5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Malaysian employers discrimate by race?, according to UM & UKM study (Nov 12)

maguro
post Jan 9 2013, 04:15 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Jan 9 2013, 11:42 AM)
I've seen so many appalling CVs and coverletters, you won't believe it. Example 1: CV with 1/4 of it filled with a name in 36 sized fonts, example 2: cover letter that started with which hospital she was being delivered, example 3: CV and cover letter that come in power point format.... Most of them are from Malay candidates unfortunately. But that being said, there are more Malay fresh graduate applicants. It's a pity that their Universities haven't taught them simple skills to apply for jobs. These universities didnt even expose them to channels in which they could get some tips. Some were not even aware that English is the common language in a workplace and hence asked for interviews to be conducted in Malay.
This also need to depend on university to teach ar?
People with some analytical skills would know how to do it properly enough la especially after a few rejections. If you didn't bother to ask why you're chosen and/or how you did during the interview (asking for feedback) then you shouldn't blame university or anyone else that you can't get a job. doh.gif

Later finding life partners, house, have babies also wanna blame university/government because they never teach us. rclxub.gif
SUSHidan
post Jan 9 2013, 04:50 PM

330 posts

If the job market is racist, then Chinese should be at the lower end of the stick. I mean people like Taib Mahmud can easily create 1000 IT companies and hire Malays. Dr. M can create another 1000 more IT firms and hire malays and Najib can also do the same thing.

Things don't look good for Chinese man.....not good at all. Being racist does not benefit Chinese.
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Jan 9 2013, 05:13 PM

4,139 posts

there is nothing to celebrate here, it is just a survey to reveal what is known, suspected? It does not make any C r M or even I or other ehthnics feel any better necessarily. At the end of the day, this survey is done to determine if race is a determining factor in hiring , and it is, so should we take this fact and say phew I am safe-C, or shit I am screwed-M. and leave it as it is, Absolutely no, it just show the facts whatever race you are, opportnities reside at different places. Take advantage of where your chances are abundant
maguro
post Jan 9 2013, 06:36 PM

381 posts

what people should also focus on is why even high incident of Malay companies "discriminate" against hiring Malays as indicated in this "survey".
crapp0
post Jan 9 2013, 07:17 PM

4,414 posts

Racial profiling is the least of the worries to the country when this is happening.

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/583979
hercules899
post Jan 9 2013, 08:39 PM

322 posts

CHINA-MAN companies, nobody would wanna work there , if you have got no choice then work for 3to 6 months then you can hop LIAO

If i were decent educated Malay, i would join GLCs or Government , what for working for those China-man companies? peanut pay, need to work like dog, and most importantly, they always think that you should OT unlimited just because the RM 1500 being offered IS SO MUCH.

They will most like say, "WHEN MY TIME AH, i was paid RM 500 as fresh.

PUI
noruazumi
post Jan 9 2013, 08:48 PM

509 posts

You should ask yourself what are going to do about this.

Your next action should tell yourself what kind of person you are and what kind of country you want.

If you keep on double parking when fetching your kids from school, there's a big chance your kids will end up to be a douche like you too.
Michael_Light
post Jan 9 2013, 10:31 PM

473 posts

My humble opinion is that M race is relatively easier to get into local university (through matriculation program and quota) , despite that their C race counterpart have a better qualification, for example, better academic result and able to master multiple languages... So I suppose we should not be surprised if one generalizes that a C race graduate is more competent than the other one, specifically in sciences & mathematics/engineering.. C needs to work really hard to get into these so-called top university in Malaysia.

dreamer101
post Jan 9 2013, 10:42 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Michael_Light @ Jan 9 2013, 10:31 PM)
My humble opinion is that M race is relatively easier to get into local university (through matriculation program and quota) , despite that their C race counterpart have a better qualification, for example, better academic result and able to master multiple languages... So I suppose we should not be surprised if one generalizes that a C race graduate is more competent than the other one, specifically in sciences & mathematics/engineering.. C needs to work really hard to get into these so-called top university in Malaysia.
Michael_Light,

Beyond that, everyone know that there is a double grading system in IPTA. Certain group of people can get an A easier than other group. So, if you get 2 applicants with same CGPA from IPTA, M versus C, which one do you think is more qualified?? Ditto on SPM and so on...

God / Karma exists. Justice will be served.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Jan 9 2013, 10:53 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 9 2013, 12:16 PM)
I like fletcherwind's thought. It is not a coincidence that govt of malaysia hence needs to in addition to employ 10% of the workforce have to tasked itself in creating a lot of PLCs, either bought in using Khazanah, PNB, EPF, etc. or greate a long list of GLCs. Else? how majority of the workforce will be employed and how unemployment rate can be controlled.

EnergyAnalyst,

<<It is not a coincidence that govt of malaysia hence needs to in addition to employ 10% of the workforce have to tasked itself in creating a lot of PLCs, either bought in using Khazanah, PNB, EPF, etc. or greate a long list of GLCs.>>

You do know that every time that the government do this. They start forcing the non-bumi out and stop hiring non-bumi. And, they turned those places into 90+%. This has been going on for 40+ years. This is a lot of bad Karma.

God / Karma exists. Justice will be served.

Dreamer

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Jan 10 2013, 06:45 AM

4,139 posts

@hercules899
All companies whether CHINA-MAN companies, Foreign or bumi owned give out peanut pay, need to work like dog, and most importantly, they always think that you should Be grateful to work OT and appreciative of your low pay. Not much or very little difference.

@michael light, you have a point , making things easier for some through the system may have been the result of this....in real workplace, every employers are demanding and generally are not compelled to make working life 'easy
'... And that may influence their decision in choosing who they expect can take on hard work and endure.

@dreamer101. Double standards before you graduate, double standard after you graduates. Double standard will remain. To think new government can actually change that, is really something quite far fetch...keadilan seek for keadilan but would they really make an adil malaysia? Only time will tell
dreamer101
post Jan 10 2013, 06:57 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 10 2013, 06:45 AM)

@dreamer101. Double standards before you graduate, double standard after you graduates. Double standard will remain. To think new  government can actually change that, is really something quite far fetch...keadilan seek for keadilan but would they really make an adil malaysia? Only time will tell

EnergyAnalyst,

1) OBVIOUSLY, you do not believe in God / Karma. What makes you THINK that any government is more powerful than God / Karma??

2) Regardless of whether the government changes, the end is near. 90+% is not sustainable. Malaysia government is running out of Oil Money and they will all die. This is how God / Karma works. Justice will be served.

<<@dreamer101. Double standards before you graduate, double standard after you graduates. Double standard will remain.>>

3) Who get hurt in the process?? My family had succeeded because of the DISCRIMINATION by NEP. Meanwhile, the PROTECTED group are barely survive by the protection after 40+ years. Justice is done.

Dreamer

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Jan 10 2013, 07:15 AM

4,139 posts

Hi all, read this.
http://econsmalaysia.blogspot.com/2012/04/...aysian.html?m=1

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Jan 10 2013, 07:26 AM

4,139 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jan 10 2013, 06:57 AM)
EnergyAnalyst,

1) OBVIOUSLY, you do not believe in God / Karma.  What makes you THINK that any government is more powerful than God / Karma??

2) Regardless of whether the government changes, the end is near.  90+% is not sustainable.  Malaysia government is running out of Oil Money and they will all die.  This is how God / Karma works.  Justice will be served.

<<@dreamer101. Double standards before you graduate, double standard after you graduates. Double standard will remain.>>

3) Who get hurt in the process??  My family had succeeded because of the DISCRIMINATION by NEP.  Meanwhile, the PROTECTED group are barely survive by the protection after 40+ years.  Justice is done.

Dreamer
Honestly I do believe in god and karma but like most religious people, I really despise those who suddenly acquire " holier thy thou" thinking and start judging and labelling others ' obviously you do not believe....'

Which religion god gives u that , which god teach you to be so "humble'? Which religion judges people freely like that even Christian and Muslim believe only God can judge and also not until judgement day. So unless you have constructive comments, please stop skewing this topic to sensitive and touchy subject of faith and race. I started this topic to just reveal facts of a study and hope you are kind enough to do only two things. Identify the problem and offer a solution.

p/s no body dies and makes u a messiah, stop being a self proclaim hero, u are hallucinating bro!
dreamer101
post Jan 10 2013, 08:09 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 10 2013, 07:26 AM)
Honestly I do believe in god and karma but like most religious people, I really despise those who suddenly acquire " holier thy thou" thinking and start judging and labelling others ' obviously you do not believe....'

Which religion god gives u that , which god teach you to be so "humble'? Which religion judges people freely like that even Christian and Muslim believe only God can judge and also not until judgement day. So unless you have constructive comments, please stop skewing this topic to sensitive and touchy subject of faith and race. I started this topic to just reveal facts of a study and hope you are kind enough to do only two things. Identify the problem and offer a solution.

p/s no body dies and makes u a messiah, stop being a self proclaim hero, u are hallucinating bro!
EnergyAnalyst,

<<Which religion judges people freely like that even Christian and Muslim believe only God can judge and also not until judgement day. >>

1) Yes, only God can judge in that religion.

2) Where in Christianity and Islam that say you can ONLY be punished after you die?? The religion say that you will be punished at judgment day. But, it did not say you will not be punished before you die too.

<<So unless you have constructive comments,>>

3) This is HIGHLY constructive. It shows that NOBODY can escape punishment from God / Karma if they discriminate. If the protected group with the full power of government plus trillions of Oil Money still will be punished, WHY should they be afraid that they will be discriminated by Chinese?? Chinese will be punished by God / Karma too if they DISCRIMINATE.

<<Identify the problem and offer a solution. >>

4) We know THE PROBLEM. And, it will be solved soon when all the 90+% dies. It will serve as WAKE UP call to everyone that TREATING EVERYONE FAIRLY is not "nice to have".

<<p/s no body dies and makes u a messiah, stop being a self proclaim hero, u are hallucinating bro!>>

5) Who is hallucinating?? It must be YOU?? Somebody that BELIEVE the government can BAILOUT those 90+% places with Oil Money INDEFINITELY.

6) Even with RECORD OIL PRICE, the government increase the debt by 40+ billions aka 10% last year. And, YOU think that this is SUSTAINABLE??

7) Who is judging who??

I am just stating an OBVIOUS observations.

A) People that had been DISCRIMINATED against over this 40+ years had made significant progress and very successful

B) People that DISCRIMINATED are not doing very well after 40+ years.

Are you arguing that my observations are wrong??

The truth will set you free.

Dreamer
RabbitS
post Jan 10 2013, 09:05 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(hercules899 @ Jan 9 2013, 08:39 PM)
CHINA-MAN companies, nobody would wanna work there , if you have got no choice then work for 3to 6 months then you can hop LIAO

If i were decent educated Malay, i would join GLCs or Government , what for working for those China-man companies? peanut pay, need to work like dog, and most importantly, they always think that you should OT unlimited just because the RM 1500 being offered IS SO MUCH.

They will most like say, "WHEN MY TIME AH, i was paid RM 500 as fresh.

PUI
Sometimes it is not the $$$ n the easy lifestyle that entice ppl.. It is the challenge, exposure and experience..

In a well run country, no way gov sector pay better than private.. But in msia it is better or at parity..

Meritocracy is gone, when it is gone ppl will hire based on certain perception.. In msia's case, skin colour which to a certain extent is right.. Although malays are less competent due to culture n up bringing but it is the mixing of the competent ones wif useless ones os the main problem..

High achieving malay is able to get a degree n so do less competent ones from degree factories like mara n uitm.. And to rub salt, malays are the majority in this country so after a while, hr r not willing to even consider after going through too many useless ones
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Jan 10 2013, 10:17 AM

4,139 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jan 10 2013, 08:09 AM)
EnergyAnalyst,

<<Which religion judges people freely like that even Christian and Muslim believe only God can judge and also not until judgement day. >>

1) Yes, only God can judge in that religion. so who are u to judge me then and say obviously you are not....2)

Where in Christianity and Islam that say you can ONLY be punished after you die?? The religion say that you will be punished at judgment day.  But, it did not say you will not be punished before you die too. ALL LAW & ENFORCEMENT SYSTEM IS ALREADY PUNISHING PEOPLE, I AM ASKING YOU TO EAT A HUMBLE PIE, & LET THE SYSTEM DO IT, AS YOU ARE NOT THE AUTHORITY, NO ONE HAS MAKE YOU ONE
<<So unless you have constructive comments,>>

3) This is HIGHLY constructive.  It shows that NOBODY can escape punishment from God / Karma if they discriminate.  If the protected group with the full power of government plus trillions of Oil Money still will be punished, WHY should they be afraid that they will be discriminated by Chinese??  Chinese will be punished by God / Karma too if they DISCRIMINATE.  Do you know what is contructive? by not stating the obvious like rtm used to 'ulang tayang and ulang tayang and ulang tayang

<<Identify the problem and offer a solution. >>

4) We know THE PROBLEM.  And, it will be solved soon when all the 90+% dies.  It will serve as WAKE UP call to everyone that TREATING EVERYONE FAIRLY is not "nice to have". So your problem and solution is 90+% dies?
<<p/s no body dies and makes u a messiah, stop being a self proclaim hero, u are hallucinating bro!>>

5) Who is hallucinating?? It must be YOU??  Somebody that BELIEVE the government can BAILOUT those 90+% places with Oil Money INDEFINITELY.
WHERE DID I SAY THAT? ARE YOU HALLUCINATING AGAIN??

6) Even with RECORD OIL PRICE, the government increase the debt by 40+ billions aka 10% last year.  And, YOU think that this is SUSTAINABLE??
WHERE DID I SAY THAT? ARE YOU HALLUCINATING AGAIN??
I am just stating an OBVIOUS observations.

A) People that had been DISCRIMINATED against over this 40+ years had made significant progress and very successful

B) People that DISCRIMINATED are not doing very well after 40+ years.

Are you arguing that my observations are wrong??
I AM A GOOD RELIGIOUS DUDE THAT WILL NEVER JUDGE PEOPLE WRONG, IT IS NOT MY PLACE TO DO SO, WHO AM I TO LABEL THAT, THE LEGAL & COURT SYSTEM ALSO WILL PRESUME INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY
The truth will set you free.
now that i agreeDreamer
d7adict
post Jan 10 2013, 10:27 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jan 9 2013, 10:42 PM)
Michael_Light,

Beyond that, everyone know that there is a double grading system in IPTA.  Certain group of people can get an  A easier than other group.  So, if you get 2 applicants with same CGPA from IPTA, M versus C, which one do you think is more qualified??  Ditto on SPM and so on...

God / Karma exists.  Justice will be served.

Dreamer
"Double grading in IPTA" is a strong statement. Any relative links on that?
dreamer101
post Jan 10 2013, 10:39 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 10 2013, 10:17 AM)

<< I AM A GOOD RELIGIOUS DUDE THAT WILL NEVER JUDGE PEOPLE WRONG, IT IS NOT MY PLACE TO DO SO, WHO AM I TO LABEL THAT, THE LEGAL & COURT SYSTEM ALSO WILL PRESUME INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY >>

EnergyAnalyst,

<< I AM A GOOD RELIGIOUS DUDE THAT WILL NEVER JUDGE PEOPLE WRONG,>>

This answers my question.

You have NO MORALITY and you stand for NOTHING.

<< IT IS NOT MY PLACE TO DO SO, WHO AM I TO LABEL THAT, THE LEGAL & COURT SYSTEM ALSO WILL PRESUME INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY >>>>

So, WHOEVER in power can do whatever they want to you. As long as it is LEGAL, it is RIGHT.

Now, how can YOU be a good RELIGIOUS person if you have NO MORALITY?? Aka, no sense of RIGHT and WRONG??

So, someone can kick you out of your job and your business because of your race as long as it is the law. It does not matter whether it is RIGHT or WRONG by your religion.

Dreamer

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Jan 10 2013, 11:17 AM

4,139 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jan 10 2013, 10:39 AM)
EnergyAnalyst,

This answers my question.

You have NO MORALITY and you stand for NOTHING.

<< IT IS NOT MY PLACE TO DO SO, WHO AM I TO LABEL THAT, THE LEGAL & COURT SYSTEM ALSO WILL PRESUME INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY >>>>

So, WHOEVER in power can do whatever they want to you.  As long as it is LEGAL, it is RIGHT.

Now, how can YOU be a good RELIGIOUS person if you have NO MORALITY?? Aka, no sense of RIGHT and WRONG??

So, someone can kick you out of your job and your business because of your race as long as it is the law.  It does not matter whether it is RIGHT or WRONG by your religion. 

Dreamer
WOW big words from a big guy who still know nothing about humility.

Now not only I am according to you obviously non-believer in God and karma, i am accused some more of no moral, stand for nothing ,WHOEVER in power can do whatever they want to me, no sense of RIGHT and WRONG. ANY MORE?

Boy, you are really something, and I hope karma that you have created here come back and reward you dearly

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:58 AM