-kytz-
post Mar 3 2013, 05:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Mar 3 2013, 05:37 PM)
Come on I wont lie to you guys ok.

I just finish clean my koi tank and my cultivation tank.
Haven't even started on my planted tank.

Sigh... now already 5.37pm...

Hope can do it but i feel sleepy and wana rest awhile tongue.gif
Do snap some pictures step by step especially when doing the hardscape and planting? I have never done one before and would love to learn from the sifus notworthy.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 3 2013, 08:26 PM

12,573 posts

Bro qz4eva, you using Ocean Free Silver 60 set? thumbup.gif

Btw, it looks a lot better now, less cluttered especially on the left hand side rclxms.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 4 2013, 12:41 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Mar 3 2013, 11:32 PM)

Anyone knows where I can get Fluval filter? Need it urgently.

QUOTE(estage9 @ Mar 4 2013, 12:38 AM)
Have you checked at EA?
Yeap, I saw an expensive Fluval Filter at East Aqua, Pet Safari @Ikano tongue.gif Triple filtration system, looks gooding. But RM150++ tongue.gif

Update: Did some research of the Fluval C series HOB filter and it looks absolutely awesome!

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 4 2013, 04:59 AM
-kytz-
post Mar 4 2013, 07:45 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Mar 4 2013, 02:49 PM)
my HC is dying i think. maybe not in a good hand  sweat.gif my 1st time plating the HC btw.
but the grass is ok i think. even tho some of them is yellow, but some of them is greener
maybe i wait until its really dying before put it out
QUOTE(qz4eva @ Mar 4 2013, 03:06 PM)
HC is a pain in the ass I tell you...

I spend like 100? 200? buying this buggers and all die.
This time left like 5 cent coin size only few spots...
Fuiyoo didn't know growing HC grass is so problematic. Luckily today met up a fellow forummer and he also told me about HC. Meh... GLOSSO FTW!! tongue.gif

Btw, I think I've set my eyes on the Fluval C3. 5 stage filtration. One thing I think I will love about it is that all the individual filter chambers can be easily accessed without having to remove the entire filtration system, thus it is pretty convenient. Plus, the mechanical filtration is easily replaceable by getting any generic filter wool/sponge, the chemical filtration container can easily fit in any sort of media of your choice. By default it comes with charcoal but you can replace it with bio rings instead! Then, there's the trickle system where the water will pass over a plastic plate with holes in it. Water will drip down, directly in contact with the bio media. And then only the water is fully filtered and goes into the tank.

Mechanical (Double foam pads) -----> Chemical filtration (optional: Any media of your choice like bio rings/balls) ---> Biological filtration

Btw guys, the Ista CO2 disposable can (RM30+) is not good enough for a 15 gallon planted tank maybe?
-kytz-
post Mar 4 2013, 09:12 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 4 2013, 08:33 PM)
can can, it can even be used in a 4ft tank, but it just wont last you long... why waste that kind of money on disposable ones?
Hey bro. I thought it's a "cheap option" for planted tanks tongue.gif Anyway yeah, I guess getting a proper CO2 cylinder system would be cheaper in the long run (and more effective).

I would like to ask what are the recommended brands for a full CO2 set but not to expensive la..around RM300 boleh? biggrin.gif

Update: Did some calculations:

Assuming a RM32 CO2 diffuser can can last around 3 weeks, refills costing around RM25. Total cost per year is RM32 + (RM25 X 52weeks/3) = RM465
Assuming a RM300 CO2 system can last around 4 months, refills costing RM20. Total cost per year is RM300 + (RM20X3) = RM360

Whoaa indeed a CO2 system is much better in the long run (plus the extra features) assuming my assumptions were accurate biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 6 2013, 03:14 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Mar 4 2013, 09:30 PM)
kytz : the bigger the tank, the longer it will hold out or less in between changes. the more proper the gadgets, the more satisfied it is for the user.

beginner : make sure Co2 is in the tank using DIY way
intermediate : compressed co2 after tired of DIY co2 change every week
advanced : co2 reactor + compressed co2 + solenoid to maximize the co2 lifespan and attaining 100% dissolve into tank water
hyper advance : is there one? haha... maybe ph controller?
I'll probably to try DIY first, forking out a hefty RM360++ like that is damn hard smile.gif

QUOTE(CaRS2 @ Mar 4 2013, 10:15 PM)
Interested too.
Where can buy and how much after discount?
East Aqua @Ikano or Mid Valley. RM120+ for the C3 series (members get 10% off)

QUOTE(arrow @ Mar 5 2013, 12:53 AM)
No matter how advance hob is , it just a hob, bro, start saving now and get a eheim 2213 or 2215 (if couple with chiller) canister filter.
Think alive and natural aquatic subang 19 still have some with free eheim media at cheap price after bargin.
Dear sir, you are definitely one very poisonous dude. I researched about the 2213/2215 and they seem really fantastic.

Definitely will be saving up for this smile.gif

Btw, 2213 can couple with chiller? How much is a chiller usually ah?

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Mar 5 2013, 08:50 AM)
CaRS2 mr deric79k got sell them bro. smile.gif PM him directly.

Hapeng 2213 is the most economical start to canister filter to the eheim range. many LFS sells it.

kytz PM weijie/sisaiko to ask abt their offers for co2 sets. another option is to scout around ebay or petstore for 2nd hand items smile.gif
Thanks sir. Will definitely do that biggrin.gif

Btw, what about DIY CO2? Anyone here had success in them? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Mar 6 2013, 02:54 AM)
I wish I was so can get cheaper price, just sharing the exp. So that bro here wont buy the wrong model like me last time and have to get another that work the way it suppose to.
Bro, care to share your experience. Really hate these sort of things especially for new buyers haha laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 6 2013, 08:48 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Mar 6 2013, 08:39 PM)
Hey newbie here. Going to try out the planted aquarium once I move in the my new place. What are the essentials that I need? Please put in a layman's term cause I know nothing about it yet lol...
Read about the nitrogen cycle first! smile.gif Few weeks back I didn't know what it was (and how it will affect my fish), which in the end, caused all my fish to die sad.gif

http://fins.actwin.com/mirror/begin-cycling.html
http://www.firsttankguide.net/cycle.php
http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles_51/f...ing-article.htm

-kytz-
post Mar 6 2013, 09:00 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Mar 6 2013, 08:54 PM)
Thanks I will read through it.
Budget wise wouldnt be that much tho. Plan to get a 60cm tank.
You can try the 60x30x36 cm tank by Ocean Free for RM260 @Alive Aquarium, Pudu. Comes with a Power filter (hang on back) and a T5 60cm light thumbup.gif

OR if you have a higher budget for a tank, you can try a 2 feet Aqua Nice Sapphire Glass aquarium (I believe the same dimensions also) for RM268 @ 88Petsmart, Sunway Mas. I think Alive Aquarium @Pudu sells it at RM250. Sapphire glass is supposed to be much clearer than normal glass smile.gif

Do take a visit to 88Petsmart, Sunway Mas https://www.facebook.com/88PetsMart?fref=ts

Love to go there since there are so much to see biggrin.gif

-kytz-
post Mar 6 2013, 09:54 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Mar 6 2013, 09:44 PM)
He owns a shop or staying nearby me? LOL!
I think varialmctwist means the guy in 88Petsmart, cuz I was talking to someone like that today biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 6 2013, 10:30 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Mar 6 2013, 09:58 PM)
so how long it takes for an aquarium to fully cycle...i dun have any test kits...poor edi..dun have extra money to buy...wakakka...any cheap solutions? some said put a fish or two...tapi kinda kejam to put them incase there are still ammonia...haha....and then how many times we have to water change? every 3 days? every 6 days? can i use ordinary pipe? wudnt it kill the beneficial bacteria?  cry.gif  cry.gif
Since I got nothing to do now, I just put in fish food into the tank only tongue.gif It'll release ammonia when it starts decaying. It's been one day plus and some of my bio rings start to house bacteria liao (turning brown). I might try to get a Betta tongue.gif

Best to not disturb your filter media since that's where most of the beneficial bacteria will be at smile.gif If there's really a need to clean the filter, best to use the aquarium water or water treated with anti chlorine first so that they won't kill the good bacteria lol. I'll probably do 1-2 times 50% water change daily if your tank is small as the high concentrations of ammonia/nitrite/nitrate will kill your fish fast especially when you don't have an established bacteria colony yet smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 6 2013, 10:34 PM
-kytz-
post Mar 7 2013, 09:15 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Mar 6 2013, 10:07 PM)
go for ph test pen. if u can differentiate between light green and dark green, u may go for the test kits. i am useless with colours, so i'm getting a ph testpen soon. unless the colour goes to bright yellow or blue... i can't tell the difference of light green to dark green... T_T
QUOTE(qz4eva @ Mar 7 2013, 12:46 PM)
How much is a PH pen ya?
Saw a cheap PH pen from Ebay. Free shipping somemore. Wonder reliable or not hmm.gif

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Digital-LCD-Monito...=item460b9844bf

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 7 2013, 09:15 PM
-kytz-
post Mar 8 2013, 07:57 PM

12,573 posts

Eeeekkkk..just noticed my aquarium got some scratches. Sedihnya sad.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 9 2013, 11:26 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Mar 8 2013, 08:13 PM)
u using arcliric tank or glass one? glass more scratch resist.

ah just go to both LFS near giant/warta bangi. the malay shop is expensive. cardinal 3.50 neon 2.00. i buy my neon at sek 9 only 1.50 smaller in size maybe.

but they sold ada powder. rm50 for 2kgs. izzit bit expensive?
Should be Sapphire Glass. Have to be very careful next time when handling sand sweat.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 10 2013, 02:36 PM

12,573 posts

Just for discussion's sake, with reference to http://aquascapeworld.wordpress.com/q-a/light-system/ about the amount of light needed for plants to grow nicely (some say Glosso and HC need a lot of light).

It was mentioned the method of calculation is Aquarium height (cm) x width (cm) x water depth (cm) / 1000 = light power (W)

So, a 2feet aquarium, 24inch x 12inch x 12inch, 15gallon water requires about 45 Watt light

But as far as I know, power is not luminosity. And higher power usage doesn't mean higher luminosity. Luminosity is the measurement of brightness as described in wiki:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luminosity

Such confusion might arise when LED based lighting system comes into picture. They are much more power efficient but might give almost the same amount of light?

So, shouldn't we be buying lights based on luminosity? That is, if only manufacturers actually start publishing them in their specifications sheet sweat.gif Exception:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2707391
-kytz-
post Mar 11 2013, 05:48 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Equallogy @ Mar 11 2013, 05:15 PM)
Yeah all items are iin there already, its just im a total newbbbbb haha so its unwise to be a sifu using money.... i might just end up destroying everything...

Well maybe 1.6k is to muchh.. im trying to get everything for 1k or below.. CO2 system is just to complicated...
It's a pretty damn good deal for Macrusin's entire setup. Probably worth close to RM3k++ thumbup.gif

I'd definitely get it if I didn't have other commitments now doh.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 11 2013, 05:58 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Mar 11 2013, 05:50 PM)
i begin with not that good light, not that good tank, not that good knowledge. just try and error. until now no major death accept HC uproot

just read alot.
Honestly speaking, I feel that starting any hobby "small" or "low tech" can be a very good learning experience and can also be fun depending on the person, his/her budget and expectations. You learn about the limitations of the system you're using, trial and error if you're going DIY, learning how to overcome the limitations and improve the system. Where you would put effort into reading/researching into such stuff and as a result, you gather a lot of knowledge regarding how things works/how's it limiting/why more expensive stuff are better/etc. And it is actually kinda fun too, when you start small, since you're dealing with a lot of limitations, you start to learn more about things, go out to LFS hunting for certain items, then come back to forum ask ask again, then go out look for different things, look up internet for cheap solutions or DIY methods, then ask around at forum again, get poisonsed by a certain item, and go back to LFS, then buy buy buy laugh.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 12 2013, 04:07 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Mar 12 2013, 02:27 PM)
xian leng is another LFS. got one in KL area.. just forgot the new place name already... haha..

quarantine the fish just for precautions.
Xian Leng at KL? Got contact bro? I tried google but nothing laugh.gif

Btw, guys, I'm trying to sign up at mac forum but after trying a million times, still can't register. It keep saying "The e-mail address you entered is not allowed to be used."

Tried my hotmail,gmail,yahoo all also cannot doh.gif Any ideas? And I can't even PM the admins because I'm not registered doh.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 12 2013, 08:34 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jiejian @ Mar 12 2013, 08:11 PM)
update because everyone is nice recently  rclxms.gif  achieved with diy co2  blush.gif
water had cleared up by leap and bounce! since i used the OF tetris! without slowing my flow! recommended bio media smile.gif
here u go~
[attachmentid=3343316]
Bro, is that 1 feet tank? Care to share setup? biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 13 2013, 08:21 PM

12,573 posts

Just came across this. Seachem Purigen. Seems like a SUPER product?

http://www.seachem.com/Products/product_pages/Purigen.html

-kytz-
post Mar 14 2013, 10:47 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Mar 13 2013, 08:42 PM)
purigen is a type of water polisher. as you read the seachem website, it also helps to control nitrate levels. planted aquarium doesn't like this because plants require nitrates to grow.

i'm using a small amount in my planted tank.. hehe.. water is very much clearer. plants doesn't seem to suffer much...
Thanks. I wonder whether it is a complete mechanical+biological+chemical filtration system? Let's just say fill up a whole canister filter with it like in the video laugh.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Mar 13 2013, 10:56 PM)
Have been using Purigen for 2yrs in all my tanks, it absorb mostly organic waste, i didn't notice it absorb nitrate as all my shrimps tank still have nitrate present. 1 pack of 100ml/g can polish up to 400L of water and it could be regenerate once exhausted, i only regenerate mine after 1yrs ++ while using it with just 60L tank.
Good stuff to have if you willing to spare 50 buck.
LuQEE is a loyal user as well.
Thanks. So basically, it works as a complement to an existing filtration system and not supposed to be a standalone filter?

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Mar 14 2013, 09:49 AM)
hi guys, can somebody pinpoint any lfs that currently got stock for cardinal tetra?

Alive Aquarium @Jalan Pasar, Pudu last I checked about 2 weeks ago. Still plenty of them, RM2.50/each (before discount) smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0462sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:47 AM