Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 12:07 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(darrez @ Feb 18 2013, 11:51 AM)
After doing a lot of research n study, finally i put booking for the Pug 408T white to replace my satria neo cps...already pay the d/p and now waiting for a nice reg number  rclxms.gif

This thread and the old thread really help me in making the decision to pick my new car..i would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to all forumer that contribute in this two thread. I learn a lot from all your post, esp on the experience owning a pug notworthy.gif

I bought the car from the only distributor here in Kota Kinabalu (Angkatan Hebat) and manage to get the old version which is without the aero kit, i dun think i'll pay extra for that kind of bodykit. Hopefully the car is in a good shape and not much problem.

As for suggestion since this group is growing, i hope TS can put more info on the 1st page such as the common problem faced by owner and whether it can be solve or not, place to go to solve the problem, checklist on getting new car  rolleyes.gif , tips/tricks for the car such as as resetting gearbox by turn off the car and step on pedal for 15s, wind up all window using remote etc. and other info that is helpful
take preve thread as examples --> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2671435.

By doing this hopefully it will attract more ppl and reduce ppl from asking the same questions and can be a guide to ppl before going for service etc..

Again, thanks to all of u and wish me luck for my new car  smile.gif
I think it is a good suggestion but that would put tremendous responsibility to bro Jfcheong.
SKYjack
post Feb 18 2013, 12:14 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Feb 18 2013, 11:42 AM)
But wouldn't the 508 have more mods since it's actually sold in Europe, China, and everywhere else except in US/Canada while the 408 is sold everywhere except Europe and US/Canada to the best of my knowledge.

Isn't it usually the following? More places sold = higher volume product = more aftermarket mods?

Anyway, here's something interesting from Peugeot Brasil for the 408 limited. Look at the center console, it's touchscreen and it actually looks pretty damn sleek. And look at the badge, the font design looks very elegant, I'd admit it's also actually quite nice to look at.

http://www.facebook.com/peugeotbrasil/app_245909958870530
Yes the 508 has greater market coverage than 408. 408 was designed for China & Argentina market. Till today it's not available in Europe,if I'm not mistaken.

Fuel quality in Argentina is considered to be of lower standards than Europe,hence some of the mods cater for lower fuel and atmospheric condition. The EP6CDTM carries 8 mods intotal to improve reliability over it's earlier brothers. These are not after market mods. The engine has been given a serious make over by BMW. At present this engine is only offered on the 408T.

The GPS unit is already available Malaysia. Most of us are worried it will affect warranty,I'm holding for the moment. The Limited badge looks classic!
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 12:15 PM

4,117 posts

Hi all mind sharing if u have sensitive handbrake too? Not a complaint just asking if normal
joeaggas
post Feb 18 2013, 12:53 PM

363 posts

Before I mark this down as design limitation I need to check with you guys/gals.

(1) If you've driven in the rain or after washing your pug, open the back to access the enormous boot space peugeot 408 has to offer.
Did you notice the way the water trickles down from the boot cover? It'll wet the interior of your boot.
Are you guys/gals experiencing the same?

(2) I have (as my wife said annoying) habit of switching off all electrical devices in the car before killing the ignition. I think for ppl like me, it's best that the light switch to be in the order of
Auto -> OFF --> Park lights --> ON instead of now the AUTO is in between of OFF and Park lights.

That's my minute observation of the PUG408 this morning. Cheers.
joeaggas
post Feb 18 2013, 12:55 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 18 2013, 12:15 PM)
Hi all mind sharing if u have sensitive handbrake too? Not a complaint just asking if normal
Sensitive? Meaning move it a little the (Handbrake) lights come on?

TSjfcheong
post Feb 18 2013, 12:57 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 18 2013, 12:15 PM)
Mine is quite sensitive, just maybe a CM the level not fully released, it considered hand brake engaged. But that is not an issue for me, just make sure the level is completely released before start accelerate. Moreover, I consider it is a bonus to protect you car.
TSjfcheong
post Feb 18 2013, 12:59 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 18 2013, 12:07 PM)
I think it is a good suggestion but that would put tremendous responsibility to bro Jfcheong.
sweat.gif I will take that into consideration, time needed. tongue.gif
Anyone wanna give me a hand?
thumbup.gif
TSjfcheong
post Feb 18 2013, 01:02 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Feb 18 2013, 12:53 PM)

(1) If you've driven in the rain or after washing your pug, open the back to access the enormous boot space peugeot 408 has to offer.
Did you notice the way the water trickles down from the boot cover? It'll wet the interior of your boot.
Are you guys/gals experiencing the same?

Yes, I experienced that and agree with that. Everytime after I open the boot after car wash, I would need to wipe off the water on the cover quickly before dropped into my boot.
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:03 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Feb 18 2013, 12:55 PM)
Sensitive? Meaning move it a little the (Handbrake) lights come on?
Yes
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:06 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Feb 18 2013, 12:57 PM)
Mine is quite sensitive, just maybe a CM the level not fully released, it considered hand brake engaged. But that is not an issue for me, just make sure the level is completely released before start accelerate. Moreover, I consider it is a bonus to protect you car.
Ok, thanks it is affirmative then. Always helpful our bro Jfcheong. Owe u one.
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:08 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Feb 18 2013, 01:02 PM)
Yes, I experienced that and agree with that. Everytime after I open the boot after car wash, I would need to wipe off the water on the cover quickly before dropped into my boot.
Agree. Me too.
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:12 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Feb 18 2013, 12:59 PM)
sweat.gif I will take that into consideration, time needed.  tongue.gif
Anyone wanna give me a hand?
thumbup.gif
Nasim and Peugeot should really hire u and bro SKYjack. That will make a world of difference in their car sales!

Like to help. I will pm u the compilation of common Q&A may be by end of week. But to all, please help!
SKYjack
post Feb 18 2013, 01:31 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Feb 18 2013, 01:12 PM)
Nasim and Peugeot should really hire u and bro SKYjack. That will make a world of difference in their car sales!

Like to help. I will pm u the compilation of common Q&A  may be by end of week. But to all, please help!
Tks bro. Glad to help our bro's who may require additional tech info. of our lovely Pug. I'm glad also to know my input has affected some our bros positively in their choice on 408s.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Feb 18 2013, 01:36 PM
cybermaster98
post Feb 18 2013, 01:38 PM

4,440 posts

Similar issue with my K5. A design oversight for sure but one that should not have been made. Even the 1st gen Vios didnt have this. vmad.gif
CoffeeDude
post Feb 18 2013, 01:46 PM

1,609 posts

Yup it is a design flaw.
It happens on my Citroen too.
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:46 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 18 2013, 01:31 PM)
Tks bro. Glad to help our bro's who may require additional tech info. of our lovely Pug. You know,it's really scary Peugeot taking a whacking Europe side!
Yeah 3 days ago Bloomberg reported their banking unit cut to JUNK by standard & pool due to sluggish car sales especially in Europe ( an astounding world wide sales decline of 8.8% despite 9.2% sales increase in china)
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:50 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 18 2013, 01:38 PM)
Similar issue with my K5. A design oversight for sure but one that should not have been made. Even the 1st gen Vios didnt have this.  vmad.gif
Err.... Is that the price we all have to pay for having a big booty---a wet prone booty?
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:52 PM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Feb 18 2013, 01:46 PM)
Yup it is a design flaw.
It happens on my Citroen too.
Hmmm.... Citroen too, Aiyo!
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2013, 01:53 PM

4,117 posts

No wonder the European prefer sports
darrez
post Feb 18 2013, 02:01 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 18 2013, 01:31 PM)
Tks bro. Glad to help our bro's who may require additional tech info. of our lovely Pug. I'm glad also to know my input has affected some our bros positively in their choice on 408s.
Tonite after work, i'll try my best to compile everything that relevant from previous thread into 1 post then maybe ts can just copy to the 1st page. U guys rock thumbup.gif

323 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:42 AM