This post has been edited by andychee81: Mar 24 2015, 01:30 PM
Unprofessional manager experience.
Mar 20 2006, 10:06 PM, updated 11y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
6,118 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
*removed
This post has been edited by andychee81: Mar 24 2015, 01:30 PM |
Mar 21 2006, 06:27 AM
3,331 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -MegaCity One- |
just leave lah dont feel bad. normally all managers sure will say like that lah i am going to raise your salary to dont know how many millions so you better dont leave.
you must tell yourself that you are leaving because of CAREER ADVANCEMENT. so make sure you work harder betterwith the new com. just forget about what your manager said earlier. that showed his managerial attitude totally masuk the longkang besar! |
Mar 21 2006, 09:22 AM
978 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Thats a very common response but a really stupid one in my book.
Mar 21 2006, 10:29 AM
2,711 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
You shouldn't be pissed off. If I were you, I'd be laughing about it with my colleagues...
Mar 21 2006, 11:39 AM
242 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(wlcling @ Mar 21 2006, 10:29 AM) True, I laugh at him with my colleagues. And recently, one of my colleague told me, they gave him a name "HSL number 1", do you know what is HSL? It has nothing to do with the company selling eletronic stuff. It's call Ham Sap Lo Number 1, hahahahahahaha.You are not the only one who has this experience, mine is worst than you. But people know he has bad reputation. After I left, he tell the other colleague it is my fault, hahahahahaha. |
Mar 21 2006, 12:13 PM
125 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
you should give the manager one lame smile... then tell him, "i know u r very loyal but if one day i see you in other company, you must been sack"
or "Dont worry about me, I will come back to look for you for lunch often but please dont drive your old junk, it is insulting. I will come to pick you up with my Benz, ok?" or "Actually I regret leaving this company because I afraid I need to sell my old car for BMW" but anyway i would recommend to leave some back route for urself... who knows... u might end up under him again in other company or u might go back to this company.... |
Mar 21 2006, 01:24 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
You could just reply that job hopping is the only way to get better salary and at the same time by job hopping you will learn about new environment and new company and new things. Since you are young, you have nothing to lose.
Mar 21 2006, 02:18 PM
856 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
nahh. dun bother to reply him. on the outside, just smile at him. on the inside, laugh like crazy coz someone with a brain so small sitting at a big place.
too bad for the IT manager's staff. good for u that u left.. |
Mar 21 2006, 02:19 PM
3,331 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -MegaCity One- |
QUOTE(RynLCyn @ Mar 21 2006, 12:13 PM) you should give the manager one lame smile... then tell him, "i know u r very loyal but if one day i see you in other company, you must been sack" hehehe i like that one... damn good...or "Dont worry about me, I will come back to look for you for lunch often but please dont drive your old junk, it is insulting. I will come to pick you up with my Benz, ok?" or "Actually I regret leaving this company because I afraid I need to sell my old car for BMW" but anyway i would recommend to leave some back route for urself... who knows... u might end up under him again in other company or u might go back to this company.... |
Mar 21 2006, 02:33 PM
481 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Bro, tell you what .. After i grad at August 2005, i worked in Klang as a Graphic Designer. That time my salary was just enough to cover my expenses. I worked there for 4 months and finally i felt that it is boring and i will not have much future there. Therefore, i start looking for another job in KL and i was offered with the job.
I typed the resign letter using the office's computer and printed using the office's printer, i gave the letter to Mr.CEO and he talk crap with me as well. He says that he can see me capability and he says that i perform well in the company and he understood that my pay is too low, talking cock that he going to sub some of the design work by asking me to do freelance by night. He says i will have a better future in that company. I dont really care, just like you, i smileeeeeee ... and i leave the company. After 2 months, i went back to visit my colleagues. ( I having a very good friendship with them ) I saw the boss and i saw that the entire office was so dull .. All the graphic designers resigned and the office is so deadly. All the artworks were outsourced to all the freelance Graphic Designers and it was so unorganized. What do you think, if i am still working there as a Graphic Designer? |
Mar 21 2006, 02:34 PM
Believe in your ownself.
Put yourself into your boss's shoe and you will know that they are cunning people. Business people are like that. |
Mar 21 2006, 06:52 PM
2,251 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: on da move with 3G technology |
Kekeke...lots of nice resignation story... mine is hand in the resignation letter and then on the same day after a few hours work in the other company.
All my fellow colleagues respected me for that since I left in a sudden and was at the peak of my sales. But hey, the salary is double over there...that's why i left |
Mar 21 2006, 07:15 PM
3,466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
I seriously think that you've made a wrong choice by leaving ur current company after 6 month of job.
Seriously, if you ask me, 6 month working experience can considered nothing and you are just like a fresh graduate. You should've stayed at least 1 year before quitting.. unless you already secured another job elsewhere. With the current job opportunities in Malaysia, I doubt that you can find any company that willing to pay you RM2k.... I too started at low basic from previous company, but I get increament from 10-15% every year..sometimes only 8 months... in 2+ years working I've gotten 4 pay increament.... Anyway, since you already put up your letter, I hope you can secure a good job... but I dont see any 'value' that you can sell right now... I might be wrong though... |
Mar 21 2006, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(hamster9 @ Mar 21 2006, 06:52 PM) Kekeke...lots of nice resignation story... mine is hand in the resignation letter and then on the same day after a few hours work in the other company. Join and Quit ? You are awesome ! You win.All my fellow colleagues respected me for that since I left in a sudden and was at the peak of my sales. But hey, the salary is double over there...that's why i left |
Mar 21 2006, 09:31 PM
1,754 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Balham, London |
@ andychee81: You are one patient dude. I think if I were ever in that situation, I would've kicked the living shit out of the fecker...
Mar 21 2006, 09:50 PM
i've been working for 2 years liow, my last increment was only rm140, and i'm still less than 2k. my salary is wayyy below market price.
This post has been edited by andychee81: Mar 21 2006, 09:50 PM |
Mar 21 2006, 11:10 PM
andy, i read your previous post u said u work for 6 months..
now u said u worked for 2 years... which is which now?? 6 month and 2 years is big difference u know... |
Mar 21 2006, 11:17 PM
no i din said that. where got ah?
Mar 22 2006, 12:06 AM
567 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
hey andy...
whether its a good move or not, i guess we do not know... but i am sure you can make something happen in the new company... you definitely have most of our support... all the best dude... @hamster9 |
Mar 22 2006, 12:30 AM
my bad...
i didnt see the thread starter for the other thread... i thought it was you.... |
Apr 13 2006, 12:14 AM
hey a new one, this same manager told me to wait for his answer of my request of early release, but it's already passed 2 weeks, still no answer and my new company working day is 3 more days. the current HR ppl are rushing me if i could let them know i wanted to compensate or the manager allows me to early release w/out compensate.
me : hi mr.khoo i would like to know if there's any result of my early release request? khoo : no. you have to serve full 3 months. *click me : (what the heck??) *i've already told him all the stuff about why, what, when. it's elaborated at other thread. |
Apr 14 2006, 01:13 AM
134 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Whoa. I think the guy trying to make ur life hard. I never faced this situation b4. Maybe u can just disappear.
QUOTE(andychee81 @ Apr 13 2006, 12:14 AM) hey a new one, this same manager told me to wait for his answer of my request of early release, but it's already passed 2 weeks, still no answer and my new company working day is 3 more days. the current HR ppl are rushing me if i could let them know i wanted to compensate or the manager allows me to early release w/out compensate. me : hi mr.khoo i would like to know if there's any result of my early release request? khoo : no. you have to serve full 3 months. *click me : (what the heck??) *i've already told him all the stuff about why, what, when. it's elaborated at other thread. |
Apr 14 2006, 10:34 PM
13 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Are you a confirmed staff? If not, you are not under any obligation to give him 3 months. Even then, if confirmed, the most he can hold you is 1 month, check your employment letter.
Apr 15 2006, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(Pasta Guy @ Apr 14 2006, 10:34 PM) Are you a confirmed staff? If not, you are not under any obligation to give him 3 months. Even then, if confirmed, the most he can hold you is 1 month, check your employment letter. it's 3 months in employment letter. and i'm a permanent staff for near 2 years.it's not the lenght or the compensation i'm mad about it's the way i'm being told to wait and then not given a final conclusion 3 days b4 i'm leaving, then when i give a call he answer in a short note and put down the phone directly w/out even telling any other things or listen to me. work like mad for all these years and all i get back is this way of appreciation. not to mention lowpay summore. compensate have to compensate higher than my salary pulak tu. niamah.... This post has been edited by andychee81: Apr 15 2006, 12:39 AM |
Apr 15 2006, 04:50 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(andychee81 @ Apr 15 2006, 12:36 AM) it's 3 months in employment letter. and i'm a permanent staff for near 2 years. andychee81,it's not the lenght or the compensation i'm mad about it's the way i'm being told to wait and then not given a final conclusion 3 days b4 i'm leaving, then when i give a call he answer in a short note and put down the phone directly w/out even telling any other things or listen to me. work like mad for all these years and all i get back is this way of appreciation. not to mention lowpay summore. compensate have to compensate higher than my salary pulak tu. niamah.... Why the hell you like to talk so much?? This is a formal situation. Everything has to be in writing with formal documentation. Now, what is formally writen with back up copy at this moment?? You could have writen a formal letter earlier stating that you are requesting an early release and if you do not hear from the company formally with wirten memo by certain date, you will assume that your request had been granted. That would be the end of your whole story. The ball would have been in the company's court to do something or let you go. Now, they can string you along and there is very lilltle you can do about this. Dreamer |
Apr 15 2006, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 15 2006, 04:50 PM) andychee81, i've done all letters stating it. the manager kept holding me, telling me to WAIT. Even till the 3 days before i leave, i was not given any conclusion from him, hell even HR, my supervisor does not know the conclusion. prob is no one in the whole company don't know if they release me early, compensate or reject my resignation. i've signed the offer letter at otehr place. now if you're in my situation, would you still be calm?Why the hell you like to talk so much?? This is a formal situation. Everything has to be in writing with formal documentation. Now, what is formally writen with back up copy at this moment?? You could have writen a formal letter earlier stating that you are requesting an early release and if you do not hear from the company formally with wirten memo by certain date, you will assume that your request had been granted. That would be the end of your whole story. The ball would have been in the company's court to do something or let you go. Now, they can string you along and there is very lilltle you can do about this. Dreamer |
Apr 15 2006, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(andychee81 @ Apr 15 2006, 06:55 PM) i've done all letters stating it. the manager kept holding me, telling me to WAIT. Even till the 3 days before i leave, i was not given any conclusion from him, hell even HR, my supervisor does not know the conclusion. prob is no one in the whole company don't know if they release me early, compensate or reject my resignation. i've signed the offer letter at otehr place. now if you're in my situation, would you still be calm? Did you state in your letter that unless you get a formal letter from the company stating they rejected your request by certain date, you will assume that your request had been granted?? Give them a deadline. If you did and as you have not heard from them, you are protected and you can assume your request is granted. And, if they change their mind, you have something to go back at tthem.Dreamer |
Apr 15 2006, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 15 2006, 07:06 PM) Did you state in your letter that unless you get a formal letter from the company stating they rejected your request by certain date, you will assume that your request had been granted?? Give them a deadline. If you did and as you have not heard from them, you are protected and you can assume your request is granted. And, if they change their mind, you have something to go back at tthem. yes i did. the manager withheld the letter to himself, he did not give to the HR dept. the letter is not formal towards HR if they did not receive any confirmation from the manager himself. the deadline was on this monday. i was told to wait for few more days when i broght the 2nd letter of resignation and the early release request. on wednesday i got informed he's not gonna be in the company whole week till next monday.Dreamer i'm already out of the place. so this thread can be close if you felt i've talked too much bout it. i just can't find the button to close thread, if there's a question in any of my threads of coz i'll answer it back that's why you see as if i'm always yada yada on this. |
Apr 15 2006, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(andychee81 @ Apr 15 2006, 07:16 PM) yes i did. the manager withheld the letter to himself, he did not give to the HR dept. the letter is not formal towards HR if they did not receive any confirmation from the manager himself. the deadline was on this monday. i was told to wait for few more days when i broght the 2nd letter of resignation and the early release request. on wednesday i got informed he's not gonna be in the company whole week till next monday. 1) What is stopping you to CCed a copy to the HR?? In fact, everything you write should have been CCed to HR and you hand in the letter to HR directly??i'm already out of the place. so this thread can be close if you felt i've talked too much bout it. i just can't find the button to close thread, if there's a question in any of my threads of coz i'll answer it back that's why you see as if i'm always yada yada on this. 2) I am not critising you for posting on this thread. When I said that you talked too much, I meant you should have handled this problem by formal writen letter and/or e-mail. For example, if you are told that to wait for a few days, you should have writen a letter or e-mail to confirm that you have been told to wait for a few days. And, those e-mail/letter should been CCed to HR. If I understand correctly, if this thing blow out of propotion, the company can ask you to pay 2 months of salary. Did you pay the company?? Dreamer |
Apr 15 2006, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 15 2006, 07:28 PM) 1) What is stopping you to CCed a copy to the HR?? In fact, everything you write should have been CCed to HR and you hand in the letter to HR directly?? 1) i did not do that coz i had a chat with the manager during my first letter, he told me to wait, he told me he have to chat with supervisor to let me early release w/out compensation. so i have to wait for confirmation. 2) I am not critising you for posting on this thread. When I said that you talked too much, I meant you should have handled this problem by formal writen letter and/or e-mail. For example, if you are told that to wait for a few days, you should have writen a letter or e-mail to confirm that you have been told to wait for a few days. And, those e-mail/letter should been CCed to HR. If I understand correctly, if this thing blow out of propotion, the company can ask you to pay 2 months of salary. Did you pay the company?? Dreamer 2) yes i did give formal letter, in matter of fact 2 of them. as i said i'm waiting to see if the manager allows me to go w/out compensation, i've already prepared to pay the compensation but he rejected the first letter telling me to wait. i've paid the compensation already. i have to start work on monday else i have to compensate the other place instead. |
Apr 15 2006, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(andychee81 @ Apr 15 2006, 07:38 PM) 1) i did not do that coz i had a chat with the manager during my first letter, he told me to wait, he told me he have to chat with supervisor to let me early release w/out compensation. so i have to wait for confirmation. As I had said, DO NOT TALK/CHAT. 2) yes i did give formal letter, in matter of fact 2 of them. as i said i'm waiting to see if the manager allows me to go w/out compensation, i've already prepared to pay the compensation but he rejected the first letter telling me to wait. i've paid the compensation already. i have to start work on monday else i have to compensate the other place instead. 1) Confirm everything with a formal letter and CCed a copy to HR. 2) Give a deadline on everything. If someone asked you to wait, ask wait for how long. Confirm the date with a formal letter and CCed a copy to HR You need to learn how to protect yourself by proper documentation. Do not let people string you along. You will face similar kind of situation again in future. Dreamer |
Apr 15 2006, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 15 2006, 07:57 PM) As I had said, DO NOT TALK/CHAT. yeah, i've learned my lesson. a very good one too. 1) Confirm everything with a formal letter and CCed a copy to HR. 2) Give a deadline on everything. If someone asked you to wait, ask wait for how long. Confirm the date with a formal letter and CCed a copy to HR You need to learn how to protect yourself by proper documentation. Do not let people string you along. You will face similar kind of situation again in future. Dreamer |
Apr 19 2006, 11:52 AM
64 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
"how far you can go there? can go manager level in 5 years? i can say you're the first one to go if the company not doing well coz you're the new guy"
Hahaha..maybe 5 year later the IT manager also resign or die already...then how to promote you to manager level...who can guranteed after 5 year ? |
Apr 20 2006, 11:25 AM
7,606 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Subang |
QUOTE(andychee81 @ Apr 15 2006, 06:55 PM) i've done all letters stating it. the manager kept holding me, telling me to WAIT. Even till the 3 days before i leave, i was not given any conclusion from him, hell even HR, my supervisor does not know the conclusion. prob is no one in the whole company don't know if they release me early, compensate or reject my resignation. i've signed the offer letter at otehr place. now if you're in my situation, would you still be calm? If you had already state in your resignation you're leaving at so-and-so date, and there's no response from management, just leave after that date. You have no further legal obligation to them.Now the tricky part is, what if they claim they did not get it? Well... then you're in trouble if you can't prove that you handed the letter to your manager. One more thing, NO COMPANY can reject your resignation, so regardless of what your boss says, you have every right to terminate employment as long as there's no breach of contract. |
Apr 20 2006, 02:51 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: nomad in the Sahara... |
Thank goodness on both of my resignations, my managers and CEO are very supportive. My first company when i resigned, the general manager was so crushed but accepted my resignation and told me that if i decided to change my mind...can return.
I've resigned again from this new company i'm with now...told them i'm leaving to USA to work end of next month. I'm in my final month of probation (5th month). My manager, CFO and CEO are all very supportive. They told me not to resign now...because if my VISA not approved then i might be caught between a rock and a hard place. So they told me to work until my VISA approved then i can resign within 24hrs. No strings attached. I believe management people should act like this....at least we leave feeling good without feeling anger and spite. Just wanna share my experiences. |
Apr 20 2006, 03:31 PM
1,807 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
WildChai you are really, really lucky to be managed by such a management.
Apr 20 2006, 03:50 PM
907 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere I Belong |
wondering hows andychee situatio now in new company.
Apr 20 2006, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(WildChai @ Apr 20 2006, 02:51 PM) Thank goodness on both of my resignations, my managers and CEO are very supportive. My first company when i resigned, the general manager was so crushed but accepted my resignation and told me that if i decided to change my mind...can return. Umm... has your position been filled yet? I'm looking for a job now. heheh I've resigned again from this new company i'm with now...told them i'm leaving to USA to work end of next month. I'm in my final month of probation (5th month). My manager, CFO and CEO are all very supportive. They told me not to resign now...because if my VISA not approved then i might be caught between a rock and a hard place. So they told me to work until my VISA approved then i can resign within 24hrs. No strings attached. I believe management people should act like this....at least we leave feeling good without feeling anger and spite. Just wanna share my experiences. |
Apr 20 2006, 04:25 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: nomad in the Sahara... |
QUOTE(spanker @ Apr 20 2006, 04:19 PM) Actually, my bosses ask me to recommend them a reliable friend to take over. A very very high profile company. looking for IT peeps. Which major are u in? EDIT: freshie? This post has been edited by WildChai: Apr 20 2006, 04:26 PM |
Apr 21 2006, 10:20 AM
755 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Back to the Historic |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « samething happen to me. i need to give a three mths notice but i state i will pay for the last third mth. I've send my letter to my section head and we discuss the matter and i confirmed to be released earlier. This thing happen last month. Last week as i need to noe my resignation status i called the HR, to my surprise the HR said they had not receive any resignation letter from me. How shock an angry i was. the very next day i told my boss bout my letter and the b i t c h says she kept it coz she does not want me 2 leave. WTF is she thinking. I am goin to leave to another comp in another mth. why do i want to stay in this dreadful place. i told her. she says she will send it on that day itself. know wat happen now, she treat me cruelly. make me work OT and do watever job tat is not related to my job description. sigh. wish i could've leave earlier. QUOTE(spanker @ Apr 20 2006, 12:25 PM) If you had already state in your resignation you're leaving at so-and-so date, and there's no response from management, just leave after that date. You have no further legal obligation to them. a company cannot reject staff resignation, but a question, can a company reject my early resignationNow the tricky part is, what if they claim they did not get it? Well... then you're in trouble if you can't prove that you handed the letter to your manager. One more thing, NO COMPANY can reject your resignation, so regardless of what your boss says, you have every right to terminate employment as long as there's no breach of contract. |
Apr 21 2006, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(leinnz @ Apr 21 2006, 10:20 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « samething happen to me. i need to give a three mths notice but i state i will pay for the last third mth. I've send my letter to my section head and we discuss the matter and i confirmed to be released earlier. This thing happen last month. Last week as i need to noe my resignation status i called the HR, to my surprise the HR said they had not receive any resignation letter from me. How shock an angry i was. the very next day i told my boss bout my letter and the b i t c h says she kept it coz she does not want me 2 leave. WTF is she thinking. I am goin to leave to another comp in another mth. why do i want to stay in this dreadful place. i told her. she says she will send it on that day itself. know wat happen now, she treat me cruelly. make me work OT and do watever job tat is not related to my job description. sigh. wish i could've leave earlier. a company cannot reject staff resignation, but a question, can a company reject my early resignation Dreamer |
Apr 21 2006, 12:32 PM
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
5 queries
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:54 PM |