've never held a full frame camera before so I've never seen the difference between 24 and 28 on FF either.

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Apr 3 2013, 03:23 AM
KTCY
post Apr 3 2013, 07:28 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 3 2013, 03:22 AM)
Q@Wwqquote=shootkk,Apr 2 2013, 03:13 PM]qwQE@w

You kind of answered my question. I was wondering if there is much of a difference between 18mm and 16mm on apsc. I'm asking because I am not sure if I want to get a 200 dollar 16mm prime or a 18-50mm zoom just for the 18mm focal length, since the widest lens I have now is the 28mm. Why do I want such a wide lens? Because I want that wide angle perspective.

For now I bought a 0.45x wide angle converter for 10 dollars. I'm going to attach it to me 28mm lens and see how it performs. That would give me a focal length of 12.6 (19mm equiv fov).

But still I do not have a 18mm lens to compare for myself the difference between 16 and 18. And I've never held a full frame camera before so I've never seen the difference between 24 and 28 on FF either.
you gonna try out before you know which focal length suite you the most

This post has been edited by KTCY: Apr 3 2013, 07:28 AM
razkal
post Apr 3 2013, 09:09 AM

416 posts

Got my adapter for olympus 50mm and 135mm prime lens rclxm9.gif. Although the lens is manual focus, it felt better on the canon in terms of handling. Previously the lens was used on micro four third camera.

powerloop
post Jul 20 2013, 06:36 PM

Just to share
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4I_sCmBYzM

This post has been edited by powerloop: Jul 20 2013, 06:43 PM
TSBlizzardCraft
post Jul 20 2013, 09:55 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(powerloop @ Jul 20 2013, 06:36 PM)
saw that already biggrin.gif

stil zoom have its place, used prime in events, cumbersome much =X maybe mine is not wide enough ( 35 on DX )

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0223sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:51 AM