QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2013, 10:42 AM)
You can do it too. Maybe just slower. But it is still possible. Must have faith.
Passive Income from Dividend
Feb 13 2013, 10:48 AM
394 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: Singapore |
Feb 13 2013, 10:50 AM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(Dividend Warrior @ Feb 13 2013, 10:48 AM) May I ask, u never tried unit trusts? U go all out on dividend stocks?Unit trusts are giving me annualised returns of 5.8%, wondering could I raise my investment returns by diversifying some of my investment assets into direct stock purchases. |
Feb 13 2013, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2013, 10:50 AM) May I ask, u never tried unit trusts? U go all out on dividend stocks? No. I dun go for unit trust.Unit trusts are giving me annualised returns of 5.8%, wondering could I raise my investment returns by diversifying some of my investment assets into direct stock purchases. |
Feb 13 2013, 12:58 PM
789 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(Dividend Warrior @ Feb 13 2013, 10:47 AM) I save around 70% - 80% of my salary. time to invest in malaysia reit. before you turn on water in the share, let us know. If there are opportunities, I will add more stocks. But nowadays, the Singapore stock market is really high.....so I dun see any good opportunities.... |
Feb 13 2013, 01:02 PM
1,866 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Feb 13 2013, 04:14 PM
Feb 13 2013, 07:16 PM
53 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(Dividend Warrior @ Feb 13 2013, 09:18 AM) Save like mad, no holiday vacations overseas, no car. I hope you have a window period for the intense sacrifice. Make sure to enjoy the money later...will be good to balance things a bit now. Remember youth cannot be regained.Invest in dividend stocks (more than 6% yield). Then re-invest the dividends. Keep doing this for 4 years. My portfolio is made up of mainly telcos and REITs. |
Feb 13 2013, 10:30 PM
6,356 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Feb 13 2013, 10:32 PM
Feb 13 2013, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(bullchips @ Feb 13 2013, 07:16 PM) I hope you have a window period for the intense sacrifice. Make sure to enjoy the money later...will be good to balance things a bit now. Remember youth cannot be regained. I hope to close this window by the end of 2013. Next year, I shall not be a slave to my pay cheque anymore. |
Feb 13 2013, 11:36 PM
10,125 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Feb 14 2013, 10:24 AM
3,816 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
QUOTE(Dividend Warrior @ Feb 13 2013, 09:18 AM) Save like mad, no holiday vacations overseas, no car. Invest in dividend stocks (more than 6% yield). Then re-invest the dividends. Keep doing this for 4 years. My portfolio is made up of mainly telcos and REITs. QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2013, 10:42 AM) I assume DW lives in his parents' house...Sadly, I migrated from Perak to KL, gotta get a house at bloated price BTW, I go for overseas vacations occasionally, but I choose to stay in budget guesthouses. For example, my room in Bangkok cost just 200B/night - no air-con, just fan, and the bathrooms were shared among the guests |
Feb 14 2013, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(river.sand @ Feb 14 2013, 10:24 AM) I assume DW lives in his parents' house... I too stay in my parents' house, but I'm paying all the bills and my dad's pocket money. How to save 70-80%? 25% is the most I can do. What more I'm working at suburban KL where public transportation is useless, car is a necessity not a luxury. Sadly, I migrated from Perak to KL, gotta get a house at bloated price BTW, I go for overseas vacations occasionally, but I choose to stay in budget guesthouses. For example, my room in Bangkok cost just 200B/night - no air-con, just fan, and the bathrooms were shared among the guests |
Feb 14 2013, 11:11 AM
139 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
DW is exceptionally single minded and disciplined in his quest for financial independence. Few people will go to that extent to defer present consumption....you are young only once. If you don't spend, how to have dates or have a girlfriend? A lonely life as well?
Feb 14 2013, 12:05 PM
most KL working class facing the same situation saving onli 25%, except earing 5 digit income with less liability and spend less.
This feb month 0% saving for me, need to spend on MAKAN, ANG POW and visit relatives. This post has been edited by felixmask: Feb 14 2013, 12:06 PM |
Feb 14 2013, 06:56 PM
157 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Feb 14 2013, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(H86 @ Feb 14 2013, 06:56 PM) 70-80% savings probably means no house and car loan. Without gf/bf too. Too early for u to conclude can retire early because when he gets house loan, his savings probably same with other people. Everything except house(home) is a LIABILITY including GF/BF!So, I stick by my conclusion. Divi Warrior is an EXCELLENT SAVER and he can RETIRE EARLY than most of us. Good job, stick with the plan! |
Feb 14 2013, 11:24 PM
Validating
1,525 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 14 2013, 10:48 PM) Everything except house(home) is a LIABILITY including GF/BF! Greetings + G'Day,So, I stick by my conclusion. Divi Warrior is an EXCELLENT SAVER and he can RETIRE EARLY than most of us. Good job, stick with the plan! Great Saver and can retire very soon, BUT how about his/her real life ? In S'pore, very tough to survive for both Msian/S'porean. In S'pore, u no need car, as public transport are efficient.. But, how abt HOUSE?? Damn expensive .. E.g of Real Life are Family, Excitement/Entertainment, Vacation, Luxury Gadgets/Exercise tools/Car, ..etc..etc Hope ppls understand what is life about .. Have a great day. |
Feb 14 2013, 11:27 PM
I can sense another needs vs wants storm coming soon here
I stand the middle ground, I can see most ppl nowadays place overly high emphasis on material belongings. |
Feb 14 2013, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(netmask8 @ Feb 14 2013, 11:24 PM) E.g of Real Life are Family, Excitement/Entertainment, Vacation, Luxury Gadgets/Exercise tools/Car, ..etc..etc Hope ppls also understand what is DEBT is about too. Hope ppls understand what is life about .. Have a great day. Some people have no concept of saving, goes on spending spree thinking short term only.. so spent all their cash, living in style, goes heavily in debt, save nothing for retirement, in the end, ends up BROKE! |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:39 AM |