Streamyx streamyx 8mbps club V1, double the speed double the fun

andyng38
post Aug 26 2016, 07:13 PM

2,401 posts

8mbps user reporting in...upgraded from 4mbps.

The Hypp TV STB died after a few day's light usage. TM replaced it promptly. After a delay because their system didn't have the new STB's MAC in it, iptv is working again.

Does anyone know if it's possible to attach a USB keyboard to the USB port of the EC6108V8 STB?
andyng38
post Aug 26 2016, 11:09 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 26 2016, 08:56 PM)
Yes, both are possible.

Are you still on contract? My HyppTV box is a bit wonky recently. I am still using the oldest generation one.
Ah ok great. Thanks!!

Am on a new 2 yr contract which started this month...previously my 4mbps plan was out of contract already for several years. I don't mind the contract....it's not like i have alternate choices biggrin.gif
andyng38
post Oct 11 2016, 04:34 PM

2,401 posts

Any recommended apps to install on the Hypp tv box (Huawei EC6108V8)?
andyng38
post Nov 20 2016, 07:52 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Nov 20 2016, 04:01 PM)
went to upgrade 1mbps to 4mpbs at tm point. I was offered 8mbps at rm148 incl gst,now its open to all.Anyone who upgrades gets 2mbps at rm120,  4mbps at rm130 and 8mbps at rm140. Earlier this offer was only for new customers now extended to all biggrin.gif
Does it include free Hypp tv too? If so, great!

That's the way it should be, without multi-tier discriminatory dumbassjunglebunny all-over-the-map pricings!
andyng38
post Dec 8 2016, 12:43 PM

2,401 posts

Anyone else got this SMS from TM?

According to https://www.lowyat.net/2016/120656/unifi-sp...g-in-june-2017/ some Streamyx users will only get a new package (whatever that is) in June '17
andyng38
post Dec 8 2016, 05:29 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Dec 8 2016, 04:32 PM)
Eutger upgrade speed to 10mbps or reduce price to RM140 before GST
Am paying RM140 b4 GST as is with hypp tv. Ah well, mysterious are the ways of TM.

Got another call today (and last month also) offering 30mbps unifi for RM179+GST. Said no thanks. They seem rather bent on enticing customers which is a bit out-of-character for something which is essentially a monopoly for most of m'sia. This makes me think (and faintly hope) that more ISPs will pop up to give them competition. MyRepublic has been very quiet for a long time though.
andyng38
post Dec 20 2016, 12:23 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Dec 20 2016, 11:26 AM)
Strange, today suddenly my SNR margin for downstream went up by quite a lot from 8.x to 22-23, and my max rate also increased from 20xxx to 27xxx
I believe Streamyx techies has been testing out higher speeds. For 6 days in the past 2 weeks, my connection has been intermittent at the same specific times. When I accessed my modem's stats during those bouts, I was surprised to see the down rate (not the attainable max rate) at 14000+Kbps and 16000+Kbps for a while before I was knocked offline again and the dsl light started blinking again.

As I type, my down SNR is 27db and up SNR is 22db and everything else is in normal stable ranges for an 8meg connect. I guess they're done testing my connect for the time being. Here's hoping for faster up and down speeds next year!

BTW, if anyone wishes to log their streamyx connectivity (or lack thereof), http://netuptimemonitor.com/ is handy, or search for Microsoft Network Monitor.
andyng38
post Dec 22 2016, 01:28 PM

2,401 posts

My connect is stable and working normally today smile.gif

andyng38
post Jan 3 2017, 02:01 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Jan 3 2017, 01:36 PM)
Currently I'm in the process of moving to new house and sadly the new housing area don't have streamyx infrastructure. The funny thing is, housing area just in front of my new house have streamyx but not mine sad.gif .

Still got another 1 year of contract because upgrade to 8Mbps. And TM said I need to pay for penalty. WTF.. already use streamyx since 2004 and if not because of upgrading, my contract already finish a long time ago.

So, anyone had the same experience? Do I really need to pay the penalty.
Like you, I started using Streamyx in 2004...went from 1mbps to 4mbps then in Aug '16 to 8mbps. I was made the offer for 8mbps with Hypp tv over the phone and was told that I'd be locked in for a 2 yr contract. Any cancellation within that period would entail a penalty, BUT if I upgrade to Unifi in the future, there would be no penalty. Looks like you have to pay it.

I'm no expert, but maybe if you could talk to the nearest TM Point staff and ask them to somehow get your new house phone Streamyx-enabled, and transfer yr account to that line, maybe the penalty could be avoided? Or upgrade to Unifi if available. That's the best I can think of to help u. Hope it can be worked out.
andyng38
post Jan 3 2017, 05:20 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Jan 3 2017, 02:30 PM)
A also got the call to upgrade my 4Mbps Streamyx to 8Mbps for RM10. So now because of that I still under contract even after using Streamyx for 12 years  cry.gif .

Happen to me once when I move to new residential area and need to waited for 6 month before I got my Streamyx back. That time I got no problem because the contract already over so I can subscribe to the lowest package. And the best thing is, after wrote a complain letter to Tm Point supervisor, all of my bill for 4 months was waived.

Anyway, after terminating I'm looking for good 4G broadband while waiting my home area got the Streamyx 8bmps, any idea?
Well it was decent of them to waive 4 month's worth of billings. Maybe if u wrote in and explain yr current situation to TM, they could work out something similar. Dunno about 4G broadband, never used it b4...even my old phone only has 3G biggrin.gif Try asking around in yr neighborhood....maybe someone there can recommend a provider with the most stable signal for the area.
andyng38
post Jan 5 2017, 12:17 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Jan 5 2017, 11:36 AM)
Problem solved. Talked with other Tm Point representative, she said the penalty will be waived because no streamyx at my place. But I will waiting for my next bill if what she said is true.
Excellent! Hope that really is the case; it's only fair to waive penalty cos they can't give u the service at the new location, not because u don't want to subscribe anymore.
andyng38
post Jan 6 2017, 01:05 PM

2,401 posts

What can we do....only can wait and see what TM does. unsure.gif
andyng38
post Jan 9 2017, 05:21 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Jan 9 2017, 05:04 PM)
"you have to wait for another one email. the email will contain the link to claim your surprise

i am apologize because we will blast the notification starting from 9th Jan 2017- until 31st Jan 2017

will be through sms or email. either one

and for the follow up will be until June 2017

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for believing in TM and giving us the opportunity to make your life easier. As a token of our appreciation, we are delighted to inform you that we will be giving away 'Thank You Surprises' and more exciting TM offers throughout 2017. Keep a lookout for the surprises coming your way. Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to serving you better. Our Best Wishes and a very Happy New Year!

yes that is the first email and all together you have to get 2 or 3 email"

Above all what TM CS told me after checking with them today

And last they told me, if I already got the first email back in December, I would get the next ones too. So if she's correct, I'm eligible for the so called surprise.  rclxm9.gif
YAY! That means I'm eligible for the surprise too! Hope it isn't a Hypp tv keychain/bookmarker with a big mama hippo mascot on it. Other than that SMS in Dec, I've only received my bill via email...no surprise there. Will just wait n see what happens.
andyng38
post Jan 11 2017, 01:59 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Jan 11 2017, 08:11 AM)
according to CS (100), streamyx 10 Mbps package will be available soon...
QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Jan 11 2017, 01:19 PM)
according to TM Technician that are setting the road side remote DSLAM.
That may explain the behavior in December of my connection as per what i described in
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=83041156

June is still a long way off...whatever they wanna give as upgrade is ok lah...it's not like I have an alternate choice of ISP. But I am unwilling to pay any more than my current charges. If they can only give me 8mbps max and discount my monthly fee by a decent amount, I'm ok with it too.
andyng38
post Jan 16 2017, 09:56 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Jan 16 2017, 07:29 PM)
FML TM, this is their TQ surprise!!

"for 8 mbps, we get surprise for free VOD for 4 months, hypp tv pack for 12 months or webe and get RM 10.00 disckaund to streamyx and coupon" as told by TM live chat agent. The worst part? The offers all already quite sh*t and we could only get either one of them. cry.gif
Hmm...if it's RM10 off per month in perpetuity, that's a saving of RM127.20/year. Nothing great about that.
Lets see what the official announcement will be like, whenever it comes.
andyng38
post Jan 17 2017, 01:28 PM

2,401 posts

Surprised indeed by the digital dedak
andyng38
post Feb 4 2017, 04:00 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(one_guy @ Feb 4 2017, 02:33 PM)
Guys, my downstream rate change to 8191 kbps..
Last time was 10000 kbps something...
Doing speed test never got 8mbps anymore...
Playing around 6.8mbps to 7 Mbps...
When call TM they said TM only promise 80% of the speed...
WTF...how can change to old speed again?
[attachmentid=8458370]
You've been miscapped. Your rates should be roughly similar to my current rate:

Your current situation had happened to me twice before. One time I rebooted the modem and it went back to normal. Another time rebooting didn't work and I had to phone 100 and lodge a complaint...it took them 2 working days to resolve it. Similar miscaps had also happened to me when I was on 4mbps...was capped at 2000+kbps on at least 4 occasions.

On a tangent, I didn't bother to accept TM's "surprise" gifts. Bugger 'em!

andyng38
post Feb 6 2017, 10:19 AM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Feb 6 2017, 10:12 AM)
Hmm... So every 8Mbps Streamyx account should have 10000 Kbps downstream rate? Mine also 8188 Kbps only.
if your rate is 8188Kbps, you'll never be able to get 8 meg speeds, which is what u r paying for. This is because there are inefficiencies in the modem, line overheads etc. TM has to give us a higher rate (above 10,000Kbps) in order for the subscriber to get 8 meg speeds.

This TLDR article can explain it better than I can, and the FAQ there is worth the time to read : http://www.dslreports.com/faq/13841
andyng38
post Feb 6 2017, 03:47 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Feb 6 2017, 02:33 PM)
What download speed do you get for speed test eg at speedtest.tm.com.my ? Around 6.6-6.7M? Or higher ?

How about andyng38 ? Do you get more like 8.5-8.6M ? That will show the difference.

That's my speed a minute ago.
andyng38
post Feb 7 2017, 10:05 AM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(one_guy @ Feb 7 2017, 12:57 AM)
How to make a complaint?
Last time make a complain, the tech just come to my home and tested got near 7mbps and he said TM already promised 80% of its speed...
It means, TM already neglected my report.
Is there any other channel can make a report?

Do like Jayceooi did ...dial 100 and insist you get the proper speed. If they use the 80% excuse again, ask for your complaint to be escalated, and that u wish to speak to a supervisor.

If no satisfactory results are forthcoming, complain to MCMC.

But there is a 3rd channel of complaining if you wish to take the time and trouble. Wall of text ahead!

When I was on the 4mbps package, I kept getting capped at half or 1/4 speed. I'd call 100, complain, they'd fix it, and later on I'd be capped lower again. This happened at least 4 or 5 times (can't remember the exact number of incidences...it could have been more than 5 times) till i was damned fedup.

I went to the TM technical dept for my area. It was a guarded place and I had to leave my IC at the guardhouse. Spoke to an officer there, showed him printscreens of my modem stats on my tablet. Gave him a flash drive on which were copies of the same printscreens, and a text file of all the report numbers of my past complaints with dates, name, address, IC# landline and cell number. He copied it all to his PC, looked it over and said he'd get his people to rectify it. I thanked him, shook his hand and left.

The next day I got a phone call from someone in TM HQ. The caller said they were opening an internal investigation on my case*. The day after that I got a call from some TM guy in my town to tell me that they had upgraded my speed and I should be getting 4mbps from then on. I told him that it was NOT an upgrade...it was merely giving me what I had subscribed for. After that my downstream rate was 5000+Kbps till I upgraded to the 8mbps package.

* I suspect that people inside TM had been deliberately miscapping certain subscribers (especially light users like me) and then allotting the stolen bandwidth to those who were willing to pay them for higher 'unofficial' speeds, hence the need for an internal investigation. In effect, they robbed Peter to sell to Paul. By redistributing the allocated bandwidth to their customers, no alarm bells or flags would be raised at the office.

I know you must be frustrated and angry @ TM like I was...but if you do lodge your complaint in person or online, do try your best to be cordial, formally polite and even-toned while using your best Bahasa baku. Good luck!

0.0601sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:42 AM