7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 12:33 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 20 2013, 11:24 AM)
if gentleman, don't fight with lady?
Here's the thing, how do you know she is a she and not a he? Or vice versa? Unless you or anyone else here have actually met the person in person.

In any case, I do agree - the owner is fit to do whatever she/he likes with the car, it's his/her money anyway. But just be prepared for whatever criticism that may come once you've done it. It is a forum to post your thoughts and opinions, so long as it's not a personal attack or insult.
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 01:21 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 20 2013, 01:10 PM)
Yeah I don't know for sure what is anyone's gender here, come to think of it, what is yours ? do you happen to be a lady? because if you are, me gentleman here will fight no lady. wub.gif
Tsk tsk, can't help yourself can you? You really are a slippery one indeed. You should have been a lawyer my friend, this energy analyst job clearly isn't your strongest forte.
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 01:36 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 20 2013, 01:26 PM)
Looks who 's talking tongue.gif
Haha, no need to be modest, I don't have the skills to convince people that an apple is an orange. You do. It's definitely a talent rclxms.gif
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 01:53 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 20 2013, 01:49 PM)
What would the world do without zweimmk, we will all be dammned in total ignorance, for eternity.

He is the messiah/saviour who will guide and lead you to the path of enlightenment /Redemption.

First Lesson: Apple is Apple, Orange is Orange.  blink.gif  shocking.gif
Look, I already concede that I don't have the skills like you do in this area. Why repeat the obvious? Brag enough already la you, time to move on man biggrin.gif
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 02:17 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 20 2013, 01:57 PM)
don't take a bite of what you cannot chew. Peace! icon_rolleyes.gif
Yup. And you as well, eating too much of anything could lead to indigestion. It would be bad if that happened.
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 05:39 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 20 2013, 05:23 PM)
Bro jfcheong is not saying engine dying is not a big issue. It is the cause of the engine dying,that is not a big issue. That very cause has disappeared. I put forward a possible explanation which pugbunny is happy about. Further more pugbuny's car started immediately and is till now running as smooth as ever. The car was not sent to the SC, I don't think you are going to hear any different.

This has and can happen to any car! Don't let this small issue put you off buying the car.
Bro, I have a few questions about the 5008. I was looking at the brochure and it says that the engine is EP6CDT and gearbox is the 6 speed AT.

Q1. Is this the same engine as the 408? Complete with all the modifications to make it more stable
Q2. does it utilize the same 6AT transmission as the 408THP?

Appreciate your input
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 06:25 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 20 2013, 06:20 PM)
Q1. EP6CDT is not the same as EP6CDTM. EP6CDT does not carry all 8 mods. However ECU has been remapped. This has increased the hp to 156. More important is the adjustment of ignition timing.

We are all aware of premature carbon buildup at inlet valves of GDIs. I call it inlet valve carbon creep, as this happens at the fraction of seconds inlet valve is open during ignition.  Remapped ECU on 5008 now commands ignition when inlet valve is fully closed. This has prevented the carbon creep. 

Q2. Yes it is the same Aisin 6spd AT

Cheers.

So without the 8 mods. Is it the same engine as the 308THP pre-facelift? Does it carry the same baggage (problems) as that car or is the remapped ECU good enough that it can hold its own like the 408THP modified engine? What about the engine in the facelift version of the 308THP, is that the same model as the 5008 with the remapped ECU?
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 07:22 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 20 2013, 06:57 PM)
You are welcome.

308T has 4 versions:
Early 308t    - 140bhp
Remapped 308t  - 156bhp
Facelift              - 156bhp
Griffe  - 156bhp

5008 shares the same 156bhp engine with most Pugs. 95% of the problems on the early Prince has been solved on this remapped ECU engine.

408T is the only recipient of the EP6CDTM on Pugs,so far! I think soon this will change and we'll see wider use of this engine cos of it's reliability. Citroen DS4 comes with EP6CDTM now.
Okay, from what I understand from your statement, this means only the 408THP has the EP6CDTM while the rest of the PUGs including the 508/5008 uses the same remapped ECU engine?
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 07:55 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 20 2013, 07:43 PM)
That's right. Why the deep interest on the 5008?
Looking at an MPV. The Japanese offerings are quite underwhelming, and the cross touran is too small. The only good option right now is the 5008 and so far my in the metal impressions were pretty positive so far. I really like the space and kit but unsure of the engine and transmission. Any input you can provide will be helpful smile.gif
zweimmk
post Mar 20 2013, 08:34 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 20 2013, 08:31 PM)
Sorry can't offer any more info. I did not take a serious look at the 5008. However, as you said space and kit are quite impressive!
Are there any known issues about the EP6CDT that I should be aware of? The remapped ECU version I mean.
zweimmk
post Mar 21 2013, 10:54 AM

512 posts

Thanks to all that contribute on the 5008 info.

Based on what I've read so far

Common problems (for pugs)

- premature battery death (as evidenced here and on autoworld and by a friend of mine)
- ECU glitch
- Oil leak (seems like 508 also suffer this issue)

Still reading up more on this particular PUG. I have to say, I really like the space that the car provides and especially the video pack. It's still a on the horizon thing but by June latest I also have to decide whether or not to trade off her Civic FB for this or something else.

To be frank, I don't know which is worse. Worry about potential DSG failure or worrying about potential engine issues, lol!
zweimmk
post Mar 21 2013, 11:22 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 21 2013, 11:07 AM)
Well at least you have done the right thing. Find out as much info as you can before making the decision. Two of my close friends friend, a Vet and a Lawyer,knew nothing about their cars before buying. It is always shock and awe for them when I mention related issues. Pheeew.......these are educated fellows!
I have to. The last thing I want is for my wife to be stuck in the middle of the road at the peak of a traffic jam.

I did a lot of research on potential VW issues before I bought the Passat as well, lol. I actually deliberated for over a month and weighing the potential pros and issues before taking the leap. I expect I would probably think about this for weeks to come before deciding.

Your info is much appreciated. At least now I have a good idea and direction of where to start looking for more information.
zweimmk
post Mar 25 2013, 12:51 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 25 2013, 12:18 PM)
yes, i am using the spare already. Second hand? hmmmm......ok let me try asking around, any idea what is the fair price of new or used should be?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2055801

Tyre forum with all prices listed. You can try asking around stores that aren't listed there but the prices won't deviate much from what's already posted on there. Deviation usually give or take rm60. Klang is usually cheaper than the rest of KL unless you can get a personal discount. I don't believe in retreaded or 2nd Hand tyres so can't help you there.

Take your pick on the brands. So many to suit your budget.
zweimmk
post Mar 25 2013, 01:06 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 25 2013, 12:54 PM)
Lim Tayar TTDI. Prices quite reasonable. Look for Ah Keong.
They charged me rm170 to patch up 2 holes, tyre balancing, rotating and alignment and refill nitrogen gas. I don't think that's cheap at all.
zweimmk
post Mar 25 2013, 01:24 PM

512 posts

I thought csc3 has been replaced by csc5?
zweimmk
post Mar 25 2013, 01:40 PM

512 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2055801/+1840

Looks like cheapest also rm480 for CMC5. Anything below rm500 also considered cheap already.

Didn't expect Michelin PS3 to be so expensive though.
zweimmk
post Mar 25 2013, 03:30 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Mar 25 2013, 03:15 PM)
2.0 - Rm160K
2.5 - Rm190k
Indeed it's really a good looking car in and out, among the jap made, Mazda really outstanding among.  Just the price... sweat.gif
The price is expected as it is a CBU Japan D segment car that carries a lot of good kit.
zweimmk
post Mar 25 2013, 03:46 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(danishfx @ Mar 25 2013, 03:34 PM)
160k for 2.0 should be reasonable price... smile.gif  smile.gif
It is. Fair to say that it is the best equipped and best looking Japanese D-segment car available in Malaysia at the time of this writing. 6 airbags, VSC, TCS, BA, EBD, HAC all included even in the 2.0. The only disappointing thing about it is the lack of a spare tire.
zweimmk
post Mar 27 2013, 01:51 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(ahui @ Mar 26 2013, 08:54 PM)
This article basically said they issued a recalled for 25792 cars in china that was affected by engine stop problem. It's a software fix for the engine management system.

There are nearly 400 owners that complained of this problem in the 408 and the problem happens at low speed 20km/hr, average speed of 60km/hr and even at high speeds of 80km/hr. There are also complaints of engine stop while the car is cornering. This is the main gist of it.

The other article is a lot more technical and highlights in greater detail the conditions which causes the engine to stop in the middle of operation. Someone else may want to translate the following below:

皮建仕说,造成熄火的故障通常出在以下几个方面:1、电脑程序中怠速控制与加速控制模式缺陷;2、加速踏板至电脑ECU,ECU至节气门体,节气门体反馈给电脑之间的信号传输瞬间出现了偏差、错误;3、加速或转弯时负荷过大。如果是控制模式上出了问题,单靠检查、清洗、更换火花塞、电磁阀是解决不了任何问题的,火花塞故障是有征兆的不会直接引起该类故障,电磁阀作为一个执行器,故障率相对是比较低的,通常它们引起的故障症状会比较明显。皮建仕最后表示,该问题要想解决还需要做系统的诊断分析与检测
zweimmk
post Mar 27 2013, 08:08 AM

512 posts

皮建仕说,造成熄火的故障通常出在以下几个方面:1、电脑程序中怠速控制与加速控制模式缺陷;2、加速踏板至电脑ECU,ECU至节气门体,节气门体反馈给电脑之间的信号传输瞬间出现了偏差、错误;3、加速或转弯时负荷过大。如果是控制模式上出了问题,单靠检查、清洗、更换火花塞、电磁阀是解决不了任何问题的,火花塞故障是有征兆的不会直接引起该类故障,电磁阀作为一个执行器,故障率相对是比较低的,通常它们引起的故障症状会比较明显。皮建仕最后表示,该问题要想解决还需要做系统的诊断分析与检测
I apologize if my translation is not accurate or good enough. Other Mandarin sifus can probably correct the parts which are in error.

----------

According to Peugeot. The cause of premature engine stop is normally caused by the following factors.

1. An error in the software occurring at idle speeds and accelerating
2. Communication between the accelerator to ECU and ECU to throttle body. There is data discrepancy and error in the feedback given from the throttle body to the ECU
3. Accelerating and cornering in an overly harsh manner. If there is a problem with the control module, just checking, cleaning, changing of spark plugs and solenoid valve alone will not solve the problem. There are obvious signs if the problem is caused by the spark plugs and this will not cause other various problems. The solenoid valve acts as an actuator, the chances of it having problems is rare. The problems caused by the solenoid valve are more obvious if it really developed a problem.

Peugeot has said that this problem (premature engine stop) still needs further analysis and study before it can be resolved.

----------

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Mar 27 2013, 08:17 AM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0285sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:58 PM